We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expectations ... didnt really hit the mark for us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Riviera Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expectations ... didnt really hit the mark for us”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

as a Spa Hotel we had hoped the overall quality of everything would be at least 4+ star but we wouldn't rate it higher than 3+ star ... very tired carpets, beds, décor, poor entertainment not organised

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Co-operative Travel

Helpful?
1 Thank bloodysalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Guest Relations Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read, that we did not live up to your expectations. Our resort will be closing for refurbishment during the winter months. All the room furniture and upholstery will be changed.

The carpets will be changed as well during this period of time.

Our animation team is offering our guests a great variety of activities near the pool and at Hola Beach, our newly refurbished Beach Club. We also offer entertainment such as live music in the evening.
Guests can enjoy live entertainment on a daily basis. Our animation team does 2 live shows every Monday and Thursday, disco nights every Sunday and for the remaining evenings, live musicians perform at The Charley Noble Cocktail bar.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again in our Resort.

Regards

Guest Relations Executive

Vicky Zammit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    529
    310
    129
    83
See reviews for
404
741
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Got to the hotel and it was remote and beautiful. Really impressed with views and what the hotel had to offer. The barmaid at the lobby bar the whole week was incredible polite and made fabulous drinks.
The pool was good but depth was bit poor and the pool bar wasn't very friendly but was ok.
Room was good but a/c was awful tho not cold and really uncomfortable to sleep in.

We found that the trips and tourist attractions where fantastic and well worth every penny.

Would recommend the hotel to anyone for the great holiday we had but hope hotel could improve entertainment and rooms for customers comfort and enjoyment

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RestaurantH3R089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Guest Relations Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
I would like to start by showing my appreciation for your nice comments and recommendations about our hotel. The Riviera Resort & Spa boasts of having fantastic views. The Hotel’s location makes it an ideal spot for a relaxing and stress free holiday. From our lobby bar and restaurants one can see both the Island of Comino and Gozo.
We are pleased to know, that you were very satisfied with our bar staff service.
In winter we will be closing down for refurbishment purposes. All rooms will be refurbished with new furniture and upholstery. Further the hallways will be laid out with new carpets.
While we thank you again for your write up, we hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards
Guest Relations Executive
Vicky Zammit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Having scoured these pages before setting off we both wondered what had we done. The relief was met with the inspiring views and friendly staff, returned today and never waited longer than 3 mins for a drink which I considered an ample choice, food ....plentiful, sometimes really good sometimes adequate. Rooms are tired however serve a purpose and my only comment of staff would be cleaning could do with a little nudge. Reception, bar staff, animation team and resturant /catering staff all very good and very helpful.
This type of holiday more suited for those who wish to relax and hold a focus on sociable evenings if your looking for wild times not for you.
Trips to surrounding areas easy and well worth looking up Gozo, Comino, Valleta and the waters are great for snorkling, swimming or just paddling.
As this is the first time in Malta we had a surprise leaving airport how OLD dusty and tired it looked but were pleased this hotel is in the better part of the island you know it didn't take too long befor Maltese way of life can grow on you.
Everything said and done you'ld be hard pushed not to have fun.
Hotel has big part in a great holiday thanks.

Room Tip: sea views very good , pool views are good country side quiet but boring . The sun moves all round th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Guest Relations Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
It was a great pleasure for me to read your appreciating remarks and kind comments about your recent stay with us. Our staff is always attentive to give the best service possible. Thank you very much for mentioning the sufficient service our bar tenders were providing to you. In winter we are going to close for the second time for refurbishment. In this period of time all rooms will be refurbished and newly furnished. Hallways will be done with brand new carpets.
Guests do book our hotel, because of its fantastic location and surroundings. If you want to spend a relaxed holiday with good possibilities for organized excursions, or trips with good bus connections, the Riviera Resort & Spa is the place to be.
We are pleased to know, that our service, staff and facilities in general have significantly contributed to a successful holiday.
Regards
Guest Relations Executive
Vicky Zammit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just had two weeks at the Riviera and Spa never to return.
The staff were very good.
The rooms more a three star no were near a four star.
Air conditioning goes of a 4am so you are up by 6.30 because
Its so hot in your room.
The restaurant is not a restaurant but more like a canteen.
The food boring and tasteless and almost the same for the
14 days we were there.
They will tell you there are two other restaurants but the one you have
to queue at 4.30 to book as they only allow 20 covers per night.
The other the pizza you can get in any time.
The swimming pool well what can you say if you look around the outside
You will find rubbish left for days.
They say no running, no diving, no I inflatables, no balls when we were
there you could not get in the pool for inflatables.
The managers do not once go round checking the cleanliness or what else
Is going on.
The beach bar is good but you can only have beer and wine and soft drinks
till 6pm after that you pay.
Many people on here have said about how bad the food is but the only
Reply that is given is well we have three restaurants.
Will not be going back.
If you want a short take your own glass all drinks served in pop glasses.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birmingham3140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have really enjoyed our break and we got exactly what we expected so thumbs up for sure.
The area is perfect for diving and spearfishing, albeit you always need to take a bus (very good services to the beach) to go to the best spots like anchor bay.
Incidentally if you need equipment for spearfishing go to Mellieha, near the Church. A little shop open from 4-7pm weekdays with unbeatable charm and prices.

The hotel has fantastic views over Comino and Gozo and possibility of boat hire or taxi services (by boat) to the blue lagoon. Prices for boats are better than anywhere else.

I liked our room and the service. Valentina, Karen and Wayne went above and beyond to make us happy. Ask Karen for Pinacoladas and Wayne for Banana Daiquiris.

Our room had very good sound proofing and I slepts very well every night, particularly thanks to very comfortable pillows (and possibily the alchool). I seriously thought of stealing one for home but my wife talked me out of it....

Food was really good for us as we eat healthily so mostly salad and fruit. I only tried meat a couple of times and I thought it was good. The salad bar is fantastic and I could have eaten salads every day and every meal. Breakfast had good choices too, but I never really indulged in the heavy stuff.

There are only a couple of blemishes on our experience.

1) The cocktail bar seating area is far too small. I recommend getting rid of the metal barriers and merge the restaurant and cocktail bar seating. On several nights you just could not get seats anywhere outside which was very annoying

2) We had a disappointing experience at the sol & mar bistro (the Pizza place). it is very difficult to book (you need to queue for 30 minutes at 5pm). We booked for 8.30 to avoid the rush. At 9.15 we managed to get our drinks. At 10 pm I warned that since we still had no starters I was considering taking a bite off the many stray cats roaming around. We wanted the fish starter but there were only 2/4 of the advertized types of fish. There is a trawler that comes in every day with fish at the peer in front of the hotel. Can't be that difficult to offer a fish platter. We had our mains at about 11pm. We found them too salty and left a lot of it. When the waiters offered coffee I thought it must have been breakfast time already!!! I was glad you could only go once.

3) Hola Beach. I don't understand what the deal is. All inclusive guests can go there but then have to pay for drinks or are ignored by the bar staff. We did not feel welcome at all and only went once.

In conclusion, the last 3 points were only minor and affected our rating only marginally. I still recommend it to couples or families alike.

Room Tip: frankly, avoid pool view or sea front. even though the sound proofing is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1972max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Guest Relations Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write this detailed and informative review.Your recommendation is very much appreciated.
Thank you for describing the beautiful location of our hotel. The blue lagoon in Comino with caribbean water is directly opposite the hotel. A ferry opposite the resort takes you there in 20min. It is advisable to take the first boat at 9am, to ensure a nice place at the beach.

All our bar staff will be very pleased to hear about your kind praises. We are happy to hear, that the room we provided for you, was to your liking and you rested well and comfortably.

We are glad you enjoyed the food, especially the variety of healthy vegetables, salads and fruit.
Our Sol e Mar Bistro ( a la carte) requires a reservation. You can book a table at 5.30 pm for the same evening. First seating starts at 6pm.We apologise for the long waiting time at the Bistro, please do accept that it is not the norm, but it was an exception.

Hola Beach is our new refurbished Beach club, available for All inclusive guests daily. From 10am-5.30pm All-inclusive guests can enjoy the sunbeds and drinks at the Beach Bar.If guests would like to stay after 5.30pm, they can dine and have drinks at the bar with special discounts specifically for our All Inclusive guests.

I would like to thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Regards
Guest Relations Executive
Vicky Zammit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great holiday, hotel staff very friendly and helpful. I can't remember the names of all the staff at reception, but thanks to Mary always friendly, helpful and chatty also the male members of staff,a great team. Karen and her team at the lobby bar are very attentive and obviously take great pride in their work.
The animation team keep the youngsters busy and take an active interest in all the guests, a friendly, energetic bunch.
The restaurant staff very efficient and friendly always greet you when you enter. Good choice of food, something for everyone.
Hotel in great position overlooking the sea, not far to walk round to catch the ferry to Gozo.
We had a great holiday in this hotel, and enjoyed touring Malta and Gozo. Many thanks to all staff members, a great team. June, Alan & Romara.x

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June_dun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Guest Relations Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

A fantastic review! Thank you very much for taking the time, writing down your very good remarks about your recent stay with us.
Delivering the best possible service to our guests is ofgreat importance to us. It is very motivating for our staff members to learn your appreciation of their work, therefore I would like to thank you for mentioning our staff members. I will forward your nice comments to the persons concerned.
I am very pleased to read, that you enjoyed our selction of food.
Our Animation team offers plenty of activities for our guests of all age groups. Every Monday and Thursday, they are organising evening entertaintment at Hola Beach.
The beautiful and unique location of our hotel is ideal for relaxation. From our Pool and Lobby bar, guests enjoy fantastic views to our neighbouring islands Gozo and Comino.
I hope we will welcome you again in the near future.

Guest Relations Executive
Vicky Zammit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

What a fantastic holiday. The staff made the stay so special. Many thanks to Karen, Zholt, John and Mary to name but a few. You work so hard and always have a smile for your guest. Your management must be very proud to have such a good team on board. Drinks were good and the cocktails were a real bonus! Food was great with plenty to chose from. Italian was also very good. So many other good things about this hotel, too many to mention.

Bad points.....well one really. Not one of the guest we spoke to including ourselves could get a booking for the al a carte restaurant. Either sort it out ( book at reception say) or do not offer this service if you do not want your all inclusive guests to benefit from the service.

Many happy memories....Chris and Ann xx

Room Tip: Sea View room 119 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 528791Chris_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Guest Relations Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I am delighted to read your excellent comments about your recent stay in our Resort.
Thank you very much for mentioning our staff for their very good work in particular. I will forward your praise to all the Team. The Management is always very pleased to learn about the good service of our staff members.
We are happy, that our All- inclusive package was to your liking.Our Kitchen brigade are always doing their utmost to meet as many tastes and preferences as possible.We are glad that you were completly satisfied with your stay.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Regards
Guest Relations Executive
Vicky Zammit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
2.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
4.7 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riviera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riviera Resort & Spa

Property: The Riviera Resort & Spa
Address: Marfa Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH02 , Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riviera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Riviera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riviera Resort And Spa
The Riviera Hotel Mellieha
Riviera Hotel Mellieha
The Riviera Resort & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing