We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time last year but........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
db Seabank Resort + Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had a great time last year so much so that we are going back this year! So you wonder why i say but... well our lift did not work and our complaints were ignored we had to carry a pram down a few stairs bla bla irritating but something to overlook because we were only there for a week.So this year i contacted the hotel so this would not happen again and unfortunately they did not reply so.......i will write another review after my stay from the 1st June till the 8th.To be continued........

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,956 - 4,962 of 6,227 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

An all inclusive holiday 4th March 2013, we arrived just after dinner had finished, however the staff had prepared a light meal for each new arrival which was a good first impression. The hotel was modern, light and welcoming. The room was clean and minimalist with a nautical twist, the beds were extremely comfortable too! The food was superb with many dishes to choose from and with myself being a vegetarian, i was most impressed, there were also many meat and seafood choices too, my husband particularly enjoying the pork in red wine sauce and swordfish! The staff were polite and friendly, with the manager personally introducing himself to our morning meeting, staff were all on hand all of the time. The bar was overlooking the sea with outside seating, a perfect retreat after a hard days trek of the island. We also used the hotels indoor pool, sauna and steam room for the relaxing days we wanted to chill out. There is a bus stop right outside the bay which is frequent for visiting other towns on the island, we visited the lively St Julian's part of Malta which was very trendy and upbeat.. we now see why Brad Pitt, Angelina Jolie and the Beckhams are fans of the Island! My only complaint is that we didn't stay longer than a week, we did not want to leave!... i'm sure this is a place we will visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JANE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan B, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience when staying at Seabank. We always appreciate hearing from our guests.

We are glad that we made your stay enjoyable and it is always rewarding to read that a guest would like to return.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Malta.

Best wishes,
Ivan Borg Ferrando
ASSISTANT GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed in a junior suite which was probably the best room I've stayed in whilst in holiday in Europe. The beds were huge! A separate sleeping area for the children was great (included separate TVs), it meant that it took the pressure off trying to juggle bedtimes and we were all able to chill out at the end of the day. There was plenty of storage and the bathroom was well stocked with toiletries. The food was good quality,a bit repetitive but that's understandable. The dining room was well laid out and didn't feel like a bun fight. The snack bar for continental breakfast was well stocked (which also included freshly cooked items). The lunch menu here was good which always included pizza, chips, burgers, sausages and also a good range of salads and then cakes later in the day. The wasps were a problem for us. My husband and son were both stung without warning. Once my son was stung he was obviously very frightened of them from then on. Some of this was down to people leaving soft drinks in the sun but we did see the bar staff tipping the old drinks into nearby borders and plant pots so that wouldn't have helped.
Pool - laid out well and we could always find beds without a problem, there seemed to be a never ending supply of beds and umbrellas. The kids club was situated at the pool area so you didn't need to trek across the hotel site to drop them off. Unfortunately the pools had to be cleared several times when we were there due to people not using swim nappies (enough said!).
I used the spa and I found the staff very friendly and the prices reasonable.
As it was last year we visited, the first year of the refurb opening we knew we probably got the holiday at a good price, but, I noticed that the same holiday this year had gone up by £1500 - £2000. I would have been disappointed if I'd have paid the higher price as it would not have been worth it so I will be interested what the reviews this year will reflect on value for money.

Room Tip: We were facing toward the church, at the back of the hotel a very quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RAE6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan B, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Seabank in August 2012. We are glad to hear that your overall stay was great and that you enjoyed all our amenities, especially your room the junior suite. Many thanks for praising our staff, the food and the spa.

We are sorry to hear that you and your family got upset with wasps last year. Malta is a very humid and quite warm country especially in August and it does attract different kind of insects including wasps and mosquitoes. However, we are doing our utmost to reduce these problems at our resort.

Once again thanks for choosing Seabank last year as your holiday choice and for sharing your review. We took notice of your comment in regards to the wasps and passed the information forward.

Best wishes,
Ivan Borg Ferrando
ASSISTANT GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have just returned from an excellent All inclusive one week stay from 26/02/2013 at the Sea Bank Spa Hotel. The check in is very simple, smooth and quick. The Front office staff are very friendly and helpful. We were allocated room 5121 and 5122 on the 5th floor. One with sea view and the other with landview. The rooms are very spacious, spotlessly clean, beautiful decor and new fixtures and lighting. Well designed new bathroom with contemporary fittings . Coffee maker and the mini fridge are very handy. The maids work very hard in cleaning and making the beds daily and they always keep your stay very pleasant. Never heard any construction noise or seen any dust at all. The lifts are very fast and within a blink of your eye you will reach the 5th floor. The buffet style food is fantastic, plenty of choices and appetising. Food is the winner for the hotel. Due to the variety of food all of us went for second round on every meal .You are tempted to try each and every dish. Wine and beer are self service freely flow from the tap. We did not try any other drinks at the bar as the red wine is of very good quality.
The restaurant staff and the waiters are very polite and always there for you with a smile. We enjoyed the Chinese buffet at the Laorjent and the Italian menu at the Jungle restaurant as a part of all inclusive deal. The Chinese buffet is complete and you can easily award a 5 star. There is always some food or snack freely available somewhere in the hotel all the time from 7 am till 9.30pm and drinks up to 11 pm. The animation team works very hard to put up some adult evening entertainment but are still in early stages and a long way to go. There is no rush for sun beds and there are plenty of them freely available any time of the day. The pool is not functional yet but is beautiful with all sort of attractions . I think when the pool is reopened that will be another winner for the hotel The Hotel is on the main road and the bus stops are just in front. Beach is almost on the door step across the road. Valetta, Buggiba and Seleima are wellworth a visit. Every staff in the hotel deserves an award for excellent customer service but I have to mention a few names who deserves more than a word of appreciation for the outstanding customer service . They are Grazella ( Reservations) , Mariam (Front Office ), Alfred Bray (Coral Restaurant ) and Milos ( Coral Restaurant ). You can approach them any time and they will go an extra mile to help you and to turn your holiday to a celebration.

RPK from London

Room Tip: Ask for heigher floor and close to the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank RPKUMAR186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan B, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at the Seabank Resort & Spa. Your kind feedback is highly appreciated.

We are proud to read that the quality of our hotel matched your expectations and are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food especially the Asian cuisine at the L-Orjent restaurant. In regards to the pool I am positive you would have enjoyed the outdoor pool area as well if you would have stayed just few days longer. We just did the renovation and the outdoor pool area is looking great and it is ready for swimming.

We are delighted to hear that you have had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us. Your most kind comments were passed right away on to our whole team especially to Graziella, Milos, Alfred and Marion.

We truly hope to see you again in the near future.

Best wishes,
Ivan Borg Ferrando
ASSISTANT GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at the Seabank in October 2012 and had a good time ,the hotel was good the food and drink were great, what with all the Seabank had to offer, we decided to book again for February 2013 ,Wrong decision ,what a difference a few months made,( before we booked we checked out other hotels on Malta, these informed us of reduced facilities on offer ,owing to the winter months ,taking this on board ,we booked with the Seabank as the Seabank implied everything was as normal "including the price" ) February 24th came at last and off we went for a good holiday at The Seabank ,Oh dear ! ,on arrival ,we checked in went to our rooms etc. and then came down for a bite to eat at the La Laguna,only to find this was closed owing to the winter months ,and food was being served in the lounge , well some rolls and a bit of cake was ,and this was on tables in the corner ,looked like a works canteen ,not good ,we were expecting better ,on then to dinner in the Coral Restaurant ,again ok but everything reduced down ,was is going on ,we are being charged the same price as last year ,but being sold short ,nothing said about this , worse was to come at the weekends the hotel is open for local people to come and stay ,the food improves ,there is more choice ,that's if you can find a seat in the restaurant and not get knocked over by the children running around, the hotel becomes a very busy place ,most nights we would go to the lounge for a drink or two on two nights all the children and the animation team came from the Dome ,and used the lounge for the kids entertainment , ,great ,now where can we go ,we used the lounge ,as we don't want the noise ,enough said.. one member of staff who works in the lounge Alina is her name ,is a asset to the Seabank ,...as l said earlier the Seabank is a busy place at the weekend ,its time to go home we went to check out and the reception were busy just look our keys and that was that sums up the whole week ,but Malta is great ,you should go ,we will watch Tripadviser ,before returning to the Seabank ...

Room Tip: Check everything ,before you bbok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fakenhamflyer4851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a weekend break during the Christmas period and must say that whilst the rooms were quite spacious and well furbished,. most other things require much more improvements... the dining room looks more like canteen than a 4 star restaurant and the food served was of poor quality... the bar served cocktails that were hideous and done from fake essence...disgusting! the indoor pool was cold and this was December!!! i was really disappointed as it felt like they were out to get some cheap bucks on the residents! finally there was construction work being done that disrupted our stay...am sure that it could have been postponed till after Christmas!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank malteseglobetotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

As we walked through the front door we got a warm welcome. It was late when we arrived and a buffet meal was awaiting us in the Coral restaurant. All staff greeted us with a smile and where most helpful.
The room was fab...the blue and white decor gave a nautical feel.The bathroom was well fitted out and the maid cleaned our room well. She was so friendly too.
Located on Mellieha bay it was lovely to be able to look out from our balcony to see the sandy beach. The bus stop is right across the road and it is worthwhile to get a weekly ticket that can take you all over the island. Alternatively representatives in the hotel can arrange car hire.
The pool and spa are lovely and we were fortunate to win a head and back massage in a quiz.
The entertainment was ok.....we wish that we had taken our young grandson as they had great animators running the kids club and disco.....they were excellent with the kids.
The thing that we liked least was that all the seating in the foyer is very low and my husband has a problem with his knees. Other than that the food selection and the quality was brilliant.
Malta is such a historical place that we enjoyed and staying at the Seabank made our holiday really special!

Room Tip: Request a sea view if you want one however rooms overlooking the garden /pool area are more sheltere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sheila807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan B, Manager at db Seabank Resort + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Seabank Resort & Spa and for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor.

We highly appreciate your nice comments about our hotel, our clean rooms, food, the animation team and our very welcoming staff. Your kind comments were passed on to our whole team.

We would be pleased to welcome you again at the Seabank Resort & Spa during your next stay in Malta.

Best wishes,
Ivan Borg Ferrando
ASSISTANT GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.7 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.7 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,078 reviews
1.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to db Seabank Resort + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db Seabank Resort + Spa

Address: Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Business Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $89 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — db Seabank Resort + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Mellieha Bay on the island of Malta* All Inclusive Resort* 30 m from the beach* 5-story building* 1 km from downtown Mellieha* 20 km from the airport, 30 m from a bus stop.---Seabank's new and stylish property offers countless ways to spend your days while on holiday in Malta. Overlooking Malta's largest sandy beach at Ghadira Bay excellent beach for family with children), the db Seabank Resort + Spa includes:(1) Modern accommodation, 492 spacious non-smoking and fully equipped rooms (free WIFI), (2) Six international restaurants, three bars serving unlimited beverages. (3) The db Seabank Resort + Spa incorporates a modern spa with fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool, mind & body healing courses, Jacuzzi, Turkish steam bath & sauna, (4) A spectacular array of day and evening activities for every age and interest and (5)Live evening entertainment At the back of the resort, Malta's largest Lagoon style outdoor pool overlooks serene Maltese scenery. Recreational activities such as beach volleyball, crazy golf, air rifle shooting, and beach soccer can be enjoyed at our newly built recreational area. The colourful Kids Club cannot be missed. Popeye Village is just minutes away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your db Seabank Resort + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Seabank
Riu Seabank Mellieha
Seabank Hotel
Db Seabank Resort + Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing