We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and Friendly”
Review of Ramla Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramla Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Friendly”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We loved our stay here. We had a room on the 3rd floor with fantastic views, the room was big with 2 setees and a table to sit at, good sized balcony. Lovely large bed and flat screen TV. Helpful and friendly staff. The buffet breakfast was excellent but it was all a bit manic, nice to eat outside away from the mayhem. Evening meal was the same, no atmosphere and felt like a canteen. Not sure what they can do to improve this though. There are many good restaurants in Malta so it would be a shame not to try some of them. You will need a car or get taxis. Would definately return.

Room Tip: Worth getting a sea view on the higher levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgie11UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Georgie11UK

Thank you for staying at the Ramla Bay Resort during your recent holiday on the Maltese Islands. We are delighted to read that you loved your stay here and found the room very comfortable, and the staff helpful and friendly.

We are also pleased to read that you have enjoyed your meals. We have now already opened the Restaurant Terrace, which boasts breathtaking views over the Mediterranean sea, weather permitting, this will be open for the whole season.

We look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully in the near future.

Warm regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    672
    291
    104
    41
See reviews for
524
862
57
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Ramla Bay is not at all as stated on their website. We have just returned from a week's holiday there & were very disappointed.
Their beach was closed for renovation works & although they provided shuttle service to Mellihah beach the cost of using a sunbed on the beach was 4 euros each time. The outdoor pool was out of order.
Buffet dinner was absolutelydisgrace - same food every night we stayed there.
Rooms not cleaned until late in the evening, eventhough we requested for 'please clean my room' note everytime we left the hotel in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheila746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Sheila746

Thank you for choosing Malta and the Ramla Bay Resort. We regret to read that you were disappointed.
May we comment that your review is not correct. There were some days when the beach was closed for maintenance works which was required after heavy storms hit the island. To make up for this we provided a shuttle service to a sandy beach close by. Our rocky beach was still available. Whilst maintenance work was being done on one outdoor pool, the other 2 pools were available.

As for dinner, although a few of the salads are standard and as to be expected would be available on every dinner, other antipastos, pasta, soup, main dishes, and carvery are different every evening.

Rooms are cleaned till latest 1600hrs, which is the time when all our room attendants finish their shift for the day, therefore as a rule rooms are not cleaned after that time. (incase of emergencies, we have cleaners on call at all hours).

We hope you will return to our Island and The Ramla Bay Resort in the future

Warm regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Indoor Pool - not heated. Ok, the room was warm enough but the water was close to sea temperature IN APRIL.
Room heating - out of order, only cool.
Room minibar fridge - took us nearly 24hrs to cool some wine.
Room TV - microscopic.
Sauna - out of order
Lifts - malfunctioned for 7 times in 2.5 days.
The rest was just ok. Very helpful and patient with my vegeterian partner. Food was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavalletteknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear lavalletteknight

Thank you for choosing the Ramla Bay Resort. We regret to note that you were not completely satisfied, we appreciate all comments received and would like to clarify a few points.

The indoor pool is heated to a temperature of between 28 and 29 Degrees Celsius.
Room heating is set according to prevailing weather conditions and April was on the warm side and hence regulated accordingly.
Purpose of the minibar is not for refrigeration but to keep drinks at a cool temperature.
Re the sauna, we regret this was out of order due to unforeseen urgent maintenance works required, however as you are aware we still had the steam room available.
We have 3 lifts to the rooms, and we acknowledge that one of them stalled a few times.

We are glad to read that you still enjoyed your stay and found the food to be excellent.

We hope you will return, and if you require further clarifications, please do not hesitate to contact us on sales@ramlabayresort.com

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siggiewi, Malta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at the Ramla Bay Resort for two nights. The purpose of our stay was to relax and the location of this resort was great for that. The views are magnificant especially watching the sunset over the sea. The surrounding areas are great for walks full of amazing views.The room furnishings and decor are new and everything was spotlessly clean. The facilities were a little disappointing as the main pool was closed, however there was a smaller one that was open. The beach was being redone however one had the option to be driven to another beach. The other facility not available was the sauna as it was out of order all throughout our stay. Other that that all was fab. The indoor pool is lovely and the therapists at the spa are great. We had several treatments and loved every minute. The food is good and the staff great especially the receptionists who were ever so welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 00niki356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear OONIKI356,

Thank you for choosing our Resort and for the time taken to post this review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your weekend break and that the service at our SPA has contributed towards your unwinding.

We do regret that the sauna was out of order that that the repairs around our out- door pool area were still going on. The facilities and now back to normal.

We look forward to host you at the Resort once again hopefully in the near future.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We visited Malta in march 2013, we had booked a room with a panoramic view, on check in we were offered a self catering bungalow, as we were only on bed and breakfast basis, luckily my partner had read reviews on here and refused, and Im so glad we did! As they looked very tired and almost Butlins like mid 70's, and a lot with no view, we were given a lovely room on 4th floor with an inland view, room was spacious we'd booked a double but it was twin beds, only fault with room was tv picture wasn't very good, we didn't bother reporting it as we weren't on holiday to watch tv. We hired a car to get around the island, there building a new dual carriage way down the road and have been for the last year so a few diversions that take longer to get around, and costal road says no access but all the locals ignore this and cut through, Maltas roads are always a free for all anyway and extremely poor road surfaces, our pot holes from snow have nothin on Malta lol. This was my 40th Trip to Malta and Ramla bay was one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in over the last 40years.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulg196404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Paulg196404,

Having visited Malta 40 times says it all. We feel that we have to thank you for being such a loyal repeat guest to our Island.

We are glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay notwithstanding the fact that you must know the island very well by now.

Should you decide to return to Malta for the 41st time and choose to stay at the Ramla Bay please let us know beforehand since it would be our pleasure to invite you for dinner on one of the evenings.

Thank you once again & warm regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have just returned from our Holiday , I was unsure of the resort as I saw quite a lot of comments about the front desk asking extra money for Rooms. I paid for the most expensive room available with sea view and was allocated a room with a concrete block in front of our Balcony?. Surprise Surprise I was offered and upgrade which I agreed to and when requested to a VAT Invoice the Hotel could not provide me one. I got a receipt on a piece of paper. It took us 2 hours to settle down in our new room and check-in. 80% of the Amenities promised as part of the all inclusive were either NOT available , NOt working or Under Repair. You need to pay for your peanuts in the Bar even if you are All Inclusive and also for Towels to use in the Pool and SPA. Staff are NOT helpful at all and NO kids entertainment. Even evening entertainment is way below standard. And Trust me the Pictures of this Resort are too deceptive.

Room Tip: Just be Prepared to pay extra money to get a Good room. Even if you have paid for a good room once y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank RoamerFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Romerfly,
We are very surprised by your review.
You state that you have paid for the most expensive room available and then took an upgrade. I am afraid that I fail to understand how one can upgrade if he booked the most expensive room in the first place.
We have never stated that the peanuts or pool towels are part of the AI. The AI entitlement consists of all meals in the main restaurant, snacks during the day , alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks from 10.00 to 23.00, free use of Sauna, Steam room as well as a discount to treatments in the SPA.
Rest assured that we are not in business to deceive people, this I am afraid is a very strong allegation all the pictures of the Resort are genuine and we can guarantee that.
Evidence is our track record
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Well this is an interesting review, I have just returned back from Ramla Bay with my wife & 2 sons, 15 & 20.
The hotel is very nice,but is starting to show it's age in certain areas.
For the whole of our holiday & I am sure for the next 4 - 6 weeks, the builders & their trucks where in!
Plastering,painting,rebuilding walls etc...
This unfortunately caused dust & areas where you could not walk to, i.e. Two swimming pools and beach area.
I realise maintenance work is required, but amazed why this is not completed in the winter months and especially as this was the 2 week easter break?
Anyway, putting that aside, the hotel & area is very quiet & apart from the Riviera hotel,next door, their is not much to walk to, unless you visit the Gypsy camp across the road from the hotel, very strange, by all account it is a holiday area for Maltese people who have had this area for generations.
Finally, although Malta is a unique experience,I would visit this hotel again, but would need to confirm that no building work is on during the holiday.
Staff very,very good & Riccardo & Martika excellent hosts on the walking tours,
Thank You.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but be aware their are 2 sea views from the rooms, sun in the morning go for lan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dotcom149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Dotcom149

Thank you for positing your review and for choosing to stay at our Resort.

We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay and we do understand that you would have preferred to find that all our facilities were fully functional.
We did have some damage caused by a freak storm during late March. The repairs couldn’t take place before owing to weather conditions. We do state that our out-door facilities are fully functioning from May however we fully understand that when the sun starts shining everyone would like to enjoy and make the best of our facilities.
Our pool area is now functional.

We are pleased to note that you are considering returning and would be pleased to host you once again at the Resort.

Warm regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramla Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramla Bay Resort

Property: Ramla Bay Resort
Address: Marfa L/O, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 7100, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramla Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramla Bay Resort is situated on the northernmost shore of Malta, limits of Mellieha. The resort offers spectacular views of the sister islands of Comino and Gozo and is blessed with ample land and surrounded by landscaped gardens. Malta’s most popular sandy beach of Mellieha is just a few kilometres away, accessible by public transport. Amenities include: *private sandy beach,*3 outdoor / 1 indoor pool, spa, *water sport centre, tennis court as well as meeting and conference facilities. (* May to October) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramla Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramla Bay Hotel Mellieha
Hotel Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Resort Malta/Mellieha
Ramla Bay Malta
Malta Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing