We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our best holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
db Seabank Resort + Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2014

this was our first trip to malta.we found are so nice there.right from the taxi picking us up from the airport. THE SEABANK is the best hotel you can go to in our opinion. ALL STAFF was so cold us they couldnt do a enough for. (i want say a big thank you to Geoffrey from the resterent. Julia from reception dask. and the lovely lady how organised tours(soory forgot your name) she even brought her daughter charanger for us charage phones when ours broke.)
we had such great time . went to glass factory , three city tour, wine tasting, on the ferry to Gozo. even people in shops were so nice. they dint fellow you around the shop trying make buy things.

Room Tip: try to go for 2 weeks. we went for a week . it wasnt enough time to see everything. there is so much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estibalez S, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Terath S,

Thank you for taking the time to post this positive review about Seabank. We are more than happy to hear that we succeeded in meeting your expectations during your first holiday in Malta. Thank you for praising our staff, Geoffrey and Julia will definitely appreciate. We would be thrilled to welcome you back, should you wish to visit Malta again.

Best regard,

Estibaliz Santamaria
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,104 - 4,110 of 6,158 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel is next to one of two sandy beaches in Malta which was nice but small. Our room was spacious and clean but exceedingly hot with only a fan and no air conditioning despite the fact it was advertised on the website we booked through hence we found sleeping difficult as leaving the doors open led to unwelcome guest in the form of mosquitoes. We complained about this and were told that it was winter there and no air con was needed despite the fact it was needed in the restaurants and reception area!! The main was like a Butlins holiday camp packed with families and queues for drinks, food etc. no separate dining times choices for adults and families. Drinks were all cheap brands including the wine. There were three other smaller restaurants which you had to book. The entertainment was atrocious apart from one night when they brought two Maltese singers in. The outdoor pools were too cold to swim in and the indoor one was impossible to swim in as children filled it and were constantly jumping in it and messing about unsupervised. Speaking to some of the staff we were told this was quiet compared to what it was like in the summer!!

Room Tip: Top floor pool view air con a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tartantraveller_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hubertdebono, General Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear tartantraveller_18,

we thank you for posting a review about your recent holiday experience at the Seabank.

Value for money is in our credo as we continuously strive to give more to enhance the guest experience so naturally such a statement comes as an unpleasant surprise.

The air-conditioning in the rooms works on a centralized system that cools in summer and heats in winter. Unfortunately we cannot switch back and forth from hot to cold as the process is quite complex. Being in between seasons, the weather has still not settled and temperatures during the day may be quite warm but still chilly at night. For this reason we could not accommodate all the personal requests in every room. As soon as the temperatures will rise, air-conditioning will obviously be turned to cooling and will be available in all rooms. In public areas we have separate units which makes it more flexible to adapt to the daily circumstances to maintain the perfect ambient temperatures.

The resort has indeed been very busy over the past weeks especially due to the Easter holidays. The numbers of guests we have right now are similar to peak season with the difference that as the weather improves, we will have more outside areas available.

Our entertainment team is composed of professional dancers and singers and the shows produced receive continuous praise. We are aware that the team has just started a few weeks ago but I can assure everyone that the level achieved is already high and improves week by week.

Whilst thanking you once again for your feedback, please rest assured that we will never stop challenging ourselves to better our offering in order to continually improve of what we, and most of our guests, believe is already a very great value for money holiday experience.

Best regards,

Hubert Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We are a family of 4 with 2 daughters, 13 and 8 years old. We expected our shuttle to be waiting to be to take us to the hotel but instead had to make several enquiries at the airport then wait 20 minutes for our shuttle to arrive.
We were about 2 hours early for check-in but welcomed very warmly, our luggage was stored safely and we were invited to have lunch and familiarise ourselves with the hotel grounds and facilities.

Room:
We had asked for a pool view room; we were unfortunately placed on the 2nd floor half way round the 'Dome' so most of the pool view was obscured but we still got a lot of sun.
The room was a family one partitioned into a very spacious master room with a huge bed and another room with 2 single beds for the girls.
Wardrobes, bathrooms, balcony all very spacious and everywhere squeaky clean.
I can't comment on the TV channels but my hubby and the girls were happy with programmes they watched. There is wi-fi throughout the hotal grounds which was great with keeping up with news, etc.

Food:
There are 5 restaurants - Coral, Laguna, LaVista (Italian), Rodrizio (Brazilian) and L'orjent (Oriental)
Coral - This is the main restaurant, booking not required and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lovely variety of meals with soup, breads, seafod, salads, desserts, fruits, still water, sparkly water, fizzy drinks, juices (too sugary, I banned the girls from drinking), red and white wine all on tap.
Laguna - Booking not required; For late breakfasts and afternoon snacks; burgers, fajitas, fruit, cakes, drinks on tap, sandwiches, etc.
LaVista - Booking required; we had a 4 course meal of breads, pasta, fish and salad. We could only eat the salad, the pasta (something like King prawns and courgette ribbons in a hot chilli, tomato and lobster sauce) was terrible, we picked out the prawns and that was it. The Italian needs a LOT of improvement and we made this known to one of the Coral managers.
Rodriozio - Booking required; pretty good with 7 types of meats and poultry, accompanied with rice, potatoes and salads
Lorjent - Booking required and excellent with a wide variety of oriental food; spring rolls, vermicelli, seaweed, etc

Entertainment:
Pretty good but not suitable for children as the entertainers were sometimes half dressed with raunchy dances.

Kids club:
Our 8 year old had a great time here with Belinda and Aimee. The only downside is the adult to children ratios. By our last day here, there was just one carer.
There is an inside play area also called the Jungle, as an alternative to the outside kids club.

Pools:
The external pool was big and clean but cold though my 8 year old and her fiend braved it once. The inside pool is not too big but clean and warm.

Others:
The corridor carpets on the 2nd floor were worn and threadbare and desperately need changing. The cleaner in charge of the 2nd floor corridor sometime missed spilt hot chocolate against the floor/carpet and orange peels on a window ledge for 4 days!


Beach:
Just across the road, not too clean closer to the water as full of something that looks like tons of seaweed. You can only really play on the sand and not the water.

Generally we had a great time and would definitely go back. Many thanks to Pierre Ebejer, Belinda (Kids club), Diego and co (Mexican animators), the front desk staff, restaurant supervors, the spa staff and all the other staff.

Room Tip: For pool facing rooms, ensure that you are on the 3rd floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank toksebony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We have two kids (aged 9 & 5), all four of us had a great holiday. The hotel is clean, well managed and well designed. There is a great selection of foods available and the staff are really excellent.
Belinda who runs the Kids Club is amazing. Our kids adored her. She has a natural rapport with children of all ages. Our kids also insisted on going to the Mini Disco every night (so plan your meal times accordingly).
There are specialist restaurants that you can book for (at no extra charge), but to be honest the food wasn't as good as the general Coral Restaurant.
We went on the open top bus tour - big mistake! The bus takes for ever to go anywhere and then loops round and round the same spots for ever. A better idea is to use public transport and visit Mdina and old town Valletta.
Overall, we really enjoyed our week at the hotel and I'm sure we'll be back at some time in the future.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and enjoyed it. Entertainment happens in the Dome which is beside the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estibalez S, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Cindy M,

Thank you very much for your five-star review. We are happy to read that you spend a great holiday with your family at Seabank and that you enjoyed the food, especially in the Coral Restaurant. Thank you for praising our staff and for mentioning Belinda, she will surely appreciate it.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Estibaliz Santamaria
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This was a great all inclusive resort. They didn't skimp on the drinks, making drinks as strong as you asked. The food wasn't amazing but it was very good and everything tasted fresh. The one problem I had with it was the location was not ideal. For starters the best places to go out at night are in Paceville, which is a 30 minute cab ride away. Second, the beach leaves something to be desired, and there is no bar there. This is definitely good for families as there are many activities for kids to do.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estibalez S, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Mike P,

Thank you very much for posting such a nice review about our resort. We are glad to hear that you had a good overall experience while at Seabank, and that you enjoyed the food of our restaurants.
Concerning the location, Mellieha is indeed a quiet place. But you will be happy to know that a club is opening its doors next summer directly on the beach.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Estibaliz Santamaria
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We arrived in Malta, to be greeted by the free shuttle service from the hotel, which was a great start to our week there in mid March 2014. Stayed a week at the hotel but we didn't really use most the facilities, as we were out most of the day. The checkin staff was very welcoming and polite. When we carried our bags to the room, the card to the door didn't work, so my husband had to go back down to reception, whilst I waited outside the room with the bags. However the room was very spacious with a balcony and view to the side of the hotel, but got a view of the sea at the front. We had a large twin bed but would be nice to be able to have a large double bed. The other disapointment was though there were 2 large liquid dispensers in the bathroom, it would be nice to have some shampoo and toiletries, as in most 4* hotels. We had to buy shampoo as we didn't bring any with us. The room is basic but clean. The TV has very limited English programmes. We stayed at the top 6th floor which was quiet most of the time apart for the occasional guests, who were selfish and noisy on their way back to their rooms during the night.
As we arrived after lunch on our first day, we were told that we could have snacks, which was good. There is food available through the day. Overall the food is good but again basic. We only had lunch one day as we were out most of the day. Dinner was good in the main restaurant where you don't have to book in advance. There were good choices but the food is usually semi cold by the time you get to the table. The soup was the only dish which remained hot. We also tried the Asian, Italian and Brazilian restaurants which you have to book in advance but were rather disappointed, especially the Asian and Italian. The Italian restaurant was next to a children playarea thus doesn't have the feel of a restaurant. Wine (white, red and rose) and beer is on tap as well as soft drinks and coffee/tea. However the bar is limited with cocktail choices as the barstaff doesn't know how to mix them. My husband actually advised the chap on how to mix a Black Russian.
Though the hotel is rather out of the way, there is a bus stop directly opposite for buses to Valletta and therefore anywhere else in the island. It's a convenient and cheap form of getting to most places. We got a week's bus pass for 6.50 euro each.
Overall the hotel is clean and the service very good but rather basic for a 4* hotel. I suppose if we are comparing this to the last hotel we stayed in during our last trip to Malta (which we have been told has since been shut down!) we have no complains. We like the free wifi internet service and the free shutlle service to and from the hotel, and the lovely service from the staff. Thank you Seabank.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estibalez S, General Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Peelly,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at Seabank. We are glad to hear that you made use of our free airport shuttle service which is available for all our guests booking directly with the hotel.

Concerning your room, please note that all our beds can be zipped up into a large double. This can easily be done on request. The liquid dispensers provided in the bathroom are actually hair and body soap which are not different to what one normally finds in the small hotel toiletries. We have decided to go for the larger dispensers as part of our eco-friendly measures to reduce plastics for which we have received a Travelife Gold Award.

We are sorry to hear that one of the bartenders seemed to have a difficulty with mixing a Black Russian. We have discussed this matter with our team members and although all of them seemed more than familiar with all popular international cocktails and long drinks, we have included further training to ensure this hesitation will not be repeated.

We are glad that overall you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Hubert Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

As a family of four, with a teenage son and ten year old daughter, the Seabank has delivered the perfect All Inclusive week away in early Mediterranean warmth.
This was our second stay. We had a family suite with a pool view.

The room was larger than average, with a lockable screen between the master bedroom and the kids twin room. The master bedroom had an enormous six foot bed, flat screen wall mounted TV's in both rooms, a large balcony that enjoyed full sunshine from 3pm until dusk.

The bathroom was large and well equipped, house keeping was first class. It was our wedding anniversary and we were welcomed with a bottle of wine and a selection of cakes waiting in the room.

The customer service from all staff is what makes the Seabank stand out from the crowd. One evening we arrived back at the hotel late. The self service food looked cold and dried up. As a queued to speak to the manager, a customer service manager identified the problem, pulled me out of the queue and arranged a magnificent meal.

The two self service restaurant are the Coral and the Laguna. The Coral serves a wider choice but closes for breakfast by 10am. The Laguna serves breakfast until noon but with less choice.

Buffet, lunch is served in the Coral from noon, they offer a wide selection of fresh food and the menu varies daily. The Laguna serves snacks, pizza and burgers etc from 3pm. This menu does not change and can be a little same old after a few days. Beer and wine is available on tap.

The pool has two bars, both are currently closed for winter. This means a long walk to the IL Punent bar at the front of the foyer, for shorts or cocktails. Also lots of guests were bringing glass to the side of the pool. These would smash and was a real risk for pool users. I think a drinks waiter close to the dome / pool would be a quick fix and would ensure no glass around the pool.

There are three specialist restaurants La Vista, (Italian), El Rodizio ( very much like Bem Brazil) and L Orjent (Asian). All three offer a great experience. Booking is essential especially for the 8.30pm sessions.

The hotel is very large, but spotless. Staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The outdoor pool is huge but only just warm enough for the brave. The indoor pool is very small. There is a fully equipped gym and spa. Rates are very competitive.

The young children are well catered for by a team that never seem to stop.
For the rest of us the Animation Team are always on hand with games, dancing and Excersise. They seem to be predominantly South American and are fantastic Dancers. The evening shows in the Dome are good, not cruise standard, but better than most hotels.

Meliah Bay is very safe for children, with no tide or waves, you can walk out 100 yards and it is still not waist deep. The Maltese frequent the beach at weekends setting up Gazeboos and BBQs. The are no beach hawkers, which is always a bonus.

We enjoyed the Hotel so much we will be returning in August. Thank you to all the hard working staff.

The Brook Family

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estibalez S, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Chris B,

Thank you very much for posting such a flattering review about your stay at Seabank. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your week holiday with your family. All your comments have been noted and shared with our management team. Many thanks for your praise which is really rewarding.

We are glad to note that you will be visiting us again next summer. Welcome to the Seabank family of repeat guests. If we can do anything else to make your stay even more enjoyable, please feel free to contact us directly.

Best regards,

Estibalez Santamaria
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.7 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.7 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,066 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,921 reviews
1.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to db Seabank Resort + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db Seabank Resort + Spa

Address: Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Business Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $105 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — db Seabank Resort + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Mellieha Bay on the island of Malta* All Inclusive Resort* 30 m from the beach* 5-story building* 1 km from downtown Mellieha* 20 km from the airport, 30 m from a bus stop.---Seabank's new and stylish property offers countless ways to spend your days while on holiday in Malta. Overlooking Malta's largest sandy beach at Ghadira Bay excellent beach for family with children), the db Seabank Resort + Spa includes:(1) Modern accommodation, 492 spacious non-smoking and fully equipped rooms (free WIFI), (2) Six international restaurants, three bars serving unlimited beverages. (3) The db Seabank Resort + Spa incorporates a modern spa with fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool, mind & body healing courses, Jacuzzi, Turkish steam bath & sauna, (4) A spectacular array of day and evening activities for every age and interest and (5)Live evening entertainment At the back of the resort, Malta's largest Lagoon style outdoor pool overlooks serene Maltese scenery. Recreational activities such as beach volleyball, crazy golf, air rifle shooting, and beach soccer can be enjoyed at our newly built recreational area. The colourful Kids Club cannot be missed. Popeye Village is just minutes away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your db Seabank Resort + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Seabank
Riu Seabank Mellieha
Seabank Hotel
Db Seabank Resort + Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing