We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet spot with stunning views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mellieha Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quiet spot with stunning views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

At first sight, especially at night, the hotel looks like an ocean liner at sea! This is due to the hotel's location, built alongside the projecting headland at the side of Mellieha Bay. Stunning location with lovely walks over the headland and fantastic views. Quiet part of the island of Malta, but good, cheap, bus services a few minutes walk away, to get to more lively spots or into Valletta. Nice sandy beach round bay. Not 5 star, but a great value hotel, with spacious rooms and clean. Good choice of food and friendly staff. Bowling green for those interested is at the hotel. Good facilities for children if its a family break you are looking for. Nice swimming pools. Can recommend for a value break.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenS92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    759
    440
    133
    68
See reviews for
532
932
95
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sileby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Mellieha Bay Hotel has spectacular views. It is in a nice quiet location, but still in walking distance to the beach and bus routes. Rooms were a decent size and very clean. The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived. Great selection of food. We had a lovely time relaxing by the pool. Would definitely reccomend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Excellent service !! :D well done by the great team and really helpfull, kind and extremely freindly staff !! Would come again for sure ! location is beautifull, hotel is amazing and the view is simply breath-taking !! Thank you for making my holiday great !!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xnakku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Mellieha bay hotel has very Friendly staff, nice views, in a quiet location, nice food, gardens a beautifully kept, great bus route nearby, lovely indoor and outdoor pools and good sized and tidy room. It's on a lovely beach, Well worth the money. All in all it was a relaxing holiday, all of the family enjoyed it and would happily go back next year

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I would like to thank all staff for a lovely stay at your hotel. It is not a new and modern hotel but has alot of character and charm. Rooms are cleaned daily and our maid was wonderfull..nothing was to much trouble for her. we had no trouble finding sunbeds like we have in other hotels and and the view was just amazing. We would not hesitate to return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms a have a better view and are worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellieha, Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Me and my partner have just returned from our stay at this hotel. we had a few doubts after reading some reviews but i am pleased to say that we had nothing to worry about. The best thing about the hotel is the view.! amazing! relaxing round the pool and chilling out for the week was just what we were hoping for. A good selection of food and staff very friendly..what more could we have asked for our holiday. Thank you to all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Mellieha Bay is a convenient location for a great stay in Malta, especially as it has a great dive school nearby (Aquaventure Malta) We found it family friendly with a good pool and excellent services. I was surprised by some of the other reviews which seemed unduly harsh. We all had a great time and it made a brilliant base for exploring this wonderful holiday location.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank dbiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
4.0 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellieha Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellieha Bay Hotel

Property: Mellieha Bay Hotel
Address: Ghadira, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9065, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mellieha Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mellieha Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mellieha Bay Malta
Mellieha Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing