We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY HOLIDAY AT LUNA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luna Holiday Complex
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LOVELY HOLIDAY AT LUNA”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

we have just returned from two weeks staying at the Luna Hotel and found the hotel to be excellent value for money. The room was spotlessly clean and even although we were self catering the cleaning Staff ensured that the beds were changed and towels replaced on an almost daily basis.

The Staff in general, from Reception to Cleaning were extremely professional and courteous at all times. The Manager (Trevor) was amazingly helpful as on arrival I realised I had left my hand luggage on the airport coach. I observed that despite the fact that he was extremely busy dealing with new arrivals he took time to organise the return of my luggage for which I was most grateful.

The room was adequately equipped for self catering with very efficient air conditioning. The Pool on the top terrace was lovely and also spotlessly clean - Alma who worked in the bar was excellent and ensured that we had refreshments at all times.

We loved the Luna and the quiet relaxing location and will be returning - Lovely experience staying at the Luna

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riversister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Greetings from Malta:-) Thank you very much for your review! It seems you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! Everyone Says hello, they enjoyed reading your review.

Thank you very much for coming to stay with us and I hope to see you again soon. Feel free to email me or Trevor to help you organise your next trip :-)

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    567
    264
    81
    50
See reviews for
367
679
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Entrance, bar, sun decks and pools very nice. The rooms are very very basic. Double bed very small, especially when weather so hot not a lot of breathing space! We managed to change room on the 3rd day of our stay and were given a room with 2 single beds put together to make a decent size double. Ceiling fan provided a bit of cool air although noisy. Bedding clean but not changed until the day before we left, excuse that we changed rooms so rota put out? towels changed every other day but rooms not made up. Our 2nd room had gas hob, electric oven and old kettle to go on the cooker, antiquated! worse none of them worked and on 4th day of our stay we managed to get an electric kettle, second try, the first element gone. The Staff were really friendly, especially in the dining room. The breakfast was the same basic, cereal, watery juice, hard fried eggs, scrambled eggs, baby sausages, tomatoes and watery baked beans continental ham, cheese and tomato . It was ok, double grilled toast and jam,was ok for the price we paid. Sun beds were in plenty supply with a charge of 1.50 euros hire per day for cushion pads if required. Beach Towels free loan from reception. It may be an idea to spend a bit more money on a general re-furb on the bedrooms instead of supplying entertainment a few evenings per week. Good base to visit the rest of Malta as buses run every 10 minutes at a very low charge of 2.60 euros per day or 12 euros per week for unlimited travel. Good restaurant a few yards from the hotel towards the beach and several up the steep bank, two bus stops away. Complex details may sound worse than it was as we didn't expect the Ritz for the price we paid.

Room Tip: The new upgraded rooms are quite a lot more expensive, separate bedrooms with modern decor, TV and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valtona12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you so much for your detailed review! I am happy to read that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that you found us to be value for money.

Thanks for you comments with regards to the refurbishment, we are actually carrying out a gradual refurbishment of the whole complex, we have blocks 1,3,5 and 6 complete and will be doing 4 and or 2 this following winter.

With regards to the cleaning, we are indeed an apart hotel, and thus we change towels every two days and a full maid service on the 4th day. more frequent service is also available on request and a small charge.

thanks a million for having stayed with us and for your review, if you have any questions please do drop me an email.

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We opened a drawer to put our clothes in and found what we thought were Mouse droppings. I went to reception to inform them and the receptionist said they probably weren't mouse droppings they were probably cockroach droppings. I said it doesn't matter who's droppings they were, they shouldn't be there. I must say that she was probably right though because later in the week I found 2 cockroaches.
Apart from this I had no problems with the Apartment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilesBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Good Morning,

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay fully, it seems that except for this incident you had no further problems and you did rate us 3/5.

To clarify what happened, the housekeeping team immediately went to the room, and discovered that they were indeed seeds, he immediately cleaned the drawer. I spoke to the receptionist and she remembers the incident and she said it was not her to said that it may be cockroaches but some other person (not a member of our team) standing by the guest.

We apologize about this and we have discussed it with housekeeping to make sure that every drawer is checked prior to confirming the room ready for guests.

With regards to pests we have an exception track record, we as per standards fumigate any high risk areas every 2 weeks and other areas once a month.

We apologise for the inconvenience.
thanks for your review.

regards

Kyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidwelly, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just returned from the Luna we really had a great time hotel was good ,clean and the food was good .l had read a few reviews before going and some were bad but l cant complain we had a great time the staff were very friendly weather was sunny we really enjoyed we will be back we had room 4309 and it was good.a mature couple from wales.

Room Tip: We had a sea view and a third floor room 4309 it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hi Jackie,

Thank you for your comment, and thanks for your lovely email as well!
Glad you had a great time! it was great having you here with us!
Do drop me an email when you decide to return, as you did prior to arriving this May!

Thank you so much once again

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Second time we have stayed here and would recommend it , staff are helpful and polite and go that bit extra to make your stay here as pleasant as they can . We found the food quiet good , but there are a number of other places near by where you can try different types of food . Not the most hectic night life , ideal for those looking for a nice relaxing holiday , close to a stunning beach , picturesque church , water sports and frequent bus service that serves the whole island , will be going again ! !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos197006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello Carlos!

Its great that you decided to stay with us again! and that you do recommend us, that shows that our efforts are being greatly appreciated!

I do hope to see you again in the future, and do drop me an email before your next stay!
Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spotlessly clean public rooms, with pleasant staff, & although we didn't eat there, the food looked fine. Consists of blocks of apartments on the road between Mellihea Bay & Mellihea town. 500 yards away is a lovely sandy beach & there are 2 pools at the complex.
The studio apartment we had was spacious, clean & well equipped, with all that is needed. We were overlooking the road which made sleeping difficult because of the noise. The studio was only serviced once during the week, although towels were changed every other day - servicing perhaps should also be every 2 days. Also the sheets were too small for the beds, which meant that you ended up sleeping on the uncovered mattress.
There is a lovely pool on the roof, but there is no shade whatsoever. The lower pool is fine with a few umbrellas & mattresses are for hire at E1.50 per day.
There's a string of good restaurants on the main road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool, unless you are a heavy sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caryl1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Good Morning Caryl.

Thank you so much for the review and your comments! I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and your holiday!

I do hope to see you again in the future, and would give a try to our restaurants as well, you will definitely not be disappointed.

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is our 3rd trip to the luna we had room in old block room had big bathroom but old fittings it was the same bed and furniture as it was on my 1st stay 6yrs ago bed uncomfortable last time we came we had new block which was very nice we still enjoyed our holiday great value for money staff friendly as always we were given free bottle off wine for re booking with the luna hotel in great location for beach and bus stops and also has it's own supermarket

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dylons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Good Morning,

Glad to see it was your third time at Luna, I trust you so many differences from 6 years ago :-) in fact this year we refurbished block 5 and 6 and we are hoping to complete block 2 and 4 in the next two years.

Hope to see you again soon :-) Thanks for the review.

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.6 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
3.2 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,538 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Holiday Complex

Property: Luna Holiday Complex
Address: 15 Triq Il-Marfa, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9063, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mellieha
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#9 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Holiday Complex located in Mellieha Malta, is rated one of the best three star apart-hotels in Malta.DescriptionWhy Choose To Stay with us?The Luna Holiday Complex is situated in the heart of the north west of the Island in the town of Mellieha. Whilst this is a thriving tourist resort it still maintains it’s authentic Maltese charm by not being overly commercial. There are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants in the town to suit all tastes and budgets.Mellieha is well situated with direct bus services to the majority of the island including: the Airport, the Capital City of Valletta and the ferry terminals to Gozo and Comino.The Luna is located less than 300 metres from the best and longest beach in Malta, ‘Mellieha Bay’ and is only 15 minutes walk from the famous ‘Popeye Village’.At the Luna Holiday Complex we pride ourselves on giving a 4 star service at a 3 star price. We have a fantastic family of staff, speaking many different languages all ready and willing to give that little bit extra to ensure your holiday is one to remember.Within the Complex we have much to shout about. Once you’ve been welcomed by our staff on arrival the complex is yours to explore. We have a 24-hour reception with a great, informative team who can give you the best advice on tours and places to visit whilst in Malta. All tours can be booked directly through our reception staff. We also have free Wi-Fi and an Internet café in the reception area.We have two fantastic pools. The ground floor family pool is superbly located next to the main bar and the games room whilst our roof top pool has fabulous views of the Mellieha coastline, Red Tower and Mellieha church which is a must for relaxation and enjoying both the Maltese sunshine and sunset!There are three bars on site, with one open from 10am until 1am, which includes entertainment multiple nights a week from local artists. Our main restaurant is ‘Al Fresco’ (weather permitting) serving a great variety of food to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Luna Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Holiday Complex Mellieha
Luna Hotel Malta
Luna Holiday Complex Hotel Mellieha
Luna Holiday Complex Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing