We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place I've ever been to”
Review of Coconut Joe's

Coconut Joe's
Ranked #219 of 678 Restaurants in Arona
Restaurant details
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst place I've ever been to”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Utterly terrible in all aspects. The service was genuinely appalling with the waiter being completely incompetent, struggling to count to five, rude and borderline aggressive with me and my friends at times.

The entertainment (if you could call it that) was awful as well, the same act played every night "Sergio" who was simply a fraud. He pretended to play the piano but had a laptop playing the music (we know this from the saxophone part of a song) which was far too loud.

Their main dish "Chicken Hobbit" seems to be some sort of invention by Coconut Jasper's (aka Coconut Joe's) as I have since googled it but found nothing, it is essential a roast half chicken anyway.

Overall I would encourage anyone to stay away from this poor, poor excuse of an establishment unless they are going to inflict damage on the waiter.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fronk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    32
    22
    9
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Utter shambles”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Rubbish bar with music far to loud that over powers everyone else and you can't ear yourself think would advise no one to stay near by if you want any sleep.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sambojam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible place no consideration.”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Pity there wasn't a zero on the review score.This woman is the most despicable thing on the planet ignorance is not the word .The skinny fanny that works for her needs to grow a pair he sure is no man making faces and making signs at me because I wouldn't go into her pub.Avoid at all cost.unfortunately I have to score at least 1 but this is under duress.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherp30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Rod Stewart and Johnny Cash”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Nice to sit outside. The lookalike Rod was worth a view trying to look like the real Rod and would sing your requests. Johnny cash was entertaining but the night we wathed him not many other people came. They missed a good act.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pussycatpussycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Too pushy”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We called in to see what was like after looking at the menu decided to go else where to eat the soft drink prices were very pricy , the man who gets you to go in was very rude he would stand in front of people to get them to go in ! Much nicer at highlander or high land paddy were no one is begging you to go in. This just put me off giving this place another go for the entertainment

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eeyorebug10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Joe's also viewed

Tenerife, Canary Islands
 
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
Tenerife, Canary Islands
 
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 

Been to Coconut Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing