We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pauline shoey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramla Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ramla Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pauline shoey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights was very clean staff were helpful and friendly we had bed and breakfast we didn't want to eat in the horizon restaurant in the evenings our first night we ate at a le carte which was lovely overlooking the sea but it wasn't open the rest of the nights we were there so went out to eat at hotel next door which was nice there was plenty of sun loungers would return was very peaceful lovely hotel we got a good deal with broadway travel and would return again if they done a good deal to Malta 3 rd time we have been to Malta lovely hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Pauline S
Thank you for your comments, for choosing our Resort and especially Malta for the 3rd time.
We are glad that, although you should know the island pretty well by now, you seem to return with loads of enthusiasm. The ‘Alang Alang’ which is the a la carte al fresco Restaurant overlooking the sea you mentioned regrettably was closed for a few days in a row owing to strong winds. As you rightly pointed out it is a pity since the food and atmosphere is exceptional.
We look forward to host you once again in or Resort

Best regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    647
    277
    100
    35
See reviews for
500
836
52
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

When planning this trip to Malta, I was after a relaxing holiday with my sister, away from the main tourist resorts but with easy access to get around.

When I came across Ramla Bay Resort, initially I was put off by it being so secluded and the price was dearer than what I would usually spend on a holiday package deal but after looking around I wasn’t very happy with my searches. When I returned to the reviews of Ramla Bay Resort and after discovering the public transport provided accessibility to the rest of the island I was sold on this hotel and decided to splash out a bit extra for the comfort and the resort experience, also this resort was reasonably priced for a 4 star hotel with its amenities compared to the others on the island.

I felt this resort could offer the type of holiday we were after and we were not disappointed! With its own private beach and number of pools and sun lounger areas and other facilities including a shop/mini mart which sold food/drinks, souvenirs, beach/sport equipment, we didn’t really need to venture out but when we did the public transport was well accessible and inexpensive.

We had a panoramic room facing the countryside, which we were not too fused about as we had amazing views from the bay and all around the resort, but it would be nice to get a sea view room, they must offer speculator panoramic views of the bay and Comino Island, especially at sunset. If you can, I would recommend getting the sea facing rooms, it will probably add to your experience; however I do not feel we were overly disadvantaged with our view, if we did have the panoramic sea view room we would have made use of the balcony area that’s all.

Our room was spacious, clean, with a working AC system and tea/coffee facilities, however these were not regularly replenished but we bought our own supplies so we were not dependent on this being supplied daily and having the mini fridge in the room allowed us to purchase milk from the hotel’s mini mart as opposed to using the powdered creamer provided. The bathroom, again, spacious and clean and the shower water pressure was great. There was one day where we arrived from the beach fairly early and went in the shower before 6pm, there was no warm water, not sure whether the water is set on a timer or it was just that one occasion but other than that one time the shower was a treat.

We only opted for B&B, but the breakfast buffet provided a plentiful variety, that coming from a vegetarian. From the hot English breakfast, to the bread selections, cereal, fruit, dairy, cakes and pastries, there was plenty to choose from. You could sit inside the spacious indoor seating area or the terrace, which had views of the bay, a lovely way to start your day (unless you have a sea facing room!).

We also ate in the Alang Alang restaurant a couple of times, once upstairs in the actual restaurant which provided spectacular views at sunset of the bay if you were fortunate to get a table on that side of the restaurant (make a reservation) and also downstairs beside the pool, again picturesque sunset view across Comino and as the dark sets in the pool lights were lit, so very beautiful settings to have dinner. I found the prices were reasonable especially for the generous portions! The Pool bar also offered food, drinks and snacks during the day, food served until 4pm.

The inside Sunset lounge offered drinks and snacks, choice to sit outside on the terrace or inside with AC. Evenings had live entertainment, lovely to walk around the resort and sit in the lounge areas, mostly to get access to the free WiFi connection in the lobby, although the connection was weak but sufficient enough to check mail if you managed to get access!

There are plenty of areas to sun bathe with amazing views of the bay as well as the pool areas with 3 outdoor pools and 1 indoor pool; the sun loungers are generously dotted around the bay, which we took advantage of, a different view of the bay every time. The private sandy beach was lovely with great views of the bay with clear shallow water. We hired the paddle boat out for an hour around the bay, but you could also hire other self-drive boats.

There are ferries that depart directly from Ramla Bay as well as outside the Riveria hotel up the road, offering trips to Comino caves and the Blue Lagoon – these prices are more competitive than what your tour operator representative will offer, I would strongly recommend you shop around, as not only is it more competitive in price but they take you directly from the resort which I assume takes less than 20 minutes by the smaller ferries. Whereas we made the mistake of booking on arrival via our tour operator, and boats set off from Sliema, a whole day out, not all bad but not convenient especially on the return journey when all you want is to jump in the shower but it took over 3 hours!

The harbour, we were told was about a 25 minute walk from the resort or you could catch a bus, where you can catch ferries to Gozo.

The bus stop is about 5 minutes’ walk from the resort, we accessed this by going via the beach, past the Riveria hotel, and continuing up the road and when you come to the top of the road, the bus stops are located on the left. The buses provide accessibility to different resorts and cities, including Valletta by catching the 41 or 42, which came every 30 minutes or every hour, there are other bus routes which you can also access from here and all routes go via Mellieha Bay, where you can catch connecting buses which cover other parts of the island, less than a 5 minute journey and a picturesque view of Mellieha Bay from the descend drive down to the bay. The day passes at €2.60 was an inexpensive way to travel around the island although this excludes the night bus services but still value for money.

In all we were very happy with our stay at the Ramla Bay Resort, the only compliant I would have is the lift calling buttons on the third floor were not good, spent ages trying to call a lift or having to wait for someone to get off on the floor, or taking the stairs! I would definitely return here if I was visiting Malta again and strongly recommend it to others. Do not be put off by reviews suggesting it is secluded as there is transportation to take you not only around the island of Malta but to the other Maltese Islands.

Room Tip: Try and book a panoramic deluxe sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsDMistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear DRMLondon

Thank you for choosing the Ramla Bay Resort and our beautiful Islands for your recent holiday. We appreciate your detailed report as well as the pictures posted, and are pleased to read that we have met your expectations, making your holiday a special one.

Hoping you will return to Malta in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you again

Warm regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife & I flew from Bristol with Ryanair to Malta (3-17 June 2013), transfer was over an hour due to dropping off other passengers on the way, arrived at the Hotel well after midnight. We were allocated room 283, very clean & spacious with aircon. The room on 2nd floor overlooked the countryside, we were not disappointed. Our room was looked after by Elena who was very thorough in her work. We had clean sheets, towels regularly. the room had a small larder fridge but no kettle & tea facilities which was a disapointment. TV with a couple of English channels. The electric sockets are same as UK 240 volts. The bathroom was also to the same high standard (UK standard plumbing) with a shower over the bath, constant hot water, one of the best we have experienced. Halfboard accommadation - Breakfast & Dinner both excellant choices & good quality. The Hotel was also very clean in the public areas with plenty of sunbeds to choose from, 3 outdoor swimming pools, shame music was so loud around pool area. The Hotel website photographs do not do it justice. The room safe was expensive at 25.75 euro for the 2 weeks. The location was very quiet, a 10 minute walk to the nearest bus stop. Arriva buses 2.6 euro all day ticket, 12 euro ticket for a week. Our first time in Malta & hope to return to (Ramla Bay) in the not to distant future. Good flights with Ryanair, just over 3 hours each way.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the countryside was very quiet, sun in the morning & shade in the evening. An u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cobbler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Cobbler,
Thank you for your positive comments and for choosing our Resort for your recent holiday. Tea/Coffee making facilities are available in our Panoramic Room Types whilst in the other room types they can still be supplied at a minimal charge of € 7.00 per week.
We look forward to host you once again in the ‘not distant future’.
Best regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Having been quiet happy when staying at the resort in 2011 we decided to return in June 2013. The restaurant terrace is still very attracive (however the buffet is average) and the premises are well kept. The unpleasant surprise was the opening of an open air private disco club for the local youth next to the hotel: banging beats starting Saturday in the afternoon going on till late night make it tough to sleep even windows shut. Same thing Sunday afternoons starting 4 PM. The managenent takes note of the many clients complaining, but does not/cannot react. All in all, if you do not care for heavy beats when relaxing on the beach, your terrace or even your room, this is a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: rooms with sea view offer great views, but get very hot as sun till sunset and airco is not up to it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fabian190356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Fabian 190356,
Thank you for your second visit to our Resort. Repeat guests are very important to us and to our tourism industry in general.
We are very sorry to note that you had an unpleasant surprise during your stay. For correctness sake we don’t have an open air disco club next to the Resort. You must have been staying with us during the period that the private beach which is close to us (and not our private beach) had an opening season party for their corporate clients. We obviously regret the inconvenience caused but rest assured that we did complain heavily.
We look forward to host the 3rd time round,
Warm regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

+ Nice hotel, friendly en helpfull staff
+ Swimming pool was ok

- Airco in our room didn't work good, temperature in the room was to hot for a good sleep at night.
- Cleening could be better
- Food wasn't always what we expected, sometimes it was a little bit could

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good functional airco and if you book a room with sea view, don't take a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Ron 307,
Thank you for choosing our Resort and Malta for your recent visit. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have taken note of your other comments and assure you that we shall look into these further.
Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at the Pergola in June 2012 following reading lots of reviews on here about the different hotels. What initially put us off of Ramla bay was the posts saying how far out of the way it is! However whilst out there last year we jumped on a bus from Mellieha to have a look at Ramla bay and see just how remote it was!! Could have kicked ourselves as we immediately fell in love with it!! As for being remote it is a 2 minute walk to the nearest bus stop which the longest we had to wait was approx 10/15 minutes. We left the hotel at least once every day for 11 days as we ate out in Mellieha each night (apart from the first night when i had the BEST pasta in alang alang) and never had an issue getting back!
The hotel is in a beautiful location, peaceful and very relaxing. Breakfasts were very good, pretty much most things you could want but I was slightly disappointed in the pastries!! Stopped me putting on even more weight though!!
The room which was a basic comfort room on the ground floor was the biggest hotel room i have stayed in! The balcony however was virtually unusable and if i had been intending on using the balcony I would have asked to be moved! (room 85). All facilities in the room were more than adequate.
I was going to mention that it can be a bit dodgy walking back at night in the dark but while we were there lots of work happened at the beach front (possibly to do with the riviera hotel) that helped this situation.
Staff that we encountered were all polite,friendly and helpful.
Would we return................ most definately
Would we recommend the hotel.............. again most definately.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank afcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear afcgirl

Thank you for choosing our Resort and for taking the time to post this review. We are delighted to read that we have met your expectations, and that we have delivered a relaxing holiday.

We thank you also for recommending this Resort and look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully in the near future.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

At first hotel seemed remote but in my opinion it was just secluded enough to have a peaceful break especially coming from the hustle and rushing around in London.
Location is very good as there is easy access via the bus routes to Selima, Valletta and Mellieha central. You pay 2.60 euros and it will give you a ticket to use until 11pm at night so you can hop on and off the buses thought this was ideal to get around the island.
Hotel grounds is clean.
They are completing a children play area, my son was not able to use as the soft surface was been laid at the time we were there.
The room is very large, TV - only one channel was in English but if your busy relaxing outside you wont worry so much about the channels.
Breakfast is a buffet and like other comments there is plenty to choose from also the same for lunch and dinner. Food tasted good.
You have a choice of 3 pools and the areas were clean, not short of a lounger though as the summer holidays approach that may change with the influx of more families.
There is a private beach and with lots more lounger as well.
Will revisit back to this hotel for a second visit as we all enjoyed our stayed.
We got a good deal with Broadway Travel and may consider using them again to go back to Malta if they have a deal going there.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 66, which was located on the ground floor and it did have a good view of the grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelle1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Chelle1974
Thank you for finding time to post your positive review. Being a family friendly Resort we are glad to note that even your son enjoyed his holiday.
We are also pleased to note that you have commented that you will revisit us again and for this we thank you once again.
Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pergola Club Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramla Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramla Bay Resort

Property: Ramla Bay Resort
Address: Marfa L/O, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 7100, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramla Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramla Bay Resort is situated on the northernmost shore of Malta, limits of Mellieha. The resort offers spectacular views of the sister islands of Comino and Gozo and is blessed with ample land and surrounded by landscaped gardens. Malta’s most popular sandy beach of Mellieha is just a few kilometres away, accessible by public transport. Amenities include: *private sandy beach,*3 outdoor / 1 indoor pool, spa, *water sport centre, tennis court as well as meeting and conference facilities. (* May to October) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ramla Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramla Bay Hotel Mellieha
Hotel Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Resort Malta/Mellieha
Ramla Bay Malta
Malta Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing