We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Return”
Review of Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Panorama Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Having booked a holiday at the Panarama Hotel, Malta - We were 'new' to malta never having visited the island previously, we wanted to spend our honeymoon there. We booked all inclusive and found the food to be very good every day.Our room was excellent with a maid service every day, clean bedding and fresh replenished coffee etc every day. having arrived at 4am due to airport delays, the night porter was most helpfull and when we asked for water, he immediately went off to the bar and brought chilled water, he was friendly, polite and very helpful. We wanted a quiet hotel for our honeymoon and this one fitted the bill to our delight. The resturant served good food, it was clean and the waiting staff were friendly and very keen to please. We had no problems with tipping them at the end of the week for their service. The pool was cleaned every morning at 7am, we watched them do this from our balcony which overlooked the pool with fantastic view to the beach. We were there from 3/9/12 for one week and towards the end of our holiday were were astonished to read reviews on this site from people who had left just days earlier, some poor reviews were even posted by people we had met during our stay. We saw no evidence of cat 'droppings' around the pool, the pool water was clean as I swam there every day. There were no flies around the food area - someone even posted that there was no pasta - what a load of rubbish!!!! my wife had pasta every single day! The Manager joe was very helpful and polite always stopping to chat whenever we saw him. Yes there were wild cats roaming, not being a cat lover as soon as I gestured to them they disappeared, it appears that some people are very hard to please - this is a good hotel at a good price WHAT DO PEOPLE WANT? I suspect they want 5 star but are not prepared to pay 5 star money!!!! Shops are within a 5 minute walk, the bus services are modern and frequent and cheap for an all day ticket just £2.60 to travel on as many buses as you want during the day.++++ Pay no attention to the so called poor reviews, this hotel is good and well worth booking+++++ We would have no problems with booking this hotel again in the future as we were treated very well and found all staff to be helpful, knowledgable and only too willing to assist. Great value for money - If you want a relaxing holiday book the panarama.

Room Tip: Request sea view and you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

429 - 435 of 721 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

The room we stayed in was kept clean by a lovely lady, she worked hard, clean towels daily, bathroom cleaned every day, but the smell of bleach was overwhelming.

We were all inclusive, what a waste of money that was. The food was repetitive, breakfast was the worst, scrambled egg that was dark in colour!, sausages that looked like they had come out of a jar and someone had try to fry them. All the milk was uht, and the cereal must have been the rejects from aldi/lidal's and the only fruit we ever saw was melon, yet fruit was plentiful in Malta.

The pool was not the cleanest of pools, lots of flys in the water and there was a cover missing from a filter at the bottom of the pool.

we counted 5 cats wondering around the pool area looking for scraps, and saw them several times asleep on the tables where people sat to eat and have drinks.
On return to the U.K. I visited my G.P. concerned about what i thought was a rash or prickly heat spots, i was told "your covered in flee bites" NICE!!

The location of the Hotel is not good if you have children or find steep hills a problem then stay clear. Yes the views are nice, but to get anywhere was a bloody hard hike up and down hills to go to the bus stops or down to the nearest beach which was all down hill and a good 10 minute walk, which meant 20 minutes back up the hill.

So, if you want to loose weight by way of not eating, plenty of steep hill walking, then book this hotel, but if you are looking for a cheap hotel and are on a budget keep looking, and stay clear of this hotel. Yes it is 3star, but how the hell, god knows!.

Malta we enjoyed, and found things good value for money.
A weeks bus pass was 12 euros and unlimited, The bus sight seeing was not worth the money, you can see just as much sitting on a bus.
In Mellieha there is a boat trip by a company called "English rose" this was 12 euros and it is FANTASTIC. 4 hours + and it takes you to some of the most amazing spots around the Island, and when you stop at the world famous blue lagoon you can snorkel using there equipment free of charge. Food and dring on the boat was cheap too. so it not worth the hassle taking food and drink with you, they will make you sandwiches of your choice freshly.

Would i go back to Malta.... YES. For the sunshine, the diving, and the people are so friendly. Get the Maro Polo guide book off of amazon ( £3.99 ) delivered free. it hi lights the good places to visit.
So enjoy Malta, but please be carefull before you book cheap hotels. Ciao

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Arrived 1.30am poor welcome, No hello just a piece of paper given, "your name and addres on here" information given " told dining room right bar left ". Asked if we could get a drink of water, nothing available all closed for the night. Great start.

Booked AIl Inclusive and sea view room, had to stick your head out to find the sea, and very small, looked on to concret wall, asked to change room, " How dare we " response was they would try to find another room ,after asking several times we were moved 3rd day, Room was clean,towels changed every day also bedding changed regular by very nice girl.

But we then layed on the bed OMG every spring could be felt, and creaking, we asked for mattres to be changed 3 times , told that it had been " we have changed it by turning it over"
just gave up with that and padded bed with the blankets and quilt that were in wardrobe.

Food was very poor, and we did tell the " manager " who was not interested as he's reply was I have never had any complaint from other guests, OH yes he had as we asked around and other guests did not just moan about the food he was told about it. There was no pasta on the buffet so I asked if there was any to be brought out it was only 7.50pm and meals were on till 9pm the reply was there is no more tonight, I think the flies bet us that night. We had to eat out and its the first holiday I have LOST wieght on. The dining room would have food on it from the night before, we also found out that the waitres's made the breakfast not the "chef"

Outside area cleaned only once in 2 weeks, this was not enough as ferrial cats used it as a toilet and they were allowed on the tables and chair, and fouling around the swimming pool which was again you could not see the bottom of the pool till it had been cleaned .

We must apoligies to the folk how complained about the noise one night. "sorry" we meet some great people and we were having a chat and a laugh "WE WERE ON HOLIDAY" it was only 11.15pm Would we go back Yes to MALTA NO to this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AudVin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

On 13th August we visited Malta for the 3rd timeand stayed at the Panorama hotel. What a dump! We were told that the hotel was over booked and sent to another hotel for the night,and wished we had stayed there.
Panorama hotel has cat poo around pool,patio area in flower and shrub plots and even on the steps leading into the pool.
place is infested with flies that are in dinning room area and cover the food that was never covered.
Manager treats all complaints as a joke and our Beiieair rep was totally useless,as her response was "Well your here now "
Gladly this has not put us off Malta or it's people.Avoid this hotel at all costs as there are far better hotels to stay at.No way is this a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: not 306 mattress is split
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sueandjohnrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

stayed here for ten nights 25/08/12 to 04/09/12 on a B&B basis, room was fine cleaned daily & towels changed on request, however dining area can only be described as poor. Food on floor tables not cleaned food not covered and you had to battle with the flies for the food. Complained to rep ended up in argument on star rating of this hotel not very helpful. this hotel has had a partial refurbishment and it shows also the management is week / poor at best which is a shame with the right team & investment this hotel could be 3 star +. plenty of people where prepared to moan about standards but weren't prepared to rock the boat with the manager, and as per another review I can verify there is a problem with cats using the patio area as a toilet & drinking from the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here in early August, with our two daughters 14 and 16.We had a minor problem with their room which was sorted out by 9am the next day.
The rooms were cleaned everyday, towels were changed everyday, if you wanted, they only had to be left on the bathroom floor.
We were on a b&b basis, nothing really to shout about but edible.
The staff were friendly and helpful, Joe the manager even booked a trip up for us as the rep wasn't around for a few days.
The views are fantastic, rooms were ok for the price you pay, the pool is really for cooling off rather then swimming.Athough I wouldn't recommend this hotel for people with walking/ breathing difficulties purely down to the location.There were a few children here but its not ideal for them.
Mellieha, itself is quite pretty, we were lucky enough to be there during the music/dance festival where the main street was closed to traffic for three evenings which made walking around a bit easier.There are quite a few restaurants, a few shops etc..."Greystone" was one of the best we ate at.The buses are excellent value if you manage to use them a couple of times aday, definitely recommended for getting to the beach due to the steep hill.Beware though they get really crowded if you time it wrong and will even just pass you.
Valetta is the place to go for the more serious shopper, the museums and Malta experience are well worth the visit, Grand Harbour and the Siege bell amazing, time it right and you'll hear the bell and see the cannons go off.
The four of us also went to Sicily for the day,we had researched it beforehand so we realised it would be a expensive trip.There was some pretty places but it also looked run-down, our main aim was Mount Etna which didn't disappoint.Apart from what they don't tell you, like to go an extra 500 metres was another 28 euros each,it was brilliant on the cable cars and worth it but to go up to the next level in rather big jeeps would have been 60 euros altogether.
We could have walked but time wasn't on our side.An amazing but long day and so worth it.

We would return to Mellieha but for a short break and closer to the beach.(Get to the beach early the Italians will)
You do pay for what you get here,it is only 2/3 * but you always get the moaners no matter where you go.
Your holiday is what you make it and not dependent on the hotel.

Room Tip: Nearly all the rooms face the sea, we were in 408 which could easily have another bed/cot without fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fluffybunny99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

when we arrived 13/08/2012 we were told we were not staying that night as overbooked the manager thought it hilarious he ordered a taxi we waited forever moved to Luna aparments far superior wish we had stayed there.We were not the only couple that day in the same position. The next day arrived back at the panorama wild cats were drinking out of the swimming pool and cat poo all over the patio area as no one cleaned it up. Next morning flies all over the breakfast food no food was covered. If air conditioning was used and doors were shut might not be such a problem. Would we go back there never there are much better hotels in Mellieha than the Panorama the only thing this hotel has got going for it is the view..

Room Tip: the higher the room the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank teejay53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.3 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,462 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,720 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solana Hotel and Spa
Solana Hotel and Spa
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,316 reviews
1.7 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Address: New St off Valley Rd, Mellieha, Island of Malta SPB 14, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Price Range: $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Panorama Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Mellieha
Panorama Hotel Malta/Mellieha
Hotel Panorama Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing