We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great second stay but no towels on the final day until 1pm?”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hollywood Mirage Tenerife
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Arona
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great second stay but no towels on the final day until 1pm?”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

My parents have a timeshare here so this was my second visit to the resort in the space of three years.

Rooms are well looked after by the maids in fact this applies for the resort as a whole.

The entertainment team of Marco and Bruno are great and for those who like their pool/poolside sports most of the time there is something going. There were certainly a few funny moments during my stay from the pair of them!

As a member of the gym/spa area which entitled you to use of their towels, what I do find bizarre is the fact that I got a letter through my room to say I would be fined 10 euros if my towel was not returned in time the following day. Surely I am doing the resort a favour by keeping this rather than them having to provide new towels each day?

Following on from this, on my final day I went down to get my towel for the day only for the spa staff to turn around and tell me that there were no towels available at all. This was not because I had arrived late at all (I was at the pool for 11am this hadn't been a problem in the days prior). I think if guests were able to keep their towels across their stay it would help the situation greatly.

This is the only point I would like to raise my concerns because apart from this I had a great stay and I am looking forward to coming back in the future. It is however simply unacceptable that I had to wait until 1pm before a fresh batch of towels had arrived.

Room Tip: If you like catching the last rays of sun for the day, get a room that looks down upon Los Cristiano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RFCSG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo G, Public Relations Manager at Hollywood Mirage Tenerife, responded to this review, February 13, 2015
Dear RFCSG10,

Thank you for your feedback. Our mission is for you to enjoy your holiday in a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere and all our team is working to make your stay a successful one. We are therefore very happy to hear that you and your family had a lovely holiday.

Customer feedback is very important to us so be assured that your suggestions have been taken into account by all our team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,

The Hollywood Mirage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    351
    148
    37
    18
See reviews for
398
383
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Resort is very nice and very clean. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed our stay here very much and would definitely recommend it for a family holiday. The pool areas are nice and the rooms are spacious and clean. We found the Hollywood Mirage very good and would definitely return in the future.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AgL1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo G, Public Relations Manager at Hollywood Mirage Tenerife, responded to this review, February 13, 2015
Dear AgL1943,

Thank you from the team for your lovely review of your stay with us!

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and found our staff to be pleasant and helpful.

We very much look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes,

The Hollywood Mirage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great place, plenty of room for improvement.

Spent two weeks here in May. This is a little out of the main strip which is nice, but the steep hill is certainly not for the faint hearted so if you want to be out and about on a daily basis and are too tight to splash out on a cab, this is not the place fore you. So, here goes....

Pros: excellent standard of accommodation, very clean spacious apartments. great pool, always manned and clean. Good facilities - gym etc, some good events and games throughout the day, nothing too heavy or pushy though - just right. Evening entertainment won't offend anyone. Staff very attentive and excellent if you have any queries.

Cons: kids club - closed for the full 2 weeks as lady is on holiday, over English half term, not good. Prices charged in the on-site supermarket are nothing short of scandalous, with some stuff double what it is down the road. Swimming pool bar: truly awful service, long long wait for food and the food was appalling, including mould on my sandwich and generally very poor quality ingredients. This should be addressed immediately. Free courtesy bus: never enough spaces 1st thing. Life guards: one minute all inflatables are banned, the next you can't swim a width without getting pelted with various inflatable missiles - make your mind up what the policy is. Wi-Fi, 25 euros for a week, not ok.

Would I recommend? yes, would I go back? probably yes, but this place has a golden opportunity to address some relatively small issues to become an excellent holiday destination.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ibbo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Management Company Representative at Hollywood Mirage Tenerife, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your constructive feedback which has been noted. For your information there now is a free Wi-Fi zone within the resort. We hope to be given the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and will endeavour to improve wherever possible so that Hollywood Mirage Club continues to be an excellent holiday resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
268 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Overall, we had a great stay at the Hollywood Mirage and we would stay again. Our Studio in the John Wayne part of the resort had a great view and was really nice - it was very good value as we had a great price from our holiday club.

The hotel restaurant and night life could be a lot better. Some of the entertainment was a bit silly - two Spanish guys trying to sing Queen songs was really crazy with their accents. Okay, it was free and we had a laugh. I must add that on the flip-side 'The Eagles' tribute band was really good!

The biggest issue to mention was the gym/spa area. We paid extra to get the hotels gym card. There were two ladies that worked this area. One was Spanish and the other must have been from Eastern Europe - the second lady had a poor attitude. She cut off the sauna when my wife was in it - lights out and a simple sorry I am closing at 8PM. The hours of the gym are 10am to 8pm... On several days - the ladies steam room was not working or the sauna or the Jacuzzi was luke warm. The attitude was 'well someone needs to tell me'- it should have been that the gym rep actually set up and ensured all of the facilities were working properly and if closing is 8pm then a courtesy reminder 10-15 mins prior that the facilities will close should be the standard practice.

The hotel is on a hill but has a great bus service that drops you at the beach and shopping... we walked it several times up and down and it was not problem for us - but we are not the target families or over 55 client-base. We also went to the gym on our holiday which most seemed to avoid and just relaxed.

Lastly, the hotel grocery was a nice attribute and even though their prices were a bit higher than most they offered some really nice opportunities like a cooked chicken and a bottle of wine. It was super convenient and the staff was friendly too.

Room Tip: Check the room out before unpacking and make sure that you are happy with it... our room was fine bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RATMANDUDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo G, Public Relations Manager at Hollywood Mirage Tenerife, responded to this review, February 13, 2015
Dear Robert T,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad that you found our offer to be of good value.

Customer feedback is very important to us and we have noted your comments about the gym/spa area. Our main commitment is to offer the best vacation to our guests, based on the provision of professional service and high quality products. Please be assured that your suggestions are taken on board by all our team.

We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Best wishes,

The Hollywood Mirage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Hotel about 3 star. Beds lumpy and uncomfortable although apartments are nice inside. No docking stations. If you want to wi fi it costs 25euros per mobile. They charge for complimentary food pack that they don't mention about. If you don't want them take them back to reception. The complex is nice and staff are nice and friendly. Free bus drops you off at Los Christiania and las Americas but all taxis are reasonable if you don't want to wait for bus back. Beware about the meeting if you go on as aVIPSilverpoint meeting, they will say it is a 90 minute meeting but when we get there they have to keep you at least 31/2 hours. Then after that they try to get you back in to fill in a questionnaire.
Resort very nice and weather brilliant. If you want a quite part of the resort, head for adeje and we'll worth a jar or two at las Olas restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deggers4363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo G, Public Relations Manager at Hollywood Mirage Tenerife, responded to this review, February 13, 2015
Dear deggers4363,

We want to thank you for choosing the Hollywood Mirage for your stay in Tenerife and we really appreciate your comments. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your apartment and found our staff to be nice and friendly.

We have taken your comments very seriously, so please be assured that we are working on remedial measures to correct any deficiencies that our customers indicate.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best wishes,

The Hollywood Mirage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We owned at Hollywood Mirage between 1990 & 2000 the resort is as well maintained now as when it opened. Check-in was much easier than when we owned also no key to leave at Reception when leaving the resort as replaced by a key card which is also required for the courtesy bus. The bonus of our three week stay was that our apartment was ready on our arrival & we remained in the same apartment for the whole three weeks.

Helpful?
Thank granny4144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hollywood Mirage is very clean, very friendly, very efficient and well appointed with restaurant, entertainment, shop spa and buses. There is a really good block to be in (Jane Mansfield) and the others are not quite so good. We were in room 3326 and the balcony, view, privacy and comfort were absolutely excellent.
No complaints - quite the opposite. Loads of hot water, good facilities, quiet and effective air conditioning and reasonably good TV reception (though who needs it?).
The hill is not an issue - free buses, cheap taxis or good exercise!!

Room Tip: Try for Jane Mansfield block of apartments (rooms start with "3" eg 3326)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo G, Public Relations Manager at Hollywood Mirage Tenerife, responded to this review, February 13, 2015
Dear Bill Y,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a lovely feedback about your stay. We are thrilled to hear that you found our resort to be of excellent comfort and that you enjoyed our friendly staff.

We very much hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,

The Hollywood Mirage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arona
0.6 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#7 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,070 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel H10 Big Sur
Hotel H10 Big Sur
#1 of 14 in Los Cristianos
1,893 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Labranda Reveron Plaza
Labranda Reveron Plaza
#4 of 14 in Los Cristianos
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suites at Beverly Hills
0.2 mi away
Paradise Park Fun Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Mirage Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Mirage Tenerife

Property: Hollywood Mirage Tenerife
Address: Urb. Oasis Del Sur, 38650, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Arona
#5 Luxury Hotel in Arona
#6 Family Hotel in Arona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Arona
Hotel Class:4 star — Hollywood Mirage Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the south side of Tenerife in the Canary Islands, the Hollywood Mirage is a resort that will allow you to indulge some star spangled glamour while on your family holiday. The resort itself is styled to recall a more classic bygone age of splendor and elegance, but even so, visitors can still enjoy facilities offering aerobic classes, table tennis and other fun activities. Each suite is fully equipped and sleeps up to six adults in complete comfort. The resort is only a short drive from the charming seaside resort town of Los Cristianos. You can take in the stunning beaches, enjoy the splendid, year-round sunny climate and explore the beaches that are mere minutes from the Hollywood Mirage. There is a free, hourly bus service between the Hollywood Mirage and sister resorts, the Beverly Hills Club and Beverly Hills Heights. A warm climate, superb style, fantastic beaches and a buzzing nightlife that means you'll continue having fun even after the sun has set; Tenerife knows how to put on a show for her guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hollywood Mirage Tenerife Arona
Hollywood Mirage Tenerife Canary Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing