We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little remote...Good service...Nice room”
Review of Ramla Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramla Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Winslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A little remote...Good service...Nice room”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a short break in April/May. Arrived just before midnight and greeted immediately by reception who informed us that the bar was closing shortly if we required a drink! Nice touch as after a Ryan Air flight that was exactly what we needed! Room was nice, refurbhished so very modern, with a flat screen tv mounted on the wall, small armchair with a nice glass side table,modern wardrobe with mini fridge with coffee and tea making facilities. A complimentary bottle of water too. Only downside in the room was the twin beds... although the next day they were zipped up upon request!. The bathroom was nice a modern with bath and shower and modern sink area.Shower had excellent pressure and temp of water. The bathroom was dark tho' only 3 lights perhaps a light around the sink area wold have helped. Room was spacious with a tiled floor. We had a balcony with 2 chairs and a table with nice sea views once you looked past the car park.
Breakfast was the usual buffet affair with plenty on offer, disappointments where the machine coffee and the pour quality fruit juices from a machine- undrinkable. Service was good with plates being cleared promptly. We didn't use any other hotel facilities such as the pools inside or outside as we were only there for 3 days and one day the weather wasn't great and spent the time in the local town.
Free wifi in reception, was a little slow but good enough you had to pay €8 per day for in room wifi or €20 for 3 days, for that price we just came down to reception. We are a bit remote at this location and paid the price for not planning dinner on our first night as we didnt fancy the hotel buffet dinner at €20 each. Luckily a large lunch and some snacks brought at local shop in the town sufficed. We got around by using local buses which were frequent and easy to negotiate and only €2.60 for a day pass, bus ride was a little hairy especially the bendy buses!!!!
One day I realised I had lost a little purse, it only had coins in it but it had sentimental value oh the off chance asked at reception if any had handed it in, having little or no hope as I couldn't recall at all where I had it last, to my delight it had been handed in!
There was a small private sandy beach but as the season hadnt started yet and not really hot it was empty, the water was a delightful blue/green and crystal clear!
All in all a nice enough resort for a quiet break, live singing in the bar, not my thing but I understand people like that sort of entertainment....on the cheesy disco side.... Big screen tv for the football lads.
Not sure if I would return just based on location only. All staff encountered nice and polite and professional.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank abbeygirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear abbeygirl_7

Thank you for choosing Malta and the Ramla Bay Resort. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that the small issues were resolved quickly and swiftly to ensure your comfort.

We appreciate your comments and feedback and will do our best to improve where possible.

We hope you will return to our lovely Islands and maybe even to the Ramla Bay Resort for another quiet, relaxing holiday.

Warm regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    672
    291
    104
    41
See reviews for
524
862
57
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We've just returned from ramla bay hotel we were greeted by friendly smiling receptionist and were upgraded to the third floor room that had fantastic views of the sea from the large balcony the room was spacious and clean with a comfortable bed .
Location at first we were a little worried as it did seem quite far away from everywhere but once you realise that the bus stop (marfa ahrax)is ten minutes from hotel .The buses are 2 euros sixty cents for an all day ticket amazing value .
Breakfast was plentiful and fresh and bar prices reasonable .
Thank you again for a lovely four days

Room Tip: Our room number was 330 great sea views we didn't use the spa but I'm unable to adjust the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodfoodlondon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear goodfoodlondon123

Thank you for choosing the Ramla Bay Resort and for your lovely comments. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay here and that we met your expectations.

We hope you will return to our lovely Islands and we get the opportunity to welcome you again.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, Kent
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The good bits, upgrade to a panoramic view to get tea and coffee facilities. The buffet was very good and varies each day. Hotel has good childrens facilities and plenty of sunbeds by the pool. There is entertainment afternoon and evening if you want to join in you can, we had some very funny times with people we had never met before so don't be stuffy and take part if the weather is cool! Drinks at the hotel are very reasonably priced and there is a mini-mart.
The island gets strong winds but wall to wall sunshine too. April was cooler than I expected but we did have some very hot days too. You are close to Gozo which is well worth a visit.
You need a car as the resort is isolated and only one hotel nearby but no restaurants.
If you are on crutches don't let them give you the disabled room as it is the furthest room from the lift! Staff were efficient but not very happy or particularly friendly.
Wifi is expensive in your room but free by the bar but on the 3rd floor balconies you can use the free wifi of the hotel opposite so ask for an even numbered room to be on the facing side, this is also the best view.
The coffee is awful so take your own! You can get fresh milk in the shop and each room has a fridge.
Best place to visit: Mdina

Room Tip: Even numbers Nd upgrade to panoramic for tea & coffee facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeriousSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear SeriousSue

Thank you for choosing our Resort and for taking the time to post your review.
We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay and had a good time here.

Thank you for all your comments, although we regret to note that you were not 100% satisfied on certain aspects, we do our best to improve and adjust to make our Guests' experience as best as possible.

We hope you will return to Malta and even to our Resort for another enjoyable holiday.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My partner and I spent 4 nights at this lovely hotel. Our very spacious room was on the 4th floor with a partial view of the sea. We were on a half board basis and the food was very,very good indeed. Lots of choice I doubt anyone left the dinning room hungry. The bar prices were very reasonable and the service excellent. All the staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very well run and spotlessly clean. This was our first visit to Malta and we had no trouble getting about on the public transport, which is very cheap and frequent. The bus stop is a short walk from the hotel. Also the ferry terminal for trips to Gozo is a short walk but you could take the bus if you prefer.





U







good indeed. Lots of choice.

Room Tip: Choose a room on an upper floor overlooking Gozo and Comino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOUISA23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear LOUISA 23,

Thank you for your short stay and for choosing Malta and the Ramla Bay Resort.
We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay, our choice at the restaurant and our beautiful sister island Gozo.

Thank you also for taking the time to post this review.

We hope to be able to welcome you again
Warm regards

Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My sister and I stayed for one week at this resort as it was close to where a family wedding was being held. We booked a superior twin which gave us stunning views of Ramla Bay,Comino and Gozo. Although too cold to swim in the outdoor pools due to the weather, we used the indoor pool daily. The choice of food was great, everything buffet style, and fresh and replenished regularly. The Spa was also good and we both had treatments there which were very professional. The resort is isolated, but we knew this, as we had bothered to check this out beforehand, but this was not a problem as we had family to collect us for trips out. In fact the remoteness was a plus, no noisy bars etc, so we both had a relaxing stay. The staff were always polite and helpful, and I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Elaine B,

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for choosing our Resort and we are very pleased to note that you might come to stay with us once again.

Our location and serene atmosphere surrounded by sea and country side make this property quite unique. Having said this public transport is just a stone throw away from the Resort.

Looking forward to welcoming you again, hopefully in the near future

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Julians Malta.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Went to Ramla bay for the weekend for my parent's 50th wedding Anniversary and when I booked and I told the lady about the anniversary she said that she will write it down on the booking but when we got there no one even mentioned it let alone make a fuss of it. Indoor pool was freezing and rooms were very warm at night and was told that ACs were not working so early in the year. Also I think that 4 star hotels should all have tea/coffee making facilities and not just in the special rooms. Internet was euro 8 a day to use in the rooms when most hotels provide free wifi. Anyway now for the good things. Rooms are clean and nice, food was good and plenty, outside area is beautiful and it's a place where one can really relax and get away from it all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StJulians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear StJulians

Thank you for staying at The Ramla Bay Resort and for taking the time to post your review.
We are pleased to read that you were satisfied on most aspects and services,
May we point out that we offer free WiFi at the lobby bar area. The indoor pool is heated to a temperature of between 28 and 29 Degrees Celsius (excluding summer months).

We appreciate all your comments have taken note of your less positive comments and will do our best to improve where possible.

Hope to be able to welcome you again
Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I booked the hotel because it was one of the few located on sandy beach that is rare for Malta. But it was so cold and windy that it was absolutely useless. The beach was unprepaired though it was the second part of May. The pool was cold. Either was the inner pool. There was nothing to do in the evening and almost no activity during the day. It was very silent and really boring if you have no car (car parking is free). No restaurants in the walking distance. Lots of pensioners.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalia25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Natalia25

Thank you for choosing the Ramla Bay Resort during your recent visit in April and not May as stated. We regret to read that you were disappointed, probably due to incorrect information transmitted to you.

As for the beach being unprepared, we have done our utmost to have this ready as early as possible (even though we advertise these facilities for May - October), however as you very well stated, due to weather conditions and strong wind, this was held back . All 3 outdoor pools are open and in use. Indoor pool is heated to 28/29 degrees celsius.

The locality of the Resort, makes it a truly special place for relaxation, yet it is only 5 kilometers away from the centre of village of Mellieha, which is easily reached by car. public bus or taxi.

Our animator organizes tournaments and games, whilst for 5 evenings a week there is live entertainment at the bar area.

Hoping the above will give you a better perspective, and also transmits better information, we hope you will return to Malta and also to our Resort for another holiday.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramla Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramla Bay Resort

Property: Ramla Bay Resort
Address: Marfa L/O, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 7100, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramla Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramla Bay Resort is situated on the northernmost shore of Malta, limits of Mellieha. The resort offers spectacular views of the sister islands of Comino and Gozo and is blessed with ample land and surrounded by landscaped gardens. Malta’s most popular sandy beach of Mellieha is just a few kilometres away, accessible by public transport. Amenities include: *private sandy beach,*3 outdoor / 1 indoor pool, spa, *water sport centre, tennis court as well as meeting and conference facilities. (* May to October) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramla Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramla Bay Hotel Mellieha
Hotel Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Resort Malta/Mellieha
Ramla Bay Malta
Malta Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing