We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ramla Bay”
Review of Ramla Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramla Bay Resort
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent a week at Ramla Bay with our 6 year old son and we all loved it. The hotel was great, lovely big room with great views onto the sea (although we did have to upgrade for this as we were originally given a ground floor room looking at a wall). The kids entertainment was excellent. The pools were clean and welcoming although tthe outdoor one was very salty and our son wasn't keen. Howvere the indoor pool was freshwater and a great, quiet alternative. Food in the upstairs /outdoor restaurant was exceptional and we would have dined there every night if possible (make sure to book in advance). The breakfast offered a good choice but was always manic. All in all, a great hotel and a great base for exploring the island. The beach area is nice and clean and safe for young kids. We enjoyed the trip to Popeye Village which is a short drive and a good day out.

Room Tip: The higher floors offer great sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Grim72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Grim 72

Thank you for choosing the Ramla Bay Resort and for the review on TripAdvisor about your holiday in June 2012.
We are delighted to read that all the family enjoyed the stay, entertainment and facilities of the Resort.

In Malta, it is illegal to have fresh water pools in hotels or resorts which are located close to the sea. This law has been introduced in order to save fresh water, which as you are aware is a commodity which needs to be looked after. Since we are on the water's edge, legally we are bound to use sea water for our 3 outdoor pools.
The indoor pool is filled with fresh water.
Needless to say, we still treat and test the water quality of all pools on a daily basis, making sure that it is clean and safe at all times.

We hope you are returning for another lovely holiday, we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,162 - 1,168 of 2,085 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

Me and my fiance stayed all inclusive at the Ramla Bay Resort from the 8th - 16th March 2013, and overall am quite pleased with everything during our stay. We had a comfort room I believe, which was the cheapest option. It was cleaned daily, with towels changed as you'd expect. One of the main things that we enjoyed was the friendly bar and restaurant personnel, couldnt have taken more care of you. They had a couple people on entertainment which were great, not many activities but it was at the begining of the season.
Heres the few faults I found, the food, although was catering for many nationalities was 'sameish' every day, only change in sauce etc. Lunch however was great, being able to choose from the bar snack menu, which had all sorts to choose from (pasta, burgers, sandwiches), and so by far was the best of the daily meals. Also our rooms air conditioner wasnt up to scratch and seemed to only be set on heat? This only bothered us on a couple of our days there which were above 20 degrees, which I hope for people staying in the summer is fixed soon! Also something which confused us more than anything was that we had to sign reciepts after every order of drink or food. Which was inconvenient more than anything as you needed to carry a room card around everywhere you went, to show staff who you were (a system ready for abuse if your self catering btw!).
So overall I thank the staff at Ramla Bay for our delightful stay. I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a week away to the Med.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view, even with your comfort room. Just ask, the staff are more than helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Andrew C

Thank you for staying at The Ramla Bay Resort during your recent visit to Malta. We are glad to read that you had a lovely holiday and a delightful stay and with pleasure will share your comments with the rest of the Staff Team.

May we take the opportunity to clarify that the airconditioning and central heating system is subject to prevailing weather conditions.

Since we offer different board basis (ranging from bed & breakfast to all inclusive) the policy and procedure of room card and signing helps to keep the system running smoothly.

We hope you will return to Malta and to our Resort, as we look forward to welcoming you again.
Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was an unexpectedly lovely hotel. The room we had was spacious, clean and comfortable and most rooms have a view – especially the ones on the higher floors. All of the staff in the hotel (reception, bar and restaurant ) were friendly and helpful and the outdoor areas had lots of seating/lounging areas We had booked bed and breakfast as we usually enjoy trying different restaurants but we had to book half board as there are not many other restaurants and hotels and being February, they were still closed. We paid £15 per meal and were not disappointed with the food. There was a good choice each night and other than the salad area none of the meals were repeated. We used the local buses (ex London bendy buses) to get around the island and Gozo- very cheap and reliable – even on Gozo. The Maltese people were very friendly and helpful and overall we had a most enjoyable break.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kkplc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear kklpc

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Ramla Bay Resort and for taking the time to post this review.

We are delighted to read that we have met and exceeded your expectations and that all Team played a part in delivering your most enjoyable week.

We hope you will return to our Islands and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have just returned this evening from a week in Malta, we stayed in this hotel for three nights. We booked a sea view room which we were allocated on the 2nd Floor. The views from our room were stunning and I would definitely recommend a sea view room to anybody thinking of booking this hotel. The room was spacious and very clean. All the staff were courteous and friendly. We had booked half board in all three hotels that we booked in Malta and this was by far the best selection, variety and tasty food in any of the three hotels. The variety on offer at dinner was mouthwatering with a different menu every night and the breakfast choice was just as good. All the dining room staff worked extremely hard and were still very friendly. The weather was very wet and windy while we were there and the outside pools were not in use but in fine weather there would be nothing more pleasant than to while away a few hours beside them. This hotel in our opinion is in the nicest area of Malta...quiet and not over developed. The ferry to Gozo is only a few kilometers from here. There is free wifi available in the reception area.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank FourCrazyIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear FourCrazyIrish

Thank you for staying at the Ramla Bay Resort and for taking the time to post this review. We will gladly share your lovely comments with the team.

We are also pleased that you have also enjoyed your meals at our Restaurant.

Hoping you will return to Malta and to our Resort, maybe next time in Summer when you will be able to enjoy the outdoor pools, the beach and the watersports facilities.

Looking forward to welcoming you again

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay which we really enjoyed and would recommend it to anyone, the staff at the hotel were polite and helpful, the bar area very comfortable but i would say they would benefit if they had a few more higher chairs than the low ones . there isnt much in the area but the bus stop is only a 5/10 minute walk so easy access to the whole island of Malta and not far from the ferry port to Gozo.
We stayed on Bed and Breakfast basis and found it ideal to ours needs, the bar sells meals up to 6pm they were good quality for money.
The Room we had was very comfortable, spacious bathroom and a balcony that had views of both the sea and inland views.
we would return to this hotel if we holiday again in Malta.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DWest83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear DWest83

Thank you for choosing the Ramla Bay Resort and thank you for your lovely comments. All members of the Staff Team work hard to ensure a fantastic holiday for our Guests.

We hope you will visit Malta again, and should you return, it would be our pleasure to welcome you again.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Little confusion when checking in, company we booked through did not book sea view room as requested and paid for.?

Staff very helpful and arranged a upgrade, we did have to pay for it though.

We had booked B & B but should have booked at least half board or AI as we eat there most nights, food was very good.

Hotel is in a very quiet area of Malta with lovely views across to Gozo. Hotel is very nice and staff very helpful & friendly. Pool and beach areas very clean, service at bars quick and not expensive. Room was massive with a lovely big balcony again very clean. Deserves 4 stars.

Wifi was very expensive but we found we could connect to hotels across the bay for no charge.

Would suggest hiring a car like we did to get to see all of the island, there is lots to see also as said the hotel is almost on its own other than another hotel across the little bay in front.

Hired a car as wanted to see all of the island which is easy to do as not to big, recommend going to the silent city Mdina and the capital Valletta.

We were either lucky or the weather is always nice in October averaging 22-26 which was unexpected even sat on beach and had a swim in the sea.

The only not so good part of holiday was tour company we used and having to fly with Ryanair, the first and I promise the last time we ever fly Ryanair.

Malta is a lovely island and Ramla Bay a great hotel is you like us you want to relax and want a peaceful location.

we will be back 2013

Room Tip: Pay for upgrade and have sea view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank KLHH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear KLHH123

We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at The Ramla Bay Resort. Thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to post this review.
Your feedback is much appreciated and we are pleased to share your lovely comments with the Members of the Team, who do their utmost to give our Guests the best experience.

Wifi connection is offered free of charge for use at the lobby bar area.

We hope you will return to the Maltese Islands in the future, and we look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I spent a week all inclusive holiday at Ramla Bay Resort back in August 2007. The room had a lovely sea view, was spacious and comfortable and also spotless clean. The meals were tasty and varied even though they were buffet style.
However, after this experience I have never gone on the package holiday again, I realised I prefer more independent style of travelling.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kasia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Kasia M

Thank you for choosing the Ramla Bay Resort for your stay during your visit to Malta and thank you also for taking the time to post this review.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your holiday and we hope you will return to Malta and to our Resort for another great holiday in the near future.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,794 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
2,208 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,991 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramla Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramla Bay Resort

Address: Triq Ir-Ramla | Marfa L/O, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 7100, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $42 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramla Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramla Bay Resort is situated on the northernmost shore of Malta, limits of Mellieha. The resort offers spectacular views of the sister islands of Comino and Gozo and is blessed with ample land and surrounded by landscaped gardens. Malta’s most popular sandy beach of Mellieha is just a few kilometres away, accessible by public transport. Amenities include: *private sandy beach,*3 outdoor / 1 indoor pool, spa, *water sport centre, meeting and conference facilities. (* May to October) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramla Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramla Bay Hotel Mellieha
Hotel Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Resort Malta/Mellieha
Ramla Bay Malta
Malta Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing