We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“A very special Place”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view from bedroom balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
15 reviews
view from bedroom balcony
floorplan of apartment
Il Ghadira beach (15 min walk - malta's largest sandy beach)
View from balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mellieha, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lynn081
belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not for young Children!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
4
people found this review helpful

The apartment was in very good condition and was very clean. Feargal the owner was very pleasant to deal with and mostly the apartment itself lived up to expectation.
However the location was almost inaccessible on foot, the roads are some of the steepest I have seen and the footpaths are in very poor condition. Trying to negotiate the journey to the shop or the beach with buggies was difficult on the way down and a mammoth task on the way back. We only left the apartment once a day as the struggle with the children and buggies was not for the faint hearted and we couldn't face the task any more than once a day. Trying to get groceries back to the apartment was un uphill struggle all the way. There didn't seem to be Taxis in the vicinity as you would get in most resorts so the groceries had be lugged all the way.The apartment complex is accessed steep stone staircase secured by a locked gate on the side of a steep hill, getting the children and buggies up the steps was a massive struggle not helped by the fact that the narrow footpath is on a 1 in 3 slope so leaving the buggy with the break on whilst unloading children and groceries was not very reassuring.
The apartment complex was very unfriendly to children. We along with other families on the site had toddlers, the pool is deep and there is no child pool so bought a paddling pool for our children (as did the other family) only to be told on no uncertain terms that NO inflatables are allowed (this included armbands and life jackets). This made use of the pool impossible for us as the toddlers were unsafe in the adult pool. There were only two sunbeds provided with the apartment which would happily sleep six adults, so only two people could lie by the pool at any one time as there are NO sunbeds provided around the pool area. To sit by the pool we had to carry the sunbeds from the apartment each day and take them in if we were to leave the pool area for anymore than two hours (this is one of the many rules of the complex) We couldn't make use of the balcony to relax as it was little more than two foot wide and was surrounded by a four foot solid wall, so if you did struggle to get a chair or sunbed wedged on to the balcony you couldn't see anything other than the wall.
The immediate area was very steep and the footpaths in very poor condition. On the plus side the beeches in the resort are sandy and flat and when we did make the difficult journey to get there we at least could enjoy a few hours of relaxation before making the uphill trek back to the apartment.
I would NOT recommend this area for anyone with young children.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The apratment was very clean
Liked least: The very intollerant attitude to Children and the inaccesability
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 24, 2013
We cant deny that there is a steep rise from the sea to the apartment - in order to get those views there are some trade offs. If you want to avoid steps getting to the apartment, you can go through the garage with the remote and use the lift. With regard to not being able to use a paddling pool next to the main pool, unfortunately there was a complaint from an owner as it was left next to the pool all the time and was being constantly re-filled with water from the pool.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie V
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very special Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic holiday in Malta - it was the first time we had visited. This apartment in Mellieha (which is one of the quieter resorts) is beautiful, very spacious, clean and comfortable. The air conditioning was essential for us as the temperatures reached the high 30's during our stay. A lot of the time we had the pool to ourselves and the apartment is on a hill which gives a very welcome breeze when you're sunbathing! There is a local shop where you can buy bread, milk, cheeses, meat etc and some very nice bars and restaurants nearby. The local people are very welcoming, friendly and helpful - we visited during the festivities in the village and had a great time. I would definitely recommend this apartment.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The space and comfort of the apartment
Liked least: The balcony wasn't big enough for a table to be able to eat out
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill_2k6
Stockton-on-Tees
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely Apartment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay at the apartment, it is spacious and has a fantastic view over Mellihea Bay. The balcony was too small for a table and chairs like most of the other apartments had, it would have been lovely to eat out on the balcony.We were a little disappointed with the lack of television chanels especially as we had young adults with us. Having wifi made up for the lack of TV chanels with our children. Nick the apartment manager was very helpful and it was reasurring to know he was there if you needed him. The pool was very clean and regularly attended to.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Beautiful view
Liked least: Small balcony
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Modern, clean, quiet
Liked least: Tv channels available (no BBC) and moderate kitchen equipment
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
georgina...
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“spacious apartment with lovely views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We booked as a family of 6 including an 89 year old and a 7 month old. It was very clean & there was a nice welcome pack of provisions on arrival. The problem with the wi-fi was fixed quickly thanks to the helpful local agent. We loved the peace and quiet and we had the pool almost to ourselves, though it was a bit chilly due to being early season. The biggest downside was having to carry chairs up & down to pool area when we wanted to sunbathe there. Also, there were only 2 sun loungers for a party of 5 adults, so 3 people had to sit on the dining room chairs- not too comfy! The balconies are small, but the views from the windows in the lounge are fantastic. We recommend hiring a car as the hills are steep and hard work in the sun! There are some good restaurants/bars within walking distance and there are also plenty of places to visit by bus or car. We had a wonderful day in Gozo which is worth a visit. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and the booking process was straightforward.

Liked best: The views, spaciousness and the quiet.
Liked least: not having poolside chairs
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2013
there are now 6 sunbeds in the apartment as of July 15th, 2013.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Pedantic
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Swansea, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: View, pool, open plan communal space.
Liked least: No tin opener and broken corkscrew in the kitchen!!!!
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing