We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road system spoils good resort”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hollywood Mirage Tenerife
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Arona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Firstly the good news - A exceptional apartment, clean, modern, large, with all amenities and a good sized balcony. Good to have two pools available, on for the family and the other for those seeking a more peaceful time.
Now the not so good - we were located in the double apartment directly above the supermarket and suffered with the constant flow of traffic coming on site. Although we chose to sit on the balcony for meals it was far from private with the bus travelling through every half hour or so and the passengers being almost level with us ( why cant the bus stop OUTSIDE the resort? it is not that far to walk) Also throughout the holiday there were numerous delivery stopping to deliver their goods at the supermarket. Not only were we troubled by the noise but also the fumes when the engines were not turned off. There was absolutely no view as we were looking directly onto the White House and the road. The other downside regards the apartment itself, although very well appointed the second bedroom had absolutely no light as the window faced the back lobby and therefore the shutters needed to be kepy closed. A great shame and we would not choose to exchange into this resort again.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms higher up in the block - away from road noise and may get a view
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Winchester_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo G, Public Relations Manager at Hollywood Mirage Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2015

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

We are currently reviewing our customer feedback and we really appreciate your comments.

Best wishes,

The Hollywood Mirage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
There are newer reviews for Hollywood Mirage Tenerife
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

692 - 698 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012

Our first visit to Los Christianos and to the Hollywood Mirage. The hotel is simply great. The apartments are spotless with all modern amenities and satellite TV, air con, towels and hairdryers. We were in a double room with a balcony and fantastic view of the coast and the pool, which is also spotless. Never too busy and if you leave a towel on a sunbed and disappear for a few hours it will be removed! This is a great idea, which leaves you plenty of time to go and have lunch or a drink and still come back but stops those who leave their towel and go out for the day.

Food and entertainment on site is good and good value too. Happy hour for local drinks at the pool bar every evening! The staff are pleasant and extremely helpful, the only downside to the whole package is the time share sales team who come out like ants every morning. I just refused to answer the door and then all is fine but they do come as early as 8.30 so be wary. If you are there on a free holiday then fine but if you own or exchange through RCI they should leave you alone but they don't. That said, would I return. Absolutely, just don't let them take over your holiday and you'll have a fantastic time.

Room Tip: If you can go for a room on at least the 3rd floor you are guaranteed a great view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank keo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo G, Public Relations Manager at Hollywood Mirage Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2015

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

We are currently reviewing our customer feedback and we really appreciate your comments.

Best wishes,

The Hollywood Mirage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is an excellent resort, very well maintained. Our appartment was on 2 floors - this would be a challenge for someone with mobility problems. Spacious bathroom on top floor and shower room on ground floor. Lounge a bit small but well equipped kitchen.
There are some excellent restaurants close by - Marguys was good value and very friendly, for Spanish food Dom Pedro was good.
Resort is up hill - this is do-able if relatively fit but there is a courtesy bus during the day run by two lovely ladies.
On site entertainment was a bit naff and drinks not cheap - didn't eat here as we preferred to go out each evening

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank traveller99a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo G, Public Relations Manager at Hollywood Mirage Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2015

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

We are currently reviewing our customer feedback and we really appreciate your comments.

Best wishes,

The Hollywood Mirage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We have just returned from a one week holiday to celebrate our youngest daughters 21st birthday. We had booked a 3 bed in the hope that this would mean a bit of extra space. Unfortunately, we opened the door onto 3 bedrooms but very little living space. This unit was described as "sleeps 8", but there is no way that 6,let alone 8, adults could have stayed here. There were sofa/chairs for 4, dining table and chairs for 4, breakfast bar stools for 3 and a patio table with 4 chairs (2 more were stacked on the balcony but space was so restricted that they would not fit). The outside space was particularly disappointing. When we asked for a move, reception frostily told us there was nothing they could do because we were there on an RCI exchange. I did see someone in the Silverpoint offices who tried to find an alternative but could not offer us anything better. Fortunately, the weather was good and the pool was not too busy so we did not need to use our apartment too much.
However, we did have a great week, very lazy but great! Happy Hour in the bar is always a way of meeting people and we were not disappointed. Prices this year seemed noticeably cheaper. As for eating out, we had a few favourites.....Rosies for Mexican (and margaritas!), Bianco for Italian and Kikiriki for good value chicken. The opening of Lidl on the way from the airport also meant that we stocked up on great value drinks and nibbles that lasted the week rather than using the more expensive local supermarkets.
One word of warning though. We used Goldcar car rental and judging by the queues, so did lots of other people, but what was not so clear was that you had to bring the car back empty and would be charged 70 euros for fuel. As we were only there for a week, we barely used half a tank, so our bargain car hire turned out to be something else entirely.
All in all, we recommend the resort and the area but it is not perfect. Comments here about maid service and the sales team are certainly true, but you are reading this so you will be "forewarned"!

Room Tip: We were told the 2 beds have more out door space so if you can survive keep to a 2 bedroom.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Davies786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo G, Public Relations Manager at Hollywood Mirage Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2015

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

We are currently reviewing our customer feedback and we really appreciate your comments.

Best wishes,

The Hollywood Mirage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I am reviewing a two bed apartment in Hollywood Mirage in Judy Garland block.
Our apartment had a huge balcony as did most on the lower floors, though above us had very small ones.
Our apartment had all we wanted (almost). Nice bedrooms with plenty of space and hangers and a safe, though we had to pay €12 to use it. The bathrooms had decent showers over the bath. For some it may cause issues, as it was quite a step up into the shower, but for us it was fine and we always had plenty of hot water.
The kitchen was nice with quality utensils and a large fridge freezer. No washing machine though (which we have become used to with Club la Costa).... Hence my almost comment!
Comfortable lounge with a DVD and TV with plenty of English channels.
The pools ( there are two) were nice and had comfortable sunbeds, but I expect in busy periods there may not be enough.
Reception helpful, no restaurants or facilities used but they offer a small gym /squash/tennis for €15 per week, but it opened quite late. Kids club, computers, shop, disco, entertainment etc. I have no doubt all were fine.
Our only negative observation was that at around 8 to 8.30 am the pool men made one hell of a noise putting out the sun beds at pool number 2. It did not disturb us, but those on the ground floor must have been disturbed.
Mirage is part of a 3 centre complex, we did not visit them, but all their facilities are available to all.
The resort offers a shuttle bus to he town!!!! They actually offer a 52 seated coach. Very reliable and run around twice an hour with an short break for lunch from around 9am to 7pm. However the walk takes around 20 minutes and a taxi back from the marina was only €3.05!
This is a nice resort and I would recommend it, of course you still get the knock on the door from those annoying salesmen who "only want a short chat to help you understand the changes"..... Hmmm I was happy to sacrifice the bottle of champagne and said a polite no thank you!
For disabled visitors I think it would be challenging. Although there are lifts it is a terraced resort in a steep hilly location.
A visit to El Teide is very worth while, and if you don't take the cable car to the top you will still have a fantastic time, beautiful to see and experience and free.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank beccy7844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo G, Public Relations Manager at Hollywood Mirage Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2015

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

We are currently reviewing our customer feedback and we really appreciate your comments.

Best wishes,

The Hollywood Mirage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We have the misfortune to 'own' weeks at this property but rarely use them. However we utilised the STUDIO accomodation just prior to Easter. The resort is a bit 'tired'and could do witha refurb. It is at the the top of a steep hill.The hotel provides a courtesy bus down to the town but the timings are a bit hit and miss and on the day we wanted to use it to get back up the hill it didn't turn up at all. A taxi cost €6.20.Rooms are cleaned/ towels changed regularly. There is a problem with ring collared doves looking for food and nesting materials. We found the on site supermarket was reasonaly priced for wine and fresh bread. There is a spar supermarket 10 minutes away. The main pool is very busy and it might be a good idea to make the 2nd pool child free? Entertainment was cheesy. Didnt use the restaurant as we hired a car for the first three days and obtained supplies from the nearest Lidl. Although Studios only have 2 rings and a combination micro oven we coped and even managed to entertain a Dutch couple we met to a Tapas evening. The gym is quite good but I didn't use it on this occasion as I objected to paying €15 for the pleasure despite recently paying over £2300 in maintenance fees.

Silverpoint staff were there usual unhelpful, uncaring, dismissive selves

Room Tip: Higher up with views and the bigger the better
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SteveBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo G, Public Relations Manager at Hollywood Mirage Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2015

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

We are currently reviewing our customer feedback and we really appreciate your comments.

Best wishes,

The Hollywood Mirage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We went on a promotional week with Silverpoint. We were fortunate to have Craig Cameron, a very professional salesman with a great attitude who knew what he was talking about and offered us a couple of options that were tempting. I don't think this is a place to comment on the pros and cons of the deals.

We received great service all the time we were there, the pool is immaculate, the rooms well looked after, we liked the on site shop and we had great fun.

We liked the restaurants all around (even those down the hill) liked the Belvedere the best for food, service and price.

The reason for the average rating
- The in house Little Italy was expensive, mediocre and the service poor
- The Animation team were hardly animated - compared to what we have seen of them elsewhere
- The noise!!!! garbage trucks at 2 am compressing garbage, a construction vehicle up and down the hill, and general human noise which did not make it the most peaceful place

BUT we had fun, we had sun and Silverpoint were from the start to the end helpful and attentive, thanks to Stacey, Julie and Craig

Room Tip: If you are on promotion I think you take what you are provided with - the room we had was nice - no...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Silleyug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacopo G, Public Relations Manager at Hollywood Mirage Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2015

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

We are currently reviewing our customer feedback and we really appreciate your comments.

Best wishes,

The Hollywood Mirage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arona
0.6 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#6 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,355 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
Hotel H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Los Cristianos
2,061 reviews
0.6 mi away
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
#3 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
#9 of 14 in Los Cristianos
960 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,006 reviews
4.9 mi away
Marino Tenerife
Marino Tenerife
#2 of 5 in Costa del Silencio
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Mirage Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Mirage Tenerife

Address: Urb. Oasis Del Sur, 38650, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Arona
#6 Luxury Hotel in Arona
#6 Family Hotel in Arona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Arona
Hotel Class:4 star — Hollywood Mirage Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the south side of Tenerife in the Canary Islands, the Hollywood Mirage is a resort that will allow you to indulge some star spangled glamour while on your family holiday. The resort itself is styled to recall a more classic bygone age of splendor and elegance, but even so, visitors can still enjoy facilities offering aerobic classes, table tennis and other fun activities. Each suite is fully equipped and sleeps up to six adults in complete comfort. The resort is only a short drive from the charming seaside resort town of Los Cristianos. You can take in the stunning beaches, enjoy the splendid, year-round sunny climate and explore the beaches that are mere minutes from the Hollywood Mirage. There is a free, hourly bus service between the Hollywood Mirage and sister resorts, the Beverly Hills Club and Beverly Hills Heights. A warm climate, superb style, fantastic beaches and a buzzing nightlife that means you'll continue having fun even after the sun has set; Tenerife knows how to put on a show for her guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hollywood Mirage Tenerife Arona
Hollywood Mirage Tenerife Canary Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing