We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day trip to a beautiful Hotel. Pity about the food.”
Review of Ramla Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramla Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We occasionally enjoy visiting this hotel for a day. The hotel has been refurbished, pool area is great, with easy access to the seas. The staff needs training, and one particular waitress in a yellow shirt needs lessons in manners. On Sundays the hotel requires day members to pay 30 euros for e use of pool area and includes a buffet. This is where the buck stops. The food is average to say the least. As starters we had cold food, seafood tasted odd, salmon was bland, chicken dry and the sauce had little taste. Lasagne tasted like it came out of the freezer, and the ice cream's texture was like powder. If the hotel manages to get their act together in the kitchen, the day would be perfect. And it is not that difficult.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albatross65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Albatross65

Thank you for your post, we are glad to note that enjoyed our Resort and the facilities.

Our Sunday lunch is very popular with both local day trippers and foreign guests. During meal times there is always Duty Manager, Food & Beverage Manager as well as a Supervisor present. If you felt that the food was not to your particular taste it would have been better if you brought this to the attention of one of the above Managers since it would have been seen to on the spot. We find your comment ‘particular waitress in a yellow shirt’ as quite damaging since it sheds bad light on more than one person. For correctness sake food is subject to individual tastes. Our Sunday Buffet Lunch offers a very wide selection of hot & cold starts, main course, sweets and fresh fruit at a very reasonable price.


Should you require further clarification, please do not hesitate to contact us either by e-mail on sales@ramlabayresort.com

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,001)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,038 - 1,044 of 2,001 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just returned this afternoon from this fabulous hotel. We spent a week there and loved it all. We were all inclusive which is excellent value as you get free unlimited use of pedalo's and canoes. The food in the restaurant each day was amazing, plenty of choice and excellently cooked. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and I certainly recommend the cocktails. The beach snack bar was great with plenty of choice for free drinks. We had a lovely big room and as part of our package, complimentary drinks in the fridge. Well done to all staff for making our holiday great and look forward to returning next year - perhaps a few weeks earlier when it might not be quite so hot.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Gwen B

Thank you for choosing Malta and the Ramla Bay Resort. Thank you also for taking the time to post this review about your fabulous holiday. We are delighted to read such lovely comments about the staff and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay so much that you are already planning to return.

We look forward to welcoming you in 2014.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a week at this hotel. As stated elsewhere it is situated right at the northern end of the island facing the ferry terminal to Gozo. On checking in we found the room allocated to us -a comfort suite - on the third floor to be quite disappointing. It was smaller than expected and whilst it had a sea view this was over what looked like a car park and building site. When we expressed our disappointment the reception staff (Kelly) was helpful and arranged a move to a panoramic suit albeit at an extra cost. It was worth it. The view was much better and the facilities what we expected. We have stayed in a number of all inclusive hotels in the past and this one offered all the usual benefits. The food was fine with some attempt to introduce local dishes. However the fruit salad gradually became less mixed and by the time we left consisted only of melon.
With one or two exceptions all the staff - mainly students- were very friendly and willing to chat. Sometimes they could be too enthusiastic about clearing tables. A couple of times we arrived back with our next course to find the table - and drinks!- cleared away.

Like much of Malta the resort does not have much of a beach. What was there was, we suspect, artificial. The animation team were enthusiastic and friendly and seemed to provide what was expected for a range of ages.

Because of the location you have to allow time to get anywhere. 70 minutes on a good day to Valletta more in the rush hour. However, the bus travel is good value just 2.6 euros for a whole days travel anywhere on the island. We took a trip to Gozo and to the fishing village of Marsaxlokk in the south. We had also arranged a private tour of some of the archaeological sites before we left. As part of the all inclusive package we also went on a trip around the small island of Comino about 10 minutes from the hotel by speed boat. Well worth doing for the Blue Lagoon and caves.


Like most tourist hotels at this time of year you have to get up early to ensure a bed by the pool! Some were being reserved by about 7am.

We enjoyed ourselves .

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra cost go for a panoramic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topcat326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear topcat326

Thank you for choosing Malta and our Resort for your recent holiday. Thank you also for taking the time to post this review.
We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed yourselves and that you made the best of the all inclusive package.

Different rooms with different standards and views carry different prices. We are glad that you enjoyed one of our top rooms, and will forward your comment to Kelly.

For your information, the Resort’s beach is a natural one, and we do our utmost to keep it in top condition with the sand being raked almost on a daily basis.

We have taken note of your comment regarding the fruit salad, will look into it.

We hope you will return to our lovely Islands and our Resort

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Day 3 of my week long stay. All inclusive everywhere else I have been has had free: mini bar, ice cream, snacks, beech towels.

At Ramla Bay the 'free' ice cream is ONLY from the restaurant and when it's open. I bought TWO ice creams (a magnum and a kids lolly) from the snack bar and it was a rip off €5.40 which equates to £5!!

You aren't allowed room towels at the pool and they charge for hotel 'beech' towels.

The mini bar is free when you arrive but if you have it restocked it costs.

The Alang Alang restaurant I would miss, not worth the money.

The regular restaurant is lacking on choice for an all inclusive and the quality is ok but nothing special at all. You must all go in together because if a member if your party doesn't want to way at the same time as you, they won't get in later. Your room is ticked off a sheet in entry. You can also wait an age for drinks order to be taken and then for the drinks so avoid busiest times.

The 'snack' bar is also poor. You can ONLY eat there when the restaurant is closed!! The menu for AI is limited but if course you can pay for the other choices!

Our room is big and clean, generally staff very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Angie P

Thank you for choosing Malta & the Ramla Bay Resort. We are glad to note that you found our staff to be very nice and that you were pleased with your room and the cleanliness.

We regret that you were not well informed upon booking and were not satisfied with the all inclusive package presented and offered. Upon arrival, All Inclusive guests are given a sheet with the list of entitlement. Included in the list are: A boat trip to Comino per person (May to October) & free use of canoes & pedalos, Shuttle service to/from Melllieha daily (except Sundays and Public Holidays, Unlimited house alcoholic & non alcoholic drinks including cocktails & local beer from 1100hrs till 2300hrs. A vast list of available snacks served from 1000 till 1230hrs & from 1430 to 1830hrs. Room Minibar is stocked once upon arrival.
Our main Restaurant offering Buffet Meals with a wide selection is open from 0730 to 1000, 1230 to 1430 and from 1830 to 2130hrs.

We hope the above gives a different perspective, and should you require further clarification please do not hesitate to contact us on sales@ramlabayresort.com

Hoping you will return to our beautiful Islands, and to our Resort in the future,
Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our holiday at Ramla Bay Resort was back in the middle of May but I had not written my review as I was waiting a reply from the Tour Operator with regards to issues we had at the hotel.
1. Our bathroom was not clean.
2. Cobwebs and torn curtains in our room
3. Noise from workmen on the beach from 7am.
4. Unable to use the sink in the bathroom for 2 days as the receptionists did not understand when we said the plug did not work.
5. Very rude impolite receptionists answering the phone while halfway through a conversation with you.
6. Charges for Safe and Beach/Pool towels not made very clear or priced before booking your holiday.
7. No information in our room on use or prices of Mini bar.
The reply made no reference to the unclean bathroom and room or to the torn curtains. See pictures. The noise on the beach was work that had to be done due to the recent bad weather and maintenance. They said that “the beach is at the end of the property therefore quite a distance from our allocated room”. No mention of the fact they could have told us it was going to be done! You can see from my pictures just how far we were away!!! As for the reply to our request for a new plug, the receptionist had reported we had problems with the tap and then the flushing!
It is a shame these issues could not have been addressed better.
We found the food very good and only wish the room had been in a better state. This hotel is some way from any shops or restaurants so good if you prefer the quiet, which is reason we picked it. There is a very good daytime bus service just a short walk away across the bay from which you are able to get to travel to all of Malta.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillianF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear GillianF

Thank you for choosing Malta and our Resort for your holiday in May. As we do our utmost to provide the service and product to reach and exceed our guests’ expectations, we regret to receive comments such as yours.
May we take the opportunity to publicly reply to your points:

Rooms are cleaned & inspected prior to each guests’ arrival and also on a daily basis by our housekeeping staff. We fail to understand your comments re the cleanliness of the room, however we will look into this matter.
As for the torn curtains and the flushing, we do regret this oversight which for some reason was not seen to at once.
Your travel agent should have given you the details relating to Safe & beach towels charges. We have never claimed that these services are free of charge. A beach towel costs € 2.50 per towel & per change whilst the safe costs € 2.50 per day or € 14.00 for a week.
Regarding the minibar, This is stocked free of charge once upon arrival only if guests are on all inclusive basis or have booked a superior room. Otherwise, one can purchase their own drinks.

Unfortunately, we had some very bad weather during May with very strong winds. Whenever this happen sea weeds end up on the beach. In order to clean the beach, in order to keep it clean and tidy some light machinery has to be used.

Once again we apologize if you felt that your comments were not adhered to.

On a positive note, we are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay and the food at our Restaurant, and we hope you will return to Malta and to our Resort in the future.

Should you require any further clarifications, please do not hesitate to contact us directly on sales@ramlabayresort.com

Warm regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here 9th to 16th June 2013 on all inclusive basis(if you don't it would be very expensive). We paid extra for a panoramic sea view room on the top floor which was well worth it as the rooms at the back of the hotel were poor in comparison. The views from our room were absolutely stunning with beautiful sunsets over the island of Gozo, weather 27c to 29c wall to wall sunshine every day. The food in this hotel is of a very high standard and the wine also. The all inclusive drinks at the bar and pool bar were presented well but the local spirits i.e. gin, white rum, brandy etc. were very weak in taste. All the staff were kind and friendly our room was cleaned every day. The hotel has its own small private beach which added to the character of the bay and was kept immaculate, cleaned every morning. All in all a very relaxing holiday.
I would definitely recommend this hotel on an all inclusive basis and to those who want to get away from the hustle and bustle of "life". If you want to explore further the bus stop is only 5 minutes from the hotel and regular ferries over to Comino and Gozo.

Room Tip: pay extra for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golfnutYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Golfnut

Thank you for choosing the Ramla Bay Resort and for taking the time to post this review.
Your positive feedback is a source of inspiration for our team and would drive us to continue delivering superlative levels of service, comfort & relaxation that our guests expect when staying at our Resort.

Whilst thanking you for recommending our Resort, we hope you will return to our lovely Islands, as we look forward to welcoming you again

Warm regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I had read a number of slightly negative reviews prior to visiting & wanted to share my views. The hotel was clean, lots of amenities. The staff were all really lovely & happy from all the cleaning staff to the reception to the entertainment staff. There was entertainment to suit every age daily, which we were made aware of, but not pestered to join in, but joining in with some was fun. We stayed half board because there are not any restaurants near by and the variety of food each night in the evenings was excellent from a daily roast, various meats & vegetarian alternatives, lots of salads & breads & many puddings, fruit & cheese & biscuits. The breakfast buffet choices were mainly the same each day, but it didn't matter because there was a lot of choice. The rooms were cleaned & beds made daily, fresh towels when required & toiletries. Bus stop near by where buses take you to all over the island for 260 Euros return & short walk to ferry terminal to take you to Gozo which is worth a visit. Hotel has its own beach & 3 outside & 1 inside pool. If you were thinking of visiting Ramla Bay Resort hotel, I would recommend it.

Room Tip: We booked a sea view room sleeping 3 people & that is exactly what we got. Stunning sea views. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Debbie F,
Thank you for your positive review. We are glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay as well as our facilities. By the looks of it you managed to move around quite a bit since if you don’t hire a car public transport is just down the road.
For correctness sake I think you must have missed out a ‘ .’ ( a decimal point) when quoting the bus tickets.

We look forward to host you once again at the Resort.
Warm regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,396 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,897 reviews
4.6 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramla Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramla Bay Resort

Address: Marfa L/O, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 7100, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $37 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramla Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramla Bay Resort is situated on the northernmost shore of Malta, limits of Mellieha. The resort offers spectacular views of the sister islands of Comino and Gozo and is blessed with ample land and surrounded by landscaped gardens. Malta’s most popular sandy beach of Mellieha is just a few kilometres away, accessible by public transport. Amenities include: *private sandy beach,*3 outdoor / 1 indoor pool, spa, *water sport centre, tennis court as well as meeting and conference facilities. (* May to October) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramla Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramla Bay Hotel Mellieha
Hotel Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Resort Malta/Mellieha
Ramla Bay Malta
Malta Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing