We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, basic, easy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Luna Holiday Complex
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, basic, easy”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

The biggest positive about the hotel was it's value for money. It was very basic but everywhere was very clean and it was perfect for what we needed. The rooftop pool was lovely and overlooked the sea. The staff were initially very helpful, and there was one lady in the bar on our first day there who was so friendly and happy to help, if I could remember her name I'd love to give her a glowing review, however there was an issue with our tap that meant it came out by the top as you turned it on and it flooded our floor. When we went down to explain it and ask for towels to clean it the staff seemed suspicious, and as we walked away we overhead then sarcastically remark 'how would that even flood', which made us feel as though we were causing the issue and quite uncomfortable asking for help in future. The bus service was great and again everyone was willing to help you if you got confused - except for one bus driver who was extremely rude and shouted that he didn't care where we were going just pay and get on. The beach is literally a two minute walk and considering it's one of the only sandy beaches in Malta this was a huge plus. The local restaurants were good food and good service, but it's definitely worth venturing out (we went to Bugibba and St Giljan's) for more varied restaurants. Not a luxurious hotel but perfect for the holiday we needed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeckySorrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you very much for your review, I am glad that you found us to be value for your money spent. and that you enjoyed your overall experience. I am very sorry with the issue of the tap, which I believe was immediately fixed.

I am very sorry with regards to the staff comment, I have already discussed it with all the team, I have checked all the logs with regards to the tap incident and spoke to both the receptionist taking the note and the maintenance person. They were both very apologetic.

Apologies from us and I do hope that you do decide to return to Luna, and please do drop me an email if you decide to do so,

Warmest regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    529
    251
    77
    49
See reviews for
341
629
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Having read a few negative reviews before our arrival we weren't sure what to expect, however we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was clean, and spacious. Our room was basic, but had all the essentials. Our room was facing the church and was noisy with traffic through the night. It didn't bother us through the day so we did enjoy using the balcony in the daytime. We would recommend paying the extra for air conditioning, as it was hot through the night without the balcony door open. Staff were always friendly and helpful, and happy to offer local knowledge. We enjoyed sitting by the rooftop pool with spectacular views, and enjoyed sitting in the foyer during the evening entertainment (local musicians). The onsite shop offered the basics, although was not fully stocked presumably as it was the end of season. We ate out most of the time in various local restaurants, which were great value and good local food. We tried the Dining Room one night and enjoyed our meal.
Although this is situated in the north of Malta, the local buses provide an excellent service making it easy to explore the whole island. It is a quieter corner and we enjoyed some good walks. The hill up to the village is steep, but perfectably manageable for the reasonably fit.
All in all, we had a great stay, and would happily return if were to revisit Malta

Room Tip: Recommend air conditioning if visiting in summer months. If you want sun on balcony, choose a landwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi Rosanne,

Glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us :-)

You mentioned the traffic noise problem, that should be significantly reduced this summer as the main road that most traffic passes through was closed all of last summer, but is shortly reopening, meaning that traffic will be diverted to it, only buses and cars wanting to visit Mellieha will be passing rather than all traffic, as it was last summer.

Thanks for your review!
Warm regards

Kyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I went to this hotel with my wife and two kids we had a great holiday, the reception was so friendly and helpful and clean.Our room was a little basic but fine, the view over the hill and up to the church was beautiful.The rooftop pool was nice as was the sea and beach this hotel has a great location and i would visit it again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickhanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Good Afternoon,

I am glad to see you enjoyed your holiday with us! Thanks a lot for writing your review! Glad you stayed in one of our Family rooms, if you found this a bit basic, we now have a new category which are the Superior Family rooms perfect for families or friends.

Thanks a million for your review,
Warm regards

Kyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I had one of the best times ever on my Malta hopping tour, and Luna came across as the hotel next to the best beach on the island.
Beach> the best beach on the island:) few min walk, nice (2) cafe-restaurants on the beach directly with relatively cheap food and snacks
Sun> HOT
See> clear and awesome

HOTEL>
rooms. are spacious. with sufficient kitchen cutlery, no luxury, but budget standard..
bathroom has no outside window and the shower pressure was too low, the biggest drawback if you are sandy and cant wash the s**t down from your feet
although we were supposed to have double bed, we had twin-beds that liked to separate themselves from time to time...
balcony was big, but narrow, NO LIGHT!! and no small table for the bottle of wine
POOLS. the roof pool has a great view and is handy when you dont feel like beach, with bar service. i never tried the pool downstairs
FOOD. we tried the hotel resto just once, as the country has more to offer, burger was OK..no feelings :)

personal> if we had any trouble, they always promised to help, although they new its no possible (shower pressure). most of them were maltesian laid back relaxed but nice

generally: the hotel is good for beach, and malta discovery as it is between gozo and valetta. The night life was ..there was no night life..
i cant say i have an amazing impression of the place, but i have nothing bad to say either, malta has its magic and if you take what the island gives you you cant have a bad time there...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi Luke

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay overall.

If I may i will clarify a few points,
- Water pressure, we did have a few minor problems in one of our floors last year, there was a steady flow of water but not high pressure, however it has been dealt with and now the problem should have been fixed.
- Double bed, if you could specify this at the booking stage we always do our best and allocate a room with a double bed. This is dependent on availability.

Thanks again for a positive review!
Warm regards

Kyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Not the best hotel in the world but it doesn't claim to be. This property is a very good value for money option to be honest.

In many ways this hotel epitomises the spirit of Malta. Simple, authentic and welcoming. The staff were accommodating beyond their usual duties and the stay was at no point unpleasent. The room was a decent size for a couple of friends to share and even though we had a land view room is still had views of the sea. The roof top pool, even though its the smaller one, is where we spent our time as the views from on top of the hotel are exceptional.

The hotel is in a fantastic location close to the centre of Melliha and Melliha bay with easy access to public transport to get around the island.

For anyone looking to experience Malta staying in a good hotel with friendly staff for an affordable price, look no further.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi Aaron,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about us! I am happy to read that you enjoyed it :-) and happy to read that you find us to be good value for money.

Thanks once again, and feel free to drop me a mail should you decide to come back to stay with us:-)

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have stopped here twice and we would return for a third stay. The accommodation is in a good location in a beautiful town. We really enjoyed both our holidays here but we are not fussy people. This place is good if you want a friendly, fun, family holiday close to the beach that offers good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayaddict7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi there,

I am glad to read that it was your second stay with us, and that you are thinking of returning for a third.

Do drop me a mail when you decide to return :-)
Thanks so much once again!

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

A great hotel for a great price: large clean rooms, fabulous food, great pools, all in a lovely location.
Only negative was the bed - two singles pushed together but they were on wheels so moved around every time you did, which was a tad frustrating.
But overall a lovely hotel, would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi Amy,

Thanks for your review! glad you enjoyed it!

With regards to the beds, if you pop us an email before arriving we will try and allocate you a room with a double bed if available. We do have a limited number of rooms with double beds rather than singles.

Thanks again!

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.6 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
2.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
3.2 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Holiday Complex

Property: Luna Holiday Complex
Address: 15 Triq Il-Marfa, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9063, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mellieha
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#9 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Holiday Complex located in Mellieha Malta, is rated one of the best three star apart-hotels in Malta.DescriptionWhy Choose To Stay with us?The Luna Holiday Complex is situated in the heart of the north west of the Island in the town of Mellieha. Whilst this is a thriving tourist resort it still maintains it’s authentic Maltese charm by not being overly commercial. There are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants in the town to suit all tastes and budgets.Mellieha is well situated with direct bus services to the majority of the island including: the Airport, the Capital City of Valletta and the ferry terminals to Gozo and Comino.The Luna is located less than 300 metres from the best and longest beach in Malta, ‘Mellieha Bay’ and is only 15 minutes walk from the famous ‘Popeye Village’.At the Luna Holiday Complex we pride ourselves on giving a 4 star service at a 3 star price. We have a fantastic family of staff, speaking many different languages all ready and willing to give that little bit extra to ensure your holiday is one to remember.Within the Complex we have much to shout about. Once you’ve been welcomed by our staff on arrival the complex is yours to explore. We have a 24-hour reception with a great, informative team who can give you the best advice on tours and places to visit whilst in Malta. All tours can be booked directly through our reception staff. We also have free Wi-Fi and an Internet café in the reception area.We have two fantastic pools. The ground floor family pool is superbly located next to the main bar and the games room whilst our roof top pool has fabulous views of the Mellieha coastline, Red Tower and Mellieha church which is a must for relaxation and enjoying both the Maltese sunshine and sunset!There are three bars on site, with one open from 10am until 1am, which includes entertainment multiple nights a week from local artists. Our main restaurant is ‘Al Fresco’ (weather permitting) serving a great variety of food to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Luna Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Holiday Complex Mellieha
Luna Hotel Malta
Luna Holiday Complex Hotel Mellieha
Luna Holiday Complex Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing