We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed March 11th to18th and although it was not possible
to use the outdoor pools, we did use the indoor pool, hydrotherapy
pool, jacuzzi, sauna, etc. (there is also a lovely spa) Everything
was beautifully maintained and clean.
The food was beautiful, varied and plentiful. We thought the staff
were friendly, efficient and in particular Mohammed (our waiter)
and Karen in the bar, went beyond good service!
Well done all.

Stayed: March 2014
3  Thank teddy2ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

I would like to thank you for your very kind comments and positive review written above.
It is of great satisfaction to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here at The Riviera Resort & Spa since this is always our main goal.
Thank you for mentioning our members of staff since they always go that extra mile to ensure that all of our guests have an enjoyable stay.
Our Head Chef together with his team are always looking to provide our guests with tasty dishes to see that their stay is a memorable one.
Whilst I thank you once again, we look forward to seeing you here with once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Dean Mangion
Accommodation Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 1,707 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

Arrived back from the Riviera on Thursday 20th March 2014.

The Hotel itself is better than most we have stayed at. The staff, especially Karen and Mljca on the lobby bar, were really good, nothing seemed too much trouble. On arrival we had a couple of minor niggles but all were sorted out within minutes of reporting to reception. The room was plenty big enough reasonably decorated and kept spotlessly clean.

As some have mentioned before the hotel is a little isolated but buses to all parts of the island are 50m away and cost next to nothing. The one down side is that you really have nowhere to go, outside the hotel, in the evening but this wasn't a problem as we got on really well with some of the other guests and made our own entertainment.

Both myself and my wife are fussy eaters but we didn't starve as the selection at mealtimes was good (always pizza to fall back on!).

All in all the holiday was fine and reasonably priced but as I said in the title this is not a place for party animals.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shadowman250862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

On behalf of the management and staff of The Riviera Resort & Spa, I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your kind comments and positive review.
As you have rightfully mentioned our staff are always ready to do whatever it takes to ensure that all of our guests have a positive experience and fully enjoy their stay.
Thank you for your comments regarding our quality and selection of food. Our chef together with his kitchen brigade are always working hard to improve our daily menu. This is done to make sure that all of our guests find exactly what they are looking for.
The hotel’s location is ideal for those guests looking for a stress free holiday with amazing views from almost every part of the resort.
Whilst we thank you once again, we hope that we will have the pleasure of having and your family over in the near future.

Kind regards
Dean Mangion
Accommodation & Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. Stayed 7 nights and location was a bit isolated for Valetta but close to ferry to Gozo, which was well worth a visit. Bus service excellent and cheap, buy an all day ticket for 1.5 Euros. Health spa was excellent and was good for those grey days when the weather outside was not good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the south or west if you want a sunny balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your kind comments and positive review.
It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay.
Our Spa is a true gem and is enjoyed by the vast majority of guests staying with us. The list of massages and treatments is never ending and this enables our guests to further experience a peaceful and relaxed stay.
Whilst we thank you once again, we look forward to having you and your family over in the near future.

Kind regards
Dean Mangion
Accommodation & Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We have just returned from a 7 night break in Malta and stayed at The Riviera, it was a beautiful location, stunning views and close to bus stops, bus service is fantastic,you can travel to most parts of the island from the bus stop a couple of hundred yards from the hotel, weekly ticket is 6Euros 50cents, such amazing value.The hotel rooms are lovely, clean and spacious. we were on an all inclusive tariff, the food was plentiful, well cooked and tasty and we never had a problem finding anything for our meals, it was all so good! The staff are wonderful, from housekeeping to waiting, bar staff and reception, so helpful and friendly, I would rate this hotel close to perfect, there is always room for improvement no matter how good it is. it was our first visit to Malta, I hope we visit again soon. There is a tourist office in Mellieha by the Church of our Sacred Lady and the help with bus timetables and routes we were given was fantastic, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view...stunning views of Comino and Gozo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lesley018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

I would like to thank you for the very positive review written above.
Reading such comments from our guests is always satisfying since our main goal is to ensure that all of our guests leave our resort with every intention of returning.
Our rooms and public areas are meticulously taken care of by Housekeeping department. This ensures that our guests have a good experience no matter what.
Thank you for mentioning our food quality and selection. Our kitchen brigade are always at work to see that menus are rotated accordingly and the freshest products are placed on our buffet counter.
Your comments about our members of staff are very much appreciated. They strive on a daily basis to ensure 100% guest satisfaction.
Whilst I thank you once again, I look forward to having you over in the near future.

Kind regards
Dean Mangion
Accommodation Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Loved the location and views over Gozo. Our room was comfortable spacious and had lovely views also. We had a problem with our heating but this was dealt with quickly after a complaint to reception. Public spaces were well kept and it was always difficult to get a seat in the Lobby bar to enjoy the terrific views. The Lobby bar was extremely well run by a smiling and super efficient Karen who though always busy had time for a smile and a chat! We were there for a week and on an all inclusive deal which we felt was good value as the hotel is isolated and in March it was dark before 6 so unless you had a car going out was not an option.
The dining room rather lacks ambience and at times felt like a large canteen. I think this was partly because you were never served at all. Especially at breakfast it would have been nice to have tea/coffee and toast served to the at table. Machines not all pleasant!! Staff were very helpful especially Mohamed who always responded with a large smile. Food at times especially salads was excellent but could also be mediocre . The Charley Noble bar again was well run by Igor and had entertainment some nights. I think it should be every night as again there was nowhere else to go.
Pool area was lovely with changing colours in evenings but our weather was mixed only allowing us to enjoy sitting out it on our last day.
Buses were close by and frequent. Great value 6 euro 50 for the week! Gozo ferry 10 mins walk!
All in all we enjoyed our experience in this hotel. We felt we got good value for money and great service.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

On behalf of the management and staff of The Riviera Resort & Spa I would like to thank you for your very positive review.
It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and felt that it was of good value for money.
As you rightfully mentioned, the views offered by our resort are second to none and the vast majority of guests choose our resort due to its amazing views and excellent service.
Thank you for mentioning our members of staff. They do their best to ensure that all of our guests have a memorable experience and recommend our resort to their family and friends.
We have taken note of your comments regarding our main restaurant and these will be discussed accordingly.
Whilst I wish to thank you once again, we look forward to having you and your family over once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Dean Mangion
Accommodation Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This was a very cheap TravelZoo deal so our expectations weren't too high. The upgraded seaview room was lovely, spotlessly clean, light and cool. The eating experience on half board was interesting as this was our first time in an eat all you can resort, and Wow a lot of people take that very literally!
The food was mass catering. Plenty of choice for breakfast and the bread was always very good. Dinner started well and went downhill. The starters were great, providing you time it right and the bowls had not been emptied. The main course is canteen food, stodge and watery veg, though the spuds were always good. Pudding is usually the best bit of a meal for me, but the deserts were truly dreadful every day; solid flans, cardboard pastry, synthetic cream and various types of mush. Yuk! But there was usually some fresh fruit salad and the ice cream was good - but icecream every night was boring. We ate out twice, there are some really good restaurants in Mellieha.
Overall it was good value, recently refurbished and very clean. The staff were very polite but didn't seem happy in their work, saw two in tears and they did seem very stressed at times.

Room Tip: If you have trouble sleeping ask for a room on upper floors but far away from the lift shaft which c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheila c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

I would like to thank you for the time taken to write this review.
We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here with us and you describe your stay as good value for money, since this is ultimately our main goal.
When it comes to our food quality, we are always on the lookout for guest comments in this regard. We take all comments very seriously and these are discussed between the management team in order to ensure that our level of quality is always improving.
I would like to however point out that all of our dishes are freshly prepared daily by our kitchen brigade to ensure the best possible food quality to our guests.
Whilst I wish to thank you for your comments, I do hope we will have the pleasure of having you and your family over in the near future.

Kind regards
Dean Mangion
Accommodation Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

My wife and I visited Riviera last week. Overall it's a good hotel, particularly because of very good staff. They were without exception very friendly and engaging. I am of the opinion that the managers really want this hotel to be excellent and I note that each Trip Advisor review is responded to by the hotel manager.
The building itself is good, quite posh really with recent refurbishment. I think some areas are still work in progress - our bathroom was a little in need of a face lift (room 334) although the bedroom was fine.
Drinks that were included in the all-inclusive were of good quality (well, I can only comment upon lager, red wine, white wine, and whisky). There's a very nice and comfortable bar area which looks brand new and expertly managed by Igor and the team. The other bar is also very well run by Karen, Marco and the team and is more of a cafe type atmosphere. They work really hard to keep everything right.
Food was good with a fair selection. Again the staff work very hard to keep things right. I can imagine at busier times all these areas might get a bit crowded and less relaxing than we had it.
The spa area is nearly good. It is well appointed but in my opinion badly laid out. The changing rooms, sauna and pool are all separately located around a reception area. You are expected to be properly dry and wearing footwear when passing through reception so that means you can't just wander between areas. This had the effect that we just stopped bothering. It was too cold to be around the very nice pool area so it was a shame that the spa area was spoiled for us.
Location is not great. It's very handy for the ferry to Gozo (15 minute walk) but nothing else. Other than the hotel there really is nowhere to go so all-inclusive is essential. The buses are close by, frequent, reliable and very cheap (one euro fifty for an all-day ticket) so it's possible to get anywhere. Personally I'd prefer to stay nearer a town if I return to Malta.
Now onto the biggest problem............unfortunately our week in March had poor weather and the hotel was not warmed by the sun as it would be at warmer times of the year. The hotel was very cold throughout, with many people wearing outdoor clothing when sat in the bars. This was particularly a problem in the spa areas - hot in the sauna and freezing everywhere else meaning it was not possible to sit around the indoor pool. Our bedroom was very cold at night and the heating would not work. We brought this to the attention of staff at reception every day from Sunday to Thursday and then gave up. We managed to get a portable heater from people who by then had heating. That helped but really the temperatures spoiled the week.
So, a good hotel if it's warm and if you don't mind isolation.
Thank you to the staff for being great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter70d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

I would like to thank you for your positive review.
We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here with us.
Our staff are our main asset. Their one and only goal is to ensure guest satisfaction and as we can see for your review, they have managed to provide you and your wife with a pleasant stay.
As you have mentioned, the resort is in a remote area, therefore ideal for those who want to get out of the busy city life and just enjoy a trouble free stay.
However, a very efficient and cheap bus services operates around the clock and the bus stop is only a 2 minute walk from the hotel, thus making any town or city on the island only a bus trip away.
Whilst I wish to thank you once again for your nice comments, we look forward to having you and your family over once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Dean Mangion
Accommodation Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,099 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
2,242 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,846 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa

Address: Marfa Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH02, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $46 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Riviera Premium Resort & Spa overlooks charming Marfa Bay in one of the best-preserved countryside areas in Malta. The Riviera’s quiet location, comfortable rooms, Spa, 4 bars & 3 restaurants make this a perfect place to help you relax and unwind. The Riviera Premium Resort & Spa is ideally located by the beach, offering guests a private ‘Hola Beach Club’, two outdoor pools + (* extra Kairaba Pool for adults only & Junior Suites booking only) and a heated indoor sea-water pool. Guests can choose to get pampered with one of a range of therapy and beauty treatments, experience water sports & scuba diving and enjoy the morning and evening daily entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riviera Resort And Spa
The Riviera Hotel Mellieha
Riviera Hotel Mellieha
LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing