We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this really a 4* hotel ?”
Review of Ramla Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramla Bay Resort
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at the Ramla bay resort in July-August 2013, and were hugely disappointed with most aspects of this so called "4* hotel". On arrival, we were given all appropriate paperwork from the MISERABLE staff at reception, including our "All Inclusive" entitlements, which i must say was more like part inclusive. We were supplied with our wristbands, keys and a room card .. We had to provide our roomcard whenever we were using the benefits of "All Inclusive", Why ? surely the wrist bands should be enough ? This proved to be a pain, especially when we wanted to use the watersporting facilities.
Once we had found our rooms, we took another trip to reception as we had been given a small room instead of a family size, and another part of our party was made to pay for a junior suite which they had already paid for, (this was resolved and money refunded a few days later thanks to the Thomas cook rep), also the disrepair that the rooms were in was disgusting for example; ripped curtains, dirty beds, dirty toilet, scale around the shower.
Another thing noticed was the Air conditioning, Was it faulty or does it only get turned on, on a sunday when paying guests are at the hotel ? hmm.
As the days went by, all the staff were still miserable, except the maids and the boys down at the water sports centre. The buffet at the hotels main restraunt would suit very few people, it was more or less the same food every day, unless of course it is a sunday when there are paying guests in the hotel ... coincidence ? If this doesnt bother you, then maybe battering the flies away while you are eating your food might, as this was a big issue.
The beach and pool areas had a nice view of the surrounding islands, Comino and Gozo, and of the rubbish that was being washed up on the beach. Inside the main lobbys/WIFI hotspot area, it was what you would expect from a 4*, clean and tidy, whereas the hallways to the rooms needed some decorating, ie; paintwork, clean carpets.
The elevators which took us to different levels of the hotel werent the most comforting of journeys we made, it felt like they would fail at any second. Also in one of the elevators it didnt even have a phone for you to call for help if you did get stuck.
The hotels main bar, was okay .. personally our party preffered to eat here as the food was much fresher than the buffet, and the "All Inclusive" had slightly more variation than the buffet. Although the drinks werent presented as plush as what you would expect from a 4* hotel.
The "Entertainment"... i suppose it depends on the person. Most nights there would be a man singing and using a keyboard in the main bar, after a couple of nights of this i resorted to drinking at the cocktail bar just beyond Ramla's beach, here the staff were very friendly and i thoroughly enjoyed every moment spent there. Ramla's animation team were consistantly in our faces asking us to join in with their games and asking us to go to a mini disco, i didnt think this was a bad thing .. until a attended the "mini disco", it consisted of high pitched music and dancing aimed at kids.
The spa was a nice place in the hotel, the inside swimming pool was very nice also, no complaints here, it was purely somewhere to relax.
Back to the food and menu's, there wasnt much on offer for children, unless your child lives off of chicken nuggets and chips. if you wanted ice cream out of the buffet area you needed to pay, a bit backward seeing as this ties in with "All Inclusive" while in the buffet area.
The best part of my holiday was spending time in Mellieha town centre, day or night the people were friendly, and there was much better entertainment, my favourite was the 120 bar.
In summary, i will not ever return to the Ramla Bay Resort, and i would not recommend this hotel to anyone .. unless you are a paying guest on a sunday of course :). I have documented my stay with photographs of all aspects of my holiday and i have followed complaints procedures, therefore i can back up everything i have said in this review.

Room Tip: For a good room, a Junior suite with a sea view is must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Micheal L

Thank you for choosing Malta and our Resort for your recent holiday. We are disappointed to read such comments about our staff. It would have been much wiser to discuss any issues directly with us when you were in-house. Calling people names is unacceptable.

We would like to confirm that you were allocated the rooms as stated on your reservation. As for the other member of your party, we were wrongly informed by your travel agent in fact they were compensated by the travel agent and not ourselves. For some reason you made it seem that it was our doing. We do have documentation to support this.

It is our policy that all guests have to show their key card at all bars & restaurants. This is done for control and security reasons. Upon check-in this is clearly explained and it is also written down on the key-card itself. The Key Card is an internal identification document indicating name, room number and board basis. It is important to note that our Resort is not all on ‘all inclusive’, some guests choose to be on BB or Half Board.

During your stay, the air-condition was on 24/7. Air temperature (over that period) time was recorded at minimum 33 Degrees Celsius during the day.

Our beach and foreshore are cleaned on a daily basis. Sand is raked regularly. Having said that we don’t exclude that owing rough seas or windy conditions some seaweeds could have come ashore, this would have been removed the next morning.

All elevators have an emergency alarm bell installed, they are serviced and certified in accordance with local safely regulations. We have no records of any of the lifts malfunctioning during your stay.

Our Sunday lunches are very popular with the locals and day trippers. It is enhanced since it is more expensive than the rest of the week.

Live music is available 5 evenings a week, with different performing artists.
Our Animation staff invite all guests to participate, it is up to the guest to join or not to do so. The ‘Mini Disco’ is a very popular with the kids.

Our buffet does not restrict children to choose nuggets & chips or the Kid’s Menu of the day. All the other items on the buffet can be consumed. Ice-cream is available on the desserts counter during lunch and dinner.

A Duty manager is available at all times, we regret to note that you did not bring up any of your comments during your stay.

We still appreciate your post, and should you wish to contact us directly in order to clarify or discuss with us your disappointment, please do not hesitate to do so. My e-mail address is sales@ramlabayresort.com

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed Malta and hope you will return to our lovely islands.
Warm regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,065)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,060 - 1,066 of 2,065 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have been to Malta many times and like it a lot.This time a friend let us have his time share for a week in June at the Ramla bay resort. The complex has everything you need for a chilled out holiday, The food is good and plenty of choice, the evening entertainment is good. 3 good size pools to use no problem getting sunbeds.On the downside the complex is a bite remote from the rest of Malta, you need a car to see more of the island. We found the staff were friendly and helpful apart from a couple of bar staff who seemed very friendly towards guests that they knew but ignorant to us and some guests who had not been there before, keeping us waiting and stern faced. Well i suppose you get that type anywhere. All in all a good resort and would go again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TONY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear TONY A

Thank you for choosing Malta once again and for taking the time to post this review. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay especially the outdoor area and the food served at our restaurants.

The Ramla Bay Resort is situated on the northest point of Malta, giving our guests the perfect location for a relaxing holiday , away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.
The closest bus stop is within 5 minutes walk, and the nearest village Mellieha is a just a short trip away by bus or car ( 3 kilometers )

We look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful islands and our Resort in the future,

Warm regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed in the Ramla bay resort in July-August 2013 and had an amazing relaxing stay. The hotel is well appointed with great facilities. 4 swimming pools (3 outdoor, 1 indoor) lots of sun loungers although you have to get up early to get the best ones (we didn't bother). We stayed all inclusive, which allows you to relax and enjoy your holiday. Our sea-view panoramic junior suite was lovely and spacious with wonderful views from the balcony. I would definitely recommend these rooms if you can. The staff are very friendly and helpful, they gave us advice on where to get buses, ferries etc for day trips. The downsides are the location- if you are planning on staying in the hotel and taking advantage of the facilities then it's no problem. But the 1hr 20 minute bus journey to Valletta can be a pain if the buses are busy. Equally trips to Mdina are equally long. The ferry port to Gozo is a 20 minute walk or a 4 minute bus trip and it's well worth it. The hotel is large. This is not a problem in itself and it does allow it to have good facilities. However, it loses a little as a result. The food is perfectly nice with lots of choice but the buffet style made for less relaxing mealtimes. It tries to appeal to large amounts of people of all ages and nationalities and therefore can feel a little soulless. This was not a major issue but little things did irk, such as background renditions of 'I am the music man' for the kids during dinner of the terrace somewhat spoiled the ambiance! (you might want to aoid eating outside around 8.30 during the kids entertainment) Overall we very very happy with our holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megatron-Atkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Megatron-Atkinson

Thank you for choosing The Ramla Bay Resort for your recent holiday in Malta, and for your review with pictures. We are pleased to read that you had an ‘amazing relaxing stay’, and that you were satisfied with the facilities offered, the standard of the room and the level of service.

Bus trips to Valletta & Mdina, especially at peak hours could take some time. Valletta being Malta’s Capital City and Mdina being one of the most beautiful historical sites, (which is also a UNESCO World Heritage Site), are both very popular with tourists.
The location of the Resort helps it to make it unique. A 4 minute bus ride or 20 minute walk to the Gozo ferry is fantastic.

We hope you will return to our beautiful islands, and we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Warm regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We chose the hotel based partly on previous trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed.

We chose a junior suite for our weeks all inclusive holiday and can't think of an issue we encountered while we were there. The buffet was comprehensive and the pool bar served good food during the day if you got peckish (or slept through breakfast!).

The inclusive drinks were great and we didn't find the need to spend anything additional during our stay.

Can't speak highly enough of the resort and its staff and we will strongly consider going back again in the future.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Bob C

Thank you for choosing Malta and the Ramla Bay Resort for your recent holiday. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that we met your expectations. Thank you also for taking the time to post this review.

We look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully in the near future.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Arrived for a family holiday in 2 rooms which we had upgraded, so 3 adults and 3 children, arrived in the room to find only 1 double bed, with in 10 minutes 2 beds were delivered!! NOT ENOUGH as one child had to sleep on the sofa for the remainder!! Was excited to get down to the pool, which was lovely!! All was going well until we went to lunch the next day at the buffet, where we told quite rudely that we needed to all cover up, there was no notice telling us this, we felt humiliated, so decided to go to the pool bar where we were then told that we could not eat there till 3.30 as we were all inclusive, ok we kept the kids going till then, at 3.30 we arrived and were amazed that the menu was restricted, personally I don't want to live of burgers and a restricted menu for 10 days!! While there one of our party was injured by a flying parasol and had a horrible whip lash burn on his arm and the parasol ended up in the pool, when we reported this we were accused of lying as we hadn't reported it at that moment, difficult with 3 children under the age of 7! Would also like to point out that if you want to eat outside of an evening, expect to wait as we had to every night we were there!! In the end we had had enough and we ended our holiday a day early as it was like eating at a butlins or pontins camp, I am a teacher and the dinner hall at school is a lot quieter!! Would I return?? In short no.

Room Tip: top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chocky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear chocky12

Thank you for choosing Malta and our Resort for your recent holiday. We regret to note that you were not satisfied. At check-in stage all guests on all inclusive basis are given a letter explaining their entitlement and timings.

As guests on inclusive basis, you were entitled to buffet breakfast, buffet lunch and buffet dinner daily, all of which serving a vast selection of antipasto, main dishes, and desserts. Snacks are served at the Sunset Lounge and the Sea Breeze pool bar (weather permitting) from 10.00 to 12.30 & from 14.30 to 17.00. Our main Horizon Restaurant has adequate seating area both indoors and outdoors to cater for all our guests. At times, we don’t exclude, that there might be some waiting time to be seated, especially during peak time.

Our ‘Guest Services Directory’, which is in every room clearly indicates that there is a dress code for the Restaurant. It is expected not to enter a Restaurant in just bathing costumes.

Regarding your claim that a parasol flew and hit a member of your party, we regret that this alleged incident was not reported to a member of our staff immediately. It could have been verified and action, if need be, taken at once.

We hope that you would return to our beautiful Islands, in the meantime, should you wish to contact us directly, please do so by e-mailing me on sales@ramlabayresort.com

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Well it's our last night here at Ramla Bay and I thought I'd offer my insight. We have has a really enjoyable week here, in what is a very relaxing hotel. Our rooms were both comfortable and the amenities were all available. Very enthusiastic animation team who even got my wife into the pool for a couple of dance sessions. After seven nights I'm regretting not booking ten on this fabulous island where we will definitely be returning...

The only bad point to the hotel is the wifi...and the army of teenagers camped out in the foyer from dawn until dusk every single day...can't parents bring their kids away without having to bring all of their gadgets...I saw two teenagers this evening playing each other on a game, through the wifi...thus taking me half an hour to download my newspaper... The hotel need to rethink this...

Other than this observation, I would recommend this hotel to anyone...just leave your iPad at home...

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Andrew J

Thank you for choosing the Ramla Bay Resort and for posting your review on trip advisor. We are delighted to read that you have had an enjoyable week , made full use of the amenities as well as participated in our animation program.


We shall look into why the free wifi hotspot next to the main Lobby Bar was running slow.

We thank you for recommending us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future, maybe next time for a longer period.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We travelled as a couple and booked a 4 night HB stay at the hotel commencing 29th July, we wanted a quiet beach location to de-stress and enjoy the sun. We pre-booked a superior room with panoramic view, on arrival we were given a free upgrade to a deluxe suite (sea view) on the 3rd floor. As this was a short stay we had no intention to venture out or hire a car.

The hotel met all our expectations, it was busy with a diverse mixture of tourists, it is a big resort yet easy to find suitable places for either couples or children, we chose the sunbeds on the rocks in between the pools and the beach.

We found the staff to be extremely polite and helpful, the hotel was very clean and the rooms tidied promptly each day. We selected half board and had no complaints regarding the breakfast or evening dinner. There was a varied choice of hot and cold meat and fish dishes, we expected a good standard and were not disappointed.

The only negative comment relates to the choice of white wine, we really wanted to sample more of the local Marsovin Sauvignon but it was not always available either by the bottle or glass. The house wine was very palatable but not always cold enough. Just a little more attention to detail when serving white wine.

We never go back to the same place twice as there are so many different places to see, this is an exception and we would certainly return to the Ramla Bay Resort

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Ken C

Thank you for choosing Malta and the Ramla Bay Resort for your recent short trip. We are delighted to read that we have met your expectations and we delivered the relaxing holiday you were looking for.

Thank you also for your lovely comments about the Team at the Resort and the standard of service.
We have taken note of your comment regarding the wine, we will forward this to the food & beverage department, they will check this issue and improve the service as well as the choice where possible.

We look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully in the near future.

Warm regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
2,162 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,956 reviews
1.5 mi away
db Seabank Resort + Spa
db Seabank Resort + Spa
#2 of 12 in Mellieha
6,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramla Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramla Bay Resort

Address: Triq Ir-Ramla | Marfa L/O, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 7100, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $36 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramla Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramla Bay Resort is situated on the northernmost shore of Malta, limits of Mellieha. The resort offers spectacular views of the sister islands of Comino and Gozo and is blessed with ample land and surrounded by landscaped gardens. Malta’s most popular sandy beach of Mellieha is just a few kilometres away, accessible by public transport. Amenities include: *private sandy beach,*3 outdoor / 1 indoor pool, spa, *water sport centre, tennis court as well as meeting and conference facilities. (* May to October) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramla Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramla Bay Hotel Mellieha
Hotel Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Resort Malta/Mellieha
Ramla Bay Malta
Malta Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing