We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for couples” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramla Bay Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ramla Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal for couples”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Perfect for couples who want to relax, really nice resort, nice food, its a bit secluded but adds to the tranquility and relaxation of the place.

Hotel - We took the offer of an upgrade to the junior suite for 15 euros extra a night as we had a lovely room, king sized bed and beautiful views from the balcony. Really nice resort next to the beach, clean, 3 outdoor swimming pools, 1 indoor pool with Jacuzzi and spa treatments.

Location - North of the island near ferry to Gozo, quiet and out the way but very impressed with regular bus service - we bought a 7 day bus pass to travel anywhere on the island for 12 euros

Food - We went half board so we could do what we wanted in the day - buffet style food, large choice of dinners and was diverse from day to day. We sat outside most of the time which overlooked the beach which was ideal. There are hotel cats that are well looked after!
Also a separate restaurant on the resort but at an additional cost.

Service - All the staff were helpful and seemed to enjoy working there. Rooms cleaned everyday at a good standard. Cannot ask for more.

Entertainment - There was a singer 5 nights a week, was ok more for the older people though. We went to the bar or played cards most nights which suited us. There is a tennis court, gym and table tennis and also spar treatment, we got a 30 mins body massage for 30 euros which was nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Darren S

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Ramla Bay Resort during your recent holiday in Malta. We are pleased to read that we have met your expectations and that you have made use of our extensive list of facilities.

We hope you will return to visit us again in the near future

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    647
    277
    100
    35
See reviews for
500
836
52
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gl;oucester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

The resort exceeded our expectations, as some other reviews have not all been complimentary. We found as a couple looking for a relaxing short break in the sun, The Ramla Bay Resort was perfect. With 3 outdoor and an indoor pool to choose from, all well kept, and a little sandy beach, with plenty of sunloungers, there were lots of choices for swimming and relaxing. There was a shop in the hotel for gifts, snacks and drinks, and the reception were happy to help with buses and ferry times etc. You can walk to the Gozo ferry terminal in approx 30 mins if fit, and the buses do run near the hotel if you want to explore Malta, but it is a long journey from popular sights, so maybe hire a car. We stayed on B&B basis, and buffet breakfast had a good choice of food, a small selection of eggs, bacon, sausages etc and the usual continental fayre, you can eat outside on a lovely terrace, with good views. We ate every night in the Alang Alang A la carte restaurant, which was outside on a lovely thatched terrace overlooking the sea, absolutely magical, the food was very good, and there were some choices of main course at around 10 Euros for pizza, pasta etc, or one night we had a seafood platter each, rather pricey at 35 euros each, but as a treat it was worth it. The manager was very nice, and reserved our table for us with fantastic view. We would definitely go back, it was excellent value.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are lovely, with great view of the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaseditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Jaseditor

Thank you for staying at The Ramla Bay Resort and for taking the time to post this review.

We are so pleased to read that we have exceeded your expectations.

Hoping you will return to Malta and to our Resort in the near future.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

To start with I'd just like to say that if I had the option on Trip Advisor I'd rate it a 3.5 Good, average doesn't do it justice but Very good isn't quite there in my opinion.
Positives are the friendly staff, and 3 pool areas, all with lots of sunbeds. It's indoor pool is also lovely, the onsite shop sells all the bits and bobs you might have forgotten along with regular newspapers for those that like to keep up to date with the news.
Our room was lovely and spacious but twin beds instead of double was a bit of a downer. Unlike previous reviewers we did have tea and coffee facilities and a fridge which is excellent for keeping a bottle of the local wine chilled for a snifter on the seaview balcony.
The slight disappointments for me were;
The air con was poor in the room and the first night I couldn't sleep at all. Apparently it only cooled at certain times of the day/night and it was exceptionally noisy.
Buffet breakfast, it was OK but compared to other 4* hotels the choice was limited with little variation during the 10 days were were there. I'd expect to have a chef cooking eggs to order for omelettes
poached eggs etc. Fruit was mainly tinned although we did have some highlights of Bananas, Kiwi and Grapefruit on a couple of days. Breads were not varied and once the fresh loaves had run out then it was just sliced...this happened frequently during our stay and we're not late eaters.
The rocky areas to sunbathe on are great but could do with resurfacing or at least sweeping over each morning to avoid stumbling over the breaking up bits of concrete.
We didn't use the Spa but the indoor pool, whilst being lovely, it was a bit disconcerting to see the toilettes actually open directly onto the poolside.
Overall this hotel is good, the Alang Alang restaurant is excellent and the host is a lovely chap who made everyone feel welcome and attended to.
The hotel has real potential to become an excellent 4* property if it just ups it's game in a few areas.

Room Tip: Defintely go for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKBritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear SLBritt

Thank you for staying at the Ramla Bay Resort and for choosing Malta as your recent holiday destination. Your comments have been noted and will be looked into.

We are glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay and our amenities.

We look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again in the future.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

It's a big Hotel with all the comfort you expect, but the most annoying on our stay was that every service will be charged additional. WiFi is available but with 8 EUR per day really expensive, Beach towels (by the way there is nearly no beach at the Hotel) 2.50 per day, ...

In a hotel of this class, usually you can expect those kind of service as part of you booking

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frequ_traveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear frequ_traveller_12

Thank you for staying at The Ramla Bay Resort and for taking the time to post this review.

We are glad to read that you have found this Resort to be comfortable and clean.

At our Resort, we do our best to provide as many amenities and facilities as possible. Most of these are at no charge.

However, Wifi is at a charge as well as beach/pool towels (for correctness sake, the charge is of 2.50 euros per beach/pool towel change). As you are aware the Resort is situated on the water's edge and has an extensive foreshore as well as 3 large outdoor pools and an indoor pool.

We hope you will return to Malta and to our Resort

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have just returned from Ramla Bay and to be honest I wish I could have stayed longer. From start to finish the staff were attentive and very helpful including offering one last cup of tea at 04.00 when I was waiting for departure.
My room on the third floor was very good, cleaned every day and very comfortable. I chose the All Inclusive option which removed the need to carry cash or risk running up a room charge bill.
The food provided was excellent, all meals were buffet style which means you could have as much as you wanted and did not have to fix a time to eat. If you happened to overrun on a visit out you could still get a meal. The other restaurant is not part of th AI option so I did not use it.
Plenty of sunbeds around the pools and elsewhere so relaxing was not a problem and if it got too hot you could retire to one of the gazebos or indoors to the bar area.
Ramla Bay is remote, described by my taxi driver as the last hotel on Malta so a car is a good idea. Not essential as there is a daily shuttle into Mellieha from there you can get buses to Valetta. If you are all inclusive the shuttle is included.
Most of the tour companies offer trips around the island at a cost which will collect you and drop you off back at the hotel Car hire can be arranged any morning from the hotel lobby.
Buses do stop at the top of the road into the hotel, but I never used them so cannot comment.
The evening entertainment was usually some local singer with live music and would probaly appeal more to the senior members rather than teenagers.
If you want a realxing holiday where you can get away from the rush of life, but you can also be active if you wish, then goto to Ramla Bay, it has everything you need. It even has a well known British beer, which was a pleasant change from the selection of lagers found in some resorts.
Thank you Ramla Bay for a very enjoyable week, I only wish I could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony which gets sun at some time of the day. Pay more you get a bigger room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerDorsetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear TravellerDorsetUK

Thankyou for taking the time to post your comments. It is a real pleasure noting that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

It makes one and all who work at the Ramla Bay Resort proud of being part of the team whose ultimate aime is to ensure an enjoyable stay to all our Guests.

We look forward to host you once again in the near future

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paignton
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

we have just returned from the ramla bay resort and had the most amazing time here.....we arrivd quite late at night and were welcomed with a nice easy check in. We had a double comfort room on the second floor....room was very clean and a good size with 2 fantastic showers in the bathroom, it has a fridge and hair dryer but no tea or cofee making facilities which would be a nice touch....but my handy travel kettle sorted that out. The ramla bay resort is a little out of the way but that suited us as we hired a car, but buses and drifter mini buses are all handy. We went half board and the food at this resort is first class....the choice and variety everyday was better than some of the 5* hotels we have stayed at and the staff in the restaurant were very helpfull and cheerfull. Pool area is clean and plenty of sunbeds around the 3 pools and also on the rocky areas surounding the resort....private beach also right on the doorstep.....there is also a boat hire company where you can hire kayaks, pedloes and self drive...a must is the speedboat trip to comino and the blue lagoon (12 eurospp). We enjoyed our stay at this resort and will definately be returning here next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank declans-diary123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear declans-diary123

It is a pleasure to note that your stay in Malta and The Ramla Bay Resort was an enjoyable one. It gives us great satisfaction that you will be returning next year.

Tourism is the Island's backbone, and your comments and post boosts up our ego. We shall continue contributing to another successful season both for Malta and our Resort.

Looking forward to welcoming you again

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We found the staff at the hotel very friendly and helpful. We had only booked Bed & Breakfast but on arrival the lady on the Reception Desk allowed us to pay for an upgrade to Half Board.

We found the room to be very clean and modern with a balcony with sea views to one side. We slept well even with the evenings being very warm with overnight lows of around 21c (70f) with a very effective Air Conditioning running off the main hotel system.

The buffet meals served in the hotel restaurant were excellent with an excellent choice at breakfast ranging from cereals, fruit juices served from a chiller dispenser, fresh fruits and yogurts with a hot choice of things like bacon, sausage, baked beans, tomatoes and eggs either scrambled or fried, a choice of bread rolls and slices of bread both white and brown with toasters available making it possible to have a full English. A coffee machine was available with a selection of coffees and choice of various teas. Once again the evening meals had a different excellent choice each evening with the choice of soup, fruits or salads for starters and a wide choice of main courses with dessert choices mainly being different types of gateau’s fruits, ice cream and cheese & biscuits.

The hotel is well located with its own swimming pools and private beach and is within a 10 minute walk of local buses although we chose to make use of a hire car we collected at the airport.

A few suggestions for the hotel management to consider:
In view of the major long term road works taking place on the main road between Mellieha and Marfa when approaching from Valletta and the airport it might be worth the hotel considering emailing people with bookings a few days before with a warning about the roadwork’s taking place with a suggestion on how to find the hotel through the diversions as the work progresses.
We had an excellent Wi-Fi connection from our room but considered that the charge for the 24 hour connection to be excessive and maybe look at having the Wi-Fi included or a drastic reduction in the charge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear David W

Thank you for staying at The Ramla Bay Resort and for your excellent review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay in Malta and at our Resort.

Your comments and suggestions have been noted.


We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pergola Club Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramla Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramla Bay Resort

Property: Ramla Bay Resort
Address: Marfa L/O, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 7100, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramla Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramla Bay Resort is situated on the northernmost shore of Malta, limits of Mellieha. The resort offers spectacular views of the sister islands of Comino and Gozo and is blessed with ample land and surrounded by landscaped gardens. Malta’s most popular sandy beach of Mellieha is just a few kilometres away, accessible by public transport. Amenities include: *private sandy beach,*3 outdoor / 1 indoor pool, spa, *water sport centre, tennis court as well as meeting and conference facilities. (* May to October) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ramla Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramla Bay Hotel Mellieha
Hotel Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Resort Malta/Mellieha
Ramla Bay Malta
Malta Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing