We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hollywood Mirage Tenerife
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Arona
Certificate of Excellence
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good spot”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Nice location, but a good walk into town (loads of taxis though)
We were in the Heights (above the Mirage) and have been back a couple of times.
Very relaxed, and quiet (in September)
Staff all very good
Rooms are not exciting but very practical

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo G, Public Relations Manager at Hollywood Mirage Tenerife, responded to this review, February 9, 2015
Dear Barry P,

We are currently reviewing our customer feedback and we really appreciate your comments.

Best wishes,

The Hollywood Mirage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    363
    153
    37
    20
See reviews for
410
400
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were offered a 'cheap' holiday to Teneriffe. The 'catch' was that we had to attend a presentation - this lasted five and a half hours and was aimed at getting us to buy time share points. The Hollywood Mirage was a very clean complex with an outdoor pool, gym complex, beauty salon and well stocked supermarket. There was a restaurant and pool bar which also sold food. As a vegetarian however it was the usual scenario - only two items on the restaurant menu that i could eat. The mushroom risotto was ok but not inspiring and over priced. We did eat out at other local restaurants which had a wider selection for vegetarians and were cheaper in price. I went on a couple of trips, one up mount teide which was amazing and one around the island which was ok except there was no vegetarian option on the lunch menu and nowhere else to go to eat, meaning that 6 of us had no lunch! My tip - if you are vegetarian remember to take a packed lunch on whole day trips! Overall a good place to take a holiday though the presentation went on far too long and was pressurised selling at its worst.

Room Tip: Unfortunately you had no say as to which room was allocated to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo G, Public Relations Manager at Hollywood Mirage Tenerife, responded to this review, February 9, 2015
Dear Nigel S,

We are currently reviewing our customer feedback and we really appreciate your comments.

Best wishes,

The Hollywood Mirage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have just returned home from a one bed studio apartment in the Hollywood Mirage.

The room had air conditioning, fans, two single beds and a double couch which was also a pull out bed with a lovely view of the quiet pool (charlie chaplin block).

We couldnt fault the complex, it had everything you needed, shop, bar, restaurant, choice of pools, gym, bowling alley, cable tv with bbc itv sky news and mtv along others.

Although it was high up on a hill perhaps a ten minute walk from the main strip you didnt need to ever leave the complex as it had everything you needed. also there was a courtesy bus taking you to the main strip from 10 to 6 and was always on time.

We were on a promotional holiday so spent a few hours with a rep who was a complete gent and understood we felt we were too young to commit to buying a week at the resort, but for anyone who can afford this i would see it as a great investment

great entertainment in the evening too, elton john was brilliant.

Every day the animation team would go around chatting with people and having aqua gym, pool and darts

a really lovely clean family feel hotel, would love to go back, cannot fault it

Room Tip: charlie chaplin overlooks the quiet pool, if you can go to the busier pool as there is more going on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whatwaytothebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo G, Public Relations Manager at Hollywood Mirage Tenerife, responded to this review, February 9, 2015
Dear Laura M,

We are currently reviewing our customer feedback and we really appreciate your comments.

Best wishes,

The Hollywood Mirage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Our room was fantastic, however the BUT relates to the poolside bar and restaurant as the service was atrocious at times. For example I was stood at the bar waiting to be served, directly opposite a waiter, who totally ignored me and proceeded to argue with his colleague for several minutes. We planned to dine at the restaurant one night and sat down, ordered drinks and after 15 minutes they still had not arrived, it was far from busy that night. To be fair the waiter apologised the following day and gave us a discount voucher to use towards our next restaurant visit, we didn't go back though. Buy your soft drinks from the supermarket as a pint of coke costs over 3 euros from the bar whereas you can buy a large bottle for much less. There's a large supermarket around 5 mins down the stairs that sells fresh produce at lower prices than the on site mart.

There are plenty restaurants with a 5 minute walk albeit you need to walk uphill on your way back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Memay97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo G, Public Relations Manager at Hollywood Mirage Tenerife, responded to this review, February 9, 2015
Dear Memay97,

We are currently reviewing our customer feedback and we really appreciate your comments.

Best wishes,

The Hollywood Mirage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a quiet complex probably suitable for middle aged/elderly holiday makers due to the style of entertainment and facilities provided. HOWEVER my sister and I are both in our mid 20's and love to come here for a nice quiet relaxed break in the sun. Staff are always friendly and very accomadating. There are a good range of activities going on around the complex during the day. There is free transport into Los Cristianos and Los Americas as this complex is situated on quite a steep hill (definitely not suitable for people with walking difficulties or medical conditions worsened by strenuous exercise) Food in the complex is very expensive but there are many good restaurants around the resort just within decent walking distance (Biancos, Taurus and Mongolian). Highly reccomend this facility for anybody looking for a nice relaxing break in the Tenerifian sun.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo G, Public Relations Manager at Hollywood Mirage Tenerife, responded to this review, February 9, 2015
Dear Rachel M,

We are currently reviewing our customer feedback and we really appreciate your comments.

Best wishes,

The Hollywood Mirage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just home after 2 week stay in Grace Kelly block at the Hollywood Mirage. We are not owners at this timeshare resort and were mainly very pleased with our 1 bedroom apartment and the complex. Our 3rd floor room bordered the Quiet Pool (not quite so quiet when there were children present and on one occasion when one guest 'shared' her music with us).There was no view from the apartment (unless you leaned & looked over the edge of the balcony wall, down to the pool) only a view of other apartments (pity). There was also no shade on the balcony after midday and with no parasol , we found it difficult to use the space when it as very hot. However it was nice to have two loungers along with table and chairs. The room was well maintained, with a good kitchen and lounge area. The satellite TV had BBC & ITV channels and there was a powerful shower over the bath (always plenty of hot water). The bedroom window looked into the corridor, which was disappointing as we couldn't then open the curtains. Apartments are cleaned every day except Sundays. However one day only the bins were emptied and on another the room was cleaned but the bed left unmade. Staff were generally friendly. The lifeguard 'Lopez' was exceptionally kind and helpful at the Quiet Pool, assisting my husband who was walking with crutches, There were plenty of free sun beds at the Quite Pool whilst we were there and towels were available (changed twice per week). The only lunch meal we had by the main pool was fine and there's a handy but somewhat expensive supermarket on site (there is another supermarket which is cheaper quite close by). WiFi is 6 euros per day. The courtesy bus was very useful, running from 10am - 6pm, going down to Los Christianos and Playa de Las Americas, with very friendly & helpful staff. We didn't use the entertainment facilities but there was something on every night and apart from the BBQ night (29 euros pre person) there was no noise. Although it was a 20 min walk to the beach front, even my husband did not find the walk too onerous (even up hill!) Taxis are plentiful and relatively good value. Even better, are the Titsa buses which are very cheap, if you buy a prepaid ticket and go all over the island. All in all I think it is one of the better timeshare resorts (and I have stayed in many) and would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyD163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo G, Public Relations Manager at Hollywood Mirage Tenerife, responded to this review, February 9, 2015
Dear LesleyD163,

We are currently reviewing our customer feedback and we really appreciate your comments.

Best wishes,

The Hollywood Mirage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We only needed a base, rather than luxury, so this complex suited us well. We had a studio one bed apartment which was a reasonable size but definitely due a refurb (although we were told this had already been done). Food on site was average, breakfast fairly poor....scrambled eggs had been fried (yes, really) in what smelled like dirty oil. It was inedible.. However the staff were very friendly and polite and did whatever they could to help. If you like hill walking, this is the place for you as it's on top of a very steep hill, hard work in the heat. If you have children or mobility problems then this might be a challenge although plenty of taxi's and a shuttle bus service too. Overall, not one of the best places we've stayed in but it wasn't bad either. Only downside were the very uncomfortable beds....plastic coated mattress so very sweaty, and rock hard pillows. Probably wouldn't return but that's just personal preference.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delia01_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo G, Public Relations Manager at Hollywood Mirage Tenerife, responded to this review, February 9, 2015
Dear Delia01_10

We are currently reviewing our customer feedback and we really appreciate your comments.

Best wishes,

The Hollywood Mirage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arona
0.6 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#6 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,157 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel H10 Big Sur
Hotel H10 Big Sur
#1 of 14 in Los Cristianos
1,954 reviews
0.8 mi away
Labranda Reveron Plaza
Labranda Reveron Plaza
#2 of 14 in Los Cristianos
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
#4 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,328 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,876 reviews
4.9 mi away
Marino Tenerife
Marino Tenerife
#2 of 5 in Costa del Silencio
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Mirage Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Mirage Tenerife

Property: Hollywood Mirage Tenerife
Address: Urb. Oasis Del Sur, 38650, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Arona
#5 Luxury Hotel in Arona
#6 Family Hotel in Arona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Arona
Hotel Class:4 star — Hollywood Mirage Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the south side of Tenerife in the Canary Islands, the Hollywood Mirage is a resort that will allow you to indulge some star spangled glamour while on your family holiday. The resort itself is styled to recall a more classic bygone age of splendor and elegance, but even so, visitors can still enjoy facilities offering aerobic classes, table tennis and other fun activities. Each suite is fully equipped and sleeps up to six adults in complete comfort. The resort is only a short drive from the charming seaside resort town of Los Cristianos. You can take in the stunning beaches, enjoy the splendid, year-round sunny climate and explore the beaches that are mere minutes from the Hollywood Mirage. There is a free, hourly bus service between the Hollywood Mirage and sister resorts, the Beverly Hills Club and Beverly Hills Heights. A warm climate, superb style, fantastic beaches and a buzzing nightlife that means you'll continue having fun even after the sun has set; Tenerife knows how to put on a show for her guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hollywood Mirage Tenerife Arona
Hollywood Mirage Tenerife Canary Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing