We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding at Hola Beach at Riviera Resort & Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wedding at Hola Beach at Riviera Resort & Spa”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Our special day was amazing!! It couldn t be possible without the help of the hotel staff who were very helpful, the food was delicious and the venue was....lets just say it felt like paradise!! 110% happy and dont regret anything!! Highly recomanded!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angelfarrugiagatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Angel,
I am very happy to hear that we have exceeded your expectations on your special day. The Riviera Resort and Spa is fast becoming a very popular wedding destination for both locals and foreigners alike.
With different venues to choose from, we offer potential customers an ample choice of venues. The most popular being Hola Beach which is ideal for beach weddings.
Whilst I do hope that we will see you again either for a weekend break or to enjoy a dinner in one of our three restaurants, on behalf of all the management and staff, I wish you and your husband a very happy life together.

Kind regards
Dean Mangion
Accommodation Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    529
    310
    129
    83
See reviews for
403
741
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I booked our family holiday 10 days "all inclusive" directly with the hotel based on the guestbook reviews on the website .... I wish I had done a bit more research ! The classification of 4 star resort & spa suggests a lot more than it delivers . We had two sea-view rooms which did give lovely views of the harbour and the islands of Comino & Gozo but the standard of the rooms was more 3 star to be honest, especially the bathroom ... The shower screen was about as much use as a chocolate fire-guard and the floor ended up flooded every time we used the shower ! No extractor fan and a missing shaving mirror were a couple more problems that we feel should not happen in a 4 star hotel .
The housekeeping service was a bit hit and miss, dirty sheets not being changed was a big disappointment and quite shocking .
The buffet restaurant food was fairly average, nothing that made you want to go back for second helpings . If you want a good quality evening meal, I would recommend making a booking at the Sol e Mar restaurant where you may pay a little money for something that is not an all inclusive option but the food is much better and the staff are fantastic !
The lobby bar, Charley Noble bar and pool bar served a good selection of drinks and the staff were polite . Reception staff were very helpful, especially Mary the Scottish lady who helped us with getting cash to buy bus tickets (the nearest ATM is in Mellieha which is a bus ride away, but you need cash to buy the bus ticket in the first place!)
The pools are clean and there are plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas so no complaints there.
Hola beach club is a nice change from the pool and if you choose to eat there you'll find good quality food, even though you have to pay for it.
The Animation team work very hard to provide activities which our teenage sons appreciated but we found the blaring music at 11pm a bit inconsiderate and not really in-keeping with the 4 star hotel & spa image . It certainly wasn't relaxing ! We felt that sometimes it was more suitable for a Club 18-30 holiday .
So all in all, our family holiday was ok but we felt that it didn't warrant the 4 star rating.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms would be quieter in the evenings as the entertainment was usually outside the Charle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Jacqui,

I would like to thank you for the time taken to write the above review.
We really appreciate your comments regarding our staff. They work hard on a daily basis to make sure that we achieve high guest satisfaction.
I would also like to thank you for your comments about Hola Beach. One has to say that this is a true gem. Most of our guests find this to be the perfect place for one to go and enjoy a refreshing drink whilst enjoying the amazing views that Hola Beach has to offer.
With regards to our F&B outlets, apart from our 3 bars, The Mirasol Restaurant is a buffet restaurant offering an international menu. 3 days a week this restaurant is transformed in Maltese, Oriental or Mexican. Decorations are put up, the menu is changed and our animation team put an evening depending on the theme.
We also have the Melanzane Trattoria where here one can find a vast menu of pizza, an array of antipasti, paella, pasta and salads. This restaurant is part of our all inclusive package and one can dine here free of charge.
The other option is the Sol e Mar Bistro. The menu here is mostly part of the Al package apart from some selected dishes which are against a supplement.
This year we will be closing down for 3 months to refurbish all guest rooms and bathrooms. New furniture and upholstery will be placed. We always try to improve our final product and by doing so, we believe that we will be offering a better product to our guests.

Kind regards
Dean Mangion
Accommodation Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Being perfectly honest, we were a little concerned with some of the reviews posted here early in the summer but after a 9 day stay we really really liked this hotel and if we ever come back to Malta this will be where we stay. We arrived very late on our first day and were delighted to be informed that there was a little snack awaiting us in our room.

The food throughout was plentiful and there was something for different each day. We mainly had breakfast/lunch in the main restaurant which was a buffet and occasionally ate here in the evening. The trattoria was nice and service was extremely prompt here. They had a list of pizzas on menu for anyone to order (free for all inclusive) as well as salads/pastas/desserts laid out in a buffet style. The sol e mar bistro was definitely the best of the 3 options to eat each day but you will need to book in advance which can be done on the day (unlikely to get availability) or the previous day from 6pm at the bistro itself. There is a lot available for all inclusive folk and would thoroughly recommend paying a visit here.

Our room was nice, air conditioning seemed to be on around the clock but we spent most 8am-6pm by the pool so it was never really an issue during those times. Cleaners visited daily and provided a clean down as well as fresh towels. We didn't really spend much time in the room apart from sleeping.

Service at the bars was great and there's a good selection for anyone attending as an all inclusive resident. We frequented the bar in reception, Charley Noble and the Hola Bar (soft drinks free but everything else is payment even for all inclusive). For the drinks not available for all inclusive, prices were very reasonable (€1.90 for smirnoff + soft drink for example).

The 3 pools were always busy with people just relaxing or with the entertainment team (Animation - really great team of people) so I would advise people to get down early (between 8am-9am) to make sure you get the right location for your bed. It is sea water but it didn't really bother us.

Any time we had any queries, staff on the desk (including the spa) were very helpful and had very good English.

We really enjoyed our stay and while we're not in the habit of revisiting countries we've previously been to, if we come back to Malta we will definitely stay here. Thanks to all the staff who ensured we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkenny5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Sir/Madam,

On behalf of the management and staff of The Riviera Resort & Spa I would like to thank you for the nice comments you have left above.
It is of great pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here with us and have every intention of visiting us again if you come back to Malta.
We strive on a daily basis to assure that guests leave the hotel with smile on their face and a feeling of good value for money.
As you have rightly mentioned, there is a lot to do in the resort apart from the animation team, our choices of bars and restaurant, our Elysium Spa and pool area, there is also Hola beach. This is ideal spot for one to relax and enjoy a refreshing drink.
Even though after 5.30pm drinks are not included in the All Inclusive package, a 15% discount is offered to our guests on both food and beverage.
Whilst I would like to thank you once again, we look forward to seeing you over once again.

Kind Regards
Dean Mangion
Accommodation Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

love love love this place the animation team were great especially Romana always has time to chat outside her work,

food was lovely an rooms was clean

we are returning soon cant wait.x very quiet an nice place an clean.xxx

Room Tip: ask for a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicky1252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Nicky,
I would like to thank you for the nice comments you have left above.
Our animation team work around the clock to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their stay.
Thank you for mentioning our food and room cleanliness. We strive on a daily basis to assure guest satisfaction in every aspect of one’s stay.
Whilst I would like to thank you once again, we hope that we will have the pleasure of having you over in the near future.

Regards
Dean Mangion
Accommodation Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just came back from a week's stay at this hotel which as many other reviewers have acurately said on first impressions all looks well but once you start to look around the hotel you can quickly come to a the view that whilst the cleanliness and tiredlooking interiors are just about tolerable it is definitley not the 4 star hotel you will have been charged for. I have to say though that drinks were avaialble from all the bars with no more than a 4 miniute wait and whilst the quality did vary I guess overall you are gettting pretty good value for money. There is no beach as such you need to hire a car to venutre out to see the country otherwise you could be anywhere in the world just sitting near a pool area soaking up the sun.

All good and well taking buses which there seem to be lots of however you have to be prepared to wait at crowded bus stops in midday heat which is difficult to for grown ups let alone children!

The evening entertainment we did go to one night was ok a bit of dancing near the pool side to the most cheesy songs ever! The DJ seems to be stuck in the 70s playing rivers of babylon at least once every night!

Pool side is lovely pretty clean and there are three pools although there was no real area for kids but generally you can always get yourself a sunlounger even at the busiest of times.

The staff are pretty friendly but the food is extremley BLAND although at best tolerable but you couldn`t do more than a week of their food!

Overall not a bad holiday could have been worse could have been better but we have come away thinking that we have not had a disasterous holiday!

I very much doubt that the hotel will actually close off to carry out a major refurbishment and it is obvious to any savy business person that the place clearly makes money and there is not real urgency to sort out the moudling floored tiles or tired looking decor....if you go to this hotel you have to go with an open mind on the premise that you get what you pay for well almost....I think that 4* would normally give you a higher standard of living.

Happy Holidays!

Room Tip: Use their pedalos from Hola Beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 874Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Guest Relations Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,
To start with, I would like to thank you for your review, good comments and feedback. Our hotel will be closing during the winter months, to refurbish the rooms and hallways. We are very pleased to note your appreciation of our bar staff and their fast and efficient work. 100m away from our Resort, we offer for our guests our newly refurbished Hola Beach Club. A footbridge leads directly into the sea and a little bit further is a public beach which our guests can also use. The bus stop is within walking distance from the hotel and because of the very good bus connections, it is easy to get to all the villages of the island and tourists attractions.
Thank you for mentioning our pool area with its fantastic and relaxing views to the neighboring islands. Our kitchen team is offering 3 different theme evenings to our All- inclusive guests. Maltese, oriental and Mexican food, for more variety and diversity.
Thank you once again for your comments and we do hope, that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
Guest Relations Executive
Vicky Zammit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Animation are the best!
really, they are. If there is one thing I will miss about Malta, aside from the crystal clear waters and hot sunshine everyday, it is the Animation team at the Riviera. they made the holiday so much fun.
we had a great time, I won't ever forget it.
good luck guys!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Sam,

I would like to thank you for the time taken to write the above review.
We appreciate your comments regarding our animation team. They truly work hard on a daily basis to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their stay. Activities start from 9am and finish at 11pm. They are very much loved by our guests.
However the Riviera Resort & Spa has much more to offer, our Elysium Spa which is perfect for relaxation, our bars which overlook our sister islands Gozo and Comino, our 3 restaurants which all form part of our All Inclusive offer and much more.
I do hope that we will have the pleasure to have you here with us once again.

Kind Regards
Dean Mangion
Accommodation Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We came 6th August as a family, knowing this was the quiet end of the island, but having booked last minute not really sure what to expect. Fortunately from the first day everything went fine. The kids 13 and 11 were happy with the Animation team who always seemed to have time to chat with them outside of the usual activities. A big thank you to Sandra, Ramona, and Elizabetha, Fabio, and Marco for all the music dancing,zumba,aerobics darts,archery and bowls which we enjoyed.

We tended to stay by the pool in the mornings then go down to the Hola Beach Club in the afternoon which was good for a change of scenery. We tried out the free pedalo and kayak hire from here and the small Marfa Bay is also great for snorkelling or fishing. Beware of jellyfish - the small purple ones have a nasty sting!

The rooms were spacious and cleaned daily so no complaints, we even had a sea view across to Gozo from the balcony.
The staff were generally friendly and helpful especially in the lobby bar and the restaurants. The 3 restaurants allowed a variation from the standard buffet meals, although some items in the a la carte required additional payment. Overall the food was good and varied daily.

This is the quiet part of Malta so if you're looking for bars and clubs this area is probably not for you.
The hotel location is facing the islands of Comino and Gozo, about 120 m from the bus stop to the rest of the island.
The buses do have a timetable but it seems somewhat relaxed compared with northern Europe.
The fast ferries to the islands leave from directly in front of the hotel for 6 euro return. The trips to the Blue Lagoon are great but go early morning as it gets completely packed by lunchtime.

All in all we had a great relaxing time and we would return to Malta and even this hotel in a year or so.

Sion O'Connell, Cardiff

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sion o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
I would like to thank you for the time taken to write the above review.
It is very nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay from the first instance you came to our resort. We thrive on a daily basis to assure 100% guests satisfaction.
We really appreciate your nice comments about our members of staff. Their main goal is to see guests leaving our resort with a smile on their face and with a feeling of good value for money.
As you have rightly mentioned, the resort is located in a very quite area of the Island, which makes its location perfect for a relaxing and tranquil holiday.
Whilst we would like to thank you once again for your comments, we look forwarding to having you over again in a year’s time.

Kind regards
Dean Mangion
Accommodations Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
2.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
4.7 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa

Property: LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa
Address: Marfa Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH02 , Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riviera Hotel Mellieha
The Riviera Resort And Spa
Riviera Hotel Mellieha
LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing