We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Panorama Hotel(Mellieha)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pergola Hotel & Spa(Mellieha)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,298)
Filter reviews
2,298 results
Traveler rating
649
900
507
156
86
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
649
900
507
156
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslimelight loungethomson repjamaica innb blockmellieha bayrooms face the seabowling greenthe busprivate beachhalf boardsea viewthe ground flooranimation teamevening entertainmentplenty of choiceindoor pooljust returned from a week
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,672 - 1,677 of 2,298 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2011

I first stayed her 14 years ago and remember the beautiful bay and views and also the food. This is a very quiet hotel in a beautiful part of Malta. The hotel staff are very friendly and work very hard. In summary....quiet, great scenery, pools and food. We love it!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnnySpider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

I have visited this hotel from the age of 15 ( now 45) and have seen not that many changes. Not sure if that is good or bad. The hotel has lovely views, but there is no where to really walk and watch at night time. 30 years ago 15 year olds were happy to stay in the hotel grounds and dance to old songs. My 15 year old finds the location too isolated and the night time entertainment "boring"

The rooms are really out dated, and small, however, they are undoing a major refurbishment this year. This won't make the bathrooms or balcony any bigger but just more modern.

The food is not as good as 30 years ago when it was waiter service, but is acceptable.

There are more than enough sun beds, and there is no need for the usual sun bed rush, unless you want the same spot every day, but there are lots of different places to choose: One of the many pools, the private beach, the waters edge bar area, or the waters edge front.

Over the years I have found ALL the staff to be friendly and helpfull, some of them have been there from my first visit in 1980, so surely it it' s a great place to work, it's a great place to go on holiday.

Like anywhere, depends what you want. It's not for my teenage kids, but it was for me and is still the place for me.

I do visit other places but return to the Mellieha Bay evey few years, and will continue to do so. My parents still go twice a year.

Would I recommend this hotel - Yes if you want a relaxing away from it holiday as a couple.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly2396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We stayed here for a week in early April 2011. The hotel was opened in 1969 and is a bit tired in places but I understand a section has been fully refurbished for Thomson customers and is of a very high standard. The hotel is clean and the staff fairly pleasant who all speak good English. A down side for us was that there is no waiter service and the walk from some outdoor areas to the bar is substantial. Long walks on hot days with a tray of drinks is not the way I want to spend my vacation. Another minus point is that the hotel is fairly isolated. We bought a 7 day local bus pass for 14 Euros and just as well we did because you need buses to get to anywhere you want to see including the local town which is about a mile or so away up a very substantial hill. Finally another big minus is the entertainment... It was awful !! A keyboard player/vocalist wasn't bad and local flamenco type dancers were very good but the rest were an absolute disgrace and should never have been allowed to take the stage especially a country and western singer called Johnny G.
Summing up , if you want a peaceful basic hotel with basic amenities and don't want to go beyond the front gates and are not fussy about your entertainment you will enjoy this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sycamore68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

We went as a family group for a wedding and found the hotel clean, good food and well presented.
The hotel is currently under refurbishment during the winter months and the first stage has been completed with stylish modern rooms and furniture. The staff all speak English and are great with the children with a fantastic service by all.
The food is diffrent everyday without being repetive.
Only downside out of season there is nothing for the children to do and the elerly people don't seem to understand why the kids are bored and running about instead of watching them line dance. But some of the guest didn't seem to mind and laughed at the kids play fighting and compliemented them on their manners.
The area is quiet and not much to do but the sandy beach is great and if you go into the hotels gardens you can find grass snakes and diffrent types of lizards.
Myself personally wouldn't go back to this hotel as the area is quiet but I cannot fault the standard of the hotel and would recommend for a holiday with a wedding because of the gardens and settings.
Another downside is all inclusive should mean all inclusive as the 1st week there was muffins and cakes on offer then a charge went on them because the kids hammered them. Also bottles of pop was stopped to all inclusive guest. The snacks are great but stop at 17.00hrs and you get snadwiches between 22.00 - 00.00 which have been sat there all day being soggy and stale.
Still been a great holiday and Charles the barman is a character even though he does look angry!!!!
The hotel is also used by FIFA international teams and we had the Maltese under 21's and Hungarian U21's stay there so that shows the quality and standard of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

This hotel is nicely placed along the bay of Mellieha, with crystal clear waters where it would be a paradise for scuba divers. There are 2 outside swimming pools, a paddling pool and a indoor swimming pool outdoor tennis courts, archery, bowls, and evening entertainment albeit a bit dated but was free so I can't complain. The food was fine my only complaint would be that I ate too much! The room was clean and each room overlooked the bay, so no need to pay for a room with a view. The TV was small and old but I go on holiday for other things not to watch TV but you could watch Sky news and find out what was going on in the world.
The Maltese buses are old, but the fares are cheap and they do get you around the island. Day activities around the island, are mainly based on water sports for the younger persons, Shopping in Valleta includes a Marks &Spencer and lots of silver filgree jewellery , on Sunday there is a vibrant and colourful market along the harbour of Marxalott where the coulourful fishing boats bob up and down on the blue water.
For evening entertaining we did go to the Knights of Malta, which I felt was not value for money, but I would suggest that if you choose to take this option then go to the toilet before you are sit down it is difficult to go with out distubing quite a few other people during the show. The seats are like benches so if you don't like sitting for a long period then take your own pillow.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grannyjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews