We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Happy Days”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We arrived on Saturday 24th November for an 8 night stay. We originally had a country view room but as we were celebrating we decided to upgrade. This was excellent value at 175 Euros. Brilliant Terrace with super sea view.

Reception staff extremely helpful especially Doreen who was a super star. The food was very good and different every day. Being able to have a full English was spot on! The scrambled eggs were a delight. The bistro food was delicious and Peter a very attentive Maître D.

Drink selection was again very good cocktails delicious , watch out for Karen she doesn't like to see you with an empty cup or glass.

All public areas of the hotel were spotless, watching the window cleaners was very entertaining those see view windows are HUGE.

Only downside to this break was the poor housekeeping management of the rooms. This is not the fault of the room attendants rather the person responsible for the room checking. I have written to the hotel whilst we were there but alas no response which is very disappointing!

We would definitely have returned to this hotel again and again but we are put off by the poor Management response. Bit of a deal breaker.

Mr & Mrs Cooper late of Room 204

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacki94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Ms. Cooper,

I would like to start off by thanking you for the time taken to write the above post and also thank you for the nice coment you have left about our hotel.

We are very pleased to here that you have enjoyed your stay here with us.
With this being said, I can see from the above that an aspect of your stay was not up to your standards due to your room not being cleaned on a daily basis.

Last Friday was the first time that I got t know about this issue and as I believe you can also state this problem was dealt with immediately and a maid was sent to your room to make the bed and and clean your room. Unfortunately this was not brought to my attention before and thus I couldn't act before.
However we work hard on a daily basis in order to exceed guest satisfaction and these things should not happen.
As explained in the email we exchanged this morning, Monday 3rd of December, the person incharge of this was spoken to aswell.

I am very sorry that this issue has effected part of your holiday and for this in behalf of the management and staff I do apologise.

I do hope that you accept our apologies and we will see you with us very soon.

Kind Regards
Dean Mangion
Accomodation Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    532
    310
    130
    92
See reviews for
409
750
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at Riviera resort and spa in march 2010 for a week. I have to admit that we had the best meals ever in hotel restaurant. Food was incredible delicious and drinks at the lobby bar, amazing. Standard room, nice and clean. Staff very friendly and proffessional.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thea1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Izabella,

I would like to thank you for the nice comments left above.

We strive on a daily basis to offer our guests the best possible service. This is something which we believe is essential to keep our guests leaving happy form our hotel and recommend us to their friends and relatives.

When one books an all inclusive stay it is a must that the food and drinks are of the best possible quality. This will make our guests enjoy their stay to the utmost.

Whilst I thank you once again, we look forward to see you again here with us.

Kind Regards

Dean Mangion
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkirkara, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had a very good weekend break , very nice view from our room ,you can see comino and gozo view! The food was exellent and with free drinks during the meals! Staff was very friendly ! The pool area is very nice and its good for a relaxing weekend !

Room Tip: Choose sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Alan,

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for the nice comments left above.

As a hotel we promise good value for money when staying at The Riviera Resort & Spa. the board basis which we have on option for our guests both offer this.
The all inclusive package is a great way of spending your stay here with us. Drinks, snacks and main meals are included all day round and this is something which guests love.

I am glad that you have also enjoyed our pool facilities. Next time you visit us please also take a look at our spa. It is a great way to unwind after a long week at work.

Whilst I thank you once again, we look forward tosee you here with us once again.

Regards

Dean Mangion
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigtown, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

having returned from your hotel after a brilliant week.the hotel is a beautiful place to stay.we found
the hotel was spotlessly clean and the bedroom maids did a spendid job in keeping them clean,they where that clean one could have ate their food off the floor.we had a room facing the fabulous view .it was lovely to see the local people going out to do there fishing at 3 oclock in the mornings.the buses were across from the hotel and were well worth getting on and off when ever you wanted to.a trip across on the ferry to the island of gozo, this is a must, to me it was a magical island.we were all inclusive which is well worth it.eating and drinking as much as you was great.i for the time in my life tried most of the dishes and there was plenty to choose from.the chefs were great and were allways there to please you.i loved the menue.we liked the entertainment each night,joe the barman was a comic and the twin brothers shaun and justin were so very polite.i must praise the staff in the dining room as they were all charming.especially alamin.also michael and not not to forget anton and his management staff greeting everybody daily with a smile which was lovely.so on this note i will say very well done and we will be back next year, which cannot come quick enough.so thanking every one verymuch for a fabulous holiday..
margaret south west scotland.email magshannah@btinternet.com

Room Tip: a room facing the sea is brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 54margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Margaret,

I would like to thank you for the nice comments left above. It is very nice to hear that you have every intention of returning back next year.

Return guests are essential for a hotel to keep going and this shows that the hotel is exceeding guests expectations with its services.

Next time you visit us I hope you have the opportunity to visit our Spa which offers a wide variety of massages and treatments. This is a great way to add that something extra to your holiday.

I would like to also thank you for the nice comments left about our staff. They are our gem. They always go out of their way to try and help our guests in every need which arises throughout their stay.

Whilst I thank you once again, we look forward to see you here with us next year.

Kind Regards,

Dean Mangion
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries and Galloway
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had a lovely week the staff were polite and ready to help, Joe behind the bar was an absolute pleasure to watch with his amusing antics.
The cats were lovely and friendly i certainly did not see any eating off plates, but if a holiday maker allowed it then what would one expect, but in the week we were there it certainly did not happen.
Alamin was indeed quite charming !
The food was nice all week with a good selection, i found that the chefs were only too willing to make something if i requested it.
The hotel is set in a beautiful location, and the bus that stops outside the hotel offers an excellent service.
We will certainly return to the hotel.
Yes the bathrooms look a little tired, and it would have been nice to be able to access some English speaking television, however all in all i have, and will continue to recommend this hotel to collegues, friends and family.
Linda SW Scotland

Room Tip: We had a sea view, the balcony did not have the sun on it, but the view was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Linda,

I would like to first of all thank you for the nice comments left above.

It is very nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here with us. Our main objective is that, to see each and every guest leave The Riviera Resort & Spa with a smile on his or her face. We strive every day to achieve this.

We are also going to close down for 9 weeks next year in order to refurbish our guest rooms, thus guests coming over next year will find an improved hotel. This will lead to more guest satisfaction and obviously a better service being offered.

Whilst I thank you once again, we look forward to seeing you here with us once again.

Kind Regards,

Dean Mangion
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have just returned from a weeks holiday,and felt I wanted to add my comments.
The hotel is clean and most of the staff were friendly.
In the bedroom we had no tes/coffee making facilities a very small tv with limited programmes.
Limited entertainment and main guests were german,so very little interaction.
The walls are very thin and could be woken by the flushing of toilet.
Also the rooms overlooking the back are very noisy due to a main road and noise of lorries and buses.
The worst part was the cats sitting to enjoy your meal and having to watch the cats going to have a poo is pretty off putting to say the least.
And eating of tables ,tink other guests have made same comments.
The pools are great and plenty of sunbeds,and the cleaners are brilliant in making the bedrooms up every day,and found to be really friendly.
The bar overlooking the front of hotel is great and staff work really hard.
Food is good but pork is on menu a lot desserts are very good.
Reception staff are very helpfull and spa is great and indoor pool is lovely.
The hotel is very remote and if you want too go out then there is a good bus service which runs outside hotel.
The ferry is a ten min walk and is good value

Room Tip: Pick one at front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Carolwise,

I would like to start off by thanking you for the time taken to write the above post.

Constructive critisism is very much accepted, since we believe that this is the only way to improve and always give a better service to our guests.

However I would like to make some comments on the above.
We do not offer tea and coffee facilities in the rooms due to the fact that, being an All Inclusive Resort guests can get as much tea & coffee free of charge as they wish.

The probem of the noise coming from the road at the back of the Resort is going to be solved very shortly according to the Local Council. This road which is normally a very quiet road has become more busy lately since the main road of Mellieha has been closed for some time and thus cars have to find alternative routes. However after speaking to the local council, they said that the road should be opened again next week and thus cars will once again pass from tehre and this road will become less busy.

With regards to the cats outside, as a hotel we do not have complete control on their whereabouts, however it must be said that considering that we are in quite a remote area and surrounded with country side and water we do not see any insects or rodents. The cats (10 in all)outside the hotel give a helping hand in this.

I would like to thank you for the nice comments left in the second part of your review.
Next time you visit I would like to invite you to visit our fully equipped Spa which offers a vast variety of treatments to suite everyone's needs. Our indoor pool and jacuzzi are also there to make your stay here with us as relaxed as possible.

Whilst I thank you once again, I do hope that we will see you once again here with us.

Kind Regards,

Dean Mangion
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
channel islands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a lovely relaxing week. the room had exellant views and all the facilities were great to use
The staff were all friendly but especially our waitor Almine who looked after us so well , also Mary the receptionist made us most welcome and helpful

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stoneg72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Manager at LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Stoneg72,

I would like to first of all thank you for the very nice comments left above.

We strive on a daily basis to offer our guests the best possible service and exceed their expectations in anyway possible.

I am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and our facilities. Facilities such as our many pools and Spa are there to ensure that our guests leave for The Riveira Resort & Spa fully satisfied.

I would like to also thank you for the nice comments left about our staff. The staff at The Riviera is our best asset since they always do their best to grant any request made by our guests.

Whilst I thank you once again, we look forward to see you here with us in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dean Mangion
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,881 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,760 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,593 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa

Property: LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa
Address: Marfa Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH02, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riviera Hotel Mellieha
The Riviera Resort And Spa
Riviera Hotel Mellieha
LABRANDA Riviera Premium Resort & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing