We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to go for a holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
db Seabank Resort + Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I have just returned from our week long holiday at the Seabank Hotel (14th -21st August). It was really lovely! When we first arrived at gone 11pm there was a buffet in the main dining area for us late arrivals with a good range of foods.

Our room was great too, overlooking the sea. Although it was on the main road, you hardly noticed the traffic at all and we woke up to a beautiful sunrise everyday. The room itself was cleaned everyday and you can tell that it's been newly decorated with the nautical theme which gave it a cool 'seaside' feel. We had bottles of water in the mini fridge everyday and it was always spotlessly cleaned by the maids.

There are so many things to do out and about as well and the hotel offered excursions with different companies and places on the island too. These were FAR cheaper than booking them through our tour operator and our all day cruise round the islands and 3 hours at the Blue Lagoon cost just 12 Euros each! Even cheaper still were the buses that arrived every half hour and cost 2.60 Euros for the whole day and you could hop on and off them all over the island.

The pools were both fantastic and there was never any problem in being able to find sun loungers as there were loads!

The food in the main dining area was lovely and there was something different everyday, including some local dishes. We arranged to have dinner in the L'Orient (Chinese) and it wasn't very nice at all. We were a bit concerned when we booked it in the main dining area and the head waiter said to us "if you're still hungry afterwards, you can come in here and eat as much as you like." It was pretty awful with very little choice. Even the prawn crackers were squiffy!

The Animation Team, (bless them!) were great during the daytime doing loads of activities during the day for children and adults alike but the evening performances were shocking (you know the acts they put on Britains Got Talent and you say laugh your socks off at them they're that bad?.... that was them). You can tell that they are a new team, but I think next season they would be better advertising at the universities in the UK that have musical theatre courses so that they will at least be able to hire people that can sing and dance and not mime BADLY (the Grease performance was pretty shocking.....who doesn't know the words to Summer Nights?!) to songs.

Overall, we did have a lovely time and are very much missing the view and not looking forward to doing the washing up tonight.

Room Tip: Sea view room was lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Caras30th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,099)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,126 - 5,132 of 6,099 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at the sea bank in June this year and was a bit worried about some of the bad reviews but I really don't no what some people expect it was a lovely hotel well worth the 4stars I don't usually like to go back to the same place twice but I will Definately be back friendly staff very clean rooms excellent choice of food plenty to choose from if I had a negative it would be more adult entertainment at night say after 9 o'clock and wished the bar was open until 12 we thought 11 was a bit early when your on holiday most countries we've been to before are open later even if you have to pay after 11 but excellent location

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cwalt1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I was a bit apprehensive about staying at the seabank, after reading all the negative comments.
We arrived just after the restuarant closed, but were told at 10.30 there was going to be buffet provided for all late arrivals which was good.
Rooms were clean and tidy.
Pool area was great, no need to reserve sunbeds at 7.30 as there were still plenty at 10.30, giving you enough time to enjoy a large breakfast on the terrace overlooking the bay (which we did every morning), recommend the pancakes.
Restuarant food was good with plenty of choices, never had a cold dish during the stay. Sweets were constantly being replaced, which shows how good they were. My vegetarian daughter did struggle a little not knowing what exactly was in some of the dishes, and my youngest who is an awkward eater struggled as well.
The meal we had in the Vista was excellent,We were allowed to mix and match the vista and jungle inclusive menus.
once they got our order right, 3 courses. My youngest just managed to eat the dustbin lid sized pizza, but her eyes still lit up when she saw the slab of chocolate fudge on offer for desert.
Did not eat at the restuarants away from the seabank, they looked more like snack bars rather than a place for an evening meal.
Yes there were flies, but when you eat outside what do you expect. I did not see any in the restuarant food display areas. Wasps yes but only because of the unfinished drinks and food trays which were not returned to the pool cafe, more wasps than we are use too at home, but we were abroad !!!
Pool attendants always on hand to help with beds and umbrellas. The non slip floor of the pool i did not find to hard on the feet.
We were woken up at 5.00am one morning by a fire alarm, there were fire evacuation plans on the back of our room doors.
The only sign of building works were when my wife and youngest ended up in the basement when lift went down not up, when the doors opened they were greeted by neumatic drills etc.
The noise was not heard at reception level.
Yes there are a few small things that could be better, but not enough to put people off staying.
Oh for a decent cup of tea, which is the first thing we had when we got home.
Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the seabank

Room Tip: Quiet rooms over look the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 803SteveH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was our fourth visit to Malta and our third time in this hotel. Much more spacious accommodation since last years refurbishment, clean, friendly staff, indoor pool, larger outdoor pool & entertainment dome. Cocktails by the pool an added advantage of now being all inclusive. Food as usual was excellent, well displayed and great choice. Food served practically all day, from either main Coral Restaurant, Pool Restaurant or various others (2 days notice for other restaurants did put us off (especially when booking trips and not always knowing 2 days in advance if you would be there in 2 days for evening meal), although we tried one of the others it was hard to better the the Coral. Themed meal evenings as well as children's section for those more picky eaters (although if you had a problem you only had to ask the chef who was always around and he would cook anything within reason). Our family room was as requested with a partition between the children's part and ours, both parts had a tv and separate air conditioning, 4 bottles of water in the fridge every day, excellent maids,very clean, balcony with pull out clothes drying rack. Would highly recommend to others and have.

Room Tip: Choose either a pool view or sea view, some rooms at the side can only see a road and shops up into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sykes_Family10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Ignore the bad reviews !!!!
We have just come back from a fab week at the Seabank. We had a lovely room with a nice balcony. The rooms are lovely and clean.
The food was good. Breakfast- They catered for all tastes, continental breakfast, cooked breakfasts, cereals, yoghurt , toast, my kids loved the pancakes!!!
Lunch- There was always a variety.
Dinner- They had a different theme each night, there were a nice selection of salads, soups, meat + fish and lots of delicious desserts. We also ate in two of the hotels other restaurants (which need to be booked 1 or 2 days in advance) The Oriental restaurant which was nice, buffet style not as much selection but still good and another night we ate in La Vista where you could choose a starter, main course and dessert from the menu, again the food was good but the service was a bit slow.
The pool and surrounding areas were lovely and clean, I think this was the only hotel I've been to where there were more sun beds than guests so it was good being able to get a bed whatever time of day you got to the pool.
The animation team were very good, my children joined in with a few of the activities and I did the zumba a couple of times. There were all sorts of activities going on at different times throughout the day.
All the staff were very nice, bar service was always good, no long queues.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to go back.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank LMMK71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Having stayed at the Seabank several times in the past, this was our first return visit since the revamp. WOW - you wouldn't recognise it as the same hotel, more of a rebuilt than a refurb.
Whilst there wasn't much to fault with the old Seabank, it is now even better. The rooms are light and airy, spacious and very clean. The main restaurant is likewise with a great selection of food - reading some reviewers criticism on that front I can only assume they normally eat at top London restaurants!! The alternative restaurants we used were also very good - so you had to book in advance - big deal!! The pool area is well laid out, with other areas for sunbathing if you wanted a bit more peace & quiet. Contrary to what has been said elsewhere- there is a shop in the hotel & there is also comprehensive info on events & activities both in hotel and around the island. All the staff were very helpful & friendly.
Although now well past the family holiday age - in fact I should be into my 'grumpy old man' stage, it was obvious that with all that was on offer, it would be ideal for that.
So nothing to fault at all? - well, since I have entered the grumpy old man stage of life - as much as they were great at thier other duties, - I thought the Animation Team's evening shows were truly awful, but then I never did like that sort of thing anyway!! The rest- Great.
.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellingman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I went as a group of 2 couples.
Before we left i used TripAdvisor and almost persuaded myself the holiday was gonna be rubbish due to the comments surrounding the sea bank.
Anyway reluctantly i went, and never looked back.

We travelled from Norwich and arrived late, the staff were very helpful polite and there was the option of somebody taking our bags to the rooms for us (although we declined it was nice to be asked after a day of travelling)
The rooms were spotless, spacious and cool from the air con, Lovely Views of the pool and surrounding area. The Double bed was huge! and there was even extra pillows and ice cold water waiting for us in the fridge (which is topped up, 2x Bottles everyday) There is also a safe in the room, handy for valuables etc

This was my first experience of a "All Inclusive Hotel" my stomach never growled with hunger once while i was there. I'm a chef with 8 years of trade exp of busy kitchens, i was pleasantly surprised the main buffet restaurant "The Coral" i thought was very pleasurable, every night i had about 5 different combination of meat and fish on my plate, including Lamb Chops, Veal, swordfish but there was the more standard meats too for the less food lovers ( Chicken, Pork, Beef, Tuna, White Fish. Although I'm certain some of this food was from the freezer, due to the amount of food produced for such a big hotel what they did with the ingredients was lovely, every Meat or Fish came with a garnish or sauce to compliment. there was also many potatoes and vegetables dishes available, As well as a fresh salad bar with pestos, and loads of dressings. If you love dessert your in for a real treat, during the course of the week i saw crumbles, mouses, jelly's, pies, gateaus, tiramisu's, ice cream, my personal favourite profiteroles with an ice cold custard and more fresh fruit than you could ever eat.

The entertainment for me was a little disappointing but to be fair its clearly designed for families with kids, they have a mini disco and then a show put on by the Animation Team, who are all friendly and keep the kids heavily entertained, but the shows they put on were just them dancing and miming to music, which if you don't have kids or even if you do can get boring very quickly. Towards the end of the week they had a band with a singer the ladies adored and a magic act which i enjoyed a lot.

The bar staff are amazing and very helpful I don't really need to say to much, if they have what you want or can help they will.

To those who read the bad comments before visiting (Like i did) don't let them put you off, i loved it and im sure you will too.

ps
I highly recommend a boat trip with "Oh Yeah Cruises" (available from the Hotel) to Camino and visit the Blue Lagoon highlight of the week, Stunning! take a snorkel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mattycus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.7 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.7 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
2,051 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,884 reviews
1.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to db Seabank Resort + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about db Seabank Resort + Spa

Address: Marfa Road | Mellieha Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9064, Malta (Formerly Seabank All Inclusive Resort & Spa)
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#2 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Business Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $108 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — db Seabank Resort + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Mellieha Bay on the island of Malta* All Inclusive Resort* 30 m from the beach* 5-story building* 1 km from downtown Mellieha* 20 km from the airport, 30 m from a bus stop.---Seabank's new and stylish property offers countless ways to spend your days while on holiday in Malta. Overlooking Malta's largest sandy beach at Ghadira Bay excellent beach for family with children), the db Seabank Resort + Spa includes:(1) Modern accommodation, 492 spacious non-smoking and fully equipped rooms (free WIFI), (2) Six international restaurants, three bars serving unlimited beverages. (3) The db Seabank Resort + Spa incorporates a modern spa with fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool, mind & body healing courses, Jacuzzi, Turkish steam bath & sauna, (4) A spectacular array of day and evening activities for every age and interest and (5)Live evening entertainment At the back of the resort, Malta's largest Lagoon style outdoor pool overlooks serene Maltese scenery. Recreational activities such as beach volleyball, crazy golf, air rifle shooting, and beach soccer can be enjoyed at our newly built recreational area. The colourful Kids Club cannot be missed. Popeye Village is just minutes away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your db Seabank Resort + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Seabank
Riu Seabank Mellieha
Seabank Hotel
Db Seabank Resort + Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing