We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced Take Away”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Riviera Blue

Riviera Blue
Ranked #55 of 110 Restaurants in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: owner:Louis Muscat, Maltese based dishes with italian/english menu
carviero
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overpriced Take Away”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were based in the Tas Sellum apartments 5 minutes walk from this "restuarant". As it had a big sign saying take away we decided to try a mixed fish salad and take it back to the apartment. We ordered a couple of ciders while it was prepared. On the menu the salad was priced at 9 euro 50. We were charged 17 euros all in. We thought it was the cider that was overpriced. Later we found a reciept in the takeaway bag and the salad had been charged at 12 euros 50 !!! I think that 9 euro 50 was dear, 12 euros 50 is extortionate. The salad was good although I would avoid the prawns but the price was rediculous. We did not occupy a table, did not use their crockery or cutlery and they did not have to do any washing up. I would not recommend this restuarant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Saddleworth
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“good local cuisine”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

the service was very good, the prices were good and the food was what you expect it to be. give it a try.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SaddleworthClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NEVER JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS COVER”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

this proverb defintely applies here. The food is always delicious and well cooked and prices are reasonable. Lewis the chef owner is a great cook and has a number of maltese dishes on his menu that others dont. Try the Imqarrun ( baked macaroni) very tasty. Fried Rabbit is sensational. - definitely the best on the island as far as I am concerned - and yes I have eaten at restaurants in Mgarr!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edd____123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Essex
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very good Maltese food”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

What a lovely unassuming little place! As mentioned in the previous review it was full of locals which influenced our choice, that always means that food sold there will be good and not overpriced. We wanted to try local dishes and they have nice selection of Maltese dishes including delicious fried rabbit and rabbit stew. Selection of fish looked ineresting - gruper, red scorpio and others I never heard of but we didn't have the chance to try. It is not stunning looking place with fancy food but the food they serve is mouthwattering. I would recommend to give it a try.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank haswells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
287 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

this little restaurant doesnt look much from the outside but the food is excellent, situated just to the left of the luna holiday complex in Mellieha, Malta it mixes local food, Braglioli(really good),rabbit stew with more trad stuff like carbanara/steaks etc.My Wife had the homemade Beef Burger(5.90 e), not normally a burger person but because of previous visit with friends new it would be good, and she wasnt disapointed, I asked for braglioli but they had just sold the last one's(as soon as they are made they go, they are very good) so went for Carbanara (7.50e), fantastic portion with so much bacon, really enjoyable. if your in the area give it a try.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevebillericay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riviera Blue also viewed

 
Mellieha, Island of Malta
Mellieha, Island of Malta
 
Mellieha, Island of Malta
Mellieha, Island of Malta
 

Been to Riviera Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing