We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“family holiday”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

love love love this place the animation team were great especially Romana always has time to chat outside her work,

food was lovely an rooms was clean

we are returning soon cant wait.x very quiet an nice place an clean.xxx

Room Tip: ask for a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicky1252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Nicky,
I would like to thank you for the nice comments you have left above.
Our animation team work around the clock to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their stay.
Thank you for mentioning our food and room cleanliness. We strive on a daily basis to assure guest satisfaction in every aspect of one’s stay.
Whilst I would like to thank you once again, we hope that we will have the pleasure of having you over in the near future.

Regards
Dean Mangion
Accommodation Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    545
    317
    136
    101
See reviews for
433
766
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just came back from a week's stay at this hotel which as many other reviewers have acurately said on first impressions all looks well but once you start to look around the hotel you can quickly come to a the view that whilst the cleanliness and tiredlooking interiors are just about tolerable it is definitley not the 4 star hotel you will have been charged for. I have to say though that drinks were avaialble from all the bars with no more than a 4 miniute wait and whilst the quality did vary I guess overall you are gettting pretty good value for money. There is no beach as such you need to hire a car to venutre out to see the country otherwise you could be anywhere in the world just sitting near a pool area soaking up the sun.

All good and well taking buses which there seem to be lots of however you have to be prepared to wait at crowded bus stops in midday heat which is difficult to for grown ups let alone children!

The evening entertainment we did go to one night was ok a bit of dancing near the pool side to the most cheesy songs ever! The DJ seems to be stuck in the 70s playing rivers of babylon at least once every night!

Pool side is lovely pretty clean and there are three pools although there was no real area for kids but generally you can always get yourself a sunlounger even at the busiest of times.

The staff are pretty friendly but the food is extremley BLAND although at best tolerable but you couldn`t do more than a week of their food!

Overall not a bad holiday could have been worse could have been better but we have come away thinking that we have not had a disasterous holiday!

I very much doubt that the hotel will actually close off to carry out a major refurbishment and it is obvious to any savy business person that the place clearly makes money and there is not real urgency to sort out the moudling floored tiles or tired looking decor....if you go to this hotel you have to go with an open mind on the premise that you get what you pay for well almost....I think that 4* would normally give you a higher standard of living.

Happy Holidays!

Room Tip: Use their pedalos from Hola Beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 874Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Guest Relations Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,
To start with, I would like to thank you for your review, good comments and feedback. Our hotel will be closing during the winter months, to refurbish the rooms and hallways. We are very pleased to note your appreciation of our bar staff and their fast and efficient work. 100m away from our Resort, we offer for our guests our newly refurbished Hola Beach Club. A footbridge leads directly into the sea and a little bit further is a public beach which our guests can also use. The bus stop is within walking distance from the hotel and because of the very good bus connections, it is easy to get to all the villages of the island and tourists attractions.
Thank you for mentioning our pool area with its fantastic and relaxing views to the neighboring islands. Our kitchen team is offering 3 different theme evenings to our All- inclusive guests. Maltese, oriental and Mexican food, for more variety and diversity.
Thank you once again for your comments and we do hope, that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
Guest Relations Executive
Vicky Zammit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Animation are the best!
really, they are. If there is one thing I will miss about Malta, aside from the crystal clear waters and hot sunshine everyday, it is the Animation team at the Riviera. they made the holiday so much fun.
we had a great time, I won't ever forget it.
good luck guys!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Sam,

I would like to thank you for the time taken to write the above review.
We appreciate your comments regarding our animation team. They truly work hard on a daily basis to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their stay. Activities start from 9am and finish at 11pm. They are very much loved by our guests.
However the Riviera Resort & Spa has much more to offer, our Elysium Spa which is perfect for relaxation, our bars which overlook our sister islands Gozo and Comino, our 3 restaurants which all form part of our All Inclusive offer and much more.
I do hope that we will have the pleasure to have you here with us once again.

Kind Regards
Dean Mangion
Accommodation Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We came 6th August as a family, knowing this was the quiet end of the island, but having booked last minute not really sure what to expect. Fortunately from the first day everything went fine. The kids 13 and 11 were happy with the Animation team who always seemed to have time to chat with them outside of the usual activities. A big thank you to Sandra, Ramona, and Elizabetha, Fabio, and Marco for all the music dancing,zumba,aerobics darts,archery and bowls which we enjoyed.

We tended to stay by the pool in the mornings then go down to the Hola Beach Club in the afternoon which was good for a change of scenery. We tried out the free pedalo and kayak hire from here and the small Marfa Bay is also great for snorkelling or fishing. Beware of jellyfish - the small purple ones have a nasty sting!

The rooms were spacious and cleaned daily so no complaints, we even had a sea view across to Gozo from the balcony.
The staff were generally friendly and helpful especially in the lobby bar and the restaurants. The 3 restaurants allowed a variation from the standard buffet meals, although some items in the a la carte required additional payment. Overall the food was good and varied daily.

This is the quiet part of Malta so if you're looking for bars and clubs this area is probably not for you.
The hotel location is facing the islands of Comino and Gozo, about 120 m from the bus stop to the rest of the island.
The buses do have a timetable but it seems somewhat relaxed compared with northern Europe.
The fast ferries to the islands leave from directly in front of the hotel for 6 euro return. The trips to the Blue Lagoon are great but go early morning as it gets completely packed by lunchtime.

All in all we had a great relaxing time and we would return to Malta and even this hotel in a year or so.

Sion O'Connell, Cardiff

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sion o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
I would like to thank you for the time taken to write the above review.
It is very nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay from the first instance you came to our resort. We thrive on a daily basis to assure 100% guests satisfaction.
We really appreciate your nice comments about our members of staff. Their main goal is to see guests leaving our resort with a smile on their face and with a feeling of good value for money.
As you have rightly mentioned, the resort is located in a very quite area of the Island, which makes its location perfect for a relaxing and tranquil holiday.
Whilst we would like to thank you once again for your comments, we look forwarding to having you over again in a year’s time.

Kind regards
Dean Mangion
Accommodations Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I'm sure by now anyone thinking of booking a stay in this hotel will realise that it is in quite a secluded spot, there are no shops, restaurants, coffee shops, tourist tatt shops, cafes etc etc within walking distance. (It takes about an hour on the bus to Valletta - which is worth a trip for sure.)

However - if you are looking for a reasonably priced friendly hotel with decent food and drinks, a great pool area (never a shortage of sunbeds), spectacular views over Comino and Gozo, being able to hear the sea at night, no loud music (except the 'entertainment') beyond 11pm - then this could be for you!!

We enjoyed our stay, particularly the seaview room (worth paying for it I would say) looking over Gozo - the food was absolutely fine, ok maybe a little repetitive but tasty and plentiful. Staff without exception were helpful - we loved Karen and pal on the lobby bar and the lass on the pool bar - they seemed to work all hours of the day and night and were unfailing polite :)

The beach bar area was fine during the day for a wee drink or coffee, but we found that later in the evening (we only went once!) it was seemed to become the place to see and be seen and was populated by the local trendies haha. Not our scene.

There is no sandy beach, but the sea is right beside you, and there are steps in and out to enable you to go for a dip. We loved watching the wee fishing boats coming in and putting their catch straight into the refrigerated vans that zipped down to meet the boats.

Our only issue was with some of the housekeeping which was slightly random - but... we made mention of it at the time, and also left feedback on leaving so I don't feel it's fair to bring it up publicly - it may just have been someone's first week on the job etc and it was nothing serious.

So in summary - Marfa is a quiet and lovely spot if you like that kind of thing. If we returned to Malta we may well stay here again. I would certainly send friends of mine here, and for the price we paid - we were delighted :)

Room Tip: seaview if possible - it's lovely :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazzerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I would like to thank you for the time taken to write the very positive review above.
It is of great satisfaction to read about your stay here with us. We also very much appreciate the nice comments left about our members of staff. They always do their very best to assure that all guests’ requirements are met.
Our sea view rooms have a spectacular view. One can see both Comino and Gozo from our sea view rooms and as you have rightly mentioned, it is worth every penny.
Our newly refurbished Hola Beach Club is the ideal place for our guests to indulge themselves in a drink and enjoy the Maltese sun.
Whilst we thank you once again for your kind comments, we hope we will have the pleasure of having you over in the near future.

Kind regards
Dean Mangion
Accommodations Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We came here on the 7th for a week. Weather great always over 30*C. Martha ( name of small village where the hotel is based) is at the other side of airport so it took over an hour 30 min to get there. Now, the rooms are keept well but i would not say the standard reaching 4 starts. All inclusive is only on paper, when you come they ask you to pay extra for most of thinks. black coffee - free, cappucino - €2.80 ??!! never seen a all inclusive that way, and did not like it as had to mind what to order... Animators are pushing you to do things which you dont want, people came here for relax not to do work ( charging for playing games ) Regarding the food and staff - huge dissapoitment. Kitchen full of same food nearly every day, quality of food - no fries unless you ask (seen better in 2 star hotells). Staff unpolited, they dont care at all about people ( here accept for few Hungerian staff - they were fridenly and usefull ). Place where the hotel is based is empty, mean no shops etc., nearst one is over 10 min drive... So if you have kids better be ready. Tickets for bus are €2.60 ( daily
).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WojtasIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I would like to thank you for the time taken to write the above review.
For the benefit of those reading your review, I would like to answer some of the points mentioned above.
I would like to assure the readers of this review that cappuccino and black coffee are served free of charge. Just like water, juices, soft drinks, beer, House brand spirits and house wine. These beverages are available from 10am – 12.30am. What is against payment, and is clearly shown on our menus, is the branded spirits and wine.
Our animation team do their very best to make sure that all 600 guests at the Riviera Resort & Spa enjoy their stay. They organize acqua gym, zumba lessons, parties, bingo nights and much more. They also organize games which are completely free of charge.
The location for our resort is a quite location with tranquil surroundings which makes it ideal for one to relax and enjoy the views of Comino and Gozo alike.

Kind regards
Dean Mangion
Accommodation Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Not too sure what some of these indifferent reviews are about, just spent a week here and was extremely impressed about the whole time spent here!!
Me and my girlfriend (early 20's) arrived at 3am at the hotel (due to massive delays at gatwick) the night porters were extremely welcoming and cheerful even at that time in the morning, telling us the hotel had seen our flight was delayed and as it was going to be so late and the chefs were in bed, they had put a cold platter of food and bottles of water in our fridge, what a welcome!! We were staying on the 4th floor overlooking the pool and sea and couldnt really fault the room, all the usual things in a room with a decent shower and fridge, the balcony was pretty big and had nice views too. It was probably not a 4 star room compared to the US or UK but when you go on holiday how much time is spent in the room apart from using the bed, which was comfy and didn't squeak... The air con was fine for us as we sleep through the night. although I can see why some people might think it wasn't cold enough, im sure my parents would wake up at 5am and then not be able to sleep again. Have never stayed at a hotel where the housekeeping staff said hello and smiled at you all the time and actually spoke to you, they were amazing! The poolside was always clean and nice comfy sunbeds (that you didn't have to get up early to reserve) and the pool seemed clean and a perfect temperature. It is a sea salt pool, which makes it better for your skin, not really too sure how this is a problem unless your the sort of person that drinks it.... the pool bar was pretty handy, the staff always happy and a good variety of drinks. Luckily it wasn't the sort of pool area where people were queuing at opening time to start going on the lash and giving the Brits a bad name, there was plenty of sun and shade, and a shaded seating area to sit and look over the sea in. We didn't use the 'beach' area as it wasn't really a beach as such, just imported sand and posher lilos with a jetty out to the sea although it did look nice (and this is Malta, its not a beach resort country!) A kid would love this area though, a jetty to jump off, free use of the pedalos and loads of rock pooling to be done, kind of wish I didnt have to act all grown up!! The restaurant and food was a typical all inclusive buffet, all your cold salads and meat platters, and hot food that was pastas and then your meats and fish. This is an all inclusive hotel that caters for 100s of people so not sure what people are complaining about, we had different fish every day and felt the food was pretty good considering it was a buffet, this isn't a Michelin stared restaurant!!! Wine, beer and soft drinks on tap and attentive staff with good grub! there was a restaurant that only had room for 30 all inclusive guests per day which was fair enough we thought, they do have to let full paying people eat and you got good table service too! It was a restaurant so when you ordered food you had to wait for it to be cooked so you had to wait for it.... was such a shame as we had to talk to each other! guess the people who moan about the wait either don't understand they are cooking from scratch or don't like the company they are with, the wine was a lot nicer so they could have taken advantage of this more.... There were plenty of 'free' all inclusive options and was pretty good quality, the service was excellent too!! We did have to queue at 1700 to get a table, reservations were taken at 1730 but as a one off this wasn't too bad? There was also another pizzeria restaurant where they cooked your pizza to order which was really good too, so a lot of choice. The lobby bar was a nice place to sit and relax and have the best bar service you will ever receive from Karen, cant really say how amazing she was even when rushed off her feet, a real credit to the hotel for being able to keep her!!! The bar downstairs was busier but didn't ever have to wait that long, Igor was funny and helpful too and had a decent atmosphere. There was musical entertainment each night which was really good, not a place to party but to have a nice romantic evening, closing at 00.30 so was never a rowdy drunken place. Was a good time to take a drink up to the room balcony and enjoy the rest of the evening... There was a good mini gym to try and get rid of the alcohol and food, and a real nice indoor pool and jacuzzi. The reception staff were helpful about the sights to do, the bus stop was 100m up the road and buses were plentiful to nearby towns and valletta (although took about an hour). The in house blue waves booking agency was good too, did a sunset 'cruise' on a speedboat seeing a few sights and a perfect sunset which seemed far too cheap 6 euros each for 3 hours??!! the trip around comino was also really good and cheap. The hotel is miles from anything, but this was the attraction for us just a week away relaxing and seeing a bit of culture with no hustle and bustle. Sorry for rambling on a bit, would definitely recommend this place to my friends and family for a nice relaxing time away being able to see a bit of culture too. Oh and for divers H20 dive company joined to the hotel were really proffesional and helpful!

Room Tip: 4th floor had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paddington4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Guest Relations Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
I would like to thank you for taking the time for your extremely good and informative write up. We always try to give our guests that little bit extra service, so it was a great pleasure for us to welcome you after a long exhausting flight in the evening /night with a drink and a cold platter in the room. Our guests will get a very good first impression of the hotel and it gives them a good feeling of being welcomed and of great hospitality. I would like to also thank you for mentioning our housekeeping staff. They are always happy to have close contact with our guests. From our pool deck guests enjoy fantastic views of our neighboring islands Gozo and Comino. We have 2 big treated sea water pools, which are checked and cleaned on a daily basis. Paddle boats and canoes are free of charge from our Hola Beach Club. I am pleased to read your very fair comments about our restaurant and kitchen and happy at the same time, that we met your taste and preferences. Thanks for mentioning also our other 2 outlets, the Trattoria and our a la Carte Restaurant the Sol e Mar Bistro.
Your kind comments regarding our excellent Bar staff will be forwarded to the persons concerned. We are pleased that our staff and our facilities could contribute to a successful holiday. Your recommendation is highly appreciated and we would be delighted to welcome you again in our Resort.

Regards
Guest Relations Executive
Vicky Zammit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,929 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,618 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,809 reviews
1.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa

Property: LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa
Address: Marfa Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH02, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riviera Hotel Mellieha
The Riviera Resort And Spa
Riviera Hotel Mellieha
LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing