We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, average breakfast”
Review of Ramla Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramla Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We really enjoyed the location of Ramla Bay Resort. Not because of pools or nearby beaches, but because we could enjoy from our balcony a wonderful view of Gozo and Comino islands, yet have easy access to all parts of Malta with our hired car. The island is so relatively small that it did not even bother us that major road works forced us to make a detour whenever heading south.
The room was large and well equipped. The beds comfortable and the bathroom very clean. But the bathroom is insufficiently lit, making it difficult if not impossible to apply make-up.
We were on a B&B basis and can therefore foodwise only comment the breakfast. It was OK with fair selections of everything, but on the other hand not exiting at all. It is disappointing to have canned fruit when visitting the Mediterranean. The restaurant room itself is very large and a bit noisy and uninviting. During the breakfast peak hour guests were looking in vain for empty tables, mainly because long rows of tables had already been reserved for groups booked for lunch. We and others at times ignored the reservation signs and sat down at these tables anyway, and the staff did not object.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Finn Spurre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Dear 'Finn Spurre P'

Thank you for staying at The Ramla Bay Resort during your recent holiday in Malta. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your holiday. We have also taken note of your comments regarding the restaurant. Through guests' feedback, we are able to better our services.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future, both to Malta and to our Resort.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,967)
There are newer reviews for Ramla Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,210 - 1,216 of 1,968 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic week at the Rambla Bay Resort, excellent choice of food, lovely helpfull staff. Has to be the best place to stay on Malta.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with sea view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojoStockton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Manager at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Dear 'jojo Stockton'

Thank you for staying with us at The Ramla Bay Resort and for your lovely comments about our staff and the excellent choice of food. We are pleased to know you had a fantastic holiday and that we have met your expectations.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I will begin this review saying that my husband and I got married here and so this review will obviously be a bit biased!
Before booking the hotel, we had never visited the hotel or been to Malta, but decided we would take a gamble and go for it...and I am glad we did! The hotel is wonderful. It is very isolated but this didnt bother us. If you like your freedom, hire a car - we did this on our second trip and had a great time exploring the island.
The shared areas (Bar, Reception etc) are kept wonderfully clean and tidy and all of the staff are so attentive. The main bar can get very busy in the evening and the staff work very hard to try to make sure everyone is served in turn and as quickly as possible.
There were about 18 of us staying at this hotel for our wedding and we requested a large table for breakfast and dinner for our stay which was no trouble at all, and we had the same table kept throughout the stay.
The food was served buffet style as with a lot of hotels, but it was always fresh and varied. Food was also served at the pool bar and in the main bar when the restaurant was closed (cakes in the afternoon in the main bar = yummy!)
The pool itself was very nice - plenty of sunbeds. There is a small man-made beach with some sun beds on, which was never hugely busy. I have to say that the beach is perhaps the worst part of the hotel as it is not the cleanest. The sea is nice and warm, and quite still.
There are some watersports available from the beach - jet skis, canoes, pedallos etc and they also offer trips to Comino which is a nice way to spend an afternoon, especially at the Blue Lagoon.
Our room was very spacious - we had a room with panoramic sea view and balcony. It was lovely to sit on the balcony watching the sun set.
Our wedding service was held outside under one of their wooden gazebos, which was absolutely beautiful. Then we had an area of the outside dining area partitioned off for our wedding party.
Throughout the whole trip, we could not fault any of the staff.

We returned to Ramla Bay for our first wedding anniversary and were treated to the same standard. I would have no qualms in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kamlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Dear Kamlane,

We thank you for your excellent and very encouraging comments.
Needless to say we are very glad that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and look forward to host you once again in our Resort.

Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

First stay at this lovely resort. Best of the three hotels on the north east tip of Malta. 5 minutes from the nearest town of Mellieha, by car, which I would recommend in order to see all of the islands hidden treasures. The hotel offer transfers also, if requested. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Especially the waiters/tresses in the restaurant who worked extremely hard and efficiently. The maids always ensured that the rooms were kept tidy, clean and replenished toiletries daily. Our room was in an excellent position on the second floor with views over the bay towards the ferry to Gozo, (highly recommend a visit there to explore the island), the balcony got sun most of the day and was secluded. Plenty buses and sight-seeing trips available both on Malta and Gozo. The buffet meals offered plenty of choice and dinner was served from 18.00 hrs to 21.30 hrs, unfortunately certain persons assumed you all had to arrive at 18.00 hrs to eat and got more than a little upset if they had to queue. Chill out this is a holiday resort not a school lunch time! We visited Malta in January last time, March this time but next time will maybe try June/July as we were hit by unusual storms this time. This resort, I imagine, will be busy in the summer as its location serves the many watersports fans, boating fans, scuba diving and snorkelling fanatics. If I had one small thing to pick on it was the fact no kettles etc were supplied in the rooms. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, both the resort and being able to travel all over this small island during our two week stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandrab58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Dear Moray,

We thank you for your comments and classifying us as an ‘Excellent Resort’. We also thank you for being a repeat guest to our beautiful islands which, as you stated, have a lot to offer.
It is always a pleasure to note that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and look forward to host you once again in our Resort.

Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I stayed here in Feb 2012 for 1 week with my husband ad our 2 children (9 and 6). The room we had overlooked the car park with a bit of a sea view but didn't have the full sea view that most other room have. The room itself was large, clean and well maintained, the bathroom was clean with a good shower pressure. The room value was excellent but the dinners became very pricy with 4 of us eating there every night. We didn't use the balcony much as we were there in winter which is just as well as someone on another balcony smoked regularly making it very unpleasant for us to sit on our balcony. The buffet breakfast and dinner have a good variety of cold and cooked dishes and there were plenty of healthy options at every sitting. The indoor pool was clean and cool enough to swim up and down in but really could do with a changing room - many guests looked in vain for a changing room and ended up changing in the toilet cubicles. The sauna for some bizzarre reason is quite far from the pool, forcing you to go outside, through the gym and then in another door. The ourdoor area of the hotel is well maintained and spacious. There is a VERY small 'beach' at the hotel and also boat rental and scuba centre near by. The hotel is conviently located near the Gozo and Comino ferry terminus about a 10 -15 minute walk away. You can catch the bus back from the terminus if you prefer but the one way sytem means you can't catch the bus to the ferry. The surrounding area was great for walking and exploring and in the cool winter weather we walked for hours each day often not seeing another soul for ages. If I were to stay here again I would request a room with sea view.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. Find out if smoking is allowed on the balcony as this could really spoil your e...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Landiesrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

We thank you for your kind comments and that you are considering returning to Malta and our Resort.

For your info we have since changed a few things in the SPA area. We now have direct excess from the indoor pool to the Sauna/ Steam Room & Gym area without having to go out at all.

We regret and understand that you found this inconvenient but that was a temporary measure.

It is always a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to host you once again in our Resort.


Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This was my second time at Ramla. Ramla's location is unique on the islands - 'remote' and 'isolated' (5 mins by car tothe nearest village) in an otherwise crowded country. The room was great - modern furniture, great view and very clean. Breakfast was abundant and varied as was dinner. The staff are pleasant and friendly. Will definitely reconsider another time.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views be it sea or country so in reality it is up to what you prefer.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ianusgrecus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Hotel nicely situated, where clean, good service and the service, food a little monotonous but it goes a very nice garden, the English language on the agenda. Beach small but private sandy, the water pure as crystal, water shoes are recommended due to the rocky bottom in places. In my opinion the hotel should have a maximum of three stars ....

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank GrzegorzRumia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinfrandon, Director of Sales at Ramla Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Dear GrzegorzRumia

We thank you for staying at the Ramla Bay Resort and for taking time to post this review on TripAdvisor. We also thank you for your good comments relating to the clealiness, service, garden, the beach and the surrounding areas.

As you are aware, our meals are buffet, offering a selection of both hot & cold dishes. Although we do our best to follow guests' suggestions, in this regard at the end of the day, food is a question of personal taste.

Besides our official languages of Maltese and English, we also have multilingual staff in most of the departments who have direct contact with guests.

Warm Regards
Martin Farrugia Randon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.1 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,369 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,867 reviews
2.2 mi away
Solana Hotel and Spa
Solana Hotel and Spa
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramla Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramla Bay Resort

Address: Marfa L/O, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 7100, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mellieha
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $36 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramla Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramla Bay Resort is situated on the northernmost shore of Malta, limits of Mellieha. The resort offers spectacular views of the sister islands of Comino and Gozo and is blessed with ample land and surrounded by landscaped gardens. Malta’s most popular sandy beach of Mellieha is just a few kilometres away, accessible by public transport. Amenities include: *private sandy beach,*3 outdoor / 1 indoor pool, spa, *water sport centre, tennis court as well as meeting and conference facilities. (* May to October) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramla Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramla Bay Hotel Mellieha
Hotel Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Resort Malta/Mellieha
Ramla Bay Malta
Malta Ramla Bay
Ramla Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing