We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mellieha Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Chessington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fab holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks all inclusive holiday at this hotel and found it extremely good value. The hotel is extrememly clean and well run and the food is great. The view from the room is beautiful, all rooms are sea facing. The 4 stars the hotel has are well deserved, keeping in mind this is a Mediteranean hotel. The entertainment was ok, and I had a very good massage from Rita.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kyliebaby28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    760
    443
    134
    68
See reviews for
532
935
96
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We got this hotel on half board with flights at a bargain price so we weren't sure what to expect, but we were extremely pleased. The food was excellent with Beef, Lamb, Fish, Vegi options and with real veg (not chips chips chips every day), the soups each evening were superb. We didn't try the entertainment as we rarely do in hotels so cannot comment, bar prices were similar to the UK (Pint of beer Euro 4, shorts around Euro 1.70 plus mixer of course) The staff were really great in all areas. They had their own small piece of beach and what seems like a few bars which would be open in the summer.

Although there would be a couple of bars close to hotel open in summer, It was a 10 minute walk into town to the main bars etc but there is a bus stop about 4 minutes walk from the hotel which goes to the town, St Pauls Bay or Valetta, where you can pick up buses to other areas of the island. in the other direction you can get the bus to the ferry for Gozo which is very nice, (visit Victoria and go down the narrow roads where the shops are. I would recommend a 1 day bus ticket (assuming same in summer), price is Euro 1.50 each. the weekly for the main land is Euro 12 for the week which is great value. For us the must visit was a place called Marsaxlokk (get the bus from Valetta) which is a fishing village with loads of restaurants along the front where you can look out in onto the many coloured fishing boats.

Room Tip: We booked through Travel Republic. We booked a room facing the sea on floor 2. The ground floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This is not a 4* hotel! It would like to be, but it's not giving much to warrant a 4*, so a 3* from me.

To make it a 4* they need to:

1) Provide Tea & Coffee making facilities,
2) Put in a decent fridge that doesn't heat up because it is hidden in a cabinet,
3) Refurbish the bathrooms & corridors, not just the room itself, which is very nice,
4) Allow the customer to pay cash in the bars, snack rooms etc instead of purchasing a top-up card from Reception - you might not use all the money you put on it,
5) Providing tea/coffee or water (free) with the evening meal.


Watch out for the prices though! They charge 2 euro per person per night for any extras like, a balcony (which 75% of the rooms have), connecting rooms/doors (don't get me started on this) or seaview - everyone gets a seaview.

As regards the connecting rooms/doors. Their webiste has a slight flaw! You need to book 2 rooms, which will then allow you to choose a connecting door, which you will be charged for, as above). But when you book 1 room, you still have the option of chosing a connecting door (and still charged for) but they won't tell you the mistake. This is the website flaw!

Apart from the above the hotel is very nicely situated in a quiet bay, close to the Gozo Ferry and the buses are not too bad either. The hotel has beautiful views over Melliha Bay.

Don't go on tours with the tour operator. They charge you about 40 euros each to go to Gozo on the ferry and only go to 2 or 3 places before returning. Hire a car from Billy's (we got 4 days for 100 euros, no excess to pay on isurance) and you can drive aound Malta and Gozo to your hearts content! We found places and views that the tour operators don't go to.

We'd go again but don't expect a 4* feeling.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tinkerbell18697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Been with group of families together in Xmas & new year period. Good location, wide selection of food. All inclusive package is worth it. Special thanks to Sandro - Bar staff member. He has been excellent and attentive. Kitchen staff was good as well.

Property does needs update though.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yankee-uk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Returned yesterday after a week' break at the Mellieha Bay Hotel. Not sure how this can possibly be rated as a four star hotel. The food was reminiscent of that served up in the seventies, very bland, rarely hot, little choice and over cooked. Tea and coffee was from a machine, with no choice of style or strength, don't expect Earl Grey, green tea or mint tea, it's all one brand, cooked in an urn.
The hotel seems to take every opportunity to charge its customers, any drink including water has to be paid for except with breakfast. Don't expect service of any kind around the hotel, if you want to have a drink or a light snack by the pool or on the terrace, this has to be ordered at the bar. You then have to wait for the order and take it to the pool area yourself. There is no waiter service. The room itself was very pleasant and modern but was very disappointed to find that there were no tea or coffee making facilities.
Of the two main pools only one had any water, the remainder and the two paddling pools were empty. The area around the pool was in desperate need of a facelift with rusted fences, broken tables and chairs, non slipp matting that was not secured, looked filthy and flapping about whenever there was any wind.
The hotel relies on its setting and sea views to draw its customers and neglects just about everything else. Whilst there we walked to four nearby hotels where we ate lunch, all appeared far more modern, all had very pleasant and helpful staff, all served good quality food, all had free WiFi, even for non residents. There was a choice of teas and coffees made fresh, as you would expect in any hotel that were actually cheaper than the mass produced stuff at the Melleiha Bay. This hotel caters for the more elderly, retired Brits (70yrs+) and is not one I would recommend to anyone familiar with the food and facilities usually on offer at a four star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EamonnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just returned from this hotel and have already booked to go again later this year. I originally booked into a different hotel (supposedly 4*) and checked out within 48 hours. Found the Mellieha and loved every minute of my remaining 12 days stay.
The rooms are good, facilities excellent, lovely dining room and lounge, and the pool area and gardens great. The staff were all polite and friendly, the hotel spotlessly clean and the food was really good. Although the choice of food was comparatively small I could have eaten everything on the menu (except fish 'cos I don't like it) and enjoyed every meal I had.
I didn't go all inclusive (I am next time) but found bar prices were very competitive, not the usual rip-off you get in lots of hotels and there were no add-ons, the safe was free etc.
It could be that I went at the "right" time of year, there were lots of guests that went regularly at this time, as a consequence the atmosphere was very warm and friendly, great for a single traveller and, by joining in with the sports/games etc, soon found myself talking to lots of people and felt very comfortable.
The only downside to this hotel could be it's location. If you want nightclubs and bars there aren't any locally, I didn't go for the nightlife so it wasn't a problem. The bus stop is only 3 minutes away so during the day you can go anywhere you like -buses are cheap and frequent.
In general this is a definite 4* hotel and anyone finding fault is nit-picking. It's not the Hilton, but it's not Hilton prices either and I have no hesitation is recommending this hotel as very good value for money. Can't wait to go back!!!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
8 Thank CHRIS D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

On arrival Entrance a little small for us all to check-in and had to go back outside to collect or cases before going back in for our rooms, he rooms were clean and tidy with a nice tv on the wall bottles of shower gell and shampoo were replenished daily the views across the bay from everyroom was beautiful the resteraunt was nice plenty of variety and the Wine was good!! the Bar was good but a little small and Staff never smiled only one exceeded himself he was Sandro (bars) Nothing too much effort and always helpful the Entertainment was ok but Low Key could be because lots of older people go here in the winter but something for all an ideal hotel for Sightseeing

Room Tip: All Rooms have The Lovely Bay View
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2145Bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,140 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
4.0 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellieha Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellieha Bay Hotel

Property: Mellieha Bay Hotel
Address: Ghadira, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9065, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mellieha Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mellieha Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mellieha Bay Malta
Mellieha Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing