We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great long sandbeaches”

Playa de Maspalomas
Ranked #1 of 73 things to do in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Helsinki
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great long sandbeaches”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Nice people, sand and dunes. You can wal all the way form Meloneras to Play del Ingles. Clean and small kiosks on the way.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AriPHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,166
    1,923
    492
    106
    37
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton England
Level Contributor
502 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Great dunes!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Vast expanses of white sand - crowded near the main restaurant areas where the beds are lined up but lots of space and privacy if you climb back from the shore line. Sea very rough last week - a few red flag days and currents strong with big waves. Beach mostly nudist - be prepared for some interesting sights!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kateharmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Place!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Excellent views. We traveled there in February 2013. We walked among the dunes. However, we decided to lay out at the top of one of the dunes and it was very windy and sand was going everywhere, which is expected. Very lovely. We are glad we did it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jerseyjazzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Popular area”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

On a recent visit to Maspolamas I regularly walked along the seashore and did short hikes into the dune area. This a nature reserve and the large number of birds is truly amazing. The naturist areas are fairly prominent but you can avert your eyes if you wish and look at the large rolling waves. Either way it is a very interesting area for a walk.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrigaholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Watch out for touts!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Although the beach and dunes are great I wasn't impressed by the friendship band touts. This is where your arm is grabbed and a bracelet is put on then you have to pay. Along the beach front you get hollered for your attention. I found the best way to avoid this is to not say anything and keep on walking.

People I knew at my hotel fell for the bar crawl scam where they pay for entry to a club to get free drinks and a t-shirt. When you turn up at the club, the tickets purchased are not valid.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Robot_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa de Maspalomas also viewed

Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria
 
Gran Canaria, Canary Islands
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 

Been to Playa de Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing