We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Impressions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“1st Impressions”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Im a great believer in 1st impressions.We arrived at the hotel at 12 noon the receptionist told us we could not book in until 15.00 and continued with her duties,I had to ask her if we could leave our suitcases somewhere and where was the bar and pool and would it be possible to have our all inclusive wrist bands, this hotel has a problem with guest that are all inclusive, You are treated as 2nd class guests, The room has tea & coffee when they run out you have to purchase more from the shop, the mini fridge has complimentry drinks again when they run out you have to purchase more from the bar, they have nice bauggetts on show but when you ask for one you get a stale pack of sandwiches out of the fridge and the drinks are very limited, they have carlsberg and a local larger on tap but when you ask for a beer you get a german beer out of a can from the fridge, they also use a different type of lemonade for all inclusive guests. we paid an extra £200 each to be all inclusive and we were made to feel 2nd class.
The hotel is secluded its the last hotel on the island near a busy main road opposite the ferry terminal to gozo there is an under pass you can use to get to the beach and a concrete area they use for the childrens disco, whilst we were there they used this area for a local wedding so it was closed to guests, The hotel also sold the hotels facilities to the locals and at weekends and public holidays the hotel got very busy eg sunbeds and queues for food, the local children ran around unsupervised and the parents seem to have a problem with the guests.
The hotel it self was very clean the rooms are spacious and well equipped the beds were hard the pillows lumpy we asked for a double but got two singles pushed together the maid came in everyday to clean and make the beds. There are no night time walks no bars no shops no restaurants a good bus service your ticket lasts all day (£1.50).
The food at this hotel was'nt too bad, not a lot of fresh fruit other than that ok.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
I am sorry to hear that you received a less than positive response from our reception desk but it is true that check-in is from 15.00 hours but should the room be available for occupation then we do allocate from lunch time. The all-inclusive package does off different brands of foods and drinks but this is uniform and is normally the case in hotels. The mini bar fridge in the room is not normally stocked and guest may use it as they wish, discounted bat prices are available for the room. Locals do use the hotel both as day visitors and residents and the children running around are not just local children, children tend to be on holiday as well and during summer we do have more families in house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    721
    480
    249
    234
See reviews for
579
915
177
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

It is a wonderful, big hotel in Cirkewwa. And the only thing in Cirkewwa.. Because there is nothing, just this hotel and the ferry to Gozo. This is the only problem.. There are not shops, bars. Although the hotel has a little supermarket. The beach is small, but great. The hotel room was clean. The food was fine..
You can go by public transport bus to the center, and this is the cheapest way to explore the island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KisGabo97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
I thank you for your positive revue towards our establishment and yes it is true we are a little isolate but this does suit many of our clients and the transport links are second to none.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We booked a cheaper holiday through Chevron at the Ambassador Hotel in Xemxija which was a disaster but we were rescued when after much complaining and additional cost we were transferred by the Chevron Rep to "Paradise". If you have a reasonably high standard of expectation generally and at a reasonable cost this is the hotel for you. Our room was a Bayview Room which ticked all the boxes including high standard of furnishing, cleanliness/cleaned every day, bright and airy, flat screen tv and with a lovely view over the Bay. Half Board buffet style meals were excellent although we would have liked a bit more variety with the fresh fruit. All the staff were polite and helpful, particularly the reception staff even when under pressure Be careful when out and about as the "hop on hop off" buses seem good value at approx 17 euros but time will not allow you to "hop off" at all the sites of interest and you might be better off selecting where you want to go by local bus which is good fun and costs a lot less at 1.50 euros for an all day ticket. The ferry to Gozo is a five minute walk from the hotel and well worth 5 euros return. We wouldn't recommend a boat trip to Comino as this is lovely to look at but mainly rocky and crammed and cramped with deck chairs and fast food vans etc.
Generally speaking, a lovely lovely holiday so much so that we are scrimping and scraping to go to this hotel again in October '14.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor if want sea or bay views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BaznChaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
I thank you for taking the time to write your response to Trip Advisor and thank you for your kind words towards our establishment and staff. We look forward to your repeat visit in the very near future and trust that it shall be as memorable as your previous visit with us. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Good food best to be on 2nd sitting for dinner. Poolside rooms overlook a bay. Busy but plenty of room. 5mins walk from Gozo ferry and bus terminus ideal for touring under your own steam. Hotel has private beach and fast discounted trips to blue lagoon from their own private sandy beach. Found half board ideal. Hotel has good bistro if you stay all day and feel hungry.

Room Tip: Away from main road best, choose poolside if you can .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your positive response towards our establishment, I am pleased to hear that the locality of the hotel created no problem to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaipeda County, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here one week ago and enjoyed it. The romm was clean and tidy, big, with big balcony. Great view from the hotels window. But the furniture some too old. The breakfast could be better, but dinner was rich. A great location for trip to Gozo and Comino. The price of hotels store was too expensive, because there is not other store.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Gidone V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your positive response towards our establishment and yes our economy rooms do have older furniture and décor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was my first experience of travelling abroad. We had 8 days in Paradise Bay Hotel which was unfortunate as it was so beautiful and relaxing we wanted to stay for another week! The hotel has nice, clean, spacious rooms which are cleaned daily. Every room overlooks either the bay and pool or the beach. The balcony is a welcoming addition to every room with a table and chairs to relax and enjoy the perfect views. We went "all inclusive" which suited our needs, the food was tasty with lots of choices. Alcoholic drinks (local beers, wine and spirits ) were included in the "all inclusive" deal, these were surprisingly tasty. The restaurant was clean and spacious so there was no rush to eat your meal and the staff were friendly. The hotel is a little out of the way, but this should not put you off as travel is very easy, the buss stop is directly outside the hotel and buses are frequent. An all day ticket costs only 1euro and 50cents which is valid on all buses until midnight. An absolute must is a visit to Gozo which leaves from across the road from the hotel, as is a boat trip to Comino which also leaves from across the road. Both cost only 5euros for an adult ticket which is valid all day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank samey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
How nice to hear that your first venture abroad met with so many positive elements for you, but alas one must unfortunately come to the end of a holiday. I thank you for posting your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Nice clean rooms, nice pools and own small beach. The food is OK and the staff is helpfull and smiling.
Only one thing could be better. The carpets in the halls are not dirty, but it looks so. They should be renewed.

The hotel is away from eveything, so you need som kind of transport if you not are on "all inclusive"

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Per V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your response to trip advisor and yes I can relate to your comment on the worn carpet which is due to be changed., and yes we are isolated but have a very frequent and good public transport service that operates from just outside of the hotel. Alternately there is car hire available from our reception desk. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,836 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,185 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,574 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Bay Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bay Resort Hotel

Property: Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Address: Paradise Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9068, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Bay Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Beautifully situated overlooking the picturesque sister Islands of Gozo & Comino with its own private sandy beach, ideal for all ages." This very popular, spacious, comfortable and well-run family hotel has a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean making it ideal for a leisurely holiday in the sun. English is widely spoken throughout the hotel by the staff. The Resort is situated in a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean. The standard fittings for all bedrooms are of air-conditioning, television + radio, direct dial telephone, trouser press with iron and ironing board, mini bar (stocked on request), hairdryer, ceiling fan, safe (local charge) and en-suite bathroom. Some bedrooms are large enough to accommodate 4 persons. We also offer rooms with facilities for the physically challenged and the hotel is fully accessible with ramps and lifts to all public areas. A small ferry harbour to Gozo is situated a short distance away from the hotel and a regular public bus service operates to the main towns of Sliema and Valletta stopping at en-route towns and villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HostelWorld, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradise Bay Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bay Hotel Mellieha
Paradise Bay Mellieha
Paradise Bay Hotel Malta
Paradise Bay Malta
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing