We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed opinion”
Review of Hollywood Mirage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hollywood Mirage
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Arona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Hi there
We've just stayed @ the Hollywood mirage...
Room no 4208...!!!! ( which had a lousy smell from the ensuit bathroom...!
The rooms are clean refurb's & have all you need ( home from home )
However block 4 doesn't have a view unless your on the 5th floor.
The Hollywood is at the top of a very steep hill so you do feel away from everything inc decent super markets & resturaunts...( very expensive on site )..
The pool isn't the biggest but there are 2..(.quiet smaller pool) & The main pool has entertainment through the day by the 1 & only MARCO..... He is an absolute gem....!!!!
If you are visiting this hotel please make sure you gain as much info as possible ie... Free bus times & routes.. Evening entertainment & also the free towels that can be changed daily in the gym....
We found most of this info nearer the end of our stay...
Over all this hotel is worth a visit... We just wished we had a view without a smell...!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Silinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo G, Public Relations Manager at Hollywood Mirage, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2015

Dear Silinda,

We are currently reviewing our customer feedback and we really appreciate your comments.

Best wishes,

The Hollywood Mirage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is timeshare Gold Crown standard. We have owned a similar standard for 21 years and it doesn't get an awful lot better than this unless you go to USA or pay for luxury boutique style accommodation. We had a 1 bedroom apartment which we 'exchanged' two weeks for in the John Wayne block and we can highly recommend that block for the view and tranquility (it doesn't overlook the pool which is noisy). The apartment looked to have been recently refurbished and was to a very high standard. Tremendous views, excellent room service - couldn't have wished for more! Staff were without exception excellent, welcoming and very helpful - no complaints on that score.

On-site shop which is not overpriced. Plenty of local 'supermercados' close by so there is plenty of competition to keep prices low. Roast chickens to order from both on-site and local. A number of restaurants close by of 'variable' quality, these will not sustain the discerning foodie for a week let alone two! Los Cristianos is awash with 'very good' quality restaurants and we walked down and back every night for 14 nights to access these. It also meant that the exercise used up calories inputted!! We would return if only to access the excellent restaurants in LC, many of which we didn't get time to try. All these are very strong positives!

The buts ..........!

With the heights, hills and mirage - there is simply too much accommodation and not enough pool space! The main pool is bedlum personified. A menagerie of screaming kids, loud music and beer in plastic glasses. A bit like McDonalds in the sun on adrenaline:-(

Advice - go to the quiet pool or to the heights pool. Certainly go to the heights pool bar which is billed as a 'tranquil haven' - it is and you get beer in a proper glass! Beer at the resort is €2.25 a pint compared to €0.95 in LC! This is still much cheaper than resorts on Gran Canaria and Lanzarote which are often closer to €5 a pint. We didn't eat at any of the pool bars or on-site restaurants. The food appeared to be anything with chips because it is more convenient than walking 1.2 miles into LC. The bins were full of pizza take-away boxes from Bella Roma which is about 50m away!

The complex seemed teaming with 'promotional' tours at £99/week! I guess times are hard but this meant that there were a lot of people staying who were there for a 'cheapie'. I guess what I am saying is that it lowered the tone for long-term timeshare owners. More of a market place than a high quality timeshare.

The pools are aligned on a north-south axis which means that half the pool is in the shade in the morning and half the pool is in the shade in the afternoon. BIG PROBLEM because in the main season there isn't enough sunbeds or enough room to allow you to change position after mid-day. This was very unsatisfactory for sun worshippers like us and meant a lot of reserving and jostling for prime position.

Extra charges - wi-fi (this was a good strength in the John Wayne block), the safe, pool towels changed of a daily basis, gym membership. This will add at least €100 to your stay.

All this said, would I return? Yes - but not in the main season!

Room Tip: The John Wayne block is a great position!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Xante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Management Company Representative at Hollywood Mirage, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for your constructive feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

unbelievable!!!!! this place is beautiful. from inside the rooms which have everything you will need.beautiful balconies to watch the sunsets and grocery store right on the property. two pools, they were quite crowded, they can probably use another pool. rooms are huge and modern. loved this place

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 450dominic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo G, Public Relations Manager at Hollywood Mirage, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2015

Dear 450dominic,

We are currently reviewing our customer feedback and we really appreciate your comments.

Best wishes,

The Hollywood Mirage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We went to this hotel for the first time (myself, girlfriend and 2 children) and we enjoyed it immensely. The actual hotel itself is clean, well managed and enjoyable. We arrived on the 26th of July and stayed for a week in a 2 floor, single bedroom apartment.

Initially we were taken back by the quality of the apartment being on 2 floors. This was unexpected and we though this was great being as we had 2 children that we needed to separate from the main bedroom. The addition of an extra bathroom really provided us with some privacy from the kids. The apartment was clean, tidy and provided all of the things we needed for our stay.

There was a supply bag which the hotel charges 4.95 for, however you can go to reception and say you don't need it. We ended up going to the shop to get the supplies then found out that this was in the room.

The bed was comfortable with no problems. Both bathrooms were clean and worked as expected. The upstairs bath is quite high to step into, however this did not cause a problem for us.

The pool entertainment in the day we great from the Animation Team. They went over and beyond to entertain everyone. With the addition of Marco to the team, this provided entertainment for everyone. Due to the popularity of this, then the pool area became quite busy by 10am. This resulted in a lot of people coming out early and leaving their towels on the beds and coming back at about 11am to soak up the sun. The staff are trying to manage this by doing a sweep of the towels. We managed to use 2 beds for 4 people nearly every day to give other people beds.

The staff are very helpful. The reception answered my questions very clearly and provided me with advise each time I asked something of them. I did not meet any unhelpful staff, and everyone was polite.

The pool staff, and people who served in the food areas are extremely busy. One of the Spanish ladies runs around day and night serving people and she still has a smile on her face when she is about to finish her shift.

The Restaurant area is very clean, and the outside is laid out looking over the pool area. We did notice a lot of the time, there was only 1 member of staff serving food and drinks on an evening which resulted in us going to the bar a lot to order what we required.

The hotel being situated on the hill is not a bad thing if you have a healthy lifestyle or are quite active. However, if you are quite unfit and you do not participate in any physical activities, you are overweight, or done exercise regularly then you may consider the hill a little too much to walk up and down each day. We as a family did not consider this to be an issue. My girlfriend and I are quite active and the kids are 9 and 12 and made it up the hill with no issues (with a little bit of bribery).

The bus service was great, and gave a good way of exploring the local area. Taxi to the town center is approximately 4-6 euros depending on the time of day.

Upon checking out of the hotel, there is a luggage room which we storage our bags in. There are showers in the gym, and there are also lockers to store your towels and clothes if needed. Taxi to the airport is approximately 25 euros.

The negative points about the hotel we considered are:

1. Prices for starters at the restaurant did not reflect the result of the food and we felt were a little overpriced compared to some of the other local establishments.

2. Silverpoint (as expected) tried to sell something to us. I believe on every singe visit to a hotel, it should be made clear if you want to be contacted by a rep or not. We only stayed for a week, and was given a guest card 3 days before we were due to leave. We had feedback from other guests too for the same thing. This needs to be communicated more effectively upon arrival.

Apart from these points, it is a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank -Kev1nW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo G, Public Relations Manager at Hollywood Mirage, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2015

Dear -kev1nW,

We are currently reviewing our customer feedback and we really appreciate your comments.

Best wishes,

The Hollywood Mirage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The apartment was lovely and clean, well maintained and decorated and fitted out to a high standard. However, we were put in the Marilyn Munroe block this visit and it was so noisy, I was quite pleased to leave for home.

Don't bother to use the alarm clock as the various delivery lorries, rubbish collecting lorries, glass bottle collecting lorries will wake you up every half hour from about 6am. Once that has finished, the bus will park under your window every hour and rev up for 10 minutes whilst waiting for guests to board. Add to that the continuous noise from the air conditioning unit at the BHC just across the road and don't expect to be able to sit on your balcony and have a conversation or indeed hear the TV in the sitting room unless the windows are fully closed!

We did use the pool bar a couple of times. The first time was had quite a long wait and the quality of the food was not as good as visits to this resort in previous years. We tried it again on our last day, but after waiting for more than 20 minutes and no one came to take our order, we walked down the hill to eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room in the Marilyn Munroe block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tenerife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo G, Public Relations Manager at Hollywood Mirage, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2015

Dear tenerife,

We are currently reviewing our customer feedback and we really appreciate your comments.

Best wishes,

The Hollywood Mirage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have been going for a number of years and we love it every time the is a kids club but last year we went it was not open for the whole week. The are plenty of places to eat and the pool is huge we stay in one of the 5 bed room and there is an amazing view of the massive balcony which can comfortably let 10 people sun bathe

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo G, Public Relations Manager at Hollywood Mirage, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2015

Dear Dominic W,

We are currently reviewing our customer feedback and we really appreciate your comments.

Best wishes,

The Hollywood Mirage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

It is a very nice complex, everywhere is clean & well maintained. We had a 4 – 2 with good sized bedroom with double bed, bathroom with shower over bath, lounge /modern & well equipped kitchen with oven & hob microwave, toaster, coffee machine & large fridge freezer. Unit had its own hot water tank. Flat screen TV with BBC1 & some sky channels.
My only complaint –A word of warning, welcome pack is charged to your room if you do not tell reception by the next day you don’t want it. We didn’t read the bag until day three– I know it was our fault not to read it, but in 25 years this is the first time we have ever been charged for a welcome pack. We were charge €4.95 for 1 bottle of water, uht milk 5 tea bags, 7 coffee sachets & sugar.
As far as we could see all apartments have sun balcony’s, We struck lucky having a good sized grassed area as well as patio area, with two sun loungers, a sun umbrella would have been useful.
Gym €15 for 7 days incl sports centre, squash, gym & pool towels which you can change as often as you wish. Free book swap.
Internet €25 per week, hot spots in public areas.
Safe in room €12
Laundry €5 per wash
If you want a good view of the area, take a walk or the lift to the top of John Wayne building.
The pool bar is rather expensive. The onsite shop is fine for the odd thing & bread water, wine was reasonably .
As others have mentioned there are two pools, both have life guards. Pool one is more a ‘family pool’ with music (not too loud) Aqua fit, water polo for adults & separate game for just children. We saw children coming back from the ‘kids club’ with their craft items.
We did see pool towels being remover one day from ‘reserved beds’
Reception will give you an area street map. The free shuttle bus runs from reception every hour to the town/beach. We walked, though you do have to run the gauntlet passed bars & restaurants.
There is a large supermarket in the shopping centre, if you go out of the ‘side gate’ marked on the complex map, cross the road & walk down the steps heading towards Taurus restaurant you will see Cash & Carry (good for booze!) the supermarket is in the same building on the ground floor.
Market day is Sunday, just keep walking down the hill passed the bars etc or take the free bus.
Time share rep was not pushy, my husband told her we were not interested & we were not bothered again, I must say she did give us a bottle of free fizzy wine.

Room Tip: Most rooms have sunny evening balcony's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bobblehatstobikinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo G, Public Relations Manager at Hollywood Mirage, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2015

Dear bobblehatstobikinis,

We are currently reviewing our customer feedback and we really appreciate your comments.

Best wishes,

The Hollywood Mirage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arona
0.6 mi away
Sol Arona Tenerife
Sol Arona Tenerife
#5 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,570 reviews
0.6 mi away
H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Los Cristianos
2,214 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Suites at Beverly Hills
1.3 mi away
Regency Country Club
Regency Country Club
#1 of 1 in Chayofa
903 reviews
6.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Mirage

Address: c/ Sierra Nevada, 38650, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Arona
#4 Family Hotel in Arona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Arona
Price Range: $118 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hollywood Mirage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the south side of Tenerife in the Canary Islands, the Hollywood Mirage is a resort that will allow you to indulge some star spangled glamour while on your family holiday. The resort itself is styled to recall a more classic bygone age of splendor and elegance, but even so, visitors can still enjoy facilities offering aerobic classes, table tennis and other fun activities. Each suite is fully equipped and sleeps up to six adults in complete comfort. The resort is only a short drive from the charming seaside resort town of Los Cristianos. You can take in the stunning beaches, enjoy the splendid, year-round sunny climate and explore the beaches that are mere minutes from the Hollywood Mirage. There is a free, hourly bus service between the Hollywood Mirage and sister resorts, the Beverly Hills Club and Beverly Hills Heights. A warm climate, superb style, fantastic beaches and a buzzing nightlife that means you'll continue having fun even after the sun has set; Tenerife knows how to put on a show for her guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hollywood Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Mirage Tenerife Arona
Hollywood Mirage Tenerife, Canary Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing