We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”
Review of Ramla Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramla Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel but miles away from anything and buses not reliable. Nice big rooms and good food with beautiful views over Gozo. Would recommend a stay if you want a really quiet hotel and quite happy to spend most of your holiday in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajcraig73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Ajcraig73,

Thank you for recommending us in your post. We urge future guests to check carefully our location and surroundings in order to avoid any disappointments. This information can easily be obtained from our website or Google. Briefly, we are on the northernmost side of the island built on the water’s edge facing the island of Comino & Gozo from one end and the country side from the other side.
The quaint village of Mellieha is around 4 km away and public transport to various important locations is only 10 minutes away.
Best regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    672
    291
    104
    40
See reviews for
523
862
57
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We have just returned from a week at Ramla Bay Resort (5-12 November 2013). We had a brilliant time, the hotel is great and in a wonderful location overlooking the sea, Comino and Gozo.

Our room - we had a comfort room with a sea view. For the most basic room type on offer I thought the room was excellent. It was very spacious with a modern bathroom, excellent powerful shower and a balcony with a perfect view. The balcony was also out of the sun so the room stayed cool.

Staff - were very polite and attentive. Not in-your-face-friendly, but definitely professional and always happy to help. On the one occasion where we had no fresh towels left my husband went to ask for some at reception, and the fresh towels beat him back to the room! Service at the bar and in the restaurant was very good and fast.

Food & drink - we stayed all inclusive and had no complaints whatsoever. Breakfast was plentiful with a really good choice, and so nice to get proper coffee and tea abroad! Lunch and dinner were great too, something different every day and a huge choice of dishes to have a proper three course meal each time. I very much enjoyed the fresh soups, the main courses were all cooked well, very fresh and tasty with plenty of choice, and the desserts were to die for. I was also impressed that we could get a carafe of wine with dinner included in the all inclusive. I was worried about the food before we went having read other reviews, but if anyone didn't like the food at Ramla Bay they need their head read!

Trips - we went to Comino and the Blue Lagoon from the speed boats at the hotel. An excellent trip for only €12. For the rest of the week we got about under our own steam using the local buses. €2.60 gets you a day lass to go all over the island. We visited Valletta, Sliema, Marsascala, Marsaxlokk, Mosta, Rabat and Mdina. We also walked round to the ferry terminal at Cirkewwa (about 15 mins walk) and took the ferry over to Gozo (also a bargain at €4.65 return). Our highlights were Valletta and Mdina, the history is amazing. I was also astonished at it being warm enough to swim in the sea (at the Blue Lagoon) in November, fantastic!

All in all a wonderful holiday at a very good value price (booked through Thomas Cook). No complaints whatsoever. Thanks Ramla Bay!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jrh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear jrh77,
Fantastic Holiday- the name of your review says it all. It looks like you have managed to see quite a bit of our lovely island. Your review is very descriptive and a good guideline for future visitors to our islands.
We thank you and look forward to host you for another ‘Fantastic Holiday’

Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

For us this hotel was worth the stay, 29th October for a week. Far away enough to have peace and enjoy the sunshine and close enough to Valetta and the other sightseeing venues, if a bit too far to travel to the south but we did not intend on seeing everything in a week. We found the staff helpful, reserved and not overbearing. We chose all inclusive as it was clear from description that the hotel was not close to other restaurants (but this did not stop us eating out when sightseeing and they provide a packed lunch although we didn't take up on that). The hotel food was very good and could not have expected more variety. We found that by not trying to have a little of everything one plate gave a more satisfying meal. Our 4th floor sea view room was fabulous in all respects. Think beach towels should have been provided as part of the a/I or at least a towel in the spa area but again having read other reviews we were prepared and took our own.
The buses are busy but at 2.60 euros for a day pass we chose not to taxi or hire a car but did take up the hotel's free boat trip to Comino which is worth a trip, as is the ferry trip to Gozo. The hotel is at the end of the bus route so seats are available and similarly returning from Valetta.

A great holiday in Malta and Ramla Bay resort contributed to this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolD4Dug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Carol4Dug,
Thank you for choosing Malta and our Resort. Your post is very positive and needless to say it is a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay.
Looking forward to host you once again in the near future.

Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest Uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed 28th Oct - 4th Nov with 2 children aged 4 + 6 and grandparents, on arrival in Malta we were picked up by an exceptionally friendly shuttle driver (resorthoppa) and taken to Ramla bay, reception staff (one friendly one not so) room had a nice sea view, and Comino/Gozo, balcony too.
Room was basic, has a fridge, portable tv, air con and has had a half hearted attempt at modernisation, beds are terrible to sleep on and even noisy as the springs rub together if you move around (cheap mattresses) the plus side is how quiet the hotel is due to location.

We were half board, our first meal (lunch) we bought from the bar and was great and has some lovely areas to sit with great views, next was evening meal at the restaurant, we all found the food was good, plenty of choice, Maltese traditional food which is great and the restaurant is a nice place to eat.

Never been anywhere where table water is not included and then there is the constant card showing and signing while you are trying to eat (even had to show my card when I didn't want a drink) 4 times in one meal. One or two unhelpful staff in the restaurant and we even sat in different areas to avoid one, some were polite though, breakfast was good and drinks are included, the whole time we stayed they were constantly running out of cups resulting in masses of people waiting near the drinks dispensers also had to keep taking cutlery from other tables.

The staff in general do vary but this is not the friendliest of hotels, one of the bar staff was very rude and miserable on several occasions that I witnessed, but then one (the waiter) was very polite.

There is no entertainment for kids at the age ours are, just a small park, the hotel is aimed at couples, singles, the pools including the indoor pool are cold so our kids preferred the small beach, the water was quite warm and it is safe, no trouble getting a sunbed, double kayaks 8 euros an hour which I thought was good. We took a bus to Seaborne hotel in Mellieha, had lunch and they played there, then took them back for the evening mini disco, the bus stop is close to both and there is loads for kids to do there, you can buy drinks tokens from their reception and they are reasonably priced.

There is a small shop (very friendly lady) in the hotel and a good mobile shop just up from the beach.

The hotel is in a great location with the bus stop so near you can go anywhere and the buses are so reliable and cheap, ( drivers are maniacs so hold on tight )

Comino (blue lagoon) boats are very close, and good value, we went over with (Awsome) 30 euros for 4 adults two kids tour of the caves included and really competent crew.

Gozo ferry is about a mile or so and you can get a bus but we walked to it, again great value at 21 euros return for all of us.

The hotel has a gym but the equipment is not maintained so it's a token thing really, the multi gym station was out of order and some of the machines were grinding so people got off within a minute or two, there are some free weights 5-25kg dumbells and a bench.

My wife and mum used the spa, although the treatment itself was good they were not impressed with the overall visit, no robe or towel offered after shower so had to go through dripping wet.

This was not a good choice of hotel for us but to be fair that's our own fault and not Ramla bay hotels, as I said earlier it's target is couples and singles and with a little more effort all round this could actually be a 4 star but at the moment everything falls just short which is a shame. I think I would have been disappointed if I had travelled as a single or couple too, most importantly a smile goes a long way and costs nothing.

Room Tip: sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hevey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Hevey,

Thank you for choosing our Resort for your recent stay.
For you info we offer kids animation and kid’s club from April to Mid October so you just missed these activities. We are glad to note that you enjoyed the food. We have taken note of your other comments and, as you describe them, short comings and will look into your claims.
Best regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Just returned from Ramla Bay Hotel.We upgraded to a Sea View Junior Suite,located on the 3rd floor.and had Panoramic Views around the Bay and the Island of Gozo.from our good sized Balcony.The Inland facing rooms wouldn't have been for us.On arrival we were met by two very unreceptive male members of Staff,no smiles or any offer of advice of the Facilities in the Hotel.Thankfully we had done some research,so this didn't come as a surprise We chose to use All Inclusive mainly because of the remoteness of the Ramla Bay Hotel.However we were handed a sheet giving us the Rules and Regulations regarding the AI Facility.We would have liked to have been able to use the Beach Café for Lunch,due to the Convenience when lying around the Pool.We couldn't use it if the Dining Room was open,so had to change clothes etc.The AI on the Bar Menu was restricted to certain Meals too.Advise anyone not to take the AI at this Hotel.I have to say we were hard pushed to find anything appertising to eat,so all in all we wasted paying extra for the AI.We used Arrriva Buses to visit the rest of the Island and they are very efficient and on-time...the Bust Stop is nearby.£2.60 day ticket and this takes you anywhere.We visited Valletta twice,as we loved it so much,Architecture,History etc is beautiful.We took the Ferry from the nearby Main Terminal to Gozo but be warned when you get off.Taxi Drivers pounce.We were going to get on the Open Top Bus but a Taxi Driver said he'd take us in to the Main Town of Victoria for 5 euros.Once we were in he tried to sell us a Taxi Tour for 70euros ! when we said we'd rather look around under our own steam he dropped us at the bottom of a very steep hill near Vicoria Town.The Shuttle Bus from the Airport had a Driver telling us not to use the Arriva Buses as they often don't turn up and getting to Valletta would take two and half hours.We used Arriva to get to Valletta and it took around an Hour! so beware.The Shuttle Bus on our return to the Airport was letting in rain and the Driver was very unfriendly to the point of being rudeThe Rambla Bay has a good small gym,Steamroom and Sauna.Also indoor Swimmind Pool.The Outdoors has two Pools,Showers and plenty of Sunbeds.It also has a small Private Beach.Another Hotel is the Riveira and we had an Evening Meal there on one occasion.Apart from these two Hotels overlooking the Bay it is in a very nice,quiet spot.Due to the Nature of the Rocky Land Malta isn't a very luscious Landscape and Trees and Flowers are a miss but we found getting somewhere warm in November uplifting.We would visit Ramla Bay resort again but probably during the Months of April/May due to October/Nov having more chance of Rain and in our case Thunderstorms on three days.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pandora41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Pandora41,

Thank you for choosing Malta and the Ramla Bay Resort for your recent stay.
We are glad that you have managed to see quite a lot of the island. For correctness sake we have 3 outdoor pools and 2 as you have mentioned.
Our All Inclusive, besides Buffet Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner, includes also 26 snack items from the main and pool bar as well as 43 beverage items from 11.00 hrs to 23.00 hrs.
We look forward to host you once again, maybe next time just on Bed & Breakfast basis.
Best regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from a 4 night stay on bed breakfast . Standard of room clean etc is poor . Forgot to top up tea and coffee and towels cleaning not good for 4 star. We used resturant for dinner 20 eu for buffet . Waste of money bar food is better. Breakfast very poor . The resort is very nice but you are stuck with hotel as nothing else around. On the plus side if location it's very close to the ferry for Gozo . I would stay again if it comes up cheap I question the 4 star rating . The reception staff were exceptional .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnbulpin_swansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Johnbulpin_swansea,
Thank you for finding time to post your review.
Needless to say we are not at all happy that you were disappointed with your recent stay.
Regards


Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is our third consecutive year to the Ramla Bay hotel and again we were not disappointed. This hotel is not for you, however, if you like a lot to do in the evening and a lot of entertainment in the hotel. If you like peace and quiet with low key evening entertainment and a hotel is a beautiful tranquil setting then it is for you.
The hotel is set in a small bay at the top of the island with views over to Gozo. The hotel has 2 separate pools and a good childrens pool, as well as a small beach. The beach is only small and we prefer to catch the local bus down the hill to the main beach at Mellieha.
The food is buffet style and there was always plenty of choice at breakfast and in the evening. Food was constantly replenished and different each night. The only comment I would make was that it was busier in October than in the previous 2 May's and the mugs in the morning for coffee were constantly running out and you sometimes had to wait a few minutes for more supplies to be brought. As I say, a comment and not a great negative.
The hotel staff were very accomodating and allocated us our preferred room again as last year. We had a comfort country view room which was on the side of the hotel and s we could also see the sea. Sea view rooms have lovely views if you want to pay the extra. We have been happy with tthe country view rooms.
There is so much to see on Malta and so much history. Nothing is very far away and the local bus stops just up a short hillv from the hotel (about 5 to 10 mins walk depending on how slow you walk). We have hired a car the last 3 years and this is a great way to see the island, although you do have to be careful of the pot holes in a lot of the roads and be prepared to get lost as the road signs and maps are not always great!! We revisited a number of places but also found new ones to visit. Marsaxxlok is a must. A small fishing village in the south of the island is one of our favourites. We also visited the Hgar Gar temples for the first time this year and they are worth a visit. As are Mdina, T'ai Quali craft village and aircraft museum, Dingley cliffs, Valletta, San Anton Gardens. The beach at Mellieha is great for children and it is golden sand and the sandy into the sea which is really shallow and doesn't get deep until quite a long way out. Sunbeds to hire are 4 euros and umbrellas 2 euro.
Another lovely holiday in Malta and we will be back again and will defiinitely go back to Ramla Bay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TweeniesSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear TweeniesSheffield,

Thank you for your very positive review and most of all a BIG thank you from all the Ramla Team for your 3rd visit to the Resort and Malta.
Although you must know the island pretty well by now, you are still trilled and positive with your recent stay.
We look forward to host you the next time round and assure you for yet another pleasant stay.

Best regards from all.

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramla Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramla Bay Resort

Property: Ramla Bay Resort
Address: Marfa L/O, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 7100, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramla Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramla Bay Resort is situated on the northernmost shore of Malta, limits of Mellieha. The resort offers spectacular views of the sister islands of Comino and Gozo and is blessed with ample land and surrounded by landscaped gardens. Malta’s most popular sandy beach of Mellieha is just a few kilometres away, accessible by public transport. Amenities include: *private sandy beach,*3 outdoor / 1 indoor pool, spa, *water sport centre, tennis court as well as meeting and conference facilities. (* May to October) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramla Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramla Bay Hotel Mellieha
Hotel Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Resort Malta/Mellieha
Ramla Bay Malta
Malta Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing