We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to enjoy your holiday for a cheap price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Luna Holiday Complex
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
102 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good place to enjoy your holiday for a cheap price”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Quite a good deal when you want to enjoy your holiday on Malta for not too much money. Very affordable prices and you get a clean and basic room that's nearby the beach, bus stop (with a lot of buses bringing you to other parts of the island) and with two swimming pools. The swimming pool on top of the roof provides an amazing view over the bay and on the village of Mellieha itself on top of the rocks. The village is nearby, a short walk up, and provides basic needs as well as some shops near the hotel and the beach. It's also easy to book a trip to blue lagoon (I strongly recommend to do this!) from nearby the hotel. Travelling towards Sliema or Valletta takes around 45m/1h by bus.

Room Tip: Take one of the refurbished rooms on the sea side. You have a nice view over the bay and you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JesperB_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Good Afternoon Jesper,

Thank you very much for your review! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you have recommended us to other travelers.

Thanks once again. Please do drop me an email should you wish to return.

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    531
    252
    77
    49
See reviews for
342
631
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Upon arrival at around 9pm at night we where greeted by quite an ignorant man on the desk. We also couldn't get food any were, and were starving from our journey. However our room was okay and had all that we needed. There was a mini market within the hotel which every one told us it would be very dear but we found it okay. Its quite close to a small beach, the views from the hotel were spectacular. I would recommend here for young people wanting to party as everywhere seemed to close really early, as it is very religious, its good for people with young families as you can get them peace and quiet at night and good for elderly however there was a huge hill to climb which I don't think would be good for elderly people. Thomas cook assigned us a very helpful young lady and got us organised with a few activities I'm glad she did, as that was pretty much it , there was nothing else to do any were, I would most definitely not recommend Malta. Its a lovely island but it needs more life about it for definite or maybe it was just the part we were at. However the pool sides were lovely and if that's what you enjoy to do day in day out and go to bed early its for you. Some nice places to eat to the right of the hotel as you come out of it, one place inparticular did an amazing steak. Also the little front bar was nice and had a really friendly male member of staff.
Now to my biggest complaint, the first few day looking something to eat at lunch time we decided to order food , in which we were not allowed to sit in the 'all inclusive' dining area, even though there was no one in it we were made to sit at the bar to eat, talk about second class citizens. Secondary my partner ordered a pizza one day and due to his hate of vegetables on his pizza he ordered one without which was no problem. The following day with a Scottish lady on, we ordered the same thing, some how this was a major problem. We explained how we got it the day before. She order it with a huff and a grump and it still came out with peppers on it, my partner explained how we didn't order it like this. She then rudely asked him could he not just pick them of which he was discussed in her manners and said NO indeed we can not. She finally took it back and we got a new one. Now the lunch menu in the hotel was completely convenient to be really expensive as they can because there was no were else and didn't they know it but getting treated like that was disgusting describing it within words simply cant be done in the manner it happened. She then came past us cheekily and told us how her and the chefs enjoyed the first pizza and that we made a big mistake, information we did not need to know. We spoke to a few other residents in the hotel and they felt the same about the staff, another complained about there bedding situation but as we all could agree on the staffing issues, I thought that clearly this wasn't just our lack of judgement. Furthermore we did see great hospitality to the more aged people, which leaves me to believe that they don't value customers of a certain ages or below. However, just because we are not over 40 I believe our money is the same as anyone else and goes towards the upkeep of this hotel. Really disappointed and a real let down to Malta and the beautiful island it is.

Room Tip: If you can afford to go on the trip to Sicily it was the highlight of this holiday. and the blue lag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rharkin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Good Morning

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that you encountered a few disappointments and did not receive the welcome you expected. Our reception staff always try to be as helpful as possible and I apologise for any inconvenience you experienced on your arrival.

I am also sorry to hear that you were disappointed while having lunch, I spoke to our restaurant staff and the person in question is really very sorry that she upset you in anyway.
I am pleased to hear that you were happy with the amenities that the hotel has to offer and I would like to thank you for all the comments that you have made. Your feedback is very important to us.

I thank you once again.

Warm regards

Kyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is our 26th year visiting The Luna once again we had a wonderful holiday.staff are very helpful any problems we find are sorted very quickly.Buses run frequently from just outside and for just 2,60 euros you can travel all day making it a good base.The apartments are basic but we find all you need is included and clean we love the view up to the church and like to watch the small holding opposite being worked.Both the pools are very clean as is the outside areas.A special thanks to Kyle for his care and attention he is following in his fathers footsteps and we wish him all the best.Will be going again next year cannot wait.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank pauline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hello Pauline b,
Thank you very much for your review. I am always happy to see you visit the Luna and I am extremely pleased to hear that this was your 26th time. Sorry it took me a while to reply but presently we are very busy with the refurbishment which is very exciting!

My father sends his regards to both of you and we both look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Warm regards
Kyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
129 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Standard self-catering studio on the first floor offered great value (40€ per night). The room was basic but ok, bed not so great. Staff was friendly and you can get free wifi in the lobby, better than nothing. Nice pool on the rooftop and there is another small one donstairs.
Really convenient: plenty of buses stop by, several places to eat nearby, and of course Mellieha beach which is excellent - one of the only sandy beach of Malta.
Many hotels are in the center of town, up the hill. There you can also find supermarkets and more restaurants. It is much better to stay at a hotel like Luna near the beach and walk up the steep hill to go out for dinner, than the other way around having to walk back up to the hotel after going to the beach.

Room Tip: you can pay extra for better rooms, AC etc. but the basic room was totally ok for a short stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank so_voyage49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear so_voyage49,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the accommodation to be great value for money. I was sorry to hear that your bed was not so great and I shall certainly inform our House Keeping department.

Thank you for mentioning the positive points about the Hotel, I am very pleased that you have had a pleasant stay here at The Luna.

Hope to see you again in the very near future.
Warm regards

Kyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week in october 2013. the overall cost for 5 of us including flights from the UK (Cardiff) in a 2 bed self-catering apartment was less than £900 & at that price we couldn't fault it. We didn't book for, but were upgraded to a superior family apartment which was immaculate with no sign of previous occupation.
We didn't use the restaurant, preferring to take advantage of the many resaurants just down the road, or a short bus ride up the hill. Meals, approx. cost for 5 of us, 70 Euros.
. On arrival at the airport we bought 5 weekly tickets, 12 euros each & used the bus to get to the hotel, we then had the free use of buses for the rest of the week. For our transfer home, early in the morning, we booked at a local shop for 24 euros. so you could say our transfers cost 24 euros & we paid 60 to use the buses for a week. Saved about £100.
The excellent beach (the best in Malta) is a short walk & the hotel has 2 very good pools, 'specially the roof top one.
Reception staff were helpful & pleasant & although not many residents as it was end of season the atmosphere in the hotel was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RONNIETHEFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear RONNIETHEFOX,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Luna. I am also pleased that you found us to be good value for money.

Should you wish to return in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Warm regards

Kyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

could not say anything bad about the place or hotel .
staff very friendly and very helpful especially sinead she was brilliant .the location was excellent and easy to get around the Island .we are now looking to book for next year .When I read the reviews I was having second thoughts about the place as it was are first time there but it was excellent and true what they say you get what you pay for .The rooms was clean and basic that's all we needed .Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianeanden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello dianeanden,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a lovely review. I am very happy that you found The Luna to be good value and that your first stay with us was excellent.

Sinead sends her regards and is looking forward to see you again very soon!

Should you need any help with booking in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fishguard
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed the last week of October, Mellieha was closing down for the winter. Lovely and quiet, the weather was just spectacular. This was the second time this year that we have stayed at the Luna. This time I booked directly with them, it was easy and very efficient. We got an excellent deal for the week and to our greatest delight we were upgraded to one of the new superior apartments at the back of the hotel. This had a magnificent view over the bay (room 4112) and fully kitted out, well worth the extra money.
If you want to go to the Hypogeum (an amazing experience) expect to have to book at least 3 months in advance - no chance of turning up on the day!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morawel_Fishguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Morawe Fishguard,

I am very happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here at The Luna. October had some beautiful weather with many hours of glorious sunshine!

I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed your upgrade, and as you say the new superior apartments are indeed well worth the extra cost.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to see you again in the very near future.

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.6 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
2.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
3.2 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Holiday Complex

Property: Luna Holiday Complex
Address: 15 Triq Il-Marfa, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9063, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mellieha
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#9 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Holiday Complex located in Mellieha Malta, is rated one of the best three star apart-hotels in Malta.DescriptionWhy Choose To Stay with us?The Luna Holiday Complex is situated in the heart of the north west of the Island in the town of Mellieha. Whilst this is a thriving tourist resort it still maintains it’s authentic Maltese charm by not being overly commercial. There are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants in the town to suit all tastes and budgets.Mellieha is well situated with direct bus services to the majority of the island including: the Airport, the Capital City of Valletta and the ferry terminals to Gozo and Comino.The Luna is located less than 300 metres from the best and longest beach in Malta, ‘Mellieha Bay’ and is only 15 minutes walk from the famous ‘Popeye Village’.At the Luna Holiday Complex we pride ourselves on giving a 4 star service at a 3 star price. We have a fantastic family of staff, speaking many different languages all ready and willing to give that little bit extra to ensure your holiday is one to remember.Within the Complex we have much to shout about. Once you’ve been welcomed by our staff on arrival the complex is yours to explore. We have a 24-hour reception with a great, informative team who can give you the best advice on tours and places to visit whilst in Malta. All tours can be booked directly through our reception staff. We also have free Wi-Fi and an Internet café in the reception area.We have two fantastic pools. The ground floor family pool is superbly located next to the main bar and the games room whilst our roof top pool has fabulous views of the Mellieha coastline, Red Tower and Mellieha church which is a must for relaxation and enjoying both the Maltese sunshine and sunset!There are three bars on site, with one open from 10am until 1am, which includes entertainment multiple nights a week from local artists. Our main restaurant is ‘Al Fresco’ (weather permitting) serving a great variety of food to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Luna Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Holiday Complex Mellieha
Luna Hotel Malta
Luna Holiday Complex Hotel Mellieha
Luna Holiday Complex Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing