We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hollywood Mirage Tenerife
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Arona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

As a 19 year old, I would obviously find it boring being around a lot of old biddies, but I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived as the place is stunning ! I could fall out my window and the pool was there which wasn't too cold, we didn't eat there as we used our initiative and bought food from a local supermarket just outside of the complex which wasn't even expensive. Everything was consistently clean, with many gorgeous surrounding restaurants and I would advise to go to the mongolian restaurant about a ten minute walk away, absolutely stunning! Would definitely return

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Management Company Representative at Hollywood Mirage Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for reviewing Hollywood Mirage Club and glad to hear you had an enjoyable holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

We went in Feb half term with 3 kids. Weather was good.
Hollywood Mirage advertises 2 heated pools; the main pool was the coldest pool I've been in and the "quiet" pool was guarded by Hitlers daughter who wouldn't let the kids play, we only went to that pool cos the main one was too cold..
The place itself was full of oldies, a bit like Bournemouth!! The wifi was a rip off, 25 euros for the week and only one person at a time could use the weak signal, never again..
I thought the pool bar was too expensive 2.8euros for a pint when it was 1.5 in a bar down the road.
It is still a good place to stay but needs some new managers I think to give it a shake up for families to enjoy more.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mainsy_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo G, Public Relations Manager at Hollywood Mirage Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2015

Dear Mainsy_001,

We are currently reviewing our customer feedback and we really appreciate your comments.

Best wishes,

The Hollywood Mirage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hollywood Mirage. Originally we were booked into the Palm Beach Club but were relocated due to overbooking. We hired a car online from Avis prior to travelling as we were holidaying with an Austrian couple and felt that the hotel was quite a distance from the main attractions. Parking was on the surrounding streets but we always found a good spot. On arrival we were greeted by friendly reception staff dressed in carnival costumes and given a cool drink.Our two apartments in the Judy Garland block were ready even though it was only 3pm.The apartments were clean with all necessary requirements and our balconies overlooked the small pool with lovely views of the sea and the whole complex was meticulously maintained. The onsite supermarket had fresh bread every morning at 8am. The Silverpoint rep rang our doorbell at 9am on the first morning but did not bother us again and never contacted our Austrian friends staying in the next apartment. Our only criticism was the restaurant which was expensive and the service was amateurish, however we know it had only just been taken over by the hotel so perhaps it will improve with time and experience. Unfortunately the entertainment was poor and consequently very few people bothered to watch. We ate in the local restaurants finding the Bella Roma the best for quality, price and ambience and very near to the hotel. The Coy and Bianca were ok but at over 100 euros for 4 rather expensive for what we ate and drank. We used our car every day and particularly enjoyed our trip to Loro Park. We checked out the Palm Beach Club to see what we were missing but were so relieved we had been moved to the Hollywood Mirage as it was far superior and in a much quieter part of the island. All in all a fantastic hotel complex which just needs to sort out its restaurant and entertainment then it will be the best time share has to offer.

Room Tip: The apartments overlooking the small pool are quiet and those on floor 5 have the best sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce777975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Management Company Representative at Hollywood Mirage Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for your constructive feedback and we are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. As you have stated the on-site restaurant and pool bar is now under new management and the feedback received to date has been very positive however we take our guests' feedback very seriously and use it in order to continuously make improvements wherever possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

weve just returned from the hollywood mirage complex we had a lovely apartment very clean and everything you could want for a self catering holiday.. we ate at the pool cafe the staff were very friendly and the prices were reasonable. we had the breakfast the first morning which was very good. and a burger and chips another day. we ate out four nights first restaurent was the roma which was crowded and noisy they gave all the ladies a rose which was a nice touch. the belverdere was great and the prices good as were all the local restaurents , there was a good one down the hill with a good singer but climb back up was a struggle. we went to the beverly hills club the entertainment was good rod stewart tribute and gordon king does a good job every night. only went one night because of hill. not far enough to get taxi but only a ten minute walk back. the timeshare presentation was good richard gave us a nice afternoon but we decided it wasnt for us at this time . there was no hardsell and they didnt push us into anything .
the entertainment in hotel wasnt very good and it was only on for an hour. the free bus was good and the girls were friendly and helpful to less able people getting on and off bus.thanks for a great holiday

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeanette i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Management Company Representative at Hollywood Mirage Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for reviewing Hollywood Mirage Club and glad to hear that you had a great holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We've been visiting this resort for more than 20 years and despite the fact that it's 22 years old now it has retained most of it's original quality. We feel the need to offer a bit of a defence against some of the recent criticism. Yes there are non-matching tiles (should they totally retile when a few tiles need to be replaced) and a few that should be replaced but overall maintenance standards remain very high. Try looking closely at nearby located 4* hotels holiday resorts to see how well maintained Hollywood Mirage remains. Reading other reviews with comments such as "Too many things wrong" that aren't in any way supported by detail makes them hard to accept. Yes, things go wrong but comments about repair/replacement within the hour demonstrate how much they try to maintain high standards.
There have been various bad comments about the bar and restaurant facilities - we have just returned (15 February) and can confirm that the Little Italy franchise has now ended. The resort management have taken over the running of the bars and restaurant. They have employed a high quality chef with an excellent CV and new bar staff who are really pleasant and cheerful. It's early days but the initial signs are very good, and by the way Happy Hours are 17.00-18.00 at the Pool Bar and 22.30-23.30 at the restaurant bar. Regardless of who has run the bars the Happy Hours have never been "Mythical" as quoted elsewhere.
I also have to comment on local bars and eateries - certainly there are some good but there are some bad too, some cheap, some less so. Food and drink can only be judged on personal experience so I wouldn't want to criticise others views but my personal view of the nearby Bella Roma is that it's fairly cheap, the food's OK, the staff are OK but there are much better places around Los Cristianos - the problem there is that you more often than not need to return by taxi at 4-5 euros a trip - better to use better quality local places such as the Overseas, etc ?.
Moving on to Silverpoint sales folk - they are NOT part of this resort !! They work for the same parent company but have nothing to do with the running of Hollywood Mirage. If you are visiting the resort on a 'Promotion week' then you have no option but to give them a half day during which time you will be introduced to this year's scams be they investment plans, pre-purchased holiday plans or whatever they now call them - most are related directly to Timeshare and do not offer value for money. Staff are silken tongued and very well trained, be sure you know how to say "No" and stick to it. You might like to ask just how much of these, quote, Incredible schemes they own personally - little if any at all is the true answer.
If you're visiting under your own steam (timeshare exchange or similar) you are under no obligation whatsoever to visit the Silverpoint sales office. They will no doubt knock on the door of new arrivals (usually Saturday morning) and try to 'sweet-talk' you into letting them in for a chat - keep them at the door if you want to avoid the start of the 'browbeating' process. Firmly reject any offer of a chat at the sales office - you could be there for hours as they try to sell you Timeshare linked deals (an old favourite is to offer to sell your existing weeks elsewhere as part of buying their offering - it has never worked as they say and you will end up with unwanted multiple maintenance fees). The knock is usually followed by an official looking letter inviting you to visit the sales office at a fixed time to "Complete a holiday satisfaction questionnaire" (they usually ask you to visit just 3 days after arrival) and to resolve any issues you may have - it's absolute rubbish they are not interested in your views and are not the place to go with any resort issues. The REAL and important satisfaction questionnaires are those issued on arrival (for completion and return at the end of your holiday, at reception) and where appropriate the RCI one sent at the end of your holiday. Any issues should be reported directly to Reception where there is a truly professional team who will ensure problems are addressed properly, promptly and by courteous staff. We encountered a toilet syphon that decided to give up at 10.45pm - a 'phone call to reception brought a maintenance man who repaired the fault and was gone by 11.05pm.
The Timeshare concept is great and works extremely well for ourselves and many others but you must go into it with your eyes wide open, don't overpay to get into the system, and then get to know how to use the system to your best advantage. Have a look at prices of timeshare on offer from UK sales agencies before considering what Silverpoint will offer - usually 3-4 times more expensive !!.
To finish, we regard this resort very highly, hence our annual visits, usually January/February. We'd recommend it and Los Cristianos to anyone but be aware of the location - as others have said it's at the top of a steep hill and can prove difficult to access for those who have walking difficulties; that said, taxis are plentiful and cheap. During the day (10.00 to 19.00 with a break 14.00 to 15.00) there is a free shuttle bus service to/from. the resort and Playa De Las Americas.

Room Tip: I you want peace and quiet ask for an appartment overlooking the lower swimming pool - much less in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank StewBnufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Management Company Representative at Hollywood Mirage Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your constructive feedback. We are pleased that you are satisfied with the standards and the day-to day running of the resort. We will endeavour to keep the highest possible standards so that owners and guests can continue to spend many more enjoyable holidays at Hollywood Mirage Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were initially sceptical about staying at this resort as we had originally booked in to Palm Beach Club. We were advised that due to over booking that we were being relocated to Hollywood Mirage. This was a real issue for me as I have a bad knee and this property is as high as you can get in the Los Cristianos hillside.
Reservations aside, we checked in to the property intent on making the most of our holiday. We were allocated a 1 bed apt in the Judy Garland block. The apartment itself was amazing. Everything you could want and more from a self catering unit. Large fridge freezer, toaster, kettle, microwave and even kitchen roll, tea towels and washing up liquid!
The balcony was huge with a large table with 4 chairs as well as 2 sun loungers with matresses.
Whilst the resort was up the hill, they had a courtesy bus that ran every 40 minutes or so. Michelle and Sarah that worked on the bus were great! We always got the last bus down to the centre at night and then would get a taxi home. It cost between 6-7 euros from the safari centre to get back to the apartment.
The pool area was lovely. No fighting for sun loungers at any time and the upper pool had the sun all day.
We did not stay infor the entertainment nor did we eat on site so cannot comment on that.
The supermarket on site was fantastic. We compared prices with a number of other supermarkets and some things were cheaper elsewhere whilst others were cheaper in our supermarket. Every day they made fresh bread on site and it was amazing!
So, despite initial reservations, we had a fantastic time at Hollywood Mirage and are sad that we wont be able to return (as its not available to book independently!). A big thank you to Rachel Lawson at silverpoint reservations for turning an overbooking situation in to an enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lyndsayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Management Company Representative at Hollywood Mirage Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for reviewing Hollywood Mirage Club and for your constructive feedback. We are glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We have been members of RCI for 20 year's and tend to swap our week's for appartments in the USA. However, every now and again we stay in Europe and Tenerife is very pleasant in January.

We stayed on the 6th floor in Jayne Mansfield in a 2 bed. The furnishings were excellent especially the kitchen. Our balcony had a lovely view over Los Cristianos.

The pool was reasonable but not heated so chilly for swimming in early in the day.

Always plenty of sun beds.

We didn't eat in the resort but there seemed to be a reasonable selection of the usual convenient offerings if required.

Given the resort is at the top of the hill in Los Cristianos you either need to be fit or have a car to get around.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LuckyTim6691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Management Company Representative at Hollywood Mirage Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for reviewing Hollywood Mirage Club and we are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Please note that both swimming pools are heated and with regards to your comment regarding the location of the resort, we would like to inform you that there is a courtesy bus shuttle service, which stops just outside the resort, to Playa de las Americas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arona hotels
0.6 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#5 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,485 reviews
0.6 mi away
H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Los Cristianos
2,145 reviews
4.9 mi away
Marino Tenerife
Marino Tenerife
#2 of 5 in Costa del Silencio
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
#3 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,618 reviews
0.4 mi away
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
#8 of 13 in Los Cristianos
1,017 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suites at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Mirage Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Mirage Tenerife

Address: Urb. Oasis Del Sur, 38650, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Arona
#4 Family Hotel in Arona
#6 Luxury Hotel in Arona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Arona
Hotel Class:4 star — Hollywood Mirage Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the south side of Tenerife in the Canary Islands, the Hollywood Mirage is a resort that will allow you to indulge some star spangled glamour while on your family holiday. The resort itself is styled to recall a more classic bygone age of splendor and elegance, but even so, visitors can still enjoy facilities offering aerobic classes, table tennis and other fun activities. Each suite is fully equipped and sleeps up to six adults in complete comfort. The resort is only a short drive from the charming seaside resort town of Los Cristianos. You can take in the stunning beaches, enjoy the splendid, year-round sunny climate and explore the beaches that are mere minutes from the Hollywood Mirage. There is a free, hourly bus service between the Hollywood Mirage and sister resorts, the Beverly Hills Club and Beverly Hills Heights. A warm climate, superb style, fantastic beaches and a buzzing nightlife that means you'll continue having fun even after the sun has set; Tenerife knows how to put on a show for her guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hollywood Mirage Tenerife Arona
Hollywood Mirage Tenerife Canary Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing