We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre”
Review of Mellieha Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Been to lots of 4 star hotels and sorry but this is not up to the mark. The food choice and quality are NOT what we expect in a 4*. The room was nice and the view excellent. Bathroom ropey. The beds were sooooo hard that it took ages to go to sleep. Some of the staff friendly but others rude and couldnt be bothered. Access for those with mobility issues bad and for deaf/hearing impared the only sub-titles were arabic!! Great.
The gardens are pretty but badly need the pathways repaired. Now, wait for it.........a RAT was seen looking for food in a bin in the gardens. Lovely! This was reported and the rep. Ann passed info on to manager. We got around the island on public transport. The way some of the busses were driven was crazy!
Malta is a very interesting and beautiful place to see, but could never recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We always ask for a higher room. Check the room has been upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathryn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,461 - 1,467 of 2,164 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

We had a lovely family holiday at this hotel, we as grandparents, our daughters and grandchild but were disappointed with the facilities for children. The park was closed off because it was in desperate need of repair. Out of 7 nights of 'entertainment' only one was directed at the children for the first hour and I thought that perhaps every night there should have been something for children. We went in April (over Easter) and appreciated that the 'summer' season had not yet started but felt that should not have been a reason not to have good entertainment. There was a lot of entertainment for the older clientel but felt we were a little mislead when booking for that time.

The food was wonderful and could not fault this and the staff were really nice. The hotel is in an area of Malta with nothing else so if you like walking out at night perhaps this is not the place for you. We felt quite stranded.

If you are a family going away you may wish to go in high season when all the entertainment is up and running.

Room Tip: all rooms are sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank palmtreesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

A lovely hotel with great views of the bay -food was lovely with great choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshine977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This hotel is in a very remote location and is most definitely NOT suitable for anyone with mobility problems.There are staircases and steps everywhere and the pool area can only reached by negotiating five sets of steps.
The food is average but the ''chefs'' who operated the carvery were not really capable and their efforts really amounted to hacking the meat,Initially the staff were attentive and helpful but the arrival of a group of French guests (on half board.)saw a major change in their attitude to the other guests who were mainly on ''all-inclusive''
Malta is embarking on a major road rebuilding project and in consequence there is traffic chaos add this to the dreadful driving standards and hire cars are certainly not recommended.
Interesting--yes.Would I return--NO

Room Tip: Try an alternative hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank universal-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Very nice rooms with fantastic views. Good food, but not great variety and choice. Nice location if you want peace and quiet, not great for nightlife! Convenient for visiting Gozo. If you want to go to Valetta, consider the bus to Sliema and the ferry, as the 90 minute bus ride is tortutous! Not at all suitable for disabled guests, as the hotel is on the side of a hill and the lifts are unreliable. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank kinshott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We were visiting Malta and i9 decided to use the time to complete my Advanced Open Water scuba diving certificate (Aquaventure, based at the hotel and hiighly recommended). Normally, I prefer to say in small, cosy B&B's which give more of a feel for the area you are in and tend to avid big hotels like this one, but when my partner found out I was dumping her for a couple of half days whilst I was diving, she insisted on an upgrade to include pool and spa. I found this through Travel Republic and got a good deal as it was a bit out of season. (No spa, but the pools were good enough)
1 and a bit hours on the bus from the airport, arrival was dealt with quickly and efficiently bry reception staff. The room was suppossed to be a double but had twin singles. back down to reception to complain, within 5 minutes, someone was int he room zipping the beds together. ok, I guess, but it meant there was a big ridge running down the middle of the otherwise comfortable bed. Rom seemed a bit small, but there's an entry vestibule with wardrobes so no stotrrage in the main part of the room. There's also a balcony (with bay view) in every room. Add in the balcony where a good anount of room time is spent, and the rooms are a reasonable size.
Breakfast was ok with a wide varierty, catering for the international customer base. No idea what the restaurant meals are like as we ate out every night.
We were at the north end of the hotel, furthest out of the bay. This meant that of the three pools (2 outside, 1 inside), the one closest to us was the one furthest away from the main aprt of the hotel, meaning we had the pool to ourselves most of the time. This probably won't be the case during the high season. To be honest, I've never dome the lazing by the pool thing when on holiday, in fact, i've never even stayed in a hotel with a pool, but for half a day, I canm recommend it.
The only real downside to this hotel was having to get a bus to get to Mala's main attractions (Valletta, Medina, etc).The bus is a 5 minuate walk away, but Valletta can be more than an hour depending on the time of day.

Room Tip: In the off season, go for the end of the hotel furthest uot along the bay, the best and quitest pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kiltedladdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Spent 3 weeks at MBH Christmas 2011,and had a lovely time..The Festive season is great,and to escape from all the madness in the UK is a bonus!

Wonderful entertainment..great festive food!

Yes..there is some parts of the hotel that need attention..but It doesn't bother us!.It's relaxing,the gardens are wonderful and the food is very good,so don't be put off by the 'moaners' we met a few over christmas..yet they seemed to be enjoying themselves..some people are not happy unless they are complaining!

The staff work very hard,to please the guests,and are always polite & friendly..

We know the MBH well,we have been visiting the hotel since 1997..The reason people know each other as mentioned in one of the 'reviews',is because there is a lot of people who return year after year..many, many people love the MBH..and so do we! :o)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank whitestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,066 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,749 reviews
4.6 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
503 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellieha Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellieha Bay Hotel

Address: Ghadira, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9065, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $57 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mellieha Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mellieha Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mellieha Bay Malta
Mellieha Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing