We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise no more.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Bay Resort Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise no more.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Not the first time we have stayed at the Paradise Hotel, but I'm afraid it will be our last. It has lost its Maltese charm. You were lucky if you got a smile from some of the new staff, and the peace and quiet has now been taken over by a French club which I can only describe as rude, noisy and inconsiderate. Dont get me wrong, the hotel is lovely, nice rooms, good location, but it felt like we were at Butlin's. So if you are looking for peace and quiet its not for you. I'm sorry that this is not a good review as the hotel has not always been like this. 15 times my mum has stayed at the Paradise and has a lot of good memories but she wont be returning either.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you consider that our staff have lost their charm but the vast majority are the same staff who have been here for 15 to 30+years. Yes the students are new as they turn over every year.
It is true that we have a small French Club who have a maximum of 60 rooms from our 276 rooms and their animation entertainment is not held within the main block of the hotel.
I thank you for your appreciation towards our rooms and location and wish that you would reconsider returning back to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    696
    461
    238
    219
See reviews for
556
887
166
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just back tonite after spending a great week in the paradise bay hotel in malta. It was our first visit to Malta and Gozo and we were overwhelmed how lovely these islands are. The Hotel is very nice possibly slightly outdated but very nice. Staff were excellent. Elizabeth on reception and manuele and Alfie who work in the bars. Issam who works for Top club as well... our room was very clean . Breakfast was ok but cud have been better . Lunch and evening meals offered a great choice.. Hotel is in a remote area but great for my wife and i as we loved walking into melleiha and hotel is right at the port for the ferry to Gozo.. we hired a car and drove around malta and we found it an easy drive and outstanding scenery. We took the hop on hop off bus around Gozo.. all in all we enjoyed our weeks holiday that was recommened by Grace wallace who works for Thomas cook in Derry. Great choice... we will be tempted to back to paradise bay hotel again sometime

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satnav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
I thank you for your appreciation towards our hotel our staff and Malta and most of all for considering a repeat visit to us.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Loved the quiet location. Our room was very clean and well equipped. The view of the bay from our balconey was breathtaking. Food was fine but we found the male staff a bit unfriendly. The barman in the entertainment room seemed more interested in smoking than serving the guests. Our only real complaint was that the main bar and hotel reception was in a large open space and there was football on the two tvs almost all of the time. We would have liked a nice cosy bar with no tv. Otherwise we had a good time.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corringham Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

When we arrived at paradise bay resort hotel we were told that our room was not ready and to wait. We did arrive early but not our fault,we waited for around two and a half hours in that time we were not even offered a cup of tea or coffee or even a sandwich. we did complain several times but to no avail.

Room Tip: we had room 370 third floor and had a brilliant view to Comino and Gozo
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishcatcher163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
I thank you for staying in our establishment and shall take this opportunity to say that your arrival to our hotel was early morning and your time of arrival was booked as from 15.00 hours however whilst you may have had to wait for your room it would appear that it was allocated to you just before 12.00 hours and yes it is correct that we do not offer any complementary refreshments or foods to any guests who may arrive early. There is a bar and a bistro available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Yes it's remote. But then that is stated. Because of this it's very peacefully. Buses are very cheap and regular and pick up and drop of right outside the door. All the staff (apart from a waitress who was quite miserable) were lovely, and attentive. Our room (bay view ) was excellent. well equipped. Fridge ,tea and coffee making facilities, tv air con . Good bathroom, very clean (cleaned every day) and the view was stunning. Plenty of Sun beds , three pools ,indoor pool, shop, . Play areas., although not sure I would recommend this hotel for families , but couples and adults defiantly. Really enjoyed our stay made special by the friendly staff.

Room Tip: Defiantly bay view. I would imagine all rooms have a good view, but there is a main road running alo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernybees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel is in an exultant position to enjoy sea and country views we found that it was value for money sort of place, food is good and plentiful.Crossing to Gozo from the paradise bay resort is so easy you cross the road and you get to the ferry terminal it is ideal for family and if you are looking for a quite place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BETTY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
I thank you for appreciating that we are located in a secluded area which to which you as a couple found to be beautiful and value for money. I also thank you for saying that we are suitable for families and I hope that we shall see you again soon in our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We travelled as a couple with 3 children (7,4 & 1). The hotel we found to be average. The food good and varied, No children's option but that wasn't a problem for us. Our room was beautiful with amazing views of both the bay and the sea, although it was not cleaned well and I had to ask for clean bedding. The staff were helpful and even opened the children's play room which stayed locked for us. The shop on site is hugely overpriced but the bus into town is cheap and there you will find some little news agent type shops and even a 99c store which sells armbands etc. which we had been charged 8e for on site. The hotel is remote but in that most beautiful part of Malta. Holidays are what you make of them Always go with an open mind. We had a wonderful time although if returning to Malta we would choose somewhere more child friendly. I would certainly recommend this hotel to couples.
Tip- Do hire a car,
Go to the Market in Marksaxlokk on Sunday,
Take the ferry to Gozo
Dont be conned into the 'all three' buses. Arriva do the same at a fraction of the price.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite which was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GemmaLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMF001, Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
I thank you for responding on Trip Advisor to which I am sorry that you had to ask for the housekeeping service which should not have been necessary. I further thank you for appreciating that we arelocated in a secluded area which to which you found to be beautiful and that the public bus service to be suitable. I also thank you for stating that in your opinion were were suitable for couples and that our food was more than adequate in both quality and selection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
2.6 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pergola Club Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
5.4 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Bay Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bay Resort Hotel

Property: Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Address: Paradise Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9068, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Bay Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Beautifully situated overlooking the picturesque sister Islands of Gozo & Comino with its own private sandy beach, ideal for all ages." This very popular, spacious, comfortable and well-run family hotel has a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean making it ideal for a leisurely holiday in the sun. English is widely spoken throughout the hotel by the staff. The Resort is situated in a secluded location surrounded by the clear warm water of the Mediterranean. The standard fittings for all bedrooms are of air-conditioning, television + radio, direct dial telephone, trouser press with iron and ironing board, mini bar (stocked on request), hairdryer, ceiling fan, safe (local charge) and en-suite bathroom. Some bedrooms are large enough to accommodate 4 persons. We also offer rooms with facilities for the physically challenged and the hotel is fully accessible with ramps and lifts to all public areas. A small ferry harbour to Gozo is situated a short distance away from the hotel and a regular public bus service operates to the main towns of Sliema and Valletta stopping at en-route towns and villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Paradise Bay Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bay Hotel Mellieha
Paradise Bay Mellieha
Paradise Bay Hotel Malta
Paradise Bay Malta
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing