We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luna Holiday Complex
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just back from 2 weeks in luna, mellieha, had a great holiday. Hotel is lovely, staff are very friendly. The showers would need replaced. Our room was very big, only thing was our room overlooked another app complex, would have preferred sea or country room. Towels are changed every 2 days, room cleaned 2 times a week. Our kids are 11 and 14, resort was bit too quiet for them. It's only 5 min walk to beach, we hired pedaloes out, and kids done paragliding, which they said was amazing. We stayed at the rooftop pool every day, have to say u need to be up early to reserve a bed. There was family from Birmingham here same times as us and they reserved beds every day, and didn't appear until at least lunchtime. One day they reserved 10 beds, 3 were used, the other 7 sat empty all day cos they went on boat trip, they returned at 4.45, just not on. U weren't allowed balls or inflatables at pool, i wouldnt allow my kids to bring theirs, although same family brought them and annoyed everyone around the pool on numerous days, got to the point where people stayed away from pool cos of them. I read in another review that the rooftop pool is for adults only, I was there for 2 weeks and never heard that mentioned at all, no signs anywhere saying that. Lovely hotel, few points that I have made need to be addressed. I think they would someone around the pool to organise games for kids, cos there is nothing for kids at pool.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186470Pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Good Morning Pauline,

Thank you for your review! I am glad you had a great holiday and that you enjoyed your stay with us at Luna!

Thank you for your comments with regards to the pool we will see how we can enforce this a bit better in the future.

Thank you once again! feel free to contact me should you wish to return in the future!

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

751 - 757 of 1,396 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

Overall I would stay here again , the only one criticism is the air conditioning was too expensive and think it should be part off the price, stayed in worse places and the air con was free or was in with the price, but the one thing I will say they was a waitress who in my opinion was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for her, she helped make our holiday one off the best ,to this lady I say a big thank you, Sinead Hussey look forward to seeing you again x

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhinogill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Good Morning,

Thank you very much for your positive review! I am very happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay! Sinead was very happy that you mentioned her, she sends her regards!

With regards to the AC, the reason why it is separate is because agencies prefer to keep it separate to keep their rates low. we are slowly moving to including them into the price as you can see with the Superior Studios and Superior Family rooms.

Thank you once again fro your review! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a very long time choosing a hotel that was both affordable and comfortable. We definatley found it. We weren't quite sure what to expect with many of the reviews being a bit negative. The hotel is idealy placed close to the beach and to the town. The nearest bus stop was also just acros the street which we used frequently to go to Medina and Valetta. The hotel its self was very welcoming with bright airy reception rooms and friendly staff. There was one girl who was so chatty and friendly with pinky coloured hair- nothing was too much trouble and she always seemed to be there working and smiling! The ground floor pool was more of a family pool. But the roof top pool was wonderful, with amazing views. The roof top pool bar was shut for the whole week we were there, which was a bit disappointing. We stayed half board in a superior room with a sea view. There was very little noise at night which was great so probably the best way to avoid the busy road! The room had a microwave and a kettle. The room was clean and the towels were replaced every two days. The bed was comfy although basic. The food was great with a variety every night. There was a chinese food night and a bbq whist we were there. There was also entertainment a few nights which was great fun but also not too loud and also didn't go on for too long- especially as our room was above the bar! All in all this hotel was great for the money. I would strongly recomend it. The staff made it even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Good Afternoon!

I am glad to read that you found us to be great value for money and that you enjoyed your stay very much!

We all do our best to make sure everyone is happy :-)
Monica ... say hello and was very happy that you mentioned her in your review!

Thank you for the review. Do feel free to drop me an email should you wish to come back to Luna in the future!

Thank you

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Our 2nd year of staying in the Luna, we find it very central to the beach and buses to travel around the island.

Great room as we upgraded this year, only downside was the shower was too low in the bath to stand up and have a proper shower and the balcony faced the next block with a window so there was no sun at all on the balcony.

Staff are very friendly and the rooms are clean, we don't see much of the hotel as it is just a base for to travel around from, But will be staying again next year as love Malta especially now we know our way around.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tracey g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Hi Tracey,

Thank you for your review, I am happy to see that it was your second stay with us! :-)
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay!

Thank you very much
Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

First impressions of this aparthotel are good with clean,airy,modern reception and other communal areas. However it rapidly becomes apparent that there is a huge difference in standard of accomodation in particular the ONE BEDROOM APARTMENTS (ROOM3411).The apartment is very basic and needs much TLC, what furniture there is is very worn and outdated and the chairs similar to school plastic variety! The beds are just chipboard with mattresses on top and after my second night sleeping on them contemplated the marble floor as more comfortable.There is no extractor fan or opening window in the bathroom and a rather unpleasant odour from the toilet! The apartment faces the rear with a countryside view which is o.k BUT the volume of traffic using the road is greatly underestimated! The road is in use 24/7 and even at 4.15AM counted 3 buses! But my worst gripe would have to be the lovely view from the bedroom window!! A VENTILATION SHAFT!! The window is 2/3 covered by a wardrobe and seems to serve no purpose of a window at all. We also requested a toaster on day1 and were still waiting when we left.We asked for a different room even offering to pay for an upgrade but apparently the hotel was full. The roof top pool is pleasant and clean but I was under the impression it was adults only?? not the case! and the pool bar is shut more often than open! On the whole not a relaxing break was glad to get home for some peace and quiet, FRESH AIR and a comfortable bed!!!

Room Tip: Dont have 1 Bed Apartment they have not been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Good Afternoon.

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry that you did not find you stay satisfactory.

As mentioned in previous replies we are refurbishing the building block by block we have completed more than half of the rooms. And it is planned to continue this winter.

Apologies for the toaster, these are not in the room and we have a stock of them that we lend out when guests would like them, we never had so much demand for them as we had in July. Taking this into consideration I will bring it up in the next meeting to consider having one in every room. However every apartment has a small grill where you can easily make toast.

With regards to the Roof top pool. It is indeed only recommended for adults, however it is difficult for us to control if a family takes there children up there.

I am sorry once again that you did not enjoy your stay!

Warm regards

Kyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here a week and found it amazing. The hotel is basic, -you get what you pay for clean towels every two days, bed change twice weekly. Rooms are big , though the balcony could have done with a small table. Supermarket is at back of hotel and has a wide range of food and drink at reasonable prices. The complex has a roof-top pool and a pool on the ground floor . Entertainment is on some nights and the bar and restaurant are reasonably priced. There are some restaurants nearby to choose from to or take the bus up the hill for more choice, the buses are very frequent and go all over the island for a few euros.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road, it can get noisy with traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catherinedocherty04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear Catherine,

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and found us to be good value for the money you spent! I have taken note of the small table in the balcony and see if we can do something about it in the future!

Thank you very much! I do hope to see you again in the future.

Warm Regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Big room with bath and shower. Only downside was that balcony faced a brick wall and faced the room in the next block which was not very nice. I did ask to change room but this was not possible as the hotel was fully booked. Didn't eat at hotel or see any of the entertainment.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. One thing for management, it would be a good idea to use the roof pool for adults only. Some people like peace and quiet around the pool. Your ' no ball/inflatables' rule was not adhered to or policed.
Hotel is a good base for travelling around the island with bus stops just outside.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Badger003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Good Morning

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay having marked 4/5 on all points except value, I assume it is because of the view. Indeed we are currently fully booked making it difficult to change rooms and satisfy everyone, we are sorry about that. We would have had no problem moving you if we did have available rooms.

I appreciate your comment with regards to the roof top pool, we indeed do not recommend that kids use that pool for the reason you mentioned, however it is not always easy to control.

Thank you once again for staying with us!
Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.5 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,681 reviews
2.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Solana Hotel and Spa
Solana Hotel and Spa
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,288 reviews
3.2 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,637 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Holiday Complex

Address: 15 Triq Il-Marfa, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9063, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mellieha
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#9 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $50 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Holiday Complex located in Mellieha Malta, is rated one of the best three star apart-hotels in Malta.DescriptionWhy Choose To Stay with us?The Luna Holiday Complex is situated in the heart of the north west of the Island in the town of Mellieha. Whilst this is a thriving tourist resort it still maintains it’s authentic Maltese charm by not being overly commercial. There are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants in the town to suit all tastes and budgets.Mellieha is well situated with direct bus services to the majority of the island including: the Airport, the Capital City of Valletta and the ferry terminals to Gozo and Comino.The Luna is located less than 300 metres from the best and longest beach in Malta, ‘Mellieha Bay’ and is only 15 minutes walk from the famous ‘Popeye Village’.At the Luna Holiday Complex we pride ourselves on giving a 4 star service at a 3 star price. We have a fantastic family of staff, speaking many different languages all ready and willing to give that little bit extra to ensure your holiday is one to remember.Within the Complex we have much to shout about. Once you’ve been welcomed by our staff on arrival the complex is yours to explore. We have a 24-hour reception with a great, informative team who can give you the best advice on tours and places to visit whilst in Malta. All tours can be booked directly through our reception staff. We also have free Wi-Fi and an Internet café in the reception area.We have two fantastic pools. The ground floor family pool is superbly located next to the main bar and the games room whilst our roof top pool has fabulous views of the Mellieha coastline, Red Tower and Mellieha church which is a must for relaxation and enjoying both the Maltese sunshine and sunset!There are three bars on site, with one open from 10am until 1am, which includes entertainment multiple nights a week from local artists. Our main restaurant is ‘Al Fresco’ (weather permitting) serving a great variety of food to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Otel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Luna Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Holiday Complex Mellieha
Luna Hotel Malta
Luna Holiday Complex Hotel Mellieha
Luna Holiday Complex Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing