We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing holiday with our children, one to remember!”
Review of Mellieha Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We really loved staying in this hotel and it is a pity we could not stay longer! The children swam in the heated indoor pool, we had a massage booked too... Our room was ground floor so we enjoyed staying in the garden. And what a big garden! What a view! There are even slides for the children and a few bouncy animals. The food was great too! Can't wait to go back! My daughter cannot stop talking about it! The only remark is the amount of stairs, so it is not push chair friendly. It's value for money. The hotel is a bit old but it is very clean.

Room Tip: I like ground floor rooms because I have small children, but the rooms on upper floors have a magnif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neversleeping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,363 - 1,369 of 2,164 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks in sunny Malta. The Mellieha Bay Hotel in the north of the Island has all rooms overlooking the sea. We stayed half board and found that the food was plain but plentiful. The hotel is old and could do with upgrading but the cleaners do a good job. It is value for money

Room Tip: Take a kettle not one in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allybowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Just returned from Mellieha Bay Hotel. We arrived late evening so did not see the outside properly as it was dark. After checking in we went to eat in the restaurant. We were served by a waitress who seemed to have lost the ability to smile. We ordered drinks but only got 1 and had to ask a further twice to get all our drinks. The food was only just warm and very little choice. We put this down to it being late in the evening, as there were only us and a couple of other late arrivals. The food didnt get ant better over the week, each evening the food as only just warm and the choice was very poor.The general condition of the hotel is very tired, The outside of the hotel needs a total redecorate. There is peeling paint everywhere and rotten facia boards, The games room, which they call they garden room is a disgrace. Our 2 teenagers went down to play pool only to find the room in almost darkness as most of the lights did not work, buckets and towels on the floor to catch the rain as the roof leaks badly ( we witnessed these leaks one evening when it rained) The games facilities consisted of a pool table with several balls missing and no tips on the cues. The air hockey table was pathetic as hardly any air came out of it, the table tennis table needed throwing in the skip and a dart board with no darts. The cane chairs had seen better days !! The rooms were comfortable but the bathroom was not to nice. The shower curtain was torn, there was mould around the bath and the shower itself was just pathetic, the water came out as a dribble. The corridors were no better. The carpet was dirty and so was the paint work on the walls. The drinks were very expensive and the local lager tasted like it had been watered down.The other bottled lagers were 3 times the price they were elsewhere.The nicest part about the hotel was the stunning view from the room, the private beach and the lovely gardens.Its a shame this hotel has been neglected, as I imagine when it was first built and given its location it would have been an excellent hotel.
Despite the hotel, we had a lovely holiday due to the weather being excellent. I think if the hotel inspector paid a visit to rate this hotel in its current condition it would rate at a 2* at best.
We intend to visit Malta again but certainly wont be going to this hotel,

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We've just got back from our third holiday to Mellieha Bay Hotel. We wanted a break and booked through Thomsons 3 weeks ago.
The staff as always were exceptional. Ever helpful and cheerful to see you. The room maids are great they seem to nip in when you not around and spruce the room up with clean towels and sorting the messed up beds.
Although we heard from some guests that the food was boring and drab we found again that there was always a good choice for starters, main and sweet. And the breakfasts of cereals and loads of eggs and bacon were a delight.
This time due to the management trying to save costs the entertaiment took place in the lobby area and not in the 'Limelight Lounge' which has a dance floor (except for Saturday night) so this limted area stopped many people from getting up to dance and there was no atmosphere sitting in the lobby which was a big shame. By 10pm most of the guests were drifting off to bed thereby losing revenue behind the bar etc. Management please take note.
The Thomsons rep. Anne was very helpful with her knowledge due living on the island for 23 years.
We found that the hotel had been cut in half and that the rooms furthest from the main building had been put aside for non Thomson guests. On asking guests who had be coming for some years we were informed that the hotel was built on land that was owned by someone and now it had been returned to them. A and B blocks were leased for Thomsons and the other blocks for other guests and some for locals. I think that reflects in the tired looking exterior.
Overall, the weather was great for the time of year. Staff great as always and location the best on the island so a return is on the cards.

Room Tip: Look into airport transfers using local services these are £'s cheaper then airport transfers of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ourhouse42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent for the money, food was brillant, always a good variety, my partner is coliac (must have gluten free diet), there was always a selection he could eat, but also if you order in the morning you can have a meal prepared for you.
Rooms were clean , some a bit dated , but the cleaniness makes up for this. Good swimming pool ,although we always used the beach ! Staff very friendly and helpful.
Overall a good base, we hired a car to explore the island, but understand the bus service is frequent and very inexpensive. Only negative was that they charged for WI Fi , you could go in a local cafe and get this for free. Would go back !!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Saz551720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have recently returned from holidaying at this hotel as a couple. The hotel is shabby and no way rates as a four star . It is no more than a two/three star and the food was basic,bland and it would have been nice to have had some Maltese dishes,instead of the English food served.
The room was very basic and would have been nice to have coffee/tea making facilities.
Overall,the hotel is still as it probably was in the sixties and is in dire need of refurbishment.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cakebake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I booked this hotel as a last minute choice from Thompsons. I was somewhat apprehensive having read the reviews that the hotel was 'tired' (it was opened in 1969) and had mentally prepared myself that it was not a four star hotel. Which it wasn't,but quite honestly, who would expect a four star hotel for the price paid to stay here? What you will find is a really nice hotel that is, in my opinion, situated at the loveliest location in Malta. We stayed in room 313 and the view across the bay was fabulous. It was such a treat to sleep with the window open, curtains ruffling in the sea breeze and to listen to the sound of the waves. A previous review mentioned that the food was similar to school dinners which I would agree with but there is nothing wrong with that and there is plenty of choice, unlike school dinners. We didn't have one meal in the hotel that we didn't enjoy. You do need to use the buses to get around the island but they are regular and the 2.60 euro daily bus pass means there is no excuse not to use them. But wherever we went on the island, we always felt really lucky to return to this hotel with its beautiful views across the bay and sandy beaches close by. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and have no complaints at all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,066 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,749 reviews
4.6 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
503 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellieha Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellieha Bay Hotel

Address: Ghadira, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9065, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $59 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mellieha Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mellieha Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mellieha Bay Malta
Mellieha Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing