We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Excellent all inclusive Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
db Seabank Resort + Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Excellent service here - all the staff are friendly and efficient, which adds to the overall experience. The rooms we had (5th Floor, pool view) were large and well appointed. The food was really good - breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, dinner - you can eat all day if you want! And drinks (lager, wine, cocktails, soft drinks, tea & coffee) are available all day and evening. Apart from the general buffet for dinner (the Coral), an Asian, a Brazilian grill, and an Italian restaurant- all of which tried and enjoyed (esp. the Brazilian - though perhaps not ideal for vegetarians): we found booking in advance no problem.

If going to Malta we would certainly consider staying here again!

Room Tip: We found the back of the hotel (overlooking the pool area) to be very quiet
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KentishMan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,902)
There are newer reviews for db Seabank Resort + Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,067 - 4,073 of 5,905 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

Planned a short stay over the Christmas period for my family. We stayed for 3 days and from the second we walked in I felt that I did the right choice for a relaxing stay. We had all inclusive and with no fuss whatsoever everything was top notch. The food is simply excellent, the waiting staff worked very hard and the service was always great, the hotel itself is very clean and you can note that at all times there is someone cleaning the main areas and every member of staff acknowledge you for staying at their hotel including the housekeepers.....amazing. What made my stay even more relaxing is the animation team, we had 3 kids and at all times there was something for them happening, they threat all kids as if they are there parents, they take them for lunch and they make sure they are safe at all times. This was the first Christmas eve dinner without chasing my kids and I must say a very big THANK YOU to these persons. I worked in this industry for over 23 years and never expected this great service in all areas. WELL DONE.........and will definitely return and recommend.

Room Tip: worth having a room overlooking the main pool
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Our very first visit to Malta, last minute booking for a relaxing week in November.

The location is very quiet with nice views over the bay, but not a lot going on in the bay, the town of Mellieha is very nice but a bit of a steep walk up to it, the pubic transport is the best option and very cheap.

The rooms are spacious, well equipped, modern and clean with a nice sized balcony.

The food is very good and varied with a choice of 3 themed restaurants our favourite was the Italian, not a lot of choice for your main which is served at your table, but very nicely cooked and presented.

There is also the main dining hall which is a bit canteen like but kept clean and tidy by the lovely waiting staff, and the choice of food is pretty good.

Drinks - well this to me was the only let down at this hotel. The coffee was not good at all but there was a choice of teas available.

Drinks of the alcoholic nature were not that good either, if you are a beer/lager drinker beware. The lager service was Carlsberg which in my opinion is one of the worst draft lagers there is, and served in chunky (1970's) style glasses. The Red wine at times was freezing cold, the Rose and the White where palatable, but after saying this about the drinks they are unlimited and self service in most areas so you could get a good head on the lager if you pulled it correctly and served in a large wine glass was not too bad.

The outside pool area is very spacious with plenty of loungers (not the most comfortable) and the Laguna bar served lunch, so would be nice in a bit warmer weather, but it was a nice 19-23 deg. during our week's stay.

Places to visit - Valletta and Sliema are very nice but very busy in comparison to Mellieha. The harbour cruises are well worth doing with plenty of information given about the history. Didn't make it to Gozo but will next time!! Popeye's village is nice, not suitable for people are not good at walking, quite a steep hill down to it and the buildings them selves are a bit rickety, there is a lovely little silversmiths shop who's owner was very friendly and the goods are of a reasonable price. The location is beautiful, and on nice day you could spend a while looking out to see.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helgar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Came to the Seabank with the family, there were six of us and there was something for everyone to do. All of us had an amazing time, all the staff at Seabank were very friendly and made our Christmas very special. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to have a relaxing holiday in a beautiful setting.
Thank you to all the team at Seabank :-)

Room Tip: We had three rooms and all very good. We didn't select rooms yet they were all next to each othe...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikkinkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I have just returned from a weekend break with my wife at the Seabank Resort & Spa. We are Maltese but needed to get away for some time from the traffic of the city in SIiema and St Julians where we live, and found it to be very relaxing and enjoyable. We were given a very large room overlooking Ghadira Bay. There are frequent buses taking passengers to Valletta (around 1 hour away by bus, or 25 minutes by car). The spa is well organised and enjoyable. We had a choice of restaurants in the evening, including an Asiatic and a Brazilian one. We opted for the Brazilian...and didn't regret it. The food was simply marvellous. Breakfast included a continental buffet, as well as English breakfast with eggs, sausages, bacon, etc. There was a variety of fruits, cakes and croissants. We went just after Christmas, so it was too cold to swim, but the hotel is literally overlooking the beach. The staff was friendly and willing to help. Will visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_aelag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Just got back from a week at the Seabank. Fantastic food, very helpful staff (especially Joseph), good facilities and overall a very nice place to stay. The hotels has four restaurants, indoor and outdoor pool (although it was too cold to use the outdoor one) and a very enthusiastic animation team. We will be back. Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikeconnect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Pros:
- good hotel for it's price
- large rooms, big balcony
- very good location, near the beach and very close to a bus station; nice surroundings, between a hill with gardens and the sea
- large variety of food
- friendly and helpful staff
- we were given a 'double' junior room, so there was plenty of space for 2 people
- no noise issues during the night, even if we has a 'land view' room, at the 3'rd floor, facing the main road (this in November, maybe during summer there is another story)

Cons:
- Maybe I was just unlucky - especially in the first day, but also after that, a distinct smell of poo (?) came from the bathroom - probably caused by the badly designed ventilation system. Ventilating the bathroom through the room with the open balcony door alleviated the problem a bit, but the smell persisted

- very stained carpet in the hallways - I think just cleaning it won't be enough, it has to be totally replaced. Having such a dirty carpet in a "4-star" hotel is not acceptable
- the beds make a lot of noises when you sit on them or turn from one side to another
- very soft mattress in some of the beds - a more firm one would be preferable
- during the cold season (November) a proper soft, winter blanket (quilt) would be useful, in addition to the provided sheets - we asked at the reception, but all they gave us were an identical 'cover blanket' that was unsuitable for covering your body
- only the TV from the other room worked, the one in the bedroom was defective
- very 'spartan' rooms - for a 4-start hotel I would expect more
- the indoor pool is very small for such a large hotel
- the main 'swivel' door at the hotel's entrance was defective, and the guests had to use 2 much smaller doors on the side
- the oriental restaurant can get very crowded - we were given a table very close to the door, were people were staying in a queue waiting to enter and arguing with the waiter, even if there were other tables available

Overall, most European travelers wouldn't perceive this as a 4-star hotel, even if probably it meets the 'technical' requirements in Malta to be classified as such.
I wouldn't recommend the hotel for a 'romantic' and quiet holiday, but indeed it might be ideal for families with kids searching for an all-inclusive destination.
I will return there only if the main issues described above will be fixed (especially the bathroom smell).

Room Tip: If possible ask for a junior suite - more space. Be aware that, because the hotel is build on a hil...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tudor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.7 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.7 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,966 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,757 reviews
0.8 mi away
Solana Hotel and Spa
Solana Hotel and Spa
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to db Seabank Resort + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db Seabank Resort + Spa

Address: Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Business Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $109 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — db Seabank Resort + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Mellieha Bay on the island of Malta* All Inclusive Resort* 30 m from the beach* 5-story building* 1 km from downtown Mellieha* 20 km from the airport, 30 m from a bus stop.---Seabank's new and stylish property offers countless ways to spend your days while on holiday in Malta. Overlooking Malta's largest sandy beach at Ghadira Bay excellent beach for family with children), the db Seabank Resort + Spa includes:(1) Modern accommodation, 492 spacious non-smoking and fully equipped rooms (free WIFI), (2) Six international restaurants, three bars serving unlimited beverages. (3) The db Seabank Resort + Spa incorporates a modern spa with fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool, mind & body healing courses, Jacuzzi, Turkish steam bath & sauna, (4) A spectacular array of day and evening activities for every age and interest and (5)Live evening entertainment At the back of the resort, Malta's largest Lagoon style outdoor pool overlooks serene Maltese scenery. Recreational activities such as beach volleyball, crazy golf, air rifle shooting, and beach soccer can be enjoyed at our newly built recreational area. The colourful Kids Club cannot be missed. Popeye Village is just minutes away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your db Seabank Resort + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Seabank
Riu Seabank Mellieha
Seabank Hotel
Db Seabank Resort + Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing