We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
db Seabank Resort + Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“overall good”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

room was spacious and very good the food options seemed vary good but we were just out of season so not the full range available
the buffet was ok but you had to book for the other restaurants
sadly no local malta dishes available
the Italian restaurant took half hour for main to be served cold and tasteless
the Asian was again cold meat probably as just opened so from fridge not fresh it seemed
the Brazilian restaurant was fantastic went there twice in our 7 days both times excellent
all staff were brilliant
we were booked for a lake view there is no lake its land pool or mountains we had a concrete roof and some of the indoor pool view
if using local transport which I recommend plz remember your bus stop is skadja as there many stops in lol don't book trips diy is excellent

Room Tip: the hop on and off day trip is 15 euro approx. the local bus is 12 euro for the week no brainer lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superbookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hubertdebono, General Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear superbookie,

Thank you for sharing some comments about your recent visit to the Seabank. We are glad that overall you had a positive experience.

I do apologise if the food was cold in 2 of our outlets. Rest assured that all food is freshly prepared in our show cooking stations. Over the past days we have taken different actions to prevent this from reoccurring during the colder winter months. Thank you for commending the Brazilian Rodizio.

Sadly we have no lakes in Malta and the lagoon pool is as close to one as it gets :-)

We do hope to have an other opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Hubert Debono
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,380
    1,580
    456
    110
    53
See reviews for
2,213
2,244
142
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,883)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here apart from weather, 4days out of 7wet n windy. The hotel rooms were bright and clean, maid service was every morning. Themed restaurants were nice but found service poor in Brazilian. Food was good with plenty of choice at the other ones, would really benefit from a restaurant you could dress up to go to as none use table cloths ect a bit canteen style that said the food was good. Spa area and indoor pool was handy as weather so bad but gym not well equipped. Hotel is clean staff friendly food and drinks good for a/I . Would not say it was a 4star but nice place none the less.
Word of warning, hotel opens to locals for weekend stays we found main restaurant very busy and lots of young children . Good access to beach and bus stops opposite hotel if you want to explore the island. We enjoyed our stay here .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheila a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hubertdebono, General Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear sheila a,

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay and thank you for commending our friendly staff. Glad you enjoyed the food on offer from the different outlets and that you found the hotel to be clean.

Our main restaurant is fully dressed up with table cloths for dinner and gym equipment situation is currently being assessed. It would be great if you could send me some more comments about the Brazilian Rodizio service you have experienced so we can look into it in more detail.

Once again thank you for your positive review and do hope that you will consider visiting us again if you choose Malta once more for your next holiday..

Best regards,

Hubert Debono
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We returned to the seabank hotel for our first anniversary after staying there for our honeymooon. Our room was perfect (5204) very clean, the cleaning staff were brilliant.
Reception staff were very helpful and approachable.
We spent 1 night in the Caverna suite, i have a spider phobia and the cave effect on the walls and seeing a big one in the caverna just ruined it for me, and the weather was bad so we couldnt use the hot tub. It also had no english tv channels and being honest it really wasnt built very well. the shower sloped away from the drain so the bathroom floor kept flooding (and the shower floor was all wooden..dont know how long that will last) the extra bedding in the wardrobe also had a horrible smell about it which im presuming came from the stuff used on the walls. i much preferred the hotel room which was just perfect, couldnt fault it. The caverna just seemed very cheap looking inside and the finish in the bathroom even the tiles looked very badly done.
We ate in all of the restaurants, they were all lovely as they were the previous year. the tables are squashed together a it so u can feel a bit uncomfortably close to the people beside u. Although the only downside was the La Vista restaurant, we went there on our final night but i found the service in there to be really poor, the staff just didnt seem to care. i wouldnt recommend going there, near enough the same food gets served in the normal buffet restaurant.
The Shop is very handy and we used it daily for the papers.
The spa was brilliant, my husband and i had a few treatments each and we really did enjoy them.

Room Tip: 5202 or 5204 sea view are brilliant rooms, although the land view rooms seem to get the sun all day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaJohn_McPhee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We were going to book a holiday at a nearby hotel when I read the rave reviews on Trip Advisor and so decided to pay a little extra and have our 3 week stay at the Seabank.

This was a big mistake.

Yes, the rooms are clean and comfortable and contain flat screen TV, included safe, tea and coffee making facilities, fridge, water bottles, UK 3 pin sockets, wifi and hairdryer. The bathroom was very modern, but the plug arrangements were useless and it would be very difficult for anyone with mobility issues to climb over the wide bath side to get a shower or bath. No hand grips were provided.

The food was generally plentiful, fresh and varied, but there was very little on offer for the conservative British taste. Breakfast was the best meal of the day. We usually arrived in the Laguna restaurant for lunch about 2pm after our explorations of the island to find we had a choice of either congealed lunch offerings or very sad looking junk food. There were lovely bread rolls, but no cold meat to even make sandwiches.

The only TV channels available in the room in English are Euronews and 2 obscure film channels, and it took 3 visits to reception and finally a word with the manager before we even got these. The TV downstairs in the bar area was usually on, but muted with other loud music playing so it was difficult to watch. But, we didn’t spend our holiday watching TV! The animation team put on excellent shows at 9.30 in the Dome. This was repeated weekly, so after our first week we were at a loose end in the evening. This resort was obviously built with summer in mind and there were lots of outside seating areas. Inside there were a few uncomfortable seats scattered about the lobby and those in the bar area which filled very quickly. A separate winter lounge or card room would be a very useful addition.

The worst feature for us was the invasion of the hotel by large groups of locals including many young families at the weekend. We understand that the hotel has beds to fill, but we felt like second class citizens as they had reserved tables and generally took over making the hotel very noisy and with even less chance of securing a seat in the restaurant or bar.

I think if we had been here for a week we may have overlooked the shortcomings, but for longer it became a real issue.

We enjoyed exploring Malta using the local buses which were plentiful and cheap, but just wish we had stayed in a more UK friendly local hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aitchebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Mine was a short local break which me and my wife and friends enjoyed. For people who like to eat a lot, this is a special place to add on weight :).
Located in one of Malta's main summer attractions, it is highly recommendable although as a local I preferred the low season to enjoy more tranquillity.
Recommended to both tourists and local visitors.

Room Tip: Ours was situated on the pool side and was quite comfortable with nothing to complain about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel120155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at the Seabank in early October 2013 and booked via Chevron, the choice of this company was for a number of reasons, their prices are very competitive, the administration is very professional and efficient, there are no Debit or Credit card charges even for American Express, transfers are included and, most importantly they include Air Malta as a carrier.
As Air Malta is a scheduled, rather than a chartered, airline the luggage allowance is a generous 20k hold and 10k cabin per person. We flew on an Airbus 320 which has a roomy and comfortable seating configuration and a hot meal and soft drinks are provided as a matter of course. You can also check in online, 24 hours prior to the flight departure. In many ways the experience is similar to flying British Airways to Gibraltar. All in all, a good start to the holiday.
The Seabank itself is modern; overlooks Mellieha Bay, which contains one of the best beaches in Malta, and bus stops in either direction, North to the Gozo Ferry or South to Valletta etc, are in very close proximity.

The Room
We stayed in Room 6440, which was extremely spacious and very well appointed. The wardrobe was large and contained more than enough hangers. Tea and coffee making facilities, plus a room safe, were provided as standard and free wifi was available in the room as well as the public places. The refrigerator was of a good size and included four bottles of water, which could be replenished from the many water coolers available..
The room itself was kept spotless, with towels being changed daily and bed linen twice weekly.

The Food.
Whilst there are a choice of eating options within the Seabank, we mainly used the, main restaurant as the variety and quality were, considering the scale of the operation, very good. As neither myself or my wife eat a great deal of meat, although we both tried and enjoyed the Maltese speciality of rabbit, it was very pleasing to have a wide choice of other options. The sushi, in particular, was superb.

At all meals the food selection was constantly replenished which, when considering that at the time of our visit the Seabank was 99% occupied, provides an excellent testimony to the efficiency of the staff and management. It is also very pleasing to note that the Seabank has an early breakfast commencing at 04.00 which, since we were leaving at 05.45, was much appreciated.

Drinks.
The Rose Wine was very palatable and the lager served is Carlsberg. Cocktails, either alcoholic or not, are excellent.

Staff and ambiance.
The staff at the Seabank are very customer focussed which, from our experience there, resulted in a very pleasing and enjoyable environment.

Information which may be of use.
1) If visiting Mdina from Mellieha do so AM rather than PM.
The last entry to Mdina is as at 16.00 and closure is at 16.30. But, trying to catch a return bus post 16.00 is horrific. The public service bus is erratic and crowds of 60 plus people waiting are not uncommon. We found it easier to cross the road and catch a bus to Mosta Rotunda and hence travel back to Mellieha that way. The journey still took 3 hours and 35 minutes, which is longer than the flight from Gatwick to Malta!
2) If booking tours from outside the Seabank, e.g. from the Tunny Net complex, please be aware that whilst the tour operators will collect you from the hotel not all will make the full return journey. Certain operators end their excursion 10 k from Mellieha, cost effective for them but as a traveller not very convenient! Do check prior to booking.
3) If you are visiting Sliema you may be approached by persons purporting to be on a marketing exercise for a recently refurbished Hotel. They will give you a prize draw voucher and, guess what, you have won, all you need to do is to go to the Hotel and claim your prize. Whilst the guy, Daniel, was plausible and initially denied that this was not a variation of a Time Share exercise, it was! We walked away. Others, once at the Hotel, sadly suffered the whole intensive sales pitch.

Conclusion.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Seabank and, if visiting Malta again, this will be our choice of destination as it is a very good 4 Star Hotel which provides excellent value for money.

Room Tip: 6440 provides a quiet, large and well appointed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JamesESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicki@lenoelpr.demon.co.uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great situation across the road from a bus stop and lovely beach in an unspoilt area. The bus gives access to routes all across the island and the seven day bus ticket is excellent value at 12 euro. The location is particularly convenient for the Golden Bay area with it’s environmental activities and the Gozo ferry.

For an all inclusive hotel the food was of a remarkably high standard, with several dining options available as well as all varieties of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. The hands-on-management, the majority of staff members and the accommodation were all great too. We had two interlinked bedrooms (hadn't requested) so there was plenty of space should someone decide to have a snoring session. Rooms particularly well designed with good lighting.

Unfortunately no one at the hotel was in charge of the weather which was ‘unseasonal’ throughout our stay. The bad weather revealed very poor construction with copious leaks and draughts in the public areas. Also the spa is not very special - changing rooms quite unpleasant.

Great onsite shop stocking everything the visitor might suddenly need at prices matched to local shops.

The hotel offers such good value that unsurprisingly it is inundated by young local families and groups of young folk at the weekends. Maltese kids are lively extroverts who rule their parents, who in turn seem unwilling to enforce anything earlier than a mid-night bed-time. Retiring types might like to book from Sunday evening until Friday.

Regarding earlier review mention of flies by the pool - yes there is a problem with flies even on damp and windy November days, but I doubt this is down to the hotel as standards of hygiene appear very high.

That said, we have no hesitation in recommending this hotel highly.

Room Tip: I'd opt for rooms on the top floor as noise from inconsiderate guests above was an occasional pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VickilovesIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.7 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.8 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,837 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,574 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to db Seabank Resort + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db Seabank Resort + Spa

Property: db Seabank Resort + Spa
Address: Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Business Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — db Seabank Resort + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Mellieha Bay on the island of Malta* All Inclusive Resort* 30 m from the beach* 5-story building* 1 km from downtown Mellieha* 20 km from the airport, 30 m from a bus stop.---Seabank's new and stylish property offers countless ways to spend your days while on holiday in Malta. Overlooking Malta's largest sandy beach at Ghadira Bay excellent beach for family with children), the db Seabank Resort + Spa includes:(1) Modern accommodation, 492 spacious non-smoking and fully equipped rooms (free WIFI), (2) Six international restaurants, three bars serving unlimited beverages. (3) The db Seabank Resort + Spa incorporates a modern spa with fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool, mind & body healing courses, Jacuzzi, Turkish steam bath & sauna, (4) A spectacular array of day and evening activities for every age and interest and (5)Live evening entertainment At the back of the resort, Malta's largest Lagoon style outdoor pool overlooks serene Maltese scenery. Recreational activities such as beach volleyball, crazy golf, air rifle shooting, and beach soccer can be enjoyed at our newly built recreational area. The colourful Kids Club cannot be missed. Popeye Village is just minutes away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your db Seabank Resort + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Seabank
Riu Seabank Mellieha
Seabank Hotel
Db Seabank Resort + Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing