We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,998)
Filter reviews
1,998 results
Traveler rating
620
679
397
170
132
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
620
679
397
170
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hola beach lobby bar the bus blue lagoon marfa bay indoor pool chinese buffet animation team gozo ferry sea view all inclusive drinks special thanks relaxing holiday quiet area all inclusive package plenty of sunbeds a la carte restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,998 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Labranda Hotel in August!
Really nice hotel! Rooms really clean!

Food really good, staff friendly!

Not much to do with kids during rainy day, as Kids club couldn’t offer much - so that’s only one negative!
Apart this was really good!
Highly recommend!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank adrianatravellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timol02, Guest Relations Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago


Dear Adam,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Hopefully you will visit us soon again.

Kind regards,

Timo Löschner

Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On arrival first impressions were a let down, the lay out of the hotel is really bad. The reception area is immmediatley inside the entrance which just does not work, especially when several people are trying to check in or out together and the computers go down which we were told happened on one night of our stay at midnight , therefore guests ending up sleeping in the foyer on sofas until the problem was sorted.
The reception is right next to the bar area which then leads into the restaurant, this then leads in the Italian ( red check table clothes) walk through the Italian into Chinese , all open plan nothing is sectioned off, it’s very strange no sense of intimacy or quiet .

We were fully inclusive, you have to book the Italian and Chinese all F/I but if you want to eat in the Lebanese restaurant ( next door ) you have to pay.
Have to say the food choice was excellent , fresh, piping hot, pizza station. Omelettes made to Order at breakfast, yes there are queues but you don’t have to wait too long and it’s well worth it.
The bar staff very friendly but towards the end of their shifts we sensed they were tired and just wanted to finish. Even after the bar flooded they all mucked in to clean up.

Got talking to Reuben the executive chef who invited myself and my friend for a cooking lesson, brilliant experience, what a lovely man and great chef, can’t fault his food.

More about the hotel layout ..... we were on the first floor, very happy with the room which was at the rear of the hotel, lots of sunshine and our patio opened onto the adults only swimming pool , very quiet. There was a small bar with cold drinks and coffee machine but wasn’t stocked up very well .

What we found odd was the children’s entertainment area ( games machines etc) was once again “ open plan” and right next to the bar which provided nightly entertainment, once again too open and not cosy enough. Lots of kids running around on our arrival ( a Saturday night) , we did think for a minute what have we let ourselves in for, but as the days went on we seen less kids so maybe it’s just local families using the hotel on weekends, not sure.
The hotel is very remote so if you want more night life, bars , more choices of restaurants then this is not for you. Two bus stops only a few mins walk from hotel.

Stunning location, only 20 mins walk along the coastal path to catch the ferry to Gozo €4.60 return takes approx 25 mins, very pleasant trip. We purchased a green ticket bus tour for the island €15 euro , not to be missed a great way of getting around the island ... Tip /take a jacket if your sitting on the open top deck, also keep your head in as very narrow streets. You are given a set of headphones to listen to the commentary but unless you speak any other language than English forget it!!! I suggest sitting close to the driver because if your sat at the top and decide to get off then it’s too late because he’s off like a bat out of hell !!!! Great driving skills I might add.

All in all a relaxing few days, will definitely be going back to Malta but maybe somewhere with a little bit more life.

Room tip: Rear first floor adjacent to adult only pool, full sun and quiet.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timol02, Guest Relations Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Barbara,

Thank you very much for sparing your time for this detailed review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the LABRANDA Riviera Hotel & Spa.

Moreover, we appreciate mentioning our friendly staff, it is nice to hear that you were satisfied with our service provided.

We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our culinary offers.

Hopefully you had a comfortable trip home and you decide to visit us again on your next visit to Malta.

Kind regards,

Timo Löschner

Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is in a nice location, unless you are looking for night life [I wasn't]. Very clean accommodation and comfortable beds. Wardrobe space was a bit limited with 10 hangers between 2 people, with one large but not very deep drawer. There were small bedside tables with not enough space for my underwear. Kept nightwear, swimsuits etc. in my case. Wardrobe was also not very long, so my long dress had to hang on some pegs on the wall.Food was good, but in my opinion, not very well laid out. Desserts were in a small section in the middle of the main courses and there always seemed to be a jam there, with people coming from all directions. Drinks were good quality, but a limited selection of cocktails. If it wasn't on the list, then it couldn't be made.Not much in the way of evening entertainment. Singers were pretty much the same... east listening style. Two highlights were the young female violinist and on the last night, two members of the entertainment staff put on a great show, with amazing "Riverdance" type dancing. It certainly went down very well.A couple of tips.... if you buy the weekly bus ticket [recommended], they can be purchased from the small shop on the first floor. Also, if you want mayonnaise on your salad, you'll find it next to the chips!!Most of the staff were efficient and friendly, but a few in the dining area made the minimum effort, unless there was a visit by a bigwig. The ladies in charge of that area mucked in with the clearing of tables etc and some of the staff could learn a lot from them.The bar staff were excellent and some of them never seemed to be off duty.With a bit more attention to the evening entertainment and some of the staff getting a kickstart, this would get 5 stars from me. Even if you are tired and bored, please try to appear a bit more enthusiastic. Your clients will appreciate it!!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timol02, Guest Relations Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sheila,

thank your for taking your time to write this comment.

It is good to hear that you were satisfied with our service provided.

We have also taken into consideration your remarks regarding our staff and the restaurant.

Hopefully you had a comfortable trip home and will visit us on your next visit to Malta!

Kind regards,

Timo Loschner

Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location of the hotel is great, its in a very pleasant area. Everything is very accessible, you have ferry trips, bus stops, restaurants and bays a stone throw away. The hotel itself is very big and spacious and modern, the staff are very helpful and friendly.

But we did have a few little issues, they didn't seem equipped for the number of quests. We queued for well over an hour to check in (they gave us snacks and prosecco to compensate for the wait tho). We also went a whole day without any towels at one stage. When we went to complain they said they ran out of towels, but again they were apologetic and compensated us with a bottle of wine (which was very nice).

We paid for the breakfast only package and paid for the all you can eat dinner buffet on the 1st night and the food was very nice. A good variety of food to choose from.

The spa we only used once because we were to busy exploring the beauty the island had to offer. The day we used the spa/indoor pool, it was very busy with families. If you wanted a quiet swim you would probably have to plan it in early.

Would I stay there again... yes I would. Lets just hope they iron out the problems we came accross.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jona134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timol02, Guest Relations Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jona,

Thank you very much for sparing your time to write this review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Unfortunately, not everything at your stay was perfect but I am delighted to hear that we could fix all problems promptly and did our best to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Please be ensured that we are improving every day and appreciate your comments and compliments.

We are looking forward to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Timo Loschner

Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Visited the Labranda hotel for a short break at the beginning of November with my wife. I had some reservations after reading poor reviews re food quality, unfriendly staff, boring entertainment, isolated location, etc. etc.
Having written numerous hotel reviews and being quite fussy when it comes to hotel standards, I felt it was time to put the record straight and give, what I hope, is a brief honest review.
1) Food quality: lots of good, quality dishes to all tastes AND HOT!
2) Staff are very pleasant, helpful and polite.
3)Entertainment was reasonably good, keyboards/singer/violinist-all of a good standard,
4)Yes it IS in one of the more remote areas of Malta, but the bonus is a view, that on a sunny day, you just keep gazing at in wonder.
Are there any negative? Yes, of course, as with any hotel, but with each there is a positive. You do need to travel a distance to the capital, Valletta, 90 minutes on the bus. BUT, bus stop 2 minutes walk from hotel and bus fare (Winter rates) 1.50 euro!!!! The ferry to the island of Gozo is only a 20 minute walk (or 2 stops on the bus) and only 4.60 euro return on the ferry!
So, it depends on the individual, but if you're looking for a really good quality hotel in an unbeatable location, the Labranda is the hotel for you.
We're planning on going back!!!

Room tip: Rooms at the rear overlooking fields get most sun
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timol02, Guest Relations Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear John,

On behalf of LABRANDA Riviera Resort & Spa team, thank you very much for your beautiful review and the highest note!!

It is always a pleasure to know that we made our guests happy - that motivates us to keep striving for excellent services in the future.

Thank you for mentioning the stunning views to the islands Comino and Gozo, which is making our location so special.

Thank you for sharing your experience - we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Warm regards,

Timo Löschner

Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews