We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luna Holiday Complex
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We opened a drawer to put our clothes in and found what we thought were Mouse droppings. I went to reception to inform them and the receptionist said they probably weren't mouse droppings they were probably cockroach droppings. I said it doesn't matter who's droppings they were, they shouldn't be there. I must say that she was probably right though because later in the week I found 2 cockroaches.
Apart from this I had no problems with the Apartment.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GilesBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Good Morning,

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay fully, it seems that except for this incident you had no further problems and you did rate us 3/5.

To clarify what happened, the housekeeping team immediately went to the room, and discovered that they were indeed seeds, he immediately cleaned the drawer. I spoke to the receptionist and she remembers the incident and she said it was not her to said that it may be cockroaches but some other person (not a member of our team) standing by the guest.

We apologize about this and we have discussed it with housekeeping to make sure that every drawer is checked prior to confirming the room ready for guests.

With regards to pests we have an exception track record, we as per standards fumigate any high risk areas every 2 weeks and other areas once a month.

We apologise for the inconvenience.
thanks for your review.

regards

Kyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,367)
There are newer reviews for Luna Holiday Complex
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

778 - 784 of 1,369 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just returned from the Luna we really had a great time hotel was good ,clean and the food was good .l had read a few reviews before going and some were bad but l cant complain we had a great time the staff were very friendly weather was sunny we really enjoyed we will be back we had room 4309 and it was good.a mature couple from wales.

Room Tip: We had a sea view and a third floor room 4309 it was great.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Hi Jackie,

Thank you for your comment, and thanks for your lovely email as well!
Glad you had a great time! it was great having you here with us!
Do drop me an email when you decide to return, as you did prior to arriving this May!

Thank you so much once again

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Second time we have stayed here and would recommend it , staff are helpful and polite and go that bit extra to make your stay here as pleasant as they can . We found the food quiet good , but there are a number of other places near by where you can try different types of food . Not the most hectic night life , ideal for those looking for a nice relaxing holiday , close to a stunning beach , picturesque church , water sports and frequent bus service that serves the whole island , will be going again ! !

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos197006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Hello Carlos!

Its great that you decided to stay with us again! and that you do recommend us, that shows that our efforts are being greatly appreciated!

I do hope to see you again in the future, and do drop me an email before your next stay!
Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spotlessly clean public rooms, with pleasant staff, & although we didn't eat there, the food looked fine. Consists of blocks of apartments on the road between Mellihea Bay & Mellihea town. 500 yards away is a lovely sandy beach & there are 2 pools at the complex.
The studio apartment we had was spacious, clean & well equipped, with all that is needed. We were overlooking the road which made sleeping difficult because of the noise. The studio was only serviced once during the week, although towels were changed every other day - servicing perhaps should also be every 2 days. Also the sheets were too small for the beds, which meant that you ended up sleeping on the uncovered mattress.
There is a lovely pool on the roof, but there is no shade whatsoever. The lower pool is fine with a few umbrellas & mattresses are for hire at E1.50 per day.
There's a string of good restaurants on the main road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool, unless you are a heavy sleeper.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caryl1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Good Morning Caryl.

Thank you so much for the review and your comments! I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and your holiday!

I do hope to see you again in the future, and would give a try to our restaurants as well, you will definitely not be disappointed.

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is our 3rd trip to the luna we had room in old block room had big bathroom but old fittings it was the same bed and furniture as it was on my 1st stay 6yrs ago bed uncomfortable last time we came we had new block which was very nice we still enjoyed our holiday great value for money staff friendly as always we were given free bottle off wine for re booking with the luna hotel in great location for beach and bus stops and also has it's own supermarket

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dylons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Good Morning,

Glad to see it was your third time at Luna, I trust you so many differences from 6 years ago :-) in fact this year we refurbished block 5 and 6 and we are hoping to complete block 2 and 4 in the next two years.

Hope to see you again soon :-) Thanks for the review.

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Basic, clean, friendly staff and very good location ! St.Julians and Valetta about 50.minutes by bus or about 25.min by car..Gozo ferry about 10.minutes by bus. Sandy beach iz 200.m from the hotel. Good value for money is the biggest plus.

Room Tip: We lived in apartment with the sea view. It was quiet, clean. Superior rooms are with the nice land...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com
Thank Viktors G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Good Morning from Malta!

Thank you for having stayed with us! I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and found us to be very good value for your money spent!

Thank you for your review, and I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Luna on your next visit to Malta.

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

The biggest positive about the hotel was it's value for money. It was very basic but everywhere was very clean and it was perfect for what we needed. The rooftop pool was lovely and overlooked the sea. The staff were initially very helpful, and there was one lady in the bar on our first day there who was so friendly and happy to help, if I could remember her name I'd love to give her a glowing review, however there was an issue with our tap that meant it came out by the top as you turned it on and it flooded our floor. When we went down to explain it and ask for towels to clean it the staff seemed suspicious, and as we walked away we overhead then sarcastically remark 'how would that even flood', which made us feel as though we were causing the issue and quite uncomfortable asking for help in future. The bus service was great and again everyone was willing to help you if you got confused - except for one bus driver who was extremely rude and shouted that he didn't care where we were going just pay and get on. The beach is literally a two minute walk and considering it's one of the only sandy beaches in Malta this was a huge plus. The local restaurants were good food and good service, but it's definitely worth venturing out (we went to Bugibba and St Giljan's) for more varied restaurants. Not a luxurious hotel but perfect for the holiday we needed.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeckySorrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Good Morning,

Thank you very much for your review, I am glad that you found us to be value for your money spent. and that you enjoyed your overall experience. I am very sorry with the issue of the tap, which I believe was immediately fixed.

I am very sorry with regards to the staff comment, I have already discussed it with all the team, I have checked all the logs with regards to the tap incident and spoke to both the receptionist taking the note and the maintenance person. They were both very apologetic.

Apologies from us and I do hope that you do decide to return to Luna, and please do drop me an email if you decide to do so,

Warmest regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.5 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,644 reviews
2.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Solana Hotel and Spa
Solana Hotel and Spa
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,255 reviews
3.2 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,613 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Holiday Complex

Address: 15 Triq Il-Marfa, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9063, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#9 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $55 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Holiday Complex located in Mellieha Malta, is rated one of the best three star apart-hotels in Malta.DescriptionWhy Choose To Stay with us?The Luna Holiday Complex is situated in the heart of the north west of the Island in the town of Mellieha. Whilst this is a thriving tourist resort it still maintains it’s authentic Maltese charm by not being overly commercial. There are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants in the town to suit all tastes and budgets.Mellieha is well situated with direct bus services to the majority of the island including: the Airport, the Capital City of Valletta and the ferry terminals to Gozo and Comino.The Luna is located less than 300 metres from the best and longest beach in Malta, ‘Mellieha Bay’ and is only 15 minutes walk from the famous ‘Popeye Village’.At the Luna Holiday Complex we pride ourselves on giving a 4 star service at a 3 star price. We have a fantastic family of staff, speaking many different languages all ready and willing to give that little bit extra to ensure your holiday is one to remember.Within the Complex we have much to shout about. Once you’ve been welcomed by our staff on arrival the complex is yours to explore. We have a 24-hour reception with a great, informative team who can give you the best advice on tours and places to visit whilst in Malta. All tours can be booked directly through our reception staff. We also have free Wi-Fi and an Internet café in the reception area.We have two fantastic pools. The ground floor family pool is superbly located next to the main bar and the games room whilst our roof top pool has fabulous views of the Mellieha coastline, Red Tower and Mellieha church which is a must for relaxation and enjoying both the Maltese sunshine and sunset!There are three bars on site, with one open from 10am until 1am, which includes entertainment multiple nights a week from local artists. Our main restaurant is ‘Al Fresco’ (weather permitting) serving a great variety of food to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luna Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Holiday Complex Mellieha
Luna Hotel Malta
Luna Holiday Complex Hotel Mellieha
Luna Holiday Complex Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing