We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
other travelers have booked this property
The residence
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The residence
Main Bedroom Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
6 reviews
The residence
Main Bedroom
Kitchen
Dining area
Lounge
Bar near lounge
Spare bedroom
The residence
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Mellieha, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tracebuck
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed June 21, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Four of us have just returned from a wonderful stay at Richard’s apartment. From the initial booking, to our arrival and during our stay, there was excellent communication from Richard. Our holiday went totally smoothly, we were picked up exactly on time from the airport by Julian, Richard’s driver. Richard was busy for two days, so we only met him on day 3 to pay the balance of the accommodation, transfers and car hire, which I thought was very trusting.
The apartment is very comfortable, spacious and well equipped, and the welcome pack was very well received. The car hire was well organised, with us using a Fiat Punto for 12 days, which was spacious enough for 4 adults, and compact enough to park easily, although perhaps a little underpowered for some of Malta’s steep hills! It got us to Gozo, and all over the main island, although we took a personal sat nav, which was very useful as the road signs on Malta aren’t too good in places.
The beautiful pool just outside the balcony gate was most welcoming after a day sightseeing, and was rarely busy. The beds were generously sized and comfortable, and the air conditioning offered relief from the heat.
We ate mostly at one of the numerous good value restaurants in Mellieha Bay, which are a 10 minute walk from the apartment, with many more available in town, up a steep hill if you are walking.
Richard was extremely helpful when we experienced an unexpected leak in the bathroom, attending straight away (on a Saturday), and keeping us informed of repairs.
We enjoyed a fabulous time for our first visit to Malta, and would not hesitate to recommend Richard’s beautiful apartment. My only comment (which is relevant to most of Malta) is that there are a number of steps to negotiate at the complex, which may not suit some with mobility issues, although a lift is available.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed at apartment 723 in Tas Sellum a couple of weeks ago and had an excellent time. Owner of the apartment kindly met us at the airport and provided directions to Mellieha and was also available if any problems cropped up (we hired our own transport independently). Found the apartment no problem even though it was 1 am. Richard had kindly left us some provisions in the fridge and the apartment was spotlessly clean! Apartment is very spacious, modern and exactly as advertised and seen in photos. On waking up on the first day we found that the apartment had all of the facilities and utilities you could think of even down to sets of wine glasses and a hairdryer. Breakfast on the 1st day was made easy as there was no need to rush to the supermarket on a Sunday due to the provisions which the apartment was stocked with.
The apartment complex was very clean with 2 medium sized swimming pools and plenty of on road parking. Our apartment was on the ground floor directly next to the swimming pool, with 3 terraces and sun loungers provided. As the pool access was limited to only 2 or 3 neighbouring apartment blocks the pool was never overcrowded.
During our stay we travelled all around Malta, Gozo and Comino and found that Mellieha was an excellent place to base ourselves from and was by far one of the nicest resorts (although eating out in Mellieha was a little pricey, so glad we were able to self-cater in the apartment). In short an absolutely great apartment and fantastic value for money, would definitely recommend a stay here and would go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities and Location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fay A
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely stunning”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Beautiful apartment, very spacious and well laid out, with all of the comforts of home.

Great location although slightly hilly and steep walk down to the beach but well worth the walk and wasnt a problem even with a double pushchair.

The pool is literally outside the apartment so great for families, couldnt have wished for a better apartment, the owner even stocked the fridge as we arrived late at night.

We were made to feel very welcome, we were able to keep the apartment until late evening on the day we left to conincide with our flight, at no extra cost, really felt the owner wanted us to have a good holiday rather than viewing us as tourists to make money from.

Melliah is a lovely part of Malta with a superb beach, highly recommend this for a slow paced relaxing family break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and extremely well equipped
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomersetB...
Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tas Sellum Apt 723”
Reviewed November 20, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this apartment for two weeks late in October early November 2012. There was just me and my wife occupying the apartment and we are both in our early 60's but still very active.

We booked this apartment because we were tempted by the expectation of staying in a 'luxury' apartment with a swimming pool (albeit shared with a few other apartments) and it was located in part of the island that was described as being quieter rather than some other 'more lively' parts of the island, the beach in Mellieha is regarded as one of the best in Malta and most importantly due to the fact that I snore rather loudly the two bedrooms meant that my wife and I could use both rooms and get a good night's sleep.

Ok this is a review of the apartment and not our holiday in Malta so I will try and give an honest evaluation of apartment 723.

The Pros

The owner Richard Zammit is a very friendly and helpful. Ryanair changed our flight time which meant that we would arrive in Malta just before midnight rather than mid morning - We informed Richard and he immediately offered to meet us at the airport so that he could show us the way to our apartment. Also, 3 days into our stay our hire car packed up - Richard spoke to Avis for us and made the arrangements for a replacement.

The apartment was spacious and swimming pool area was spotlessly clean. When we stayed the complex was quiet and only one other family used the pool the whole time we were there.

The Cons

I have to say that the apartment was average but I wouldn't put it into the 'luxury' bracket. I'm not sure how old this apartment is now but it is starting to look tired and in need of some TLC. The sofas are showing signs of wear and need replacing - they are not comfortable especially when you are spending two weeks in the apartment.

There were a couple of coaxial covers either missing or hanging of the wall - the standard of painting in the apartment was average with sockets and light switches painted over and paint spilling over onto tiles etc.

The hanging rails in the wardrobe area in the master bedroom were broken and had been repaired with tape.

The bin in the en-suite was a cheap old rusty bin with no bin liners.

The bin in the kitchen had no top and therefore all of our waste and associated smells were exposed.

The grouting to the floor tiles was originally prepared in a white grout which has now discoloured and does not enhance the cleanliness of the apartment.

The main kitchen sink mixer taps were loose and wobbly and had to be handled with care to ensure that it wasn't broken completely.

Some of the bulbs had blown and needed replacing.

A door to the tv unit was broken and needed repairing.

One of the drawers in the master bedroom would not close and was wedged closed with a piece of cardboard.

The kitchen cutlery, crockery and utensils were serviceable but again more akin to student accommodation rather than luxury accommodation.

The pillows were filled with squares of foam and were not comfortable.

Richard had forgotten that we wanted to use both bedrooms and therefore the second bedroom was not made up and we spent the fortnight sleeping on the spare blankets.

Richard had forgotten to tell his cleaners of our booking and we spent the two weeks with the same bed linen and towels and we had to clean the apartment.

The apartment itself is part of a very nice complex but the complex itself is in the middle of a building site with roads (even for Malta standards) that are unmade and extremely difficult to negotiate.

The apartment is, in my opinion, not within walking distance to the beach - there are a couple of steep hills to negotiate and even in my younger days the walk would have taken 15 minutes - if I had young children I wouldn't like to have to make this walk every day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Richard Zammit
Liked least: No cleaning or replacing of towels and bed linen
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 6, 2012
As this was nearing the end of the season, certain things definately needed attention, in fact a new sofa and armchair had already been ordered. However most of the other needs could not beattended as we always have great occupancy with no time to refurbish, paint, etc. This is always done late December to early January when we have the apartment free from guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 3, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: How spacious the apartment was
Liked least: The pillows
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
birmingham
Reviewed March 30, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing