We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD HOTEL” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Bay Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Anthy-sur-Leman, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GOOD HOTEL”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stayed a few days in this hotel with my son and we came back delighted with our stay. The hotel is in a quiet environment, away from the crowds. The room was very comfortable, the staff very friendly and the meal there was a large selection buffet. Single fault the room was not very soundproof, noise from neighboring rooms and the corridor could be heard.
A stay at again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Josette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
It is nice to hear that you returned back home after staying with us feeling delighted with your stay.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    696
    461
    238
    219
See reviews for
556
887
166
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Just arrived back from our holiday in Malta staying at the Paradise Bay Hotel, We stayed Half Board, and found the food fantastic selection, and cooked to perfection!! lovely room, quiet, and staff very helpful, especially ANNA CATARINA, AND CATHERINE LAURI, My Daughter KATIE LOVED THE JACUZZI, AND THE INDOOR POOL. The buses are really cheap 6.50 euros for a week, Maltese people lovely, and friendly, we have been 4 times now, and wouldn,t hesitate to stay at the PARADISE BAY HOTEL again, thankyou.............

Room Tip: If you prefer to be really quiet, choose a bay view, or if you choose to watch the ferry going in an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank jon2von
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
I thank you and your family for enjoying your holiday with us and for naming a couple of our staff who stood out so much that you gave them this mention of appreciation.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatteris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just arrived back from our holiday in Malta after spending a week in the Paradise Bay Hotel. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, although I believe they offer half board and full board packages if that is what you're looking for.
The hotel was in a lovely, quiet location, near to the Gozo ferry terminal. There was a bus stop opposite which made it easy to get around, and during our stay we managed to visit all the places we wanted to. The hotel itself was great: very clean, fantastic food, and a range of things to do. There were outside pools, and inside pool, a gym room, tennis and basketball courts, a couple of pool tables, shop, and a bar.
I used the gym room on a couple of occasions - it was by no means a full on gym, but it had what I needed - a good selection of weights, a bike, steppers. The inside pool was good too; it was heated and there were a lot of loungers to keep our belongings at when in the pool.
The bar offered a range of beverages from fizzy drinks, to cocktails and alcohol and coffee and tea. In the evenings, entertainment was provided which differed every night, from music performers to films you could go and watch. We stayed and watched a couple of the singers who we thought were really good. They performed songs from different years so it didn't become boring and was fun for all ages.
Our room was a twin room; we decided to opt for a bay view room and were not disappointed. From our balcony, you could see the outdoor pool and out to the sea which was beautiful and refreshing.
The games room was a bit quiet - there were pool tables, and to play pool you put in a one euro in, but on ours there was no white ball! I guess if we had asked the staff for it they would have found us one, but we didn't. There was an air hockey table, but it wasn't working. So if you like a hotel with a huge amount of activities and lots of things to do, this probably isn't for you.
On four nights we ate at the hotel restaurant, Il-Merril. I have to say the food was excellent! It was buffet style so you could go up as many times as you wanted, which meant great value for money. There was a range of foods offered, from salads, to meats, to fish, to pasta, to quiche, vegetables, soups - the list is endless! I am a very picky eater, and I found loads of delicious things to eat, and had about 3 plates a night! And that isn't including desserts - there were different cakes, jellies, custard. Wonderful :) The hotel offered a deal while we stayed; the evening meal cost 19 euros, however if you bought at least 3 evening meal tickets, you saved 3 euros on each meal. For example, we purchased the 3 evening meal tickets, and saved 9 euros. Being as there wasn't much around the hotel in the way of restaurants (you could get a bus somewhere if you fancied to eat somewhere different) it was good for us to get the three meal tickets, and then on the other nights we ventured out to find new places to dine.
The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and helpful. While my partner and I were out there it was our birthdays, and after browsing through the hotel manual provided in the room, I saw that you could have cakes made up for special occasions. I enquired at the reception desk, and they explained you could have different flavour cakes made up; I opted for vanilla, although you could have chocolate or strawberry. I had 'Happy Birthday' iced onto the cake, and it cost 14.50 euros altogether, which was money well spent, because it was absolutely delicious! It was a cheesecake with lemon icing on top and chocolate flavoured writing. The cake was brought out to us once we'd finished our evening meal, and the staff sang happy birthday. My partner can get quite shy, but he wasn't at all embarrassed - it wasn't too over the top, just nice :)
The advertised hotel beach is very small, and only open in summer months, which we didn't realise, so that was a bit of a disappointment. But there are so many other bays and beaches around the island it doesn't matter. In fact on the last day we walked out to Paradise Bay, and it was absolutely stunning, and very quiet at this time of year.
Overall, we had a wonderful stay at this hotel, and we would definitely recommend it, although it does depend on what you're after from your stay. If you are young and looking for night-life, bars, and lots of activities, this hotel is probably not the one for you, you'd be better looking in St Julian's / Paceville for that. If you're a family, or looking for a quiet stay with wonderful views and perhaps looking to spend a lot of time in Gozo, this is for you! Hope this review helps :)

Room Tip: Rooms with a bay view are stunning :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LivingLifesince1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
I thank you for posting you explicit and very comprehensive response on TripAdvisor and more so for enjoying your break with us.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

I stayed at this hotel recently and found it to be eventually ok though only after being moved twice. The first room was an adjoining family room to another so had a connecting door to the next one. The man in the next room made so much noise snoring ( I understand he couldn't help this ) that I couldn't hear my tv for it. The point I'm making is the soundproofing is very poor and no good if you want quiet. The next room was close to the triumph of the hotel, unfortunately around 40 rooms emptied past this every morning for breakfast making all sorts of noise. The last room however wa great as they put me on the top floor right at the nod of the hotel. Quite a walk for breakfast but perfect for me as it was lovely and quiet.

Room Tip: Don't take a room close to reception as you get hoards of people emptying past your room going f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HarrogateMal_dives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
I thank you for posting your response and for resolving the problem of noise that caused you some concern, even though our rooms do have an 10" stone wall seperating the rooms. Eventually you had the right room thus allowing your stay to be enjoyable.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

The Paradise Bay Hotel offers a comfortable retreat away from the hustle and bustle of Malta’s main tourist areas. Nevertheless, all of the islands’ attractions are easily accessed using either the bus services that depart from outside the hotel, or the ferry services to Gozo and Comino* just a short walk across the terminal car park or one bus stop away. Those who are keen on the night life or alternative hostelries for food and drink will have to travel to other areas and may have to pay for a taxi to return to Paradise Bay as bus services are limited after dark (Check with the helpful Reception staff before setting off.). A big plus, on an island where such facilities are rare, is the hotel’s large and free car park. Hire cars can be arranged through the hotel which are delivered to the hotel door.
We were, as requested in advance, provided with an easy access room (451) which was close to the lifts - there are three lift locations within a short distance of each other each accessing a different part of the communal areas on the ground and basement floors. By sussing out the right lift, it is possible to avoid the steps and stairs in the communal areas. Our room was well equipped with two arm chairs, plus two chairs on the balcony - great sea view, and more than adequate storage space. In addition, the bathroom had substantial grab handles beside the wc, shower and hand basin. Wheelchair users would have appreciated the extra wide doors. We did have a problem with the room overheating but this was promptly rectified. We slept OK, although the beds were a little on the hard side and were ‘beds’, i.e. two single beds pushed together, and not a double bed as stated.
The hotel is not the Ritz, nor does it charge Ritz prices, but is a clean and pleasant hotel. Additional seating in the lounge and bar would be an improvement as on some occasions guests had to stand to watch the tv or have a drink (This may be less of a problem when the weather is warmer and outside areas are brought into play.). The dining room is light and airy and the selection of food was excellent with ample choice to suit most tastes.
Throughout the staff were efficient and friendly – willing to help without fussing over us unnecessarily.
Overall, the Paradise Bay was excellent value for money providing comfortable and pleasant accommodation.

* Comino is closed out of season.

Room Tip: We did not see into any of the other rooms but were pleased with ours and with its facilities for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
I thank you for your very comprehensive response and for enjoying your stay with us.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Great sea views and clean rooms. Food was buffet style and acceptable in choice and quality. Packed lunch was boring. Entertainment did not seem popular (or very good in our opinion) and had a small audience. A letter in the room made it clear that guests were to feel at home and the hotel was not just a money making machine, nonetheless the Managing Director had his own parking spot right by the front door, a Maserati (the most expensive car we saw all week) and a life sized statue of himself in Reception. We had to pay £17.50 to use the in room safe and £25 to have wifi in the room - which was at times flaky

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank icegoldp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
I thank you for responding on trip advisor and for stating that you received good value for money. Just to note that the statue is not of the owner but of the founder who is nolonger with us.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

I was so excited when my husband said he was taking me away for a week to have a well deserved break .we arrived at hotel the receptionist that booked us in seemed friendly and we felt at that point what a nice place .the room had a lovely view .we went straight down for lunch as all inclusive strange system of signing for every meal or drink even if you are eating your meal. The restaurant staff looked so fed up no smiles or friendliness .luckily the food ok so we were not too concerned .we went for a drink at main bar the elderly gent serving was very grumpy and continued like that throughout the holiday .the white sheets were grey and towels small old and some had patches sewn on them very sad for a 4star wish I taken my own clean towels .we had a constant smell of sewage in our room and throughout the hotel .dead cockroaches on floor Lower corridor to shop and the lady in shop had attitude like we were a nuisance .i wish we had saved our money and gone to another country later in year what a waste no one made us feel welcome and stopped to think their guests are on holiday .sad cold atmosphere feeling sad that we wasted our money

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
I am sorry to hear that after your initial arrival which went well a lot appears to have failed you during your stay with us to which we shall be investigating with the view to see where we are failing and to correct our errors.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mellieha hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
2.6 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pergola Club Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
5.4 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Bay Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bay Resort Hotel

Property: Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Address: Paradise Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9068, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Bay Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Beautifully situated overlooking the picturesque sister Islands of Gozo & Comino with its own private sandy beach, ideal for all ages." This very popular, spacious, comfortable and well-run family hotel has a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean making it ideal for a leisurely holiday in the sun. English is widely spoken throughout the hotel by the staff. The Resort is situated in a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean. The standard fittings for all bedrooms are of air-conditioning, television + radio, direct dial telephone, trouser press with iron and ironing board, mini bar (stocked on request), hairdryer, ceiling fan, safe (local charge) and en-suite bathroom. Some bedrooms are large enough to accommodate 4 persons. We also offer rooms with facilities for the physically challenged and the hotel is fully accessible with ramps and lifts to all public areas. A small ferry harbour to Gozo is situated a short distance away from the hotel and a regular public bus service operates to the main towns of Sliema and Valletta stopping at en-route towns and villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Paradise Bay Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bay Hotel Mellieha
Paradise Bay Mellieha
Paradise Bay Hotel Malta
Paradise Bay Malta
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing