We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap, but you get what you pay for!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Apple's Eye

Apple's Eye
Ranked #26 of 111 Restaurants in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cheap, but you get what you pay for!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We ate here once while staying at the Radisson.
To be honest it wasn't great.
We fancied a change of scene as after a few days the hotel food can get a bit samey. It was cheap so if you are looking to save a few euros you will find it's half the price you would pay in the Radisson or at Munchies down the hill. You really do get what you pay for though. I had a pizza, ate one slice and left the rest. My boyfriend had the burger and said it was awful. The garlic bread we had to start was very nice though!
We paid for some ice cream to take away so we could eat it on the beach, after we paid we were pretty much left to our own devices to try and explain to the lady on the ice cream counter that we had paid already and what we wanted. She gave us two scoops of ice cream in the plastic cup... think of the ones you get in an office water machine.
Wouldn't really recommend, if you are looking for quality visit Munchies down the hill.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2 Thank CharlieLMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheApplesEye, Manager at Apple's Eye, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Client,

Primarily I must apologise for not meeting your expectations. May I point out that we always aim to satisfy our clients' requests to the full and our team in the kitchen strive to present genuine dishes to our clientele all the time. In your circumstance, it would have been ideal if you actually complained about your pizza and burger during your visit at the restaurant so that we could have verified what was awful with your food there and then.

There seemed also to be some sort of misunderstanding while consuming your ice-cream. As you might have been told or have read the signs, the service during the day is a self-service one whereby you place your order and pay at the cash point and get provided with the ice-cream immediately. In the evenings the system is transformed to a waiter service one whereby you pay for all your consumptions at the very end. From your review, you seem to have paid for your ice-cream while placing your food order so we might have made an exception in your case. We apologise if this has created some confusion. I suggest that you pay for your ice-cream and retrieve it immediately next time you visit our premises during the day as we do like you to visit again.

We also apologise if you didn't like the plastic cups you were provided with to eat your ice-cream outside our premises.


Melanie Cassar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food and nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We organised a school reunion on the roof terrace, we enjoyed the sunset with its warm sunny feeling, the food was realy good, and the service was personal, while we will look forward to organise another event in the near future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rassac54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great little place, tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

The terrace has a fantastic view of the beach and the coast. The menu is varied with something for everyone. We enjoyed sitting outside drinking local wine and eating homemade cake watching the sunset. a short walk from the Golden Sands, it's nice to eat outside the hotel sometimes.
On the walls are photos of the filming of Troy, very casual dining but the food menu is good, rabbit is highly recommended, friendly attentive staff, excellent service. You will love it.

Visited June 2013
Thank TheHardings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Good food with a nice view over Golden Beach. Ideal stop for either a meal or just a drink or an ice cream.

Visited August 2013
Thank Annikits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance. Little price. Not bad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

You sit on the patio overlooking the beach and the sea. The view is the same as Radisson Blu's Essence although you will be paying about one-third the price. The food is not bad, but not exceptional. Service is good. It's just walking across the parking lot from the hotel, so it's where you want to go if you are tired of pricey hotel food.

Visited July 2013
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apple's Eye also viewed

Mellieha, Island of Malta
Mellieha, Island of Malta
Mellieha, Island of Malta
Mellieha, Island of Malta

Been to Apple's Eye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing