We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor serivce”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Reviewed April 23, 2014

nice view, big rooms and clean,
very average food and poor service - at dinner we couldn't get any water.
we traveled with children - there where very few activities.

I commanded to find some other place

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zohar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your requirements especially for the children. During the winter season we do cater mainly for the older and single market and the kids club and animation is normally ran during the summer months. The lack of being able to obtain water may be due to that we only sell water by the bottle in the restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

957 - 963 of 2,293 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

our 10 day stay paradise bay was thouroughly enjoyable staff were excellent food was fantastic catering for gluten free diet no problem. Would definitely recommend Looking forward to going back. A big thanks to all the very helpful staff. Kevin and Anne Owens

Room Tip: Most rooms have seaviews and just yards from the sea at anytime
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
8  Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

I thank you for your positive response and for enjoying your break with us, it is also nice to know that we managed to cater for your dietary needs.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The rooms were good. The food was very good. A great menu. A bit tricky for gluten free diet, especially for desserts. Staff were friendly and helpful. Especially the chefs and receptionists. Wonderful views from the room and balcony of the sea and Gozo. One negative was having two single beds- that is not really suitable for a couple. Overall, I say a very good place to stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

I thank you for your positive responses and trust that whilst your diet with the desserts
may have been a little tricky being on a gluten free diet we did manage to cater for your desserts.

Thank you for enjoying your break with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We went on holiday as a couple I'm 28 my wife 26 and wanted a nice relaxing holiday so decided to choose to stay here. Overall the hotel is ok it's definitely not a 4 star it should be classed as 3. There is nothing "bad" about the hotel but i will point out the good and parts that need improvement.
THE LESSER POINTS.
First I will start with the worst, The evening entertainment, This may be because it's not peak time (god I hope thats why) but it was awful, for example one night was a guy playing guitar singing extremely out dated song. The second night was a French romance film with english subtitles, another night was a guy playing the keyboard all of which finished at the grand late time of 11pm, the kids there had to play cards or (which most of them were doing) playing on there phones. When asked the receptionist about some extra night life she told us all the night life is in st julians so we paied 25 euros to get a taxi there and it was like we had walked into Magaluf, it was nothing but drunk kids, strip bars, and brothels. DO NOT GO unless you want a divorce.
The food, this was again O.K we did not go all inclusive so ate in the restaurant the choice is limited and of an ok quality.
THE GOOD
The hotel is situated near paradise bay beach which is a 5 min walk and is beautiful with the best beach bar ever, we went every day, absolutely amazing.
The local town of Mellieha is really nice and buses there are ever 10 mins, the restaurants and bars are chilled and have a really relaxed atmosphere and the food is really good. I would not bother with the hotel and go out for dinner plus the buses run all night.
The staff are friendly and try to help even if they do give out bad advice, but they are good if you need anything.
The rooms are ok all the basic amenities tv, hair drier, A/C ect. the whole hotel is O.K I suppose it's good for the money but definately plan some evening activites before you go or you'll end up in bed by 9pm coz you can't stand to listen to the pap thats on.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank william b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

I thank you for your response to Tripadvisor and I can confirm that the winter schedule does reduce in the evening entertainment offered. The night life as stated is I agree to be so in many ways, which does suit some people but it is not for all I agree. Thank you for you many positive reflections

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights but we are frequent visitors to this hotel. Its our getaway after a hectic working week. We had a spacious airy room overlooking the sea in the south area. The room was clean and the furniture was basic. No noise which was very important to us. We booked for a very special price with breakfast included. While there we opted for a buffet dinner. Food was very good.
Friendly staff ..... reception and restaurant.
Return back for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms in south side are cheap while at the far end and top floor you can have a better view of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

I thank you for your repeat custom and for managing to achieve those moments of relaxation after a hectic week at work.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was our first time in Malta, the hotel room was very big, clean and comfortable, the staff helpful and friendly. There was a good variety of food for supper which was very nice, I always ate far too much the only downside was breakfast as there was only one time when there was bacon. The view from our room at night watching the sunset was amazing. Malta itself is a lovely place to go on holiday with plenty to see and do or even just to laze about the pool overall one of our best holidays so far, we are looking to book for later in the year.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mags66abdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

I thank you for enjoying your break with us and for your positive review and also for your intention in returning back to us for another holiday.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Don't believe all the comments you see on trip advisor I have recently returned from 2 weeks in the hotel and had a very enjoyable stay.The staff were courteous and well mannered,the food was excellent(menu was always varied).The only criticism was that parts of the hotel need upgraded in places.some reports mentioned road noise we were on the first floor and the noise was minimul.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Erik1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

I thank you for you kind words on Tripadvisor and it is so strange that we please some clients and displease others as the services offered are the same throughout the hotel.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.6 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,749 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
2,164 reviews
3.9 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,390 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Bay Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bay Resort Hotel

Address: | Paradise Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9068, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $29 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Bay Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Beautifully situated overlooking the picturesque sister Islands of Gozo & Comino with its own private sandy beach, ideal for all ages." This very popular, spacious, comfortable and well-run family hotel has a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean making it ideal for a leisurely holiday in the sun. English is widely spoken throughout the hotel by the staff. The Resort is situated in a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean. The standard fittings for all bedrooms are of air-conditioning, television + radio, direct dial telephone, trouser press with iron and ironing board, mini bar (stocked on request), hairdryer, ceiling fan, safe (local charge) and en-suite bathroom. Some bedrooms are large enough to accommodate 4 persons. We also offer rooms with facilities for the physically challenged and the hotel is fully accessible with ramps and lifts to all public areas. A small ferry harbour to Gozo is situated a short distance away from the hotel and a regular public bus service operates to the main towns of Sliema and Valletta stopping at en-route towns and villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Paradise Bay Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bay Hotel Mellieha
Paradise Bay Mellieha
Paradise Bay Hotel Malta
Paradise Bay Malta
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing