We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ramla Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramla Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

My sister and I stayed for one week at this resort as it was close to where a family wedding was being held. We booked a superior twin which gave us stunning views of Ramla Bay,Comino and Gozo. Although too cold to swim in the outdoor pools due to the weather, we used the indoor pool daily. The choice of food was great, everything buffet style, and fresh and replenished regularly. The Spa was also good and we both had treatments there which were very professional. The resort is isolated, but we knew this, as we had bothered to check this out beforehand, but this was not a problem as we had family to collect us for trips out. In fact the remoteness was a plus, no noisy bars etc, so we both had a relaxing stay. The staff were always polite and helpful, and I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Elaine B,

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for choosing our Resort and we are very pleased to note that you might come to stay with us once again.

Our location and serene atmosphere surrounded by sea and country side make this property quite unique. Having said this public transport is just a stone throw away from the Resort.

Looking forward to welcoming you again, hopefully in the near future

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    662
    285
    103
    39
See reviews for
516
852
54
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Julians Malta.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Went to Ramla bay for the weekend for my parent's 50th wedding Anniversary and when I booked and I told the lady about the anniversary she said that she will write it down on the booking but when we got there no one even mentioned it let alone make a fuss of it. Indoor pool was freezing and rooms were very warm at night and was told that ACs were not working so early in the year. Also I think that 4 star hotels should all have tea/coffee making facilities and not just in the special rooms. Internet was euro 8 a day to use in the rooms when most hotels provide free wifi. Anyway now for the good things. Rooms are clean and nice, food was good and plenty, outside area is beautiful and it's a place where one can really relax and get away from it all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StJulians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear StJulians

Thank you for staying at The Ramla Bay Resort and for taking the time to post your review.
We are pleased to read that you were satisfied on most aspects and services,
May we point out that we offer free WiFi at the lobby bar area. The indoor pool is heated to a temperature of between 28 and 29 Degrees Celsius (excluding summer months).

We appreciate all your comments have taken note of your less positive comments and will do our best to improve where possible.

Hope to be able to welcome you again
Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I booked the hotel because it was one of the few located on sandy beach that is rare for Malta. But it was so cold and windy that it was absolutely useless. The beach was unprepaired though it was the second part of May. The pool was cold. Either was the inner pool. There was nothing to do in the evening and almost no activity during the day. It was very silent and really boring if you have no car (car parking is free). No restaurants in the walking distance. Lots of pensioners.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalia25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Natalia25

Thank you for choosing the Ramla Bay Resort during your recent visit in April and not May as stated. We regret to read that you were disappointed, probably due to incorrect information transmitted to you.

As for the beach being unprepared, we have done our utmost to have this ready as early as possible (even though we advertise these facilities for May - October), however as you very well stated, due to weather conditions and strong wind, this was held back . All 3 outdoor pools are open and in use. Indoor pool is heated to 28/29 degrees celsius.

The locality of the Resort, makes it a truly special place for relaxation, yet it is only 5 kilometers away from the centre of village of Mellieha, which is easily reached by car. public bus or taxi.

Our animator organizes tournaments and games, whilst for 5 evenings a week there is live entertainment at the bar area.

Hoping the above will give you a better perspective, and also transmits better information, we hope you will return to Malta and also to our Resort for another holiday.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Having decided to get away from the awful UK weather for a short break I returned to Malta and decided to take along my mum. We booked the hotel only 3 weeks before going and price was definitely the driving factor on this holiday.
The hotel is large and quite isolated, so if you want busy, busy and lots of night life this is not the place for you! It is a bus ride away from Mellihah Bay beach, and though there is apparently a shuttle bus there nobody mentioned this to us. The hotel was gearing up for the start of the season so the main pool only opened on the last day of our holiday but as the hotel was not busy, there were plenty of sun beds at the smaller outdoor pool. To be honest this was not an issue as we were well aware it was still out of season.
The food was OK with plenty of choice, though like others have said it would be ideal if they labelled their different salads. The waiters in the restaurant were quick and friendly, clearing plates as soon as they were finished.
We were only there for 5 days but we were pleased with the room we had, whilst on a lower floor we had a lovely view over the bay to Gozo, and saw some lovely sunsets.
A day in Gozo and another at Mdina meant that we spent only a couple of days at the hotel. It is close to the Arriva bus stops that go all over Malta and also a 20 minute walk to the ferry across to Gozo which only costs 5 euros return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room looking towards Gozo, they have the bigger balconiies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanmary14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Susanmary14

Thank you for choosing Malta and the Ramla Bay Resort for your getaway, thank you also for taking the time to post this review.

Located on the Northest tip of the Island, makes this Resort an exceptional place for a truly relaxing holiday away from the daily hustle and bustle of the busy city life.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return in the future.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We loved our stay here. We had a room on the 3rd floor with fantastic views, the room was big with 2 setees and a table to sit at, good sized balcony. Lovely large bed and flat screen TV. Helpful and friendly staff. The buffet breakfast was excellent but it was all a bit manic, nice to eat outside away from the mayhem. Evening meal was the same, no atmosphere and felt like a canteen. Not sure what they can do to improve this though. There are many good restaurants in Malta so it would be a shame not to try some of them. You will need a car or get taxis. Would definately return.

Room Tip: Worth getting a sea view on the higher levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgie11UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Georgie11UK

Thank you for staying at the Ramla Bay Resort during your recent holiday on the Maltese Islands. We are delighted to read that you loved your stay here and found the room very comfortable, and the staff helpful and friendly.

We are also pleased to read that you have enjoyed your meals. We have now already opened the Restaurant Terrace, which boasts breathtaking views over the Mediterranean sea, weather permitting, this will be open for the whole season.

We look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully in the near future.

Warm regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Ramla Bay is not at all as stated on their website. We have just returned from a week's holiday there & were very disappointed.
Their beach was closed for renovation works & although they provided shuttle service to Mellihah beach the cost of using a sunbed on the beach was 4 euros each time. The outdoor pool was out of order.
Buffet dinner was absolutelydisgrace - same food every night we stayed there.
Rooms not cleaned until late in the evening, eventhough we requested for 'please clean my room' note everytime we left the hotel in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheila746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Sheila746

Thank you for choosing Malta and the Ramla Bay Resort. We regret to read that you were disappointed.
May we comment that your review is not correct. There were some days when the beach was closed for maintenance works which was required after heavy storms hit the island. To make up for this we provided a shuttle service to a sandy beach close by. Our rocky beach was still available. Whilst maintenance work was being done on one outdoor pool, the other 2 pools were available.

As for dinner, although a few of the salads are standard and as to be expected would be available on every dinner, other antipastos, pasta, soup, main dishes, and carvery are different every evening.

Rooms are cleaned till latest 1600hrs, which is the time when all our room attendants finish their shift for the day, therefore as a rule rooms are not cleaned after that time. (incase of emergencies, we have cleaners on call at all hours).

We hope you will return to our Island and The Ramla Bay Resort in the future

Warm regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Indoor Pool - not heated. Ok, the room was warm enough but the water was close to sea temperature IN APRIL.
Room heating - out of order, only cool.
Room minibar fridge - took us nearly 24hrs to cool some wine.
Room TV - microscopic.
Sauna - out of order
Lifts - malfunctioned for 7 times in 2.5 days.
The rest was just ok. Very helpful and patient with my vegeterian partner. Food was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavalletteknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear lavalletteknight

Thank you for choosing the Ramla Bay Resort. We regret to note that you were not completely satisfied, we appreciate all comments received and would like to clarify a few points.

The indoor pool is heated to a temperature of between 28 and 29 Degrees Celsius.
Room heating is set according to prevailing weather conditions and April was on the warm side and hence regulated accordingly.
Purpose of the minibar is not for refrigeration but to keep drinks at a cool temperature.
Re the sauna, we regret this was out of order due to unforeseen urgent maintenance works required, however as you are aware we still had the steam room available.
We have 3 lifts to the rooms, and we acknowledge that one of them stalled a few times.

We are glad to read that you still enjoyed your stay and found the food to be excellent.

We hope you will return, and if you require further clarifications, please do not hesitate to contact us on sales@ramlabayresort.com

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramla Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramla Bay Resort

Property: Ramla Bay Resort
Address: Marfa L/O, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 7100, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramla Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramla Bay Resort is situated on the northernmost shore of Malta, limits of Mellieha. The resort offers spectacular views of the sister islands of Comino and Gozo and is blessed with ample land and surrounded by landscaped gardens. Malta’s most popular sandy beach of Mellieha is just a few kilometres away, accessible by public transport. Amenities include: *private sandy beach,*3 outdoor / 1 indoor pool, spa, *water sport centre, tennis court as well as meeting and conference facilities. (* May to October) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramla Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramla Bay Hotel Mellieha
Hotel Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Resort Malta/Mellieha
Ramla Bay Malta
Malta Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing