We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE and DISGUSTING”
Review of Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Panorama Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE and DISGUSTING”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

i arrived in the hotel on the first day, i actually paid extra for a sea view room but was giving a complete different one. far away in the corner, it was so small suitable for one person when actually i was with my brother. i never thought anything else until the morning when i tried to shower only there was no water, i mentioned this to the manager joe deguara who informed me that this problem would be sorted, he did nothing about this. there was a really loud buzzing noise in my room every night which was coming from the electical box, the manager informed me in the morning that this would be looked into however the noise was still there, i asked the manager again about this problem and informed him that it was affecting my sleep to which he replied if you dont like it then move somewhere else. the food was terrible, i ate fish and chips for the whole week i was there, i was appauled at the service provided and the staff was so miserable, they were not friendly at all. the furnishings within the dining area were all damaged, many people staying there damaged their clothing and even cut themselves when walking past the broken edged tables. the managers answer to this was "what shall i do about it". i no this is a three star and i was not looking for five star service, but to tell you the truth i would never ever come back to this hotel ever again. there were so many people i met in the hotel that were so sad and couldnt wait to come home. to tell you the truth i have been so put off from this hotel that i dont think i will ever come back to malta again. i read many reviews about this hotel before i came out which seemed quite ok, however i was totally shocked to see the real outcome when i got here. absolutely disgusting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank nas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    152
    148
    110
    186
See reviews for
113
331
107
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beratzhausen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Mellieha Bay is one of the only sand beaches in Malta. So I was looking for a hotel near there. The RIU hotels there are a bit pricey. I was skeptical about this hotel because of previous reviews. Turns out it wasn't that bad. Sure breakfast could have been better, but no so bad. Friendly enough staff. Room was good. Beer seemed a little expensive, so we drank elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank seechdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed 7 nights in Jan 13 on an all inclusive package. Hotel is in good position for views over Sea and Gozo/Comino islands. You have to be fit as walking up hills is necessary.
Rooms are clean and bedding changed regularly. Entertainment for 5 nights was OK. Food was diabolical. We only had one good meal - that was the night the permanent chef was off. We took our own cereals and juice for breakfast and our own main courses for evening meals.
The chef has no culinery skills and lacks imagination as to what guests require!
We did not pay a great price for this holiday so we made the best of a bad job. You get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Sea View is essential!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank swimgym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mellieha hotels

Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

First off, the hotel was okay, clean with a friendly staff. It is situated on top of a cliff, prone to any wind coming in from the direction of Gozo which seemed to be most of the time. To get around Malta, a walk up and down fairly steep hills was required to get to the local bus stop and an eu12 bus ticket lasted 7 days on all buses.
We were on a B&B basis and the breakfasts were very monotonous, Bacon, Boiled eggs and Beans on one day then Sausage, Scrambled eggs and Beans on the next day, there was a choice of three cereals, bread, butter, jams and occasionaly fruit and cake/biscuits.
The main problems were caused by the attitude of the manager who would promiss the earth but produce nothing. My travelling companion has an eating problem in that she can only eat a very small amount (less than a childs portion). We were assured that this could be accommodated at the Christmas eve dinner but we ended up paying full price, eu25, for the avocardo starter filling, half a bowl of soup and a piece of turkey with a brussel sprout. For the new years eve dinner we again were promissed a 'deal' on the price. We saw the menu on Dec 29th and said okay when offered a reduced price. Then on the alloted mealtime, dressed up and went down to the restraunt only to be told that we hadn't booked, that we had in fact booked for the previous evening albeit we were the only patrons who had seen the new years eve menu. We then had to go down town and try to find a restraunt who could feed us without a prior booking (luckily we managed to find one).
Many of the patrons were people who had been to the Panorama previously but most of them said the standard had deteriated especialy since a refurb' a few months earlier which, they said, had removed the cosyness of the public accomodation areas, entertainment was reduced to the occasional musician in the bar area with a little dancing.
The guests at the Panorama made our whole experience bearable but one which won't be repeated in the near or distant future

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if that is what you required and a room on the first floor to lessen the time spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wasawo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Beauutiful panoramic views over the bay. Hotel basic but very clean and tidy. All staff very friendly. Food basic but ok. Breakfast needs some imagination. Day one sausage and scrambled eggs, day two bacon andhard boiled eggs then we start all over again. But onthe plus side you get what you pay for, it is cheap. The views are to die for.

Room Tip: upgrade to superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shaun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Our first room here was rather small, with a primitive shower. On the Tuesday night we realised there was live entertainment in the bar directly below our room, this was very loud, not to our taste & made sitting on the balcony reading impossible, so we asked to be moved. Our second room was much larger, with a refurbished bathroom & an even better view than the first room. The room was very clean & serviced every day. The staff were very friendly & the hotel had a very friendly atmosphere.
Having read previous reviews, we only stayed B&B - thankfully! The breakfast was pretty dire, with poor quality bread, long life milk for the cereal (watch your teeth on the cornflakes!) & no yoghurts, but at these prices you can buy food from the shops in the village.
The Panorama must have the best views of the hotels in Mellieha & we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was our first visit to the Panorama and we will definately return.We staye for 3 weeks all inclusive in November.
The weather was not as good as usual for Malta, but the hotel made up for it.
For an inexpesive hotel, the entertainment was brillaint.
Everything from a top swing singer, Jazz keyboard player who was ace
Man and wife duo playing Great 60;s songs and guitar instrumentals
.A folk singer and a Comedy acoustic guitar./ vocalist.
A very varied selection, and miles away from the usual Country flavoured stuff.

The food was by and large pretty decent wspecially as you think of the cost of the holiday.
The room was spotless, and the free wi fi came in handy for youtube tv catchups when the weather was bad.
The only bad mark was that the heating hadn.t been turned on before the manager went on holiday and the weather turned cold.
Most of the gueasts had returned from previous stays, which is a testimony to this hotel.
As one guest said ," iIs more of a club than a hotel"which i will second.
We made some great friends from the guests and staff, and as i said before, we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.3 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,297 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.3 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,204 reviews
3.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Property: Panorama Hotel
Address: New St off Valley Rd, Mellieha, Island of Malta SPB 14, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Panorama Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Mellieha
Panorama Hotel Malta/Mellieha
Hotel Panorama Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing