We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good , But !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
db Seabank Resort + Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good , But !”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Returned to the uk on the 1 April after 14 nights at the Seabanks . firstly, arrived aprox 8.45pm and checked in fairly quickly but were not given room keys til after we had eaten. ( fine). We had emailed the hotel about a week before and asked for a top floor room, and that's exactly what we got. ( room No 6423 ) on the 6th floor. beautiful room overlooking the pool and surrounding countryside. The room was very bright and comfortable and was always kept spotlessly clean. Could do with some more decent English channels on the tv , there are 2 true movie channels which can drive you mad after a few days.
The food in the main restaurant was excellent plenty of choice and the deserts were fab, also you can get beer and wine ( the red wine was far to cold, try the rose instead ) help your self basis. The Brazilian was chaotic because of the delay between the different meats being brought round, we actually walked out halfway through because we wanted to eat together in here you cant because if you don't like the same things to eat you will never eat at the same time. The Asian was really good we ate there several times. The Italian was not good, the place itself is poor, as is the food, same pasta as in the main restaurant.
The bar is ok and do quite a good selection of drinks ( premium brands are extra ) but the cocktails are very poor the staff do not know how to mix them ! . There are 2 tvs in the bar and they show british premier league football, even 3 oclock Saturday kickoffs ( brilliant ).
There is a late breakfast from 10 til 12 but is pretty poor as the food was always stone cold, but okish if you have a hangover.
We could not use the outdoor pool as was too cold , perhaps a couple of solar panels to warm it up a tad ?. Indoor pool was small and far to crowded.
The staff were always very efficient and friendly.
The location is great , beautiful area and buses plentiful and cheap.
Popeyes villages is walkable, about 20 mins and is very picturesque great photos.
Do check out the rest of the island by bus ie Sliema , Valletta etc 1.50 euro for whole day.
The one major negative point about this hotel is it gets mega busy at weekends lots of locals descend on it ,and we were unfortunate as we also had 2 public holidays in the 2 weeks that we were there, would not go back for that reason ( hence only 4 stars ), we are in our 60s so perhaps its an age thing.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, and pool view rooms get the sun in the afternoon, but perhaps in high sea...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank John Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,380
    1,580
    456
    110
    53
See reviews for
2,213
2,244
142
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,883)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

My mum and I have just returned after a week's stay at Seabank. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and would love to have stayed longer. The sport and entertainment team made it a particularly enjoyable and memorable stay - they are a fantastic group of friendly & immensly talented people and the shows were professional performances i.e. not childish or child orientated as they often are. I must mention Diego (Chocolate Man), Clay, Kate & Sara & if I could remember or spell the other names I would include them here. I don't have young children but I could see that Kate was absolutely wonderful with the children and they were very obviously having a really good time - I have already recommended the hotel and the team to my friends with children. The sporting facilities were very good and the indoor pool a real bonus. The only criticism I would have is that the hotel doesn't have table tennis tables set up somewhere on the grounds. For us the setting was perfect - quiet but with good links to other resorts & towns on the island. Unlike most places on Malta it had a lovely little beach right in front of the hotel. Well done Seabank & entertainment team - Margaret & Rose will return!

Room Tip: we had a 4th floor room overlooking the pool which was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseEllen141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estibalez S, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear RoseEllen141,

Many thanks for posting such a beautiful review. We are glad to hear that you and your mother enjoyed your time at Seabank. All your comments have been noted and shared.

Diego, Clay, Kate, Sara and more generally the entertainment team will definitely appreciate your praise, thank you for mentioning them.

We are thrilled that you recommend us on Trip Advisor and to your friends. We would be pleased to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Estibalez Santamaria
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a fabulous week at the seabank hotel to attend a family wedding which was set up to perfection. I travelled with my wife and 7yr old daughter and 5yr old son..Our family room was very spacious and well laid out and the kids thrilled they had a proper bed each and not a pull out sofa. Rooms had bottled water in the fridge free safe and hair dryer plus 2 lovely flat screen tvs to keep the kids amused whilst we got ready.the maids do a wonderful job of cleaning and if you ask for something nothing is too much trouble. The food is superb (apart from the italian restaurant) and none of us could fault the swift replenishment of the buffets or the vast choice on offer. The indoor pool was great for our kids as it was a little too nippy in the outdoor one.the only little thing I could criticise was the fact as a family hotel with excellent day time children's activity club the mini disco didn't start until 8.45 and finished for 9 with any remaining children on the stage hurriedly ushered off the stage by the animation compere. Wasn't too impressed with some of the animation shows but that would not stop me returning to this lovely hotel and it's friendly staff.special mention to Luke who is a star in helping set the wedding up, a top employee.all in all a fantastic place to holiday and enjoy nice food, spacious clean rooms and enthusiastic friendly staff. Well done seabank resort

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank okeystokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estibalez S, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear okeystokie,

Thank you for your five-star review about Seabank. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with your family, especially the indoor pool and our restaurants.

Thank you for praising our staff, Luke and the cleaning team will surely appreciate it in particular.

We are thrilled to have succeeded in meeting your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Estibalez Santamaria
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I have just returned from a 5 night stay at Seabank with my daughter and mum. Seabank is a lovely hotel, staff are all very friendly and accommodating. The food was lovely, so much choice! the entertainment team certainly kept you entertained (best animation team i've come across so far!). the rooms are lovely, cleaned every day, the hotel was spotless and a nice place if you want to chill out and relax - bus stop across the road if you feel like venturing out. I would definitely stay there again if i were to visit Malta.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherry2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estibalez S, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Sherry2108,

We would like to thank you for posting such a wonderful review. We are glad to read that your five-night stay at Seabank was a success and that you enjoyed the food and the entertainment. Our staff will definitely appreciate your praise.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Estibalez Santamaria
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is my third visit to Seabank and it won't be my last! The hotel is spotless, friendly and very comfortable. The hotel is ideal for a spring break if you want to just chillax and enjoy some much needed timeout in the sun! The resort is quiet but the bus stop is across the road if you want to tour the Island. The Maya Beach cafe is a 3 minute walk away and perfect for a morning coffee or afternoon tea by the sea! The small sandy beach is directly across the road.

Weekend's are busy with locals buying daily all inclusive deals. However, I didn't find this too disruptive but you do need to book some of the restaurants in advance if you want to secure a table (not the main dining room).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Travelonmeown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estibalez S, Rooms Division Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Travelonmeown,

Thank you for posting such a nice review and for visiting us again. We are glad to have you as part of the Seabank family of repeat clients. It is true that sometime we do have offers for people who just want to enjoy lunch in one of our 6 restaurants or to take a dive in, in our swimming pool. However, as you mentioned, booking in advance is always advisable just to make sure your taste palates will be fully satisfied as planned.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Estibalez Santamaria
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This was a return visit to the Seabank after 5 years. In most ways, the hotel is greatly improved since its refurbishment. I travelled independently and was met at the airport (shortly after midnight), received a warm welcome at the hotel and was delighted that my room matched my various requests. I couldn't fault the food, service or general amenties except that the indoor pool is too small for a proper swim. My only other disappointment was in the corridors to the rooms which are long and dull (a bit more colour or some pictures on the walls would be nice) and a bit noisy at night time. Melliah Bay is nice and quiet compared to other resorts and offers some nice walks as well as being on a good bus route and having easy access to the Gozo Ferry. Malta at this time of the year is lovely with a comfortable temperature for sightseeing. I'm sure I'll be back again and would definitely choose the Seabank who know how to look after their customers.

Room Tip: Land or pool view rooms are generally quieter as they're away from the road but may experience l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estibalez S, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Jane C,

Thank you for posting a positive review about our resort and for visiting us again. We are glad to read we succeeded to meet your expectations. Thank you for praising the quality of our amenities and service.

Concerning the indoor swimming pool, it is true that it can seems small, especially in winter when you cannot enjoy the outdoor pool which is much bigger in size and surely more space. About the corridors, we are sorry if you suffered of any sound damage during night time. All your comment have been noted and shared with our team and rest assured that actions to improve will be taken as necessary.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We would be more than happy to welcome you back next time you wish to visit Malta.

Best regards,

Estibalez Santamaria
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We are currently staying in the Seabank hotel and I can ensure my readers it is not full of tourists who simply want to enjoy the free food and drinks ( As mentioned by a previous reviewer ), There is a pleasant mixture of holidaymakers including children and families who want to have a great holiday without any form of over indulgence. I intend writing a review later in our holiday but I just wanted to give a different opinion to the previous reviewer.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Glen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estibalez S, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Gien L,

Thank you for your five-star review and for sharing your opinion. We are pleased to read that you are enjoying your stay with us. We will do our best to keep up meeting your expectations.

Best regards,

Estibalez Santamaria
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.7 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.8 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,837 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,574 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to db Seabank Resort + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db Seabank Resort + Spa

Property: db Seabank Resort + Spa
Address: Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Business Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — db Seabank Resort + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Mellieha Bay on the island of Malta* All Inclusive Resort* 30 m from the beach* 5-story building* 1 km from downtown Mellieha* 20 km from the airport, 30 m from a bus stop.---Seabank's new and stylish property offers countless ways to spend your days while on holiday in Malta. Overlooking Malta's largest sandy beach at Ghadira Bay excellent beach for family with children), the db Seabank Resort + Spa includes:(1) Modern accommodation, 492 spacious non-smoking and fully equipped rooms (free WIFI), (2) Six international restaurants, three bars serving unlimited beverages. (3) The db Seabank Resort + Spa incorporates a modern spa with fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool, mind & body healing courses, Jacuzzi, Turkish steam bath & sauna, (4) A spectacular array of day and evening activities for every age and interest and (5)Live evening entertainment At the back of the resort, Malta's largest Lagoon style outdoor pool overlooks serene Maltese scenery. Recreational activities such as beach volleyball, crazy golf, air rifle shooting, and beach soccer can be enjoyed at our newly built recreational area. The colourful Kids Club cannot be missed. Popeye Village is just minutes away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your db Seabank Resort + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Seabank
Riu Seabank Mellieha
Seabank Hotel
Db Seabank Resort + Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing