We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very relaxing holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Riviera Resort & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Riviera Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Amesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was our first visit to Malta, and it lives up to its friendly reputation, we stayed at the Riviera beach and spa hotel where we had a room overlooking the pool and a sea view. Air condition worked all night so it was easy to sleep in the July Heat/
My thanks must go to the staff of the complex, and I think it is worth naming Karen in the lobby Bar and Millena in the pool bar who seem to be working 24 hrs. a day and are pleasant when ever you meet them. The unsung hero's are with out doubt the guys and girls that work in the restaurant they are always helpful and pleasant.
The hotel without doubt is value for money and I would certainly recommend to friends and family.
One word of caution before booking through Supreme travel rep make sure the trips you are booking are suitable for you, ask if the trips are suitable for people with walking difficulties etc. other than that they are not bad for value and certainly the GOZO trip is worth taking as you get a Air con bus and a guild who certainly knows her stuff. I had no trouble changing a trip that we found was unsuitable for us but it would have been a problem if we had not met people who had taken the trip the day before.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a pool and sea view well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael2415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Guest Relations Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

To start with, I would like to thank you for your excellent review and we appreciate your kind comments very much.
Mentioning our Staff members for their very good and efficient service ,is a great motivation for all the Team.
Our Staff and supervisors in the Restaurant are always very attentive to all our guests. An excellent service is of great importance to us. This what we strive to achieve on a daily basis.
I will forward your kind praises to our Team members.
We appreciate your recommendation of our hotel very much and
looking forward to welcome you back in our Resort in the near future.

Regards

Guest Relations Executive

Vicky Zammit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    529
    310
    128
    83
See reviews for
404
741
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The place is located in quiet area, amazing view and crystal water. Room was clean although looking tired. Nice drinks, on the beach just beer and wine. Staff very friendly.
Food was poor, very small choice and tasteless. We had nice pizza in Trattoria melanzane restaurant which belongs to hotel.
For the price of £399 which we paid I can say we are happy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magdalena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Magdalena,

I would like to thank you for the constructive review written above.
We are glad see that all in all you consider your stay to have been of good value for money.

We also appreciate the nice comments left about our members of staff. They strive on a daily basis to ensure that our guests have the most enjoyable stay.

With regards to the food offered at The Riviera, one has to mention that we have 3 restaurants which make part of our All Inclusive Package. There is the Melanzane Trattoria, The Sol e Mar Bistro and The Mirasol Restaurant.
The Trattoria offers a selection of Pizzas, Pasta, Paella, salads and desserts. The Sol e Mar Bistro is an A la Carte Restaurant and the Mirasol Restaurant offers 20 types of antipasti, 2 types of pasta, 1 type of soup, 2 types of meat, 1 type of fish and an array of desserts.
We believe that the options mentioned above offers our guests a good variety and selection.

Whilst we would like to thank you once again, we hope we will have the pleasure of having you with us in the near future.

Regards
Dean Mangion
Accommodation & Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

my partner and myself arrived at the hotel at 0200 hrs on sunday 30th july from the moment we arrived to the moment we departed i could not fault the hotel,food ,or staff everything about it was fantastic , the location of the hotel is brilliant you could throw a pebble into the sea from the entrance .the staff were all fantastic , 2 in particular who deserve a mention are valentina in the lobby bar, and vivki the guest relations officer .i personally in all my travels have never met 2 more helpfull people .we will definately go there again ,and tomorrow would not be soon enough . thank you both and all .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Guest Relations Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Tony,

I have been very pleased about your fantastic review!

You described wonderfully, how you felt from the very beginning welcomed and at home.

Thank you for mentioning the unique location of our hotel, with the two neighbouring islands of Gozo and Comino directly in front of the hotel.

An excellent service is very important to us, because this can contribute significantly to a successful holiday.

I am very happy ,that you described our staff as very helpful and friendly. I will forward your nice praises to Valentina.

It was a great pleasure for me that I could be of a help for you. Thank you very much!

I hope to welcome you back in the near future.


Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was our first time in Malta and neither of us had a clue what to expect. I researched hotels for weeks before I finally settled for the Riviera as we wanted a hotel in the Mellieha area and this one was in our price range :)
Firstly I must point out that it does not have it's own private beach, HOWEVER that did not detract from our holiday as the hotel was great in every other way... A couple of staff members were absolutely lovely and reason enough to go back :')
Bear in mind that although there is a beach club, the comfy sunbeds are 5 euros for the day, but worth getting one (just try not to pick one behind a smoker!).
Although we did not really use the spa, we did both have a couples body massage and it was worth every penny :)
The atmosphere of our hotel was definitely better than the larger hotel next door, much friendlier and more personal. The only downside is you can often hear the noise from next doors hotel over the calm music playing in the beach club...
Best time to go is beginning of July before all the 'council house' types seem to swarm in with their annoying kids, and before it gets too humid.
One recommendation is to do trips by yourself, as the transport system is so easy to use and pretty much everyone speaks English there.
Word of warning - On your first morning you will be ushered into a meeting where Supreme Travel will try to sell you a load of planned trips... avoid if possible, they 'scare' you into thinking it can not be done on your own. It can, and is much less stressful if you do it yourself. By all means book a trip, but don't rush into it... they make it almost impossible to get out of if you change your mind and the rep is virtually impossible to get hold of (no one has her number, not even the company she works for).
If I had one tip for the hotel, it would be to trade with the local trip planners, and not Supreme Travel. Oh and re train some of your staff, they make a bad name for the ones who are lovely!
Finally, if you do a trip to Gozo island, avoid the busses and grab one of the taxis outside the boat terminal... they will charge you about 50 euros, but they are yours for the day and will take you wherever you wish to go, answering any questions you have on the way :) :) :)
All in all, a great holiday destination, and we will definitely be going back x

Room Tip: Definitely go for a Sea View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emuskrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Guest Relations Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Emuskrat,

Thank you for choosing our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated.

Hola Beach is part of our hotel. It was just recently refurbished as a Beach Club. New beach furniture, new Beach Bar and a totally different concept. Apart from the comfortable loungers offered in the morning, Hola Beach is then transformed into an amazing restaurant at night. Offering a mouth watering selection of Tapas and other dishes.

The new sun beds are all-inclusive and thus part of the package, only the luxury loungers with mattresses are at a charge. Our All-inclusive guests can also enjoy a refreshing drink at the new Beach Bar.

Thank you for mentioning the friendly atmosphere of our hotel. The whole Riviera Team and Management are doing their outmost to make all our guests feel at home .Our Spa offers plenty of treatments and massages, I am happy to read ,that you were fully satisfied.

Because of the excellent bus service, it is very easy to explore the entire island on your own.

Our Management is familiar with the issue of the selling of trips from Supreme Travel and talked to the person concerned. However as one can imagine, as a resort, there is very little we can do since this particular company is an independent Tour Operator.

I am looking forward to welcome you back in the Riviera Resort & Spa.


Guest Relations Executive

Vicky Zammit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

stayed all inclusive between the 5th - 12th july, we are a couple in our 40's and have a 9 year old girl.

on arrival the staff were great and sorted any issues out without delay!!!!

will start with the moans 1st, the hotel is in need of a revamp and in parts is looking a bit tired and worn, a few tiles around the pool were broken which could have caused an injury, this was mentioned and sorted out straight away, hotel could be brighter and with just a bit of TLC would be great, that said please do not be put off as we are used to staying 5* and loved our stay and are planning our next stay here as enjoyed it so much!

the pool has a bar which serves cold drinks only and there are no snacks at all during the day apart from a small choice of rolls, this needs to be changed as not everyone wants to go and get changed for lunch, a small choice of food like chips, chicken wings, pizza, salad would keep everyone happy!

be warned also that if you see sea view when you book it does not mean you get a room looking over the sea, most of the rooms overlook the pool with a sea view and you have to pay extra for a room looking direct over the sea, we paid extra and it was worth it although we were warned the rooms were directly under the bar and noisy at night but that never bothered us as we liked to go down for a drink each night.

the bar service is good and i have read other reviews but we never had problems getting more than 1 drink at a time and the choice of drinks were good, service was also quick apart from busy times but we ordered a couple each and that was fine with the staff who were all friendly and helpfull.

the food was great with a good choice at breakfast and during the day and night, BEWARE you are in malta so if you want fish and chips or an english menu go to spain as this is not the case here, lots of salad and choices of meats ect, we also went to the italian next door a few times but each time walked out stuffed due to the size of the portions, if you want to book the a la cart restaraunt book very early on the day as it get booked up very quick but well worth it!

hotel has limited entertainment which usually runs between 8pm and 11pm outside, although the bar serves until 0030 hrs, nothing else to do after this due to some guests moaning they want to sleep early but your on holiday so make new friends!!

the animation crew are superb and the great thing is they never hastle you and are not in your face like some places we have visited, they left everyone alone and left it to you to decide if you wanted to get involved, once you settled in they would say hello and have a chat and really made a difference to our stay so thank you so much guys you were great and work so hard x

the hotel itself is NOT out of the way and it really annoys me reading some reviews, if you want hustle and bustle don't stay here as meliha is a very quiet resort, but you are a 2 mins walk to the bus stop which is NOT miles away and at the top of a hill? you can get buses into valleta and other main resorts really easily, there are no bars and clubs and if you want that then you can get a night but into bugiba at minimal cost which will take 30 mins, meliha is a quiet chilled out resort.

trips are very cheak and the guys at the booking desk are the most honest friendly guys you will ever meet, no hard selling and amazing value for money unlike some trip sellers, every trip goes from the harbour opposite the hotel so no stress!!!!!!!!

malta also has many beaches but like other resorts meliha has a rugged coastline and no beach, but the ramla bay hotel next door does have a nice small beach but we were quite happy by the pool each day when not doing trips, POOLS ARE SALT WATER!

long and short of it, we were VERY happy with our stay at this hotel, staff were GREAT, hotel met our every need and although low end of a 4* star as we always do 5* we loved our stay here, yes meliha is quiet but this is what we loved about it and hate being surrounded by hoards of tourists like other resorts.

would i recommend this hotel, INDEED, go again, PLANNING ALREADY!!!!!!

Room Tip: sea view is extra and please state you dont want a pool view when booking, extra but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Akail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Guest Relations Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Akail,

On behalf of the whole Riviera Team, I would like to thank you for your wonderful comments and remarks.

You mentioned in all areas so many positive aspects.

The aim of all our staff is to deliver an excellent service, and make all of our guests leave with a sensation of an excellent value for money holiday.

Snacks at the Pool Bar should be always replenished. Your tip to improve the variety of the snacks, is very helpful. We will do whatever we can to improve this side of one's vacation.

I am happy to note, that you enjoyed our kitchen and that you tried all our 3 restaurants. Each and every restaurant has its particular charachteristic and different menu.
I will forward your friendly praises to our Animation Team . They are doing a very good job. Shows and activities run from 9am until 11pm. As you know the activities are varied to meet everyone's taste.


The next time you will visit us, you will find a completely refurbished Riviera Resort & Spa.
It would be a pleasure to see you again with us.

Regards

Guest Relations Executive

Vicky Zammit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

what has happened to the cleanliness of this place ? we always have a short stay each year and in the previous few years have always find this hotel immaculate ! we even met the houskeeper maria vella who was such a lovely lady, we make the trip from the uk every year and will not be doing so again as the place was filthy , around the pool was awful, with the cleaners trying to clean around us as we were there. im told since that maria vella has left this hotel, big mistake riviera and it shows .

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Guest Relations Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. The entire pool area is cleaned daily first thing in the morning. It is frequently checked, cleaned and supervised at certain times during the day. Especially at busy times over the weekend.
From our pool area you enjoy fantastic views of the neighbouring islands Gozo and Comino.It is a good place to relax and enjoy a refreshing drink at the pool bar.
Our Animation Team is offers many different types activities like water gym or darts.They always have a friendly word for our guests and will ask you to join in, but will not insist when you are not interested in Animation.
I hope, that we will give us the opportunity to welcome you again in our Resort.

Regards
Guest Relations Executive
Vicky Zammit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
102 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just a note on what was not included is Air Conditioning in the room. This was switched on at 17.00 (yes 5.00 pm) and switched off at 02.00. (yes 2.00 in the morning) Hence the room was baking hot during the day. As a substitute a fan was provided in the room. The duty manager said that this is normal in 4 star hotels Ha ha ha ha !
Wifi in the room is very very weak, Connection falls every 15 mins. Maybe too costly to invest in repeaters.
Food was more of the same all the weekend, some of it tasteless. Only Pork was offered in a different line of variations. Food near the pool or in the lobby was first come, first served, ie if you do not get served in the first, you will not get any snacks. Ice cream is only available at lunch and dinner.
SPA - when was the spa working? ALL all inclusive equipment was switched OFF all weekend. ie indoor pool dirty (pumps switched off due to a power problem), hydro message out of order, Jacuzzi not operational.
Except for the wine, which tasted cheap, drinks and cocktails were available and abundant.
Two stars should be knocked off !

Room Tip: Sea view is excellent overlooking Comino and Gozo. Do not choose a room around the pool as on weeken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pierre Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Guest Relations Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Pierre Paul M.,

Thank you for your write up.
The times during your stay for the Air Conditioning were from 3.00pm until 4.00am.We provide a fan in all rooms , especially the higher floors as an extra service.
We offer a free Wifi service in all rooms and public areas.
Guests can opt to dine in 3 different types of restaurants. This is done, in order to ensure that guests enjoy different dishes during their stay.
Our newly renovated Trattoria offers pizza, paella,pasta and salads.It is open for our guests every evening for dinner and does not need a reservation.
Our a la carte restaurant requires a reservation and offers a waiter service with an a la carte menu.
The main restaurant Mirasol is open for breakfast ,lunch and dinner. For special requests like french fries or vegetarian meals , guests can ask at the entrance any of our supervisors and this is without any additional costs.
Snacks are offered at the Lobby Bar and Pool Bar between meal times. At the Charley Noble Bar we prepare cakes ,coffee and tea for our guests. Snacks are frequently replenished according to the demand.
The Spa is offering a great choice of massages and treatments for a reasonable price.I apologise for any inconvenience due to the hydro pool being out of order however it was undergoing maintenance during the time of your stay.

Regards

Guests Relations Executive

Vicky Zammit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.2 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
2.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,104 reviews
4.7 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riviera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riviera Resort & Spa

Property: The Riviera Resort & Spa
Address: Marfa Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH02 , Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riviera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your The Riviera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riviera Resort And Spa
The Riviera Hotel Mellieha
Riviera Hotel Mellieha
The Riviera Resort & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing